Submitted by Phoenix
BLP promises to rollback VAT to 15%

Barbados was introduced to an increase in Value Added Tax on 1st December 2010  by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler. According to the economic review of the first six months of 2012 released by the Central Bank of Barbados in July 2012, provisional estimates for the 2011-2012 fiscal year are that VAT brought in BDS$949.6 million dollars into the Treasury. On a whole, VAT contributed BDS$764.8 million of the BDS$1.2 billion in indirect taxes taken in by government last year – Read more.

The leader of Her Majesty’s Opposition, Mr. Owen. Arthur, at the recent BLP Convention held in the Queens Park, informed all, of a sure reversal of the 2.5 % Vat increase,  when his party wins the next elections. This revelation has already left many DLP supporters in shock and awe, for they know such relief would only spell  their demise. This welcomed and empathic committal, would take much of the burdensome strain off the backs of the  people, and will bring true meaning to the DLP’s empty rant. “A community, not  just an economy.”

So why is it that the DLP on coming to power, back in January 2008, with Foreign Reserves to the tune of $2.4 Billon, found it necessary two years later, to slap on a 2.5% increase in Vat? Not only did they collect an additional $100 Million approx. each year for four (4) years, but there was also the jaunty boast by the Minister of Finance Sinckler of $120 Million collected in excess last year. Excessive collections at the expense of increased unemployment, increased food prices, poor quality drugs and an overall decline in the standard of living of all Barbadians. Today, it begs the question was the increase really necessary? Why is it that we are seeing all the large scale extraction of monies from the people, yet no commensurate asset worth to show?

Vat continues to deliver lashes on the people. Lashes so hot and concuss, when delivered in tandem with $400 Million collected on fuel by the BNOC, has left an all but broken spirited people with nothing to pay their increased water and electricity bills. Really now, what was this current administration thinking? Given that the amount was said to be excess and ‘unexpected’, would it not have made more sense in the last Budget to have given it back in the form of relief? How could their “dearly beloved,” people now completely impoverish by these draconian measures, be expected to cope, far less give them another 5 year term to further the inefficacious?  Indeed Mr. Arthur,  we are waiting. Free the infirmed people from this obvious lamprey. Revamp and give new meaning to Observer’s commensurate calypso “Cat Attack“ Vat Attack. Relief is long overdue and very much needed; do so before anymore lose  their wits ends and succumb to this millstone.

110 responses to “Vat Recall”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Phoenix”

Who is this BLP joker the Blog owner now dig up?

Saying nothing of any importance.

Is this the best that the BLP can do?

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Phoenix

you ought to be telling Bajans about the Payments that they will have to make for all things Educational and Health if they foolishly return you your lot to power.

Tell the civil servants if it is 10000 or 12000 of them who will be sent home.

Dont keep these things a secret from them.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You have the right name.

PHOENIX

A mythical fire bird.

Your Barbados Labour Party plan to set the Civil Service on fire if given a chance.

But it is five more years for you on the opposition benches. Just get used to the idea.

4. Phoenix

If I were a supporter of a political party I most certainly would NOT want you on my side ’cause you like you really ain’ know too much ’bout too much … But yah new so I will be respectful and offer you advice. Go ‘cross to Barbados Free Press, you might get a better response from ‘cross there hear …

5. A Daniel…a second Daniel …Oh Mr. Phoenix….thank ya , thank ya ..THE TRUTH DOES HURT …and from what I see from the above RESPONSES…it like Gabby’s “needles and pin”…(Baffy commenting on politics)….WE LOOK FORWARD to see your continued writings MRMRS PHOENIX. (excellent for a first timer)….Ya got DEM LIKE A CAT PUN A HOT TIN ROOF…..keep up the writing ..you surely sent FROM ABOVE……doan mind Balaams finest….he duz take shoite PERIOD !…he can’t help…..best of all your LINK with CariBBean 360 is the bomb….Shite ya mean according to the Central Bank FIGS… DEM come and find $2.5 Billion in Foreign and as of July 2012..IT DOWN TO ONLY $1.3 Billion?….sometihin wrong here….something wrong…way all that money GONE ?

6. Per CarriBBean 360
    Corr : June 2012 sorry…..

snip
    “Also, Barbados foreign exchange reserves at the end of June stood at $1,357 million, marking a decline of $63 million since December 2011.”

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/index.php/business/595646.html#ixzz2BFQZoCV0

7. Lemee do my lil shop keeper accounting here….Start wid $2.5 Billion….collect annuda $0.4B from Fuel (BNOC)….collect annuda $4B from Vat..($1billion each yr for 4 years)..total collect $4.4 Billion

Start…………….$2.5 Billion
    Collect………….$4.4 Billion

Total…………….$6.9 Billion

Close……………$1.3Billion ???

Ya mean DEM spend $5.6 Billion in 4 years ( $6.9 -1.3Billion)…..pun what may I ask ?…..$ 1.4 Billion a year? ..Madness, sheer madness..

8. Behold, Onions rises again – this time as a bird of fire 🙂

9. @Bushie

People never learn. Credibility means nothing.

@Anthony

What was the level of debt pay since the DLP took office?

10. @ Phoenix
    Not only did they collect an additional $100 Million approx. each year for four (4) years, but there was also the jaunty boast by the Minister.
    Ya got me on this one ..you mean 2 years right ?….but you musse do D research….

@Bushie ..doan be a C arrot……I duz write like this?….onions more into story writing bout battles dreams and giant…..don’t see my Mark Twain style in all my thread?..not abrupt like a lexicon.

11. A simple question, name me one country that has rolled back its VAT after having increased it?

12. Now looka how some people lookin to eat humble pie…..You really believe Mr. Owen Seymore Arthur would take such a BIG RISK…to roll back on this one and damage his LEGACY. ?…Boss get real

13. I have always contended and will do so until my dying day that the introduction of VAT was a bad idea. Admittedly it brings in more money but it is taking that money from those who can least afford it. People with lower salaries are paying a greater percentage of their salary in taxes. Consider a person whose wages are $250 per week and another who earns $2,000 per week; let’s say that both are purchasing an item the VAT on which is $50. Now express that $50 as a fraction of their salaries and then see who is paying the higher percentage of their salary in taxes.

VAT is easier to collect but it is burdensome on the poor. No one who claims to be representing the interest of poor people should even have contemplated its introduction. People who earn more should pay more but with VAT, it does not work like that. VAT HURTS THE POOR. Increasing it by 2.5% says that you are only paying lip service to the concerns of the poor.

Additionally, there are a significant number of people who collect VAT and refuse to pay it into Government and no action is taken against them. Instead, they steal and Government increased the rate to make up for the shortfall. Politicians really feel that all Barbadians are idiots.

14. Good morning Onions

Hope you had a good night’s rest but from your posts so far it doesn’t look so. I know you does be up all night peeping at your neighbour so that may also have affected your thoughts.
    Please explain Owen’s legacy up to this point

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

If so much more VAT has been collected, WHY is Government so reluctant to repay VAT refunds? How many small other businesses like ours have been left waiting over TWO YEARS for refunds?

16. Since, in a broad sense, we are talking about VAT and just to get away from the standard political mouthings (and those from Cadogan are particularly silly) – will someone who knows please comment on this:-

1. Is VAT chargeable on an imported item INCLUDING the value of the shipping cost?

2. Where import and excise duty are chargeable, is VAT charged on the value of the item PLUS the quantum of import and excise duty or on the value of the item alone (such that the import and excise duties are then added to the value of the item plus VAT)?

The latter is particularly significant. Customs officers at the Post Office are insisting that VAT is computed on the whole but give no reasons. Attempts to find out the answer from Customs and Excise result in the same response – despite promises to ‘come back to you’. If they are right, it means that VAT is chargeable on a tax upon a tax doesn’t it – and that seems totally potty?

Incidentally, are we not entitled to expect that customs officers actually know the basis upon which they are purporting to levy charges?

17. com’on caswell you can do better than that. that is a poor excuse! it boils down to adjusting or controlling one spending habits, in adddition there are social programs which help the poor,the problem with arthur is that he is trying to please and appease and it is not going to work because of the harsh reality of the ecnomiic climate and then his plans becomes even more suspicious when he does not say how and when and where he is going to generate the revenue lost by vat, except to lay off thousands of people and that in itself is problematic given the negative fallout to follow, in good times OSA never had to scratch his head but now in bad times he knows there are no easy answers but would rather LIE to the public hoping no one would notice,

18. adrien loveridge you have managed and run a business for years and there is something called “prioritize” the govt have many mouths to feed on a limited and timely budget and as one who have benefited from the good economic times you can understand the dilemma that the govt finds itself in times like these the words of JOHN F> KENNEDY is most appropriate and one should ask themselves such a question especially the well off and privileged among the masses sometimes our civic responsibility should take precedent and not one of being selfishess .we are all of one nation .think about it!

19. can not get it back as it was used for new cars and trips trips to new york ad Miami for shopping with the families for toys and x boxes and TV things you know..when you is a big shot you got to have a big TV and all that stuff..i hope they drown in their stuff acquired from pure teefing,
    simple really thieves and disgusting people abound in barbados.
    snigger is a thieving two faced uneducated waste of space and should be shot forthwith.

20. Excellent point Caswell…..in addition.. why is Gov’t not going after those who not paying IN collected Vat ..that which is Caesar’s? .. why I do recall a stupid piece of Legislat. draft…about making directors’ liable..mouthed by…but recalled for further study…What has become of that?…truth of the matter is Vat is a WIP ..it needs to be fine tuned ..hence the mess.

@Clone…I see you back to being the Clown…that is ok too….the season will end on the week of Jan 9th….then we hope you will also awake..

21. @Caswell

You are correct that VAT is a regressive tax and given that the poor/working class must spend a greater share of income on food they are the ones that don’t have wriggle room. Unfortunately there is no perfect system and this is where the zero rated basket is to offset the issue you raised but we know the merchants don’t always honour this arrangement. In the absence of a strong consumer advocacy the consumers are left holding the bag.

We all know the late payment of VAT is a combination of an inefficient system which permeates the public service and managing cashflow.

On 4 November 2012 13:16, Barbados Underground

22. Income since 2008 : 10.1 billion bds
    Expense since 2008 : 13.4 billion bds
    Net loss since 2008 : 3.4 billion bds

This doesn’t include bolts or roundabout etc

Vat since 2008 : 3.7 billion
    Interest payment since 2008: 2.1 Billion

23. best not talk about all this money or excess of as the world bank and IMF may come and take it from you idiots as you owe them way more than the highest figure in this column.

24. @robert ross

1 Yes
    2 To correctly estimated the duties & vat to be paid the offical way as far as i know is.

Duties = CIF * (Duty rate + Excess tax if appliable )

vat is = ( CIF + Duties ) * vat rate

25. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

ac,
    I think I understand your argument, but shouldn’t Government lead by example. I haven’t seen any MP’s and/or Ministers take a pay cut. Nor have I seen a single civil servant being sent home or ‘working’ reduced hours.
    What I have seen is senior public workers taking delivery of luxury vehicles and then quitting the job days later.
    Is that what you mean by ‘civic responsibility’ ?

26. David

The problem with enforcing the VAT laws has nothing to do with the junior public officers whose duty it is to collect the tax. Often, officers are proceeding against someone who has failed to pay the VAT and the officer is taken off the case after the VAT cheat made a phone call to a Minister of Government or a senior public officer.

I remember a few years ago, an officer discovered that Courts Barbados Ltd. was not paying in the VAT. An investigation was carried out and an assessment of $25 million was made against the company. The file was taken away from the officer and she was reassigned other work. The assessment was never pursued. All this was happening while the company was giving away cars and free living for a year, presumably out of the stolen VAT.

By the way, because of that case and others like it, the officer got disgusted and retired early and is now drawing a Government pension.

27. Do you know why you pay 17% vat and I pay 13% hst?

Canada ha oil, gas, potash and millions of people willing to work for minimum wage not to mention Americans still buying what we sell.

Barbados has nothing sea sand and lawyers. And a few good men like Bushie,Bizzy an Lowdown the farmer..

There is no way any group of politicians can save Barbados because nothing from nothing.

No oil, no mineralsm no raw materials and no plan to dramatically reduce the dependence on others.

I doan have to read an spell fuh wunna. Read between de lines an wait fuh Owen to sell wunna asses down to underwear.

David forgive my rant.Lewis another DNF so I am not in a good mood. I gine to de river an fish fuh Rainbow trout.

28. @ Anthony

Thankyou very much for responding. I’m not really understanding your formulae but I think you are saying “Yes, VAT is computed on the value of the goods plus import duty plus excise duty.” ie what the customs officer suggested was the correct computation.

If I am right that that is what you are saying it certainly accords with what is taken as the accepted way of doing it – though no-one seems able to suggest the authority for it; and it does not seem consonant with the idea of VAT as a charge on goods and services. – well unless you say that the value of the goods imported is enhanced by the value of the duties imposed on them.

29. @Hants

Don’t worry, he has probably switched to Mercedes mode already 🙂

On 4 November 2012 14:09, Barbados Underground

30. adrien again you have seek to point blame in other areas my question to you would the two cases cited help dramatically in lowering the deficit b. remember for every action there is a reaction and a reaction that which one think might solve a problem might create a bigger problem. remember again as a business person incentives are necessary and an attractive tool for getting the best and most qualified for high profile jobs which at times take more than give when it relates to family and time some thing that can be replaced sometimes we look at the little picture which encompassed not one individual but family and extended family members so before we take we must be willing to factor in what the individual is giving up.think about it!

31. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Its a Fake !
    Its a Bluff
    Rachel Maddow referred to Mitt Romney’s and the GOP assertion that