Submitted by Pheonix
Storage tanks of Depaz rum distillery. Martinique

The recent announcement of plans by the present administration to build three (3) concrete tanks for a total cost of $12 Million Bds baffles. That’s a hell of a lot of money . Do tell us someone, are we about to be pouring four foot thick walls of solid concrete structure, with dimensions of 35 feet height  x radius 30 feet ? An engineer’s quest indeed to say the least and worthy of full praise if well executed.

The present tanks at the Harbour Rd. are made of steel and have lasted some fifty years or more and have adequately served their purpose. So what’s up with this building of new ones made of concrete? Has it anything to do with ‘veal cuts’ or pork chop cuts? Being in close proximity to a well known now closed watering hole, Porthole, could there be some rub off ? In that now decommissioned greasy joint, you could once get the sweetest and biggest pork chop on the island. However, nowadays Port Inc. once plumped stevedores have made committals to their wives to healthy living and longevity. Not so with these concrete proposal given  that we live in the Caribbean.

Is the cost of steel tanks, the only overriding factor as to why the choice of these new concrete novels? Sometimes life span  and maintenance considerations should out weigh cost. One should remember we live in the tropics and experience fluid temperature variations. Any learned fifth form lad doing physics at our secondary school would inform, that concrete expands as temperature rises (daytime) and contracts when the temperature drops (night time). Such expansion and subsequent contraction causes concrete side walks to crack. Were it not for some compensative measure, such as the placement of a piece of wood between slabs, to remedy this anomaly, (concrete’s coefficient of linear expansion) our side walks would be cracking up and warping. So much more(one would  believe) and this problem be amplified, given the circular shape of tanks. What is the popularity of concrete tanks used internationally anyway, for storing molasses or any product of such high viscosities (unlike H2O) yet another pertinent consideration?

Before we start pouring the duck grey derision ( hopefully not to form egg shells), one would hope a second and even third opinions would have been sought, for a $12 Million bad set  would be most unwelcome at this time. Especially when it is coming from money, “we didn’t have.”

57 responses to “Let’s Pour Concrete”

1. Facts and truths:
    Mr. Maloney was cows” bag boy” in 1994. Fact: He travelled to st lucia with cow on visits for the work there, he was the project manager for cow on sherboune water fountain project (never knew what was actually going on but never the less he got the job over the more experienced local staff).

Maloney now heads PRECONCO a subsidiary of COW, so COW is in on the money!!! truth;

research with CAIPO will show that COW actually has stake in Preconco, RR consteel, and many more contruction arms in Barbados(but we have no freedom of information act) so we must stay out of “the Knowing” …..true

Govt is quoted as saying that it doesnt have the money to build the concrete tanks (nation nov,24,2012) so we have the other option …….$2.15 million a year for 12 years ( Maloney’s words ) that’ s 25 million + interest charges for the period +plus liability of increase charges tied to the value of money (inflation). so we see that Kerrie is correct!!!! the other hidden charges is not pronounced (and remember VAT?) …true

we are told of cuts and spending care , now (my God) where the hell are we going with all this concrete work. i would prefer Estwick put that in Agriculture…. but look, constituton river,(concrete) ,new pier (concrete), bwa head quarters …cocncrete), board walks (concrete) ,Jersey Barriers..concrete) ,walk overs,roundabouts, and not one cent mentiond in soil for agriculture…. estwick has to be accountable.nothing in farming….

.now, conclusion… where is , and who has to pay all this money!!!!!! and talk about priorities. concrete is sold at $500 bds per cubic meter(3750 psi). let us hear the capacities and all the consultancy fees and the costs .. but we know that it will not be far from $50 million in the future.

2. BTW….less we forget…..what happen of the concrete tank deal with Jerk um? Essey boi….dun harden deal and wid a seal ?…. $12 mil upfront…$2 mil service each year……hemorrhaging nuclear …..

3. mcguyver | November 26, 2012 at 2:09 AM |

seen above….worthy of a read…platform too… Dr. Essequibo

4. ……Tekk my foolish advice..next ting Mark gine be offering to building concrete planes for LIAT…. LOL

5. .FYI

Maloney now heads PRECONCO a subsidiary of COW, so COW is in on the money!!! truth;

research with CAIPO will show that COW actually has stake in Preconco, RR consteel, and many more contruction arms in Barbados(but we have no freedom of information act) so we must stay out of “the Knowing” …..true

Govt is quoted as saying that it doesnt have the money to build the concrete tanks (nation nov,24,2012) so we have the other option …….$2.15 million a year for 12 years ( Maloney’s words ) that’ s 25 million + interest charges for the period +plus liability of increase charges tied to the value of money (inflation). so we see that Kerrie is correct!!!! the other hidden charges is not pronounced (and remember VAT?) …true

we are told of cuts and spending care , now (my God) where the hell are we going with all this concrete work. i would prefer Estwick put that in Agriculture…. but look, constituton river,(concrete) ,new pier (concrete), bwa head quarters …cocncrete), board walks (concrete) ,Jersey Barriers..concrete) ,walk overs,roundabouts, and not one cent mentiond in soil for agriculture…. estwick has to be accountable.nothing in farming….

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\

ROCK HARD CONCRETE ..in the works Mark # 2 and Company….forget all D lobbying…

6. OOB

Why you dig up dis ole concrete tank blog.

BTW, DD wundering if de concrete tanks did get build.

If so, it is long since water (or is that molasses) under the bridge.

7. How the ask this So n’So Guvvement …cauhblima..could allow Mark Maloney to rip off the people of Barbados so doh? if what Mia said in her reply is true….Marco stands to make $48.6 Mil on those concrete tank contracts and we hear how somebody pun tis sick ask runnaway train. sign off pun a lease to them for 33years to occupy We d Sheeple lands @ Harbour Road for a mere 3 cents a sq,ft…sheer madness I dare say.

Leave a Reply to Colonel BuggyCancel reply