As incredible as it may seem to some, the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2012 has passed the Lower House on its journey to being proclaimed. Hopefully this will be done before the Prime Minister rings the bell for the next general election. One suspects though that Prime Minister Stuart will deliver on this piece of legislation, this is the stuff legacy is built. Perhaps the one regret is that yet again Hansard will NOT record a contribution from the leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur.

A listen to the debate disappointed yet again. Members of parliament on both sides joined hands to paint a picture of a courageous group who has had to bear the brunt of vilification from the public. References were made to the #16 ranking which Barbados holds on Transparency International. The Prime Minister referenced the need to recognize that there is a perception that many in public life engage in questionable behaviour, therefore the need to have integrity legislation.  The listener was left with the impression that the government although tabling the legislation, has done so kicking and screaming.

To state the obvious integrity legislation serves many purposes. In private enterprise rules governing code of conduct is routine. It ensures that all employees are aware of the consequences of certain actions. It helps to feed a culture of excellence. BU posits that many practices which currently fly under the radar may be discontinued or forced into the open with the advent of integrity legislation. Should we remind the Attorney General that Transparency International’s ranking is based on a perception index? It is known how PSV permits were procured by may as a good example. A read of the Auditor General reports from 2006 also helps to form positions unfavourable to politicians and others in the public sector.

Finally a word to Minister Ronald Jones who spent some time attacking Barbados Underground and Barbados Free Press. Other members of parliament made veil references to social media. BU freely admits that some commenters abuse the cloak of anonymity. We take the opportunity to remind them that to whom much is given much is expected. to One of the greatest ironies is those most culpable are members of the House and their surrogates.

Mia Mottley is on record of the need to censor the blogs and it seems Minister Jones is so minded. It is only five years ago when the blogosphere was DLP friendly and of course Jones had no such worries then. Good news maybe coming for local politicos who want the blogs monitored. The draft Communications Data Bill is currently being circulated for comment in the UK. The bill proposes that “internet providers having to retain records of all their customers’ online activity for 12 months.” Further that the authorities would have the authority to access “email and the internet. The authorities would be able to see details of who communicated with whom, and when and where, but they would not be able to see the content of the message.” BU will continue to monitor this matter closely given the implication for Barbados adopting UK legislation.

Despite the comments from the government side that this legislation is complex which explains the time taken. BU believes it is the lack of will which is responsible. The government cannot win a political debate on economic policy therefore it is forcing other pieces of legislation through parliament to shape their election platform agenda. BU could care less. Proclaim the damn legislation. All the same kudos to the government for moving the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2012 through the Lower House. We will continue monitor its progress.  It is unfortunate the Freedom of Information Act is not in the frame. One would have imagined this is an easier piece of legislation to enact.

282 responses to “Government Moves Integrity Legislation Pass the Lower House”

1. On 08/31/2006 United States FBI and IRS Officials raided the offices of several prominent members of the Alaskian Legislation. The investigation involved allegation of illegal gifts to lawmakers from the VECO Corporation home based in Alaska. One of them, Senator Ted Stevens was indicted by a federal grand jury on July 29, 2008 on seven counts of alleging that Stevens received from VECO hundreds of thousands of dollars in gifts that he did not declare on his US Senate financial disclosure forms. Stevens was convicted on all seven of these charges on October 28, 2008. All convictions were later vacated. Another, Don Young was under federal investigation for possibly taking bribes, illegal gratuities or unreported gifts from the VECO Corporation. Between 1996 and 2006, Young received $157,000 from VECO employees and its political action committee. Also, the Alaska State House of Representatives Pete Kott, Bruce Weyhrauch and Vic Kohring were all charged with federal crimes as part of the investigation into VECO.

Senator Ted Stevens (Alaska) BEFORE persecuted and convicted by the United States had received 250,000 home renovations of which included a $5,000 generator. Senator Stevens gave Bill Allen (VECO) a ford mustang worth $20,000 and Allen gave Stevens a Land Rover (SUV) worth $44,000. VECO (Alaska) was major contributor to political campaigns and one of Senator Ted Stevens’ biggest campaign contributors. Congressman, Don Young (Alaska) between 1996 and 2006 BEFORE persecuted and convicted by the United States received $157,000 from VECO employees and its political action committee.

Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall gave to VECO a government contract WITHOUT TENDER. VECO built the prison at Dodds in St. Philip but had no record of building prisons. Certainly, VECO gave them something for such generosity but what? The plantation deeds person no doubt can prove his claim of massive land fraud. The United States FBI and IRS officials through its investigation of VECO (Alaska) likewise can prove evidence of corruption involving Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall; all three benefited from VECO (Alaska) as did the following Alaskian government officials: Senator Ted Stevens, Congressman Don Young, State Legislator, Vic Kohring also Alaskian State House Representatives Bruce Weyhranch and Pete Kott. Stevens, Young, Kohring, Weyhranch and Kott in the United States were all persecuted and convicted. Those three vagobonds, Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall in the United States also would have been persecuted and convicted for taking bribes, illegal gratuities and gifts from VECO. Those three vagobonds [Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall] in the United States would have been persecuted and convicted. Those three [Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall] walk around Barbados with no shame, why not Leroy Parris.

2. Desperate much? lol

3. @ Enuff

Do your dirt and run it’ll catch up with you anyway. . . . Dig one ditch, you better dig two, the trap you set just may be for you . . . . LOL Miller and Onions on this blog and the Barack Barack Barack one Mr. Enuff took their licks and ran off. Why don’t you do the same unless perhaps you could enlighten us more of that written above your 3:54pm posting.

4. @ David
    What is there to be gained by allowing this ” plantations deeds ” person to continue this rant against ALL Barbados without the production of ONE document to support his claim that , contrary to historical fact , a lady like Violet Beckles could be the biggest land owner in Barbados ? Is it fair to allow him to continue this wide – scale name calling without supporting documenting ? I believe this is one of the major concerns of persons like CARL MOORE when they speak negatively about the blogs .

5. i am still awaiting to see the real documentation of “THE WILL” plantion seems to have everything but the :Will”

6. Plantation show somet’ing man, yah losing your audience …!

7. @Plantation Deeds

You have until tomorrow to send us some documents.

8. @Amazing!!!

Another thing: why do the very politicians and journalists who criticise ‘the blogs’ post anonymously on BU?

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2012 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2012 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Another thing: why do the very politicians and journalists who criticise ‘the blogs’ post anonymously on BU?@@
    I Think that Enuff might be one or Ghost for a lawyer or friend .
    DAVID@ Before XMAS all who want to see can come over MY place and see .
    On Nov 29th 2012 We saw Ian Bourne having a drink , We stop and i spoke to him for about 30 mins , He gave me his card and said he will come over and record my words . He was to be there the next Monday at 10:30 am ,@ 1035am i called him, He never picked up and he never called Back. He have my address and phone number and email.

10. @Plantation Deeds

Not good enough, scan and email some documents please!

11. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2012 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2012 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

516 495 6270 majic Jack number

12. Jesus H C’rist Deeds, now is as good a time as any to blast this thing wide open. Send David something that he could work with, a couple scanned deeds, the will something, or go away and leave us alone …Seriously ..!

13. Maybe ol’ Fat Arse could weigh in as to why he thought so little of the individual …

14. A freind of mine in the process of selling a house couldn,t find the dees however she went to the office in charge of documentation and was able to proceed with the sale. however recently she said she had found the original deeds. taking that into consideration is she at liberty to wave such documentation after the sale. claiming ownership i meaning talk is cheap facts are what matters.

15. @ ac
    @ BAFBFC

United States billionaire, Donald Trump and other Republican party supports laid claim that Barack Obama was not eligible for United States president, could not prove he was born in the United States. Obama “in time” surrendered his birth certificate proving he was born in Hawaii, an area that is INCORPORATED into the United States. . . . The joke is on who?. . . . Dig one ditch, you better dig two, the trap you set just may be for you. He, Mr. Trump now demands that President Obama release his college records and passport. Obama, it seems buried him “still alive”. The three of you have are demanding documentation as did Donald Trump. You’ll get that and want more just that nutty Donald Trump.

16. Not the same scenario,because if Obama did not produce his birth certifcate the bureau of vital statistics would have verifiable evedience to prove negative or positive. the problem with deeds is that the “will”which may or not be in his/her possession is substantial proof to backup everything he/she is saying and put this whole issue to rest which goes to the very heart of credibility.

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2012 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

We have both Wills Beatrice and Violet Wills,

18. Well at this point I seriously doubt the creditability of the Deeds character and do believe that he can and will do serious harm to the true hairs of the individual deceased should he continue with his current pattern of chastising people who are NOT in a position to defend themselves.

David enough is enough …!

19. @Baf

Agreed, Plantation Deeds comments where there is name calling will be removed. If Deeds send us documents which we can validate we can continue the conversation.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I don’t know what documents Plantation Deeds has in his possession but I can attest that some of the information that he has presented about Violet Beckles is accurate. In one case someone went to court trying to title piece of the land at Well Gap, Cave Hill and Justice Chase saw through the fraud and run the person out of court. In other cases for some of the same land others were successful because the judges in those cases were not as discerning as Mr. Chase. Beatrice Henry owned over thirty parcels of land at Well Gap that were willed to Violet Beckles and she did not get one. Lawyers committed massive fraud against her.

