Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin

BU shared the Rising Crime + Tourism = Bad News story in November 2011 which was widely circulated in the UK media. At the time we were concerned – and we remain so – that the bad publicity was bad news for the toursm sector and Barbados, we are heavily dependent on tourism.

In a bizarre development to this story, the man charged for the crime who Commissioner Dottin has stated publicly this week the police has a preponderance of evidence against, the victims are saying he is innocent. To prove it, those said to have been raped have waived their right to anonymity according to press reports, and will testify that the man Commissioner Dottin says there is good case is the wrong man. What the hell!

The naive question which BU poses to the Commissioner is:  How  can he expect a conviction when the victims say it is the wrong man?

Rising Crime + Tourism = Bad News

Posted on November 27, 2011 by David | 185 Comments | Edit

62 year old Diane Davies the day after her alleged attack

When one of the leading daily newspapers in the UK run a story penned by a leading journalist, it translates to ‘widely read’. When the story is about a 62 year old who claims she was raped in Barbados while on vacation, it translates into bad news for Barbados. Right at the start of the tourist season to boot, this does us absolutely no favours at all if the allegations are correct; if true Barbados is seriously at fault.

Read full blog

1. islandgal246 | November 23, 2012 at 8:47 PM |
    This Banana Republic continues to give the world more fodder for laughter. Can’t we do anything right? Remember we have the BEST civil service in the Caribbean and the world!
    And the most intelligent people,with a graduate in every house.

2. Case postponed until 13 December 2012 to await determination by DPP.

3. @ac. Once again, 100% agreement with you. You could not be more right.

@ Smooth Cholocate | November 23, 2012 at 8:58 PM |. For someone who spells “chocolate” as “cholocate” and clearly expects their readers to understand what they meant, do you really think you ought to be calling anyone on spelling? I am not criticizing, merely observing and remarking.

@David. What determination? The charges need to be dismissed at once. In the unlikely event that the Police can later prove that these two ladies were not correct in their evidence, it can reinstate the charges. However, if they perisist now and the matter goes to trial, the judge has got to direct the jury to acquit as it now stands. And then double jeopardy applies and you cannot re-charge. Of course, to expect the DPP to know these fairly obvious points of law and proceedure that ANY MEMBER OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC IS AWARE OF, is really asking a little too much. And the delay for three weeks in lifting the threat from over the head of an innocent man, will provide amnesia for the general public and the international press, so that all the tourists that have been deterred by the actions of Dotty Dottin and his merry band of goons and by the ever-talking CJ and his judiciary, will simply continue to patronise Barbados as an off shore and tourist destination – and the goons in politicial office and the un-civil service will carry on as usual.

4. “while the word ‘counties’ is the plural of ‘country’.”

ROFLMAO …Amused you forgot to mention the above as well. Imagine a Pot calling a coal Pot black! SMH

5. I remember this man’s predecessor calling out a squadron of police in FULL riot gear ( I d’in even know before then that they owned such stuff) to quell a student demonstration at Cave Hill a few years ago. What stupidity, the type that clearly demonstrated to me that we should be doing a hell of a lot better in our selection of Chief Cop (…. and PM and Opp Leader and Central Bank Head and DPP and CJ and Cheif Personnel Officer and Supervisor of Insurance … and … )

6. @ BAFBFP

Well said. . . . . . . .!

7. @Islandgal. Missed that…….must be getting old.

@BAF. Agree. Truth is these idiots cannot get employment anywhere else, so they have to try to leech on the public purse. The lunatics and running the asylum and the unemployables are being paid by the employed.

8. Could somebody please donate a couple of computers and internet access to the Prime Minister, the Attorney General, the Commissioner of Police and the Chief Justice?

Then sit with them and show them how this story has been spreading across the Internet?

Can some explain to these fine gentlemen that news is not sent by carrier pigeons but is virtually instant over the Internet?

You can’t sleep walk through incidents like this and hope it will resolve itself.

