BLP and DLP differ on privatization

It seems a philosophical difference has emerged between the two major political parties in Barbados. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) is pushing the need to privatize and divest certain state agencies. Key BLP spokesmen have suggested we need to examine the ownership structure at the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC), Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA), The Port Authority, Transport Board and a few others. The BLP also proposes that the state owned agency Barbados National Oil Company (BNOC) should never be allowed to accumulate profits with the result being higher energy cost passed through to Barbadians at this time.

On the weekend Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart in a quick reaction to the privatization debate has emphatically stated the DLP’s position. Education, health and other key sectors will not be privatized under a DLP government. The DLP’s energy policy to transition to alternate energy runs counter to the BLP’s policy of subsidizing energy . BNOC became technically insolvent under the last administration and it appears the current management policy has reversed the loss making trend. Is it that current profits of BNOC are being used to liquidate losses of prior years and at what social cost?

The next general election will be very soon – the Prime Minister despite his cat and mouse approach cannot avoid ringing the bell much longer – now is a good time for both political parties to ignite the debate about privatization of government assets. BU believes selling state assets must be more than making money. As a country and a people, how do we define national development? How is the character of Barbados and Bajans defined by the struggle to accumulate state assets which support and reflect who we are and want to be defined? BU continues to follow the debate with keen interest for several reasons.

It is disappointing that here is another issue destined to become embroiled in politics. The dismissive manner Prime Minister Stuart responded to the issue is unacceptable. The BLP seems to be suggesting that the urgency to privatize and divest is driven mainly by economic considerations. We all accept that we need to produce more. We need to become more efficient. However we also recognize that government has a major role to play in building out a quality society. The debate about government versus private ownership should be influenced by a philosophy. Philosophy in its most simple definition is a system of values by which one lives. This is where we must start the debate.

For many years Barbados despite its size has been held in high regard by countries blessed with greater resources. Why after pumping billions into educating our people we have to slavishly follow economic and social models designed by others to fit homegrown philosophies? It challenges the fact that we are critical thinkers. Why is it our educated class cannot design performance and communication systems which lead to increased productivity and efficiency in Barbados?

We all need to take a deep breath and understand the unprecedented challenge which Barbados faces, it calls for a new way of thinking.

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Everyone know my stance on CLICO AND BARRACK, dont touch them with a BARGE POLE!!!!!

2. @Constituent

You are correct we all should adhere to basic standards of decency but this wish is a pipe dream.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | November 9, 2012 at 7:56 AM |

There are many of our Caricom so-called brothers who want to see Barbados fall on its knees and its vulnerable backside (ass) up in the air so that they can have a good laugh if not a kick.
    Carry on like that, Carson Carrion Ca-dog-an. Many overseas are just eager for Bajans to return the DLP to government to see their wish fulfilled and dream come true. What a nightmare that would be!

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

There are many of our Caricom so-called brothers

Wait, Kerry you calling them “Caricom so-called brothers” now?

I thought that your party was saying that Caricom would be the savior of Barbados?

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David | November 8, 2012 at 11:26 PM |
    “Mascoll is on record to say the school mails is peanuts.”

Peanuts in what respect? Is he, Mascoll, the inchoate intellectual, referring the amount the government can get if its sells the plant?

The privatization programme that is being forced upon the Barbados government is not only intended to significantly reduce the level of transfers and subsidies to statutory, parastatal, quasi-government entities and other NGO’s but also to reduce the actual numbers employed by Central government.

The School Meals Department has been used over the years as a dispenser of largesse both at the award of contracts and the rewarding of partisan grass root supporters especially females.
    It is known that the present administration had plans of restructuring the School Meals Department to get rid of those workers hired under the previous administration to be replaced by those DLP grass root supporters entitled to a share of the fatted calf but only seen as worthy of the entrails and appendages of the fatted calf. Fortunately the endemic recession has scuttled this plan and with the Cabinet’s pseudo boast of not sending home public workers we would not see this materialized during the current term.

This service is a discretionary function of the State and will find itself fairly high on the list of ‘outsourcing’ of services and functions currently undertaken by Central government.

The government, especially the current administration cannot continue with its hypocritical stance of supporting and promoting a drive towards entrepreneurship and self employment while in a braggadocio manner for political opportunism advancing a welfare position to the citizens that the DLP would look after them from cradle to grave.