The problem came with the drafting of the will, it was a very poor job and did not detail the actual devise. So whenever Violet discovered that she was entitled to some property: it was already stolen by route of a title suit.

21. @Caswell

You have always been on the mark but given the ramification of the charge by Plantations we want to see documents!

22. Okay. Here is the plan. Caswell Sleepy knows now that he will not live forever. He knows you. Call him, talk to him and have him understand that his weighing in on this will help change the image of the independence movement that Barbadians have grown accustomed to believing in. Wah you say man …

23. Anybody can write a WILL yuh hear and a will without deeds aint saying much. There is also Possessory Title.aka squatter’s rights. Anyway Plantation Deeds accused me of being a shady character so let me keep quiet.

24. @ Caswell .
    If the drafting was so poor that it ” did not detail the actual devise ” how then could Violet Beckles lay claim to property that was not properly described ? And do you not think that the claim of ownership of Kensington Oval is really ludicrous given our social history ?

25. Amazing !!!.

Jack Ass, there is no smoke without fire. This Deeds nincompoop is just not the person to be involved with this … that’s all

26. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2012 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

David @ I dont have a scanner at this location , I took some Pictures with the Kodak I just send some of what i was talking about .A few rentals recorded, Deeds front page, Will, Plantation list from !920 Book and net , Plantation.bb heading , read well, Death papers, Letters of Administration ,front page of lawyer list,Plantation Map from 1756,letter from David PM dated 10th Aug 2009,Demand to the AG dated and April 25th.2009, stamped April30th 2009 and stamped again DEC 14TH 2010.,PRINT OUT front page for 1980,UDC front page of 28pages of houses and people on the land and a faded copy of a deed from well gap cave hill.. i hope that will let you know We are real and no Fraud, Let the other know who cares.
    Bajan Free Party FOI we do , nothing to hide to learn the truth?

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

All the property that Violet claimed is the residue of the estate that was left to her.

28. @Caswell

Have received the some documents from Plantations and post them shortly.

29. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right!

The InterAmerican Development Bank has recently, under the cover of Reducing Corruption, been funding several projects in the Latin Americas.

The DLP as part of its records short five years in power should try to pipeline a project which would, under this integrity legislation/FOI tenet, create a computerized Registry of all Land/Deeds tekking in all of Wayne Forde documents and the Registry outdated DOS information, a reputable non-bajan GIS firm, some non bajan legal luminaries who ent frighten from the breadfruit swappers bout heah and the not so usual supects and work on regularizing this land title deeds mess.

Until one disgruntled owner of lands tek a 45 down to the offices of one uh dese lawyers and blow out dem brains this rape is going to continue

Den and only den dis shi*e that perpetrated pun poor people pun dis piece uh de rock, yeah right!! gine first get a hickup. And, when two or three more lawyers dead under similar circumstances, double tap, bullet to the head, den dis ting gine stop.

This might seem like sedition but i respectfully suggest that at that point lawyers like Fumble who are known to be honest, gine get work and the dishonest ones gine hafta shut shop, immediately after putting double doors, wid bullet proof glass pun dem offices. They will be out of business because their workload gine trickle to a stop.

We need a Better Business Bureau (get rid of the Fair Trading Commission and the Office of Public Prosecution) which will publish the names of the offending parties, all them in the legal fraternity, and the wuffless architects, and contractors and doctors against whom successful litigation has been waged. (and it is a war)

As long as successful litigation has been secured against a lawyer/doctor/architect/contractor etc., and some lien or other restitution has been secured, much like a bad credit report from Creditel and Grady Clarke tingy, de name of the guilty should be published!!

Babsie does publish de names uh de bullers and Mummy why you bite me’s so why de inept FTC and Public Prosecution Office khan publish de charlatans names?

Publish dem names and this brotherhood of the rose shi*e gine stop.

30. During the course of the CBC investigation, Lynn Garner, a vice-president with DGM, a private Barbados bank, was also among those tested.

Garner worked as an executive at several money management firms and banks and as the trust manager for the Royal Bank of Canada in Barbados.

At first, Garner was adamant that her bank would never get involved with someone like CBC’s undercover businessman.

“We don’t take clients who aren’t reporting,” she was recorded on hidden cameras saying. “So we don’t — you know, our book is clean.”

But then she went on to tell the undercover businessman how he could hide cash offshore, by setting up an anonymous paper company, moving the cash offshore and opening an account at her bank to hold the cash. http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/ex-revenue-canada-lawyer-advised-how-to-hide-money-offshore-1.1875481

31. Special Branch need to uncover corruption among the politicians and nip the emerging trend of politically motivated persecution. We cannot have a police force that is politically compromised.