9. Smooth Cholocate Avatar

Amused | November 24, 2012 at 7:12 AM |

“@ Smooth Cholocate | November 23, 2012 at 8:58 PM |. For someone who spells “chocolate” as “cholocate” -”

are u for real? SMOOTH CHOLOCATE is the phrase i chose not SMOOTH CHOCOLATE for my own reasons. i really cannot believe that you could be so utterly backward….. again the guy/gal needs a good lesson in English grammar. ‘Countries’ is the plural of country. he/she meant ‘country’s’ which signifies ‘belonging to’… smh…smh

10. Smooth Cholocate Avatar

islandgal246 | November 24, 2012 at 7:38 AM |
    “while the word ‘counties’ is the plural of ‘country’.”
    ROFLMAO …Amused you forgot to mention the above as well. Imagine a Pot calling a coal Pot black! SMH…”

And you are another perfect jackass…it is quite obvious that my error was a typo…the other? they need a lesson in English….you bajans are totally and utterly simple…so simple SMH…SMH

11. dem murder a white Canadian woman and call she white trash.
    ya think that not get around the world.
    dem ban smoking in bars so tourist not going to bars[indoor].
    what else dem do?
    unreported rapes ,theft,goes on weekly in barbados on tourist sometimes the
    people are leaving that same evening on the cruse ships …..WTF CAN THEY DO???????????????????????
    POLICE ARE USELESS CUNTZ
    AND BARBADOS IS A SHIT HOLE.
    AND DOTTING IS A ASSHOLE.
    SO WHAT YOU EXPECT.
    I TELLING YOU ALL .
    WUNNA DONE.
    BARBADOS GO FUNK YOUR MONKEY JUNGLE ASS SELVES..
    I AM JUST WRITING IN THE NATIVE LANGUAGE,/NOTHING PERSONAL.HAHA

12. “And you are another perfect jackass…it is quite obvious that my error was a typo…the other? they need a lesson in English….you bajans are totally and utterly simple…so simple SMH…SMH”

Smooth choco……before you throw stones please check your self first. No one is perfect so stop giving advice if you can’t take it yourself.

13. and give me a break trying to talk like white people with hundreds of years more civilized and educated people than you orangutang jack asses.
    please.
    wunna done.

THE END

14. Harry callihan ………..now here is a man that Mr Duiguid’s remarks would be best redirected to.

15. The Chief justice, Guyanese director of public prosecution and the attorney general by their silence have given support to the emergence of secret justice in Barbados by barring the press from the committal hearing of Derick Crawford, the man accused of the rape of two British women.
    In any democracy justice must not only be done, it must be seen to be done. And the only way of doing that is by having court hearings in public. Shame on you lot.

16. Hal Austin

You just made a good joke, and I am laughing. Do you still expect to find justice in Barbados? I have been looking for her for a long time but I have been unable to find out her address.

17. @ Caswell Franklyn.

So we could presume that even your former boss is complicit in the disappearance of Justice and would not tell, even you, her address.

18. Harry

Man you know I likes you bad bad and man keep on carrying on … HA HA HA. But while you at it deal wid de White trash that we got ’bout hey too nah ,,, After all you dealing with a clean sweep campaign and colour should have nothing to do with it … Wah you say, we is friends or no … HA HA HA

19. Hants

Which former boss: you mean Mia?

20. @Caswell
    You are being a cynic. We have the best civil service in the world, the best police, the best court system, the most progressive prison system, the best educational system, the third freest nation in the world, one of the best transport system, one of the best insurance supervisory systems, a first rate banking regulator, a dynamic national insurance system, some of the best trade unionists in the world, a first rate business environment, and world class journalists.
    Behave yourself, Caswell.

21. @Hal. Gave me a good laugh. Thanks.

22. […] continues to follow the story – Rapists, Commissioner Darwin Dottin and the Integrity of the Evidence – of a poor Black man accused of raping two English visitors to Barbados. That the story has […]

23. Well. . . .well! Just what has this country come to? Seems like it is rapidly on course to hell in a dung basket!

@ig246
    And, btw, do we speak English here? I always thought we spoke Bajanese. 🙂

24. how come two days gone by and no mention of the report that the comissioner said he is not meeting with the women.

Leave a Reply to Adrian LoveridgeCancel reply