The State needs to reduce its role in the commercial and industrial life of the economy to allow space for the spirit and outcomes of entrepreneurship and enterprise to blossom and thrive. The only way that amount of room can be created in Barbados is if the State makes a concerted effort to privatize many of its functions concocted and implemented under a 1970’s socialist notion and economic philosophy of the role of the State in a developing society.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki | November 9, 2012 at 4:26 PM |

you are a real joke.

You used a whole heap of words to say nothing at all.

7. initially private enterprises were to be the right arm of govt in areas of employment helping to relieve some the burdensome task of govt employment and fiscal spending due to wages sounds good reasonable and rationale but no as the years went on what started out as a fair and reasonable plan has spiral out of control where these private companies have almost but blackmailed govts world wide into demanding of having their cake and eating it too demands which are obnoxious and which cost govts and taxpayers payers billions of dollars annually with govt having no choice but to meet their demands because of unemployment melt down which looms over an economy which would deal catastrophic blows it becomes overpowering and govt has no choice our will our desire to fight back out of fear of having to face a hostile public people eyes have become opened to the nasty games which these companies play and the overpowering influence which they wheeled and their use and abuse of govt funding and have of become skeptical and no longer trust them.

8. Young lady in the Barbados Public Service Avatar
    Young lady in the Barbados Public Service

David of BU,
    As a first time contrbutor to your blog, I want to know if you heard the recent rant and rave from the current Director, Office of Public Sector Reform in Barbados?

Mr. Michael Archer is the prime reason why PSR in Barbados is stymied.

He does not earn the respect of his Public Service colleagues – since he is the only head of a Gov’t dept constantly begging for his salary to be raised.

He does nothing to deserve this increase other than being on constant sick leave and seeking to attend every overseas course – to get the per diem benefits.

He openly tries to bed every female staff in his employ. When they resist his advances he seek to have them transferred.

He is constantly seen at every lottery outlet during working hours.

No wonder none of his peers pay any attention to his requests for information from their Min/Dept on PSR in Barbados.

I pity the staff in his employ, particularly, the women.

I noticed Caswell Franklyn is a contrbutor to this blog , it would be interesting to hear his views on PSR and the management of the Office from a trade union perspsective.

9. Those who want to say like Peter Wickham that the DLP only attracts old people to meetings. Go look at the streaming and see all the young people at Springer.

10. yuh know sumting is wrong when two pitbulls see eye to eye Owen Arthur and Peter wickham. sumtings gotssss to be stinking wrong.

11. loook like Peter Wickham might be next in line for the job of economic affairs within the BLP he seems to be the force behind the wheel of PRIVATISATION! wait look mia you might be being downsized

12. @Prodi

you got to be kidding. I have heard about vote buying. I Heard that Mia was instrumental in ensuring that Mascoll was not elected and money passed. So the rumour of vote buying is associated with both parties. Not that anyone can offer me money for my vote, if that was done I will take it and vote against the person and donate the money to charity.

Didnt Owen admit that he put the money in his account? if the answer is in the affirmative? It means that it was factual. I saw it was stated as 750 000, but I thought the amout was 75 000. The point is, regardless of the amount it was not meant for his private account.

The blogger should have added David Simmons as well to the BLP hotel owner that benefited from Gems. you can ask the man who coined JAWS.

Please let us get real and recognize that CLICO made donattions to the two political parties. Ask owen why he has not summoned PAC or whatever it is called. What the hell do you expet the govt to do in five years with all the mess that was left. Obama did not achieve what he had planned and the populace returned him to power. The electors will decide whether they should return the DLP to power or the discredited Owen who can only see economic matters, no wonder his government signed such a sweet heart deal with Ionic.

13. Having left this site for almost two years I really thought that on my return I would have been reading more informed and educated writings from Carson but my God the man has become even more ignorant.
    He writes, “privatize and the last bus to many areas of Barbados will be 7.00pm.

Dozens of hard working Bajans will loose their jobs as the REPUBLICAN PARTY OF BARBADOS(BLP) cause them to be fired”. Has this idiot ever travelled to a country that has a private transportation network?

The region is replete with private transportation networks and they work well. I would suggest that someone takes Carson on a visit to Trinidad and pleas insist that he takes his head with him.

But just when you thought that he was finish he submerges to the top of the class with this farrago of nonsense. And he writes, “Also voters of Barbados, free bus fares for your children will be brought to an end”.

This clown does even know that it is the Government of Barbados that regulates bus fares and that in a privatized transport system the same will exist. Please David can you save us from this fool.

Is this what he calls intelligence?

Leave a Reply to Prodigal SonCancel reply