Submitted by Andre Jones
Ionics plant was never operated at full capacity according to Auditor General report

Of all the fatted calves in Barbados, the Reverse Osmosis Desalination Facility at Spring Garden owned and operated by Ionics Freshwater Limited is surely the fattest in the herd! This BLP calf delivers BDS$1.9 Million each and every year to its owners in the form of a standby charge billed to the Barbados Water Authority without even a drop of water making its way into the water main system of Barbados. The Auditor General discovered during its recent Special Audit of the Barbados Water Authority that BDS$19Million has already been paid to Ionics as a standby charge and this has nothing to do with the actual price of water produced by the facility and charged to the Barbados Water Authority. There is no doubt Mr. Ralph ‘BIZZY’ Williams and his good friends Hallem Nicholls and Owen Arthur do handsomely well out of this transaction.

This reminds one of the Rime of the Ancient Mariner poem by English poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge written in 1797/98 and published in the first edition of Lyrical Ballads.

See related link: BWA’s Special Audit

Day after day, day after day,

We stuck, nor breathe, nor motion;

As idle a painted ship

Upon a painted ocean

Water, water, every where,

And all the boards did shrink;

Water, water, every where,

Nor any drop to drink.

In 1998, the Barbados Water Authority (then under the control of the BLP Administration) entered into a Build-Own-Operate Agreement with Ionics to build the Reverse Osmosis Desalination Facility at Spring Garden. The Agreement required Ionics to construct, operate, maintain and supply the Barbados Water Authority with 27,000 cubic meters of water capacity per day for a period of fifteen (15) years. Despite the Governments Planning and Priorities Committee requirement to include an option in the agreement for the Barbados Water Authority to purchase the facility at a predetermined price at any given point, the Water Supply Agreement between Ionics and the Barbados Water Authority makes it very very difficult if not virtually impossible for the Barbados Water Authority to ever acquire the facility. The Auditor General also discovered that in addition to the standby charge (free money) of BDS$1.9Million per year Ionics was and probably still is reaping the astronomical rate of return (ROI) of 18% on their investment.

By some estimates the operator Ionics and its shareholders are profiteering to the tune of BDS$10Million each and every year for operating the plant and selling the water to the Barbados Water Authority and if this is correct, one wonders where all those profits finally end up and whether anyone from the previous BLP Administration benefits as well.  The attached Report from the Auditor General shines a bit of sunlight onto this nasty, corrupt and clearly one-sided agreement. Is this the kind of privatization the BLP has in mind when they talk about selling Barbados’s interest in state owned enterprises and statutory corporations to private sector?

1. @bushie
    No argumentations nor disputations from me. I’ll grab my helmet, kneepads and skis so I can at least enjoy the downhill ride.

@david
    “Accountability and change”

That’s what’s so farcical about the upcoming elections. If one were to ask “what has changed” you’d be left scratching your head. Same sh#* different people, worse implementations and operations. But, we placed them there to be and do different and to point a “better” way forward. They have not. So, as such they will be judged when the time comes.

Just observing

2. It is a different time and if the BLP believes if they were to regain office it will be business as usual then …we shall see.

3. @ Mystery
    Yeah my head hard, but you can’t negotiate successfully to the full objection of the the person you are negotiating with.

4. The BLP is set to assume the reins of Government once again come tomorrow January 25, 2013. The BLP under the leadership of party leader Owen Arthur completely destroyed the DLP under the leadership of Freundel Suart. The final election result shows the BLP winning 29 seats , the DLP GAINING NO SEATS and an independent candidate, a former member of the DLP winning the other seat Meanwhile former Prime Minister Stuart who lost his seat to a returning Noel Lynch said that he would retire from elective politics.

The final result in the election is as follows:

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

5. Listen I have read some really stupid comments here, like why pay for something you cant use. That’s a down right stupid argument, why build a plant to only supply what you need. In case of emergency or in the case of increase in demand what will you do? Spend more money expanding and retrofitting . That’s the same kind of argument that prevented a 4 lane highway in the 80s and the same stupid argument that prevented the fly overs. Also a stand by charge is not unreasonable its business everything has a price. I prefer my tax money to be spent to ensure I can get water if something happens out of the ordinary happens. I don’t prefer it to be spent on constituency councils isn’t that a white elephant to. Why don’t you talk of some of the “BEST” ministers sons who sleep “BEST” on water works trucks instead of working, your tax money pays them. Or why don’t you talk DLP guys who where suppose to clean up BWA and draw large pay when the month comes but work hardest on one arm bandits instead.

6. Just asking and Jamal,

Your narrative about a pending DLP defeat at the upcoming polls is just a lot of palaver.

The most recent global election result is another fine example of how you can be misled into counting your chickens before they are hatched.

On election night Mitt Romney had to eat humble pie. Despite all the polls say he is winning.

If the BLP supporters believe the results of the most recent Cadres poll….then why do they want PM Stuart to call polls now ?

If the BEES are winning now in 2012….then they SHOULD believe they will win in 2013.

The DLP has a 5 year mandate. The DLP will carry on till their 5 years is up.

The question the Bees have to ask themselves….why Owen Arthur refused to call the PAC meeting on the Bridgetown Marina as he threatened ?

He who want to lead should come with clean hands !

7. And this looks like another gold mine in the making for the owners of the Desal plant,compliments Heritage and Cultural Lashley. One wonders who finances the transformation of this building, the Landlord or the Taxpayers.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/83717797@N04/8173142749/

8. After 46 years of so-called independence can we really and truly call ourselves craftsmen of our fate. ?,when the same people who were driving us with yokes attached, are now manipulating us with the same ropes like puppets.

9. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

@ David .
    Is it true that Kaymar Jordan has resigned from the Nation????

10. Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance Avatar
    Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance

Breaking News Kaymar Jordan after months of towing the line publishing sht from the BLP allowed two articles that totally discredited Arthur and Mascoll one by the Barbados Economics Society and the other from Prof Michael Howard two BLP supporters that said enough is enough of the nonsense Arthur you are a liar.

The end result is the Jordan publishes their stories and temper tantrum. Short runt Arthur cussed all of them at the Nation instructs the former President of the Senate Gollop that she is to be fired and they call her in today before Gittens, Grenville Phillips and the same Fred Gollop and fired her forthwith she was fired with immediate effect.

11. One day coming soon Avatar
    One day coming soon

Where ever easy money in large amounts is to be had in Barbados leather face Bizzy Williams is in the picture raking in cash. The Ionics Plant on Spring garden puzzled from the start. Based on what is was supposed to supply when it was about to be built is has delivered very little. The BLP in 14 years authorised a number of wrong projects wasting billions. The Greenland dump still rankles.

12. Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance Avatar
    Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance

2 Votes
    Watching Carefully and Listening. | November 10, 2012 at 7:24 PM |
    @ David .
    Is it true that Kaymar Jordan has resigned from the Nation????

Watching she did NOT resign she was fired by Gittens, Phillips and the former leader of the BLP Senate Gollop.

13. @Watching Carefully and Listening

Have not read any official statement on the firing of Kaymar Jordan.

14. Came on the CBC as a breaking story at 7pm but Kaymar when contacted said she had no comment

15. David any word on the Kaymar story. Should be hot topic tomorrow.

16. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar

@ David & Mr Caring vs Mr Arrogance.
    We have our first example of real PRIVITISATION ..Jordan proves to be a liability so she must be got rid of . She cannot be allowed to eat out the profits . I shall wait for further developments .

17. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

It is interesting that CBC has reported this story but there were several stories involving the DLP that were never mentioned on CBC. CBC shows a lot of nonsense generally but the one feature many people tune in to watch is the CBC News. Nowadays the CBC News is pure crap . Big Nose Freundel Stuart is always featured as the first item followed by any amount of Ministers. Last night you had Big Black Board Nose Freundel Stuart talking foolshness in St. Peter followed by Black Big Nose Benn, Jones, Inniss and whoever else. It was not News. It was a turn off , that is what it was——————-SICKENING

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DR. THE HONOURABLE | November 11, 2012 at 8:14 AM

Boy, you all hate your own fellow BLACK PEOPLE.

19. carson yuh tink he black? he is one igrunt work of ars….s.

20. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

That is your conclusion. One wonders on what basis you have reached that conclusion. But then again we are known for making crazy assumptions and coming to foolish conclusions. The fact of the matter is that they are Big , Black and Board Nosed . They should be proud of their African Heritage. Big Black Board Nose is factual description

You fail to realise that the CBC is being abused by the DLP and it has come to the point where the over exposure is turning off viewers and the offending images will received comments. When you turn on your television , you want to see news not the nonsense every night on CBC. Is the news broadcast to only feature politicians ?? Steupse !!!

21. Would not call you honourable
    The genetics of west Africans would produce broad nose persons. Most of the slaves coming to the Caribbean came from the west coast. The ones from the east coast would have a pointed nose.
    What is your point idiot?

22. hon. jacka/sss you are such a nincoompoop what de hell does one features or race got to do with their beliefs or r yuh need a colonoscopy is talking real sh…t so early you gotsssss to be a member of the Kul Klax Klan

23. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar

@ Dr The ” honourable ” & David
    David ,For the first time I feel really hurt that it is not possible to have the identity of some posters revealed . Imagine this one parading as Dr The Honourable . Can you imagine that in the year of our Lord 2012 a “person ” of any colour referring to a BLACK MAN in respect of his big nose and colour ? David I must admit that by allowing this post , you have hurt me deeply this Sunday morning . The blog is failing as a medium of education . We need urgent help for this ILLITERATE .

24. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

the word narrative used in the above is interesting, this is the new buzz word people. Narrative or not please never compare Barbados to America. Never Never Never. It is like comparing ELEPH-ant with ant

25. @Watching Carefully and Listening

There will always be the ignorant who seek to walk among us. Do you recall the contribution from ‘Mr. Agriculture’ recently when he opined that Haitians are being punished because of their religion? The thing to do is for the educated to enlighten and this is what BU tries to do. To banish the person is to leave them to wallow in their ignorance.

26. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I have seen people on this blog cursing Owen Arthur and calling him all sorts of names implying that he is a thief and that he and the BLP is corrupt. This is an unfounded charge against the man . I described some persons in a way that reflect their African Heritage and you feel hurt ?

Let me apologize for hurting you deeply this Sunday Morning
    My apologies
    Offered in the spirit of Sunday Morning
    and I hope my apologies are accepted.

27. DR. THE HONOURABLE what are you apologizing for? like you rightly said these nasty DEMs get and call persons all kind of unfounded names, but get hurt because someone called someone else Big Black Board Nose? that is what the man got, deal with it. my uncle has a Big Black Board Nose does that mean i’m racist towards him?

and forget the African Heritage shite, you use that crap when you don’t know you true identity.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | November 11, 2012 at 9:32 AM |
    “Do you recall the contribution from ‘Mr. Agriculture’ recently when he opined that Haitians are being punished because of their religion?”

Are you putting Mr. Agriculture from the beautiful and god chosen parish of Ch Ch in the same league as Zoe?
    Mr. Agriculture sounds more like that of an “ac” or ‘CCC” type who blames every problem or wrong in this current world on OSA and the BLP 14 years or living hell and annihilation of the Bajan economy society and people.
    Both ac and CCC have blamed the current economic difficulties in Western economies on OSA. If I am lying, ac can prove me wrong like how she tries with Moneybrain.

According to the DLP knights of the roundtable where both ac and CCC are seated let them henceforth bestow the title on OSA as the RT. Hon “Voodoo” Arthur.

29. miller did i not call OSA policies “vodoo economics’

30. i’m in no way a believer but i have been told that vodoo works. if that be the case, i would think that you ac and the DLP have a lot to worry about.

31. I was hoping not to visit this blog today and still see Barbadians hanging on to the folly of 0wen Arthur dream of privatisation.

The man is a collosal failure. A relic of an era past. He leads a BLP party whose past efforts at privatisation (like the story) above is a sordid story for a man touted as an Economist.

Prof. Neville Duncan got it right ….when he asked a few months ago….what can Owen Arthur do this time around….that he did not do for the 14 years he was in power.

A Prime Minister who lied about NOT being present at Cabinet when a major decision about Dodds Prison was taken !

A Prime Miinister who steals his own party campaign funds !

32. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

A Prime Miinister who steals his own party campaign funds

SEE WHAT I MEAN !

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 11, 2012 at 8:49 AM |

Now you know how it feels when the likes of you and CCC refer to OSA in the most vicious scandalous, lying, defamatory disrespectful and obnoxious ways.
    Do you think it is OK to call a previous PM that has done more good for this country that Freundel Stuart would ever do in a million billions years by all sorts of names including “short-me-crutch, insipid sickly looking, thieving, corrupt wife-beater.”?

Retribution, ac, is a bitch, like you!
    If you want “Dr. The Honourable” to stop attacking FS “pronounced” physiognomy then you and CCC must desist from insulting and disparaging OSA in a personal capacity.

34. David (not BU) tell me about it ! it certainly put a Hex on the barbados economy with high interest rate on the money OSA borrowed to put money in the pockets of many who now paying a high price and have OSA scrambling to sell off the remaining assets ! it certainly did work ! if that what you mean by working.

35. miller ac never used that kind of terminology to describe OSA! get your facts right i do have copies!

36. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

all of this back and forth about what Owen do and aint do,like if Owen is who in power ,as far as i know de DLP is de party in power for de last few years because they were put there by the ppl for the ppl and when fundle ring de bell we know the party faithful like ac and c.c.c will vote party, but its the undecided that will judge u on ur performance and if ya pass ya good but if ya faill ya gine get put ta fack out ,de DLP raised water rates by 60%and said they will fix the BWA and SAID that was the reason for de increase so why ya hearing shite talk bout what OWEN do ??? U SAID IF ELECTED U WOULD FIX IT, YA GET ELECT AND AINT FIX IT AND NOW ELECTIONS ROUND DE CORNER U WANT SOMEBODY TO BLAME

37. @Miller and ac

Please don’t start.

38. David respect due ! i am going to take a bush bathe and head out the door for church!

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 11, 2012 at 10:10 AM |
    “miller did i not call OSA policies “vodoo economics’”.

Are you claiming authorship to that derogatory term ‘voodoo economics better know as “supply-side economics or trickle-down economics”?

You also called the DLP January 2008 manifesto the “book of spells and magic” with David Thompson as Papa Legba. Now you are shouting gimmicks! gimmicks!

40. who was the Minister of Finance when this project was conceptualised and presented to the Planning and Priorty Committee? Was an evaulation done on this project to dteremine whether the gov will get value for money and who did the evaluation and who reccomend the project to the full Cabinet? What is the accepted rate of return for a utility company?Are we going to be refunded any money that Ionic did not truly earned? Why was the contract done in favour of Ionic? I would like Progical, Miller et al address those questions.

41. I don’t under what DLP supporters are running on, wanna running on fumes like how people run their vehicles nowadays. The Dlp has failed in every way, their social programs have burdened the economy, (free bus fare for school children & constituency councils are the worst) It is so bad they don’t release the figures on the transport board anymore. The DLP increased the cost of living, imagine a piece of saltfish cost $8 and $9, and DLP supporters happy, I don’t understand at all. (no 12 3 on their manifesto). They destroyed the tax structure, Increased every single direct tax, direct taxes are recessive and you cant tax your way out of a recession, what they have succeed in doing is eroding disposable income and bringing the private sector to its knees, because nobody has extra money to spend.(I need a constituency council pic to help me out). But when big DLPs can get an say on facebook people only vex because them want to send their children to Spanish lessons and ballet, you can see why such policies would be implemented. These stupid tax increases also reduced peoples savings and therefore increased the cost of investment. The DLP energy policy is even worse it was more beneficial to absorb the cost than to create rampant inflation along side the increased taxes let me list them (land x 2, road tax, personal income tax, taxes on allowances). And now a man proudly talking this foolishness about borrowing to pay public servants Dlp supporters is that right?. It is not the governments job to power and push the economy. What the Dlp’s problem is they like to spend and spend on crap. When you have a leader who argues that economics is no magic what do you expect. That disrespect for a science he does not understand is why we are in the position we are in. They need to listen to the civil servants who are trained, that advise them that they are doing crap, instead of pelting the reports one side!!!!!!!!

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David (not BU) | November 11, 2012 at 9:50 AM |

there are many BLACK PEOPLE in Barbados who hate the fact that they are BLACK.

It is no wonder that the BLACK Barbados Labour party has PROUDLY selected a WHITE CAMPAIGN MANAGER.

Now this WHITE MAN will go around Barbados begging BLACK BAJANS TO VOTE for the BLACK Barbados Labour Party.

Ironic is it not?

And what we are seeing here is the attacks on BLACK BAJANS have begun, starting with our PRIME MINISTER and no doubt will intensify over the coming months.

Only in the Barbados Labour Party!

43. @ CCC

I am neither black nor am I a supporter of any political party in Barbados. I am not even from Barbados but have been here for many many years. I am inclined to the view that the BLP is the red (people) party and the DLP is the party for the rest of the country, ordinary black barbadians.

The BLP have a belief that only them have the brains, the talents and most of all the social skills to manage the country. It is their belief that DLP represents a situation similar to slaves managing a plantation (Barbados) while the owners and managers (BLP) are left to the sidelines to watch.

The BLP is for red people, so if you have a little redness then they are for you, if you are black and look black, check with the DLP cause the BLP aint want you.

44. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

Man c.c.c if de man ugly he ugly shite man

45. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

so wait de man that own JADA black???? stupesss

46. @Equal
    beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | November 11, 2012 at 11:51 AM |

Unlike you, I do not dwell in the past but draw lessons from it.
    Let us accept that the BLP was less than insightful in conceptualizing and negotiating the contract for that project.
    The question to you, “to the point”, is what the DLP is doing to right or rectify these earlier shortcomings. The DLP, lest you forget, is the government of the day and not the BLP.

Are we going to see a similar white elephant in the form concrete tanks to store molasses in the face of a dying sugar industry and a threatened rum export market based on imported molasses? Who is financing the molasses tanks project? Is the rum export market growing at such a rate to justify the investment in 3 tanks or are we relying on a significant increase in local demand to drown our coming economic woes; never mind the moral high horse being mounted on the evils of rum drinking and the need for enforced breathalyser testing?
    Would the tanks be constructed in such a way as to be able to store other commodities when molasses imports (since the local sugar cane industry on its present course will be dead in 2 years) are not in progress to ensure full utilization of optimum capacity to repay the $12 million investment and cover ongoing maintenance costs?

Now, “To The Point” please deal with the queries raised and not make any ad hominems as is your wont or modus operandi.

48. Mount Igor

It is more than that. The whites in Barbados unless you classify them as Reds are the ones who support the BLP financailly and that is why the BLP gravitate towards them and them towards the BLP. The BLP has a planatation approach where it does not see the country as a society, but an economy, similar to the planataion that once dominated this landscape

Leave a Reply to nathanmcbhqsgfCancel reply