Opposition Leader Owen Arthur declared recently the Central Bank of Barbados has an entertainment budget of one million dollars

Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur declared at a political meeting recently that the entertainment budget of the Central Bank is one million dollars. He made the point to attack government’s decision to resist reinstating the travel allowance. BU is not in a position to confirm or deny Arthur’s statement. What we know is that there has not been any public response to his claim from Central Bank officials or the Prime Minister of Barbados.

The statement by Arthur has brought front into focus the issue of expense control by central government and quasi government agencies. We hear about ministers, public servants and partners travelling to China, countries in Africa, South America and others. Are we satisfied that decision makers in government and the public sector are making the best ‘budget’ decisions? Retired Permanent Secretary William Layne stated recently that government is bloated and he was very harsh in his position regarding Statutory Corporations.

Unlike the United Kingdom which has a living Freedom of Information Law, Barbadians do not have ready access to general information  held by government. We are expected to participate in our democracy but how can we if ready access to information is blocked? The current system means WE can be fed koolaid. A passive media does NOT help!

1. Pilot

Ya Jack Ass, the man din’ say c%#t, he say sc%#t ….

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son | December 6, 2012 at 2:42 PM

If I was like your boy, Dr. DoBad the dentist with the dirty mouth, I would really tell you<"carry yuh mudda sc#&t", but I dont use language like that.

That sort of language is reserved for Barbados Labour Party people.

3. BAFBFP you boring c#@t if pillsbury Duguid said scunt you c#%t he could posit thats not a curse word, in Barbados it means nothing.
    Only foriegners use scunt when cussing you wannabe relevant johnny.

4. David

Do really think that the kind of behavior that is being exhibited by newbies such as Pilot should be tolerated …? Should adults be allowed to be exposed to the public with this unfortunate tone..? I think that he could be a danger to himself and for that reason and that reason alone I would like to politely suggest that his comment be struck from the record … (plus I really ain’ want he tah find out wah real cussing is, he new … ha ha ha)

5. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

For those of you concerned about your identity you should download the Tor browser it encrypts all traffic and passes it around the world.

Leave a Reply to Hamilton hillCancel reply