Submitted by Brandford Padmore
William Duguid MP apologizes for outburst

The Democratic Labour Party agrees with the very first line in the BLP’s column last week: “Tuesday, November 20, will go down in Barbadian political infamy as the date when” MP William Duguid showed his and his party’s true colours. His constant taunting of Minister Donville Inniss in Parliament is an almost weekly offensive. The difference this time was that the cameras and mike captured it. Since then, Mr. Duguid’s party has been urging him to issue a public apology “to save face”. This he eventually did three days after his vulgar outburst. But, that apology was self-serving, and was made only because video of the repulsive assault, and the vile and detestable language used, went viral. The “gentleman’s” lame excuse was that he was provoked. Well, people who live in glass houses shouldn’t hurl boulders!

Indeed, we wonder what one would call the constant abuse hurled at Minister Inniss about ownership of an alleged porno website, which local ‘fact-check’ has disproved since 2007; and Mr. Duguid’s assertion that “the Member for St. James South is immoral and can’t qualify as a camp director”. That is what started the to-and-fro.

But, who was really provoked? We wonder! Was it a seasoned two-term MP, whose weekly and weakly slings and arrows at Minister Inniss are like water on a duck’s back, suddenly snapping and going on a tirade, despite the Chair’s earnest pleas to desist? Or, was it a decent, first-term MP who is constantly peppered with vile comments; and whose sotto voce retorts are understandable? After all, he is still human. Watch the video of what transpired, and you be the judge!

Why did “the honorable gentleman” react the way he did? Well, many believe that, for one thing, he is not returning to the electorate; and two, that is his modus operandi. Also he may only be following an example set by his Leader Arthur as it is his style to Cuss people (this is usually in the wee hours of the morning after the ESAF has started to bite ) who disagree with him on any matter. What is inculcated sooner or later emanates. The BLP should try to explain away such gauche conduct and impropriety.

For sure, not even the Prime Minister’s most boisterous critics could imagine the Honourable Freundel Stuart behaving in such an obscene and disgusting manner; yet he is the most vilified and maligned politician in the DLP. The Opposition hacks take pleasure in attacking him daily; but, such only serves to embolden him and make him the gentleman he is. Yes, we still have politicians who are real gentlemen.

There are some questions the public wants answered; never mind Mr. Duguid’s refusal to take any when he read a prepared statement at his advertised ‘press conference’. We want him to truthfully reveal what was said to him? Was his a preemptive ploy that went terribly awry? Why were his colleagues urging him on? Why did it take him so long to tender an apology?

Tuesday’s vicious and vulgar outburst did not even resonate with your few supporters. How will you explain to our youth your misbehaviour? But then, we remember you do not have to; Canada is beckoning. Some BLP politicians could not care less! Like their leader, they attend as few sittings as possible to ensure their seats are not declared vacant, and to secure a parliamentary pension by holding on to once safe-seats, then exit the stage in a blaze of profanity.

What a way to go! The newfangled BLP Way!

60 responses to “Strange BLP Morals”

1. These lazy bunch of foulmouth sleaze bags must be made to understand that they are not allowed to hate and curse each other (or pretend to) on taxpayers dime. Even the microphones the vomit their lying garbage out of is taxpayer funded.

2. I love tuh cuss; I comming back home to run fuh St.Thomas. LOL!

3. Seems to me that the Red Indian getting a little touchoust, LOL I only reporting what comes to my desk, and trust me plenty comes my way, if you have issues with people you are free to a rant and a rave but calling me names will not stop me from reporting the facts as they come to me Mr Red Indian, seems like Mr Gilkes has your head in a pickle, good for him, I am not he but if he has your measure I need seek his help to rattle you some more.

Maybe rather than striking like blind elder Leroy and David you should say if yes or if no if your work has diminished because of your political affiliation to the drunkard Arthur and the BLP.

4. How funny was it to hear Dale Marshall last night trying to sanitize the image of William Duguid.Were it not for parliament tv such an effort may well have been successful.There is no one in the current crop of parliamentarians as disruptive as Duguid.Also his apology and Mr Marshall ‘s lame attempt would have been more palatable had either one brought just a little clarification to the charge of making threats to a private citizen via the same PC as used by the BLP.Duguid is no saint.

5. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Bewitched Stuart

Remove the folly

6. what will they think of next Avatar
    what will they think of next

william duguid
    July 19th, 2007 at 11:53 pm
    My Friends

I have been out of the country from time to time but I have followed the various conversations. but I was not moved to comment. First because no matter what I say people try to turn it around and secondly some people use this blog to be abusive and I will not sink to those levels.

I came into public life with integrity and I will leave whenever the people no longer want me to represent them with my integrity intact.

7. what will they think of next Avatar
    what will they think of next

“William Duguid, the BLP Member of Parliament for Christ Church West, returned to Barbados yesterday from Canada amid accusations that he and his family have immigrated to Canada while Duguid unethically retains his parliamentary seat & salary. Even BLP supporters are complaining that Duguid is not providing proper representation to his constituents and are calling for his resignation. (Nation News: Call for Duguid to step down.)”

8. BLP "no workable solutions, just gimmicks and cartoons" Avatar
    BLP “no workable solutions, just gimmicks and cartoons”

Owen Arthur needs to stop promising everything he can think of and start telling the truth. He is not telling Bajans what spending he would cut.
    Mitt Romney went up and down America saying how bad things were under Obama but refused to be specific on soltions. You realise Arthur is doing the same thing – not one specific on spending cuts from Arthur, you want to know why?
    Because Arthur knows that he will have to send home thousands of public sector workers and the “privatisation” was the way to do it.He has no other plan. Thousands of public sector workers will lose their jobs – that is what the BLP has in store. Next time you hear Arthur speak, check that he never specifically outlines spending cuts. He will never be specific. The devil is in the details.

9. the only thing that getting “privatise” is Freundel.

10. Simply wish to say your article is as amazing. The clarity on your publish is just excellent and i can think you’re an expert in this subject.

Well along with your permission let me to clutch your RSS feed to stay
    up to date with drawing close post. Thank you a million and please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply to Drunk ArthurCancel reply