Eugene Melnyk - Photo credit: www.canada.com
Eugene Melnyk – Photo credit: http://www.canada.com

On the 6 December 2012, BU received a letter from Ontario counsel Mr Sean Campbell of the law firm DAVIES WARD PHILLIPS & VINEBERG which advised they are acting on behalf of Eugene Melnyk as follows:

Dear Sirs/Mesdames:

We are counsel for Eugene Melnyk.

It has come to our attention that Barbados Underground is disseminating information that is false and defamatory and that this is causing substantial damage to Mr. Melnyk’s business interests and reputation. Without limitation, Barbados Underground is disseminating an article entitled “Senators-owner Eugene Melnyk & Founder Of Biovail Charged With Fraud”, dated March 24, 2008 and comments related to that article. A copy of the article and comments are enclosed. Among other things, the article and certain comments falsely allege that Mr. Melnyk has been charged by regulators in Canada with accounting fraud. This allegation is manifestly false and defamatory. Mr. Melnyk has never been charged by any Canadian regulatory authority with fraud.

Our client considers this matter to be very serious. We have been instructed by Mr. Melnyk to demand that you immediately remove the above referenced article and related comments from your website. We further demand that you cease and desist from making or disseminating any further false or defamatory statements concerning Mr. Melnyk and from any other conduct that is damaging to Mr. Melnyk’s business interests or reputation. In the event that you fail to comply with this demand, legal proceedings will be initiated against you and any other involved parties without further notice.

Please contact me in the event that you wish to discuss this matter.

This letter is written under reserve of all our client’s rights and recourses.

Yours very truly,

Sean Campbell

BU has responded as follows:

Dear Sirs/Mesdames:

We have your letter dated 06 December 2012 sent to us via e-mail.

We note that the report that it complains of was taken directly from a report in http://www.canada.com and, for your ease of reference, can be found at the following link.  Our report credits and hyperlinks www.canada.com as to source and content. We note that the website is owned by CanWest MediaWorks Publications Inc.

We further note that this report continues to be posted online.

If you would be so kind as to advise us as to when (and if) the report of http://www.canada.com is withdrawn, we shall be happy to withdraw our report, until which time we continue to view our reporting of the http://www.canada.com report as of national interest to the people of Barbados and we so advise, by copy of this and your letter, WordPress. Additionally, we advise and copy the office of the US Secretary of State, who takes a very personal interest in attempts to unjustifiably muzzle or intimidate the blogs.

We recommend to you the 2011 Canada Supreme Court case of Crookes v Newton which, so far as we are aware, has not been overturned or set aside. BU carried a report on this case in which it hyperlinked to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. You will unearth it on our website at this link.

Please also be advised that we ourselves do not give way at any time to meritless intimidation FROM ANYONE. Accordingly, BU will be advancing this matter to our website a copy of your said letter to us and this, our reply to you.

We shall not respond to any further correspondence or proceedings from you in this matter. The bottom line is that if you produce to us hard and incontrovertible evidence that the hyperlink we have posted has withdrawn the report, we shall do likewise.

As a result of this letter from Mr Melnyk’s Ontario counsel, BU has browsed the Internet courtesy of Google and has unearthed the following references to the issue:

From these, BU ascertains that indeed Mr Melynk was NOT charged with fraud in Canada. But he WAS so charged, according to the comments of the US Securities Exchange Commission, in the USA for essentially the same offenses that the Canadian authorities did not charge him for, opting instead for lesser charges. If our justice system actually worked in Barbados, what charge would he have faced for the same thing here? No prizes for guessing.

The first of the Google-searched references above is an Order under section 127 of the Ontario SECURITIES ACT,R.S.O. 1990, c. S.5, as amended, which, inter alia, severely restricts the involvement of Mr Melnyk in certain activities related to securities in Ontario for a period of five (05) years as at 2011. For specifics, please refer to the Order above.

The second and third links are to the Globe and Mail newspaper and are most illuminating and we recommend them to our readers.

It is specifically noted that:

“Mr. Melnyk wrapped up similar legal matters with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, agreeing to a five-year ban as a director or officer of a public company in the United States, and agreeing to pay $150,000 (U.S.) in penalties.”

It is noted that the same 5 year ban is in place in Ontario.

Wikipedia (as linked above) reports:

“In 2003 a Biovail trucking accident destroyed a shipment of drugs, and Biovail executives overestimated the loss. When the actual earnings were released, the loss was much lower and earnings were positive. This caused shareholder frustration and legal actions. Although the Ontario Securities Commission in Canada found that Eugene Melnyk didn’t violate any of the province’s securities laws in the way he handled an earnings warning at Biovail in 2003, on May 2011, the OSC settled with Eugene Melnyk; the settlement prevents his taking senior roles at public companies in Canada for five years and imposes a $565,000 fine. Earlier in the same year Melnyk had settled with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), agreeing to pay a civil penalty of $150,000 US, and he had previously paid $1 million U.S. to settle other claims with the SEC.”

Mr Melynk is, of course, best known in Barbados as the owner of a disqualified Gold Cup winner. The horse was disqualified and stripped of its title when the presence of illegal substances were discovered in it post race. The matter was recently the subject of a Caribbean Court of Justice decision with Mr Melynk being represented legally by Mr Alair Shepherd QC and the Barbados Turf Club by Mr Vernon Smith QC and Mr Hal Gollop.

BU is advised that Mr Melnyk has not seen fit to return the Gold Cup trophy to the BTC, despite the disqualification of his horse.

BU has long declined to publish defamatory or needlessly damaging information on individuals and it takes only a reasonable and plausible explanation to BU as to why it should desist or withdraw a blog or comments. After all, the BU family are human beings as well and would do anything rather than cause unnecessary problems. However, when a matter is in the public interest of Bajans, as this is, BU will not give in to threats from anyone. The proposition that, although charged with fraud in the USA, Mr Melynk was not so charged in Canada and therefore the hyperlink has produced a situation where “Barbados Underground is disseminating information that is false and defamatory and that this is causing substantial damage to Mr. Melnyk’s business interests and reputation”  is disingenuous to an unacceptable degree.

The subject under discussion here on this report is the attempt by Mr Melnyk to suppress what is in effect a hyperlink to the www.canada.com owned by CanWest MediaWorks Publications Inc., specifically its article to be found here.

It has been noted in the past in other blogs the propensity of online publications to alter and/or delete articles. Therefore, BU has retained hard copies of the Canada.com article with date of print and reproduces same here as follows:

Melnyk charged

Canadian and U.S. regulators slapped Biovail Corp. founder Eugene Melnyk and three company executives with charges of accounting fraud, saying they misled investors about the pharmaceutical company’s financial results.

March 24, 2008

Canadian and U.S. regulators slapped Biovail Corp. founder Eugene Melnyk and three company executives with charges of accounting fraud, saying they misled investors about the pharmaceutical company’s financial results.

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission said Canada’s biggest publicly traded drug maker agreed to pay $10 million US to settle charges against the company.

But the stock market regulator said it will press on with its case against Melnyk — the billionaire owner of the Ottawa Senators hockey team — as well as Biovail’s former chief financial officer Brian Crombie, its current chief financial officer Kenneth Howling and controller John Miszuk.

“Biovail and senior executives engaged in a pattern of systemic, chronic fraud that impacted its public filings of quarterly and annual reports over the course of four years,” Mark Schonfeld, director of the SEC’s New York regional office, said in a statement. “In an effort to conceal the fraud, Biovail’s senior officers intentionally misled the company’s auditors and the investing public, showing their complete disregard for their responsibilities to shareholders.”

Meanwhile, the Ontario Securities Commission also announced that it has slapped the four men with regulatory charges over allegations they misled analysts and investors.

None of the allegations has been proven.

Updates to come.”

BU’s position is that it has committed no defamation in hyperlinking to the article. BU has since removed comments only in so far as they relate to Mr Melynk’s private life, as these are intrusive and irrelevant. By the way, the original hyperlink was posted to BU in 2008 and received 10 comments only and scant attention.

As has been clearly demonstrated in the past, BU will unhesitatingly side with any blog on which bully boy tactics are attempted, even if it is Barbados Free Press (BFP) – indeed, on the sole occasion that BU did take up cudgels on this issue – it was on behalf of BFP, believe it or not. Reciprocation is, of course, not anticipated.

1. uh wunah effin de lawyas doin due dilligence an monitorin BU fuh duh client to see eff duh got moh actionables pun hey?

2. http://www.calgaryherald.com/sports/Ottawa+Senators+owner+Melnyk+divorce+proceeding/3911584/story.html
    Ottawa Senators owner Melnyk in divorce proceeding
    Ottawa Citizen, December 1, 2010

3. RE Bush Tea is forced to choose between Islandgal and Rihanna…..
    DIAGNOSIS: DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR

4. Dear: BAFBFP:

Don’t interfere with Mr. Melnyk, as he is working on something especially for you.

Melnyk moves forward with nasal spray orgasm drug
    http://business.financialpost.com/2011/10/06/melnyk-moves-forward-with-nasal-spray-orgasm-drug/

Buy shares in Trimel.

NHL to have ‘talk’ with Sens owner over comments
    Melnyk told Toronto radio station ‘we should be playing hockey by now’
    Read more: http://www.ottawacitizen.com/have+talk+with+Sens+owner+over+comments/7486085/story.html#ixzz2EnDqSXzX
    Ottawa Citizen, November 2, 2012

Fierce Biotech on Melnyk
    http://www.fiercebiotech.com/tags/eugene-melnyk-0

5. BU has reported the story; it has brought awareness to all and sundry that might have had an interest. Job DONE!! Be as it may, BU/David should bite the bullet and remove the STALE OUTDATED article — its OLD! Just file it away in an archive which could be brought forth if need be – take it out of plain view; there are exceptions and this may be one. I don’t think viewers are going back that far, 2008, unless a reference has been made.

Leaving the links as previously suggested by Hal Austin with his reasoning is logical. I got a feeling Hal knows what he is talking about and why he made the suggestion. To me, this approach would still send a signal that BU is not afraid or backing down from the articlle and the related information that had been made public which resulted in public on-line conversation.

6. Agree with the above … Also agree Simple … Thanks man, not to long now, in fact as far as I concerned from this point on, Sir Eugene could keep the blasted Cup … HA HA HA HA …!

7. @David
    I hope that you are receiving the requisite legal advice as the Internet is a brave new world and we are crossing new legal frontiers monthly if not daily. You have received some advice and the problem with free advice is that it is worth what you paid for it. I won’t presume to give any advice on how you should handle the article as who knows what the outcome of any legal dispute would be and it would be your assets at stake.

Is this a form of “libel chill’? Generally letters suppressing dissemination of information are sent prior to the publication of any article that an individual finds offensive.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chilling_effect_(law)

8. @ Sapidilla
    You think David is a sap?
    The very nature of transparency is such that powerful and rich people will get vexed. If every time BU get someone vex and they send a threat which cause us to retreat, David may as well shut down BU.

If David was a coward he would not have started this blog.
    BAFBFP already curse more important people than Melnyk…. and there are many more to be exposed and properly sorted out. 🙂

No retreat. No surrender.

@ David.
    The ONLY change Bushie would suggest is that the blog be updated with the correct charge in Canada. this is something that you do anyway when new information is received.

9. @GP
    What is de name of the psychiatrist? Tell him you have a referral

10. It is not right that one should confuse delusions with optimism … Its just not British … HA HA HA … MURDA!

11. Bush

Correct me if I am wrong, but cussing in a place like Ba’bados ain’ nah crime now is it … unless it is done in Parliament, in which case the worse that could happen is that on may be asked to offer a nicely drafted apology .. 🙂

12. Off topic
    In other Canadian news
    Wunnah tink dat wunnah got eccentric lawyers? Think again de ones in kanaduh could beat de ones down there anyday. De woman had a monkey dressed betta that Hants out on a Xmas jaunt when de monkey escaped from her car causing mirth among de Xmas shoppers. Personally I think she needs a baby, is BAFBFP available for adoption? She can call him by his pet name “Baffy”

http://www.thestar.com/news/gta/article/1300426–ikea-monkey-darwin-took-shine-to-me-owner-says

13. It’s not defamation to print or say something that you believe is true.
    But having said that the lawyers game will be to accrue legal costs of $30,000 – $50,000 before it goes to trial which they will seek to recover. It’s all very well representing yourself and can easily match the lawyers competence for free, but lawyers and barristers are robot meat heads who will pick some meaningless case precedent and argue a meaningless point in court before a judge who cannot be bothered to read his briefs. Based on statistics you have a 50% chance to win. It a waste of time engaging with scum and you might as well say you haven’t got financial resources to play their legal charade. There are bigger and more important fish to fry than this loser, this battle is meaningless

14. I am Justin Austin of Parish Land , Christ Church.I comment under the alias JUST ASKING.
    I am the only person authorized to use the JUST ASKING name. Any reference to JUST ASKING OR ANYONE MASQUERADING AS JUST ASKING is extremely prohibited. The JUST ASKING name is a registered reference to me and I will not tolerate any attempt to mislead the public by anyone seekingto use the JUST ASKING name without my permission

BE WARNED
    Special note to Simple Simon

Signed Justin Austin
    JUST ASKING

15. @ GP
    Bushie will seek a second opinion if you don’t mind…. 🙂
    The truth is that the bushman had all intention of having both IG246 and RiRi, however these are two women with vicious tempers – and are very likely to come to blows over access to the Bushman’s ahhhh assets…. (Wunna done know RiRi’s reputation.)
    ….thus the need to choose… Besides Bushie feels that at this advanced age, a man should cut back his quota to less than four women…..LOL Ha Ha

Islandgal, Bushie just squeezed some fresh fruit juice and it here on chill with some crushed ice….. Knock three times when you reach 🙂

16. Bushie….Rule #1 islandgal will never fight over a man nor bus
    Rule#2 …I don’t need to knock at your door I will brek it down
    Rule#3…. I don’t need to visit when I have my own juice right next to me

17. Kiki I Likes you bad bad … Yah English immigrant …

Islandgirl if Bush Tea is who I feel he is, from what I hear it might be worth your while to just faget the fruit juice and just find out about the assets … serious …!

18. @ Islandgal
    Bushie will take that as a “tentative”…..however you should be aware that Ri Ri currently has a slight lead…

@ BAFBFP
    Ahhhhh that should be ‘asset’……. 🙂

19. RE Sargeant | December 11, 2012 at 9:25 PM |
    What is de name of the psychiatrist? Tell him you have a referral

SARGE EVEN A GP CAN DIAGNOSE BUSHTEA
    ONE DOES NOT NEED TO REFER HIM

20. Bush

So I see you only plan to part with one … HA HA HA

21. @David. There has been a lot of talk about whether you are right or wrong to have published this report. I say that you are absolutely right. Otherwise, when big money or politicians are allowed to dictate what you should or should not publish, you become like the Nation and the Advocate and VoB and the rest of that sorry crew.

I was browsing this morning’s Telegraph online and I see that one cabinet minister in the Cameron Government tried essentially the same stunt on the Telegraph that Melnyk’s lawyers tried on you. And they got exactly the same short shrift. In other words, the Telegraph hung them out to dry. Here is the link: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics/mps-expenses/9738505/The-minister-and-a-warning-to-the-Telegraph-before-expenses-story.html

22. Poor Bush tea ! there is no FOOL like an old Fool.

23. @Amused

As you know anyone with deep pockets can test anything in Court once they have the appetite.

24. David I suggest you delete the post as requested by the Canadian lawyer! eh

But I beg you to make the letter they wrote to you a PERMANENT POST on the blog.They can’t make you take that down or sue you for posting a letter they wrote to you.

It would show that you are truly fair and reasonable.

Remember the calypso that included “read between de lines”

25. As David has tagged article with “DAVIES WARD PHILLIPS &VINEBERG” “Eugene Melnyk” “Sean Campbell” it will be picked up in search engines by prospective clients and will be a turnoff for choosing their business
    Sean campbell will try to get it reworded so it does not say his name just the legal practice name when he goes for job interviews
    http://www.idigitaltimes.com/articles/13524/20121210/rihanna-chris-brown-back-together-2012-pregnant.htm

26. I hope this threat that David receive does not cause him to withhold posting a story that he thinks would be interesting enough to Barbadians to the point of creating discussion. This is not the first and it might not be the last.

David you are a good reporter. I would say, continue bringing the news and the people would continue sharing their opinions. This distraction too shall pass.

27. @David. I see the parallel case to this one in the UK involving the Telegraph Newspaper has escalated with threats being issued to the Telegraph from the office of the minister concerned suggesting that she may use the Leveson report to “get” them for having reported an abuse of MPs expenses by the Minister.

The editor of the Telegraph responded by making the threat headline news. I would say that that is another minister down, along with her stooges. I would say that she is facing a parliamentary enquiry and possible criminal prosecution, like others who have abused the MP’s expenses – and all because she challenged the press in the exercise of their LEGITIMATE function.

BU can stand proud and tall and know that it is in the best company and those who sought to threaten it can go to hell.

28. @ S̶e̶a̶n̶ ̶C̶a̶m̶p̶b̶e̶l̶l̶ a̶n̶d̶ ̶h̶i̶s̶ ̶m̶u̶t̶h̶a̶f̶u̶k̶i̶n̶ ̶m̶a̶m̶m̶a̶

Leave a Reply to kikiCancel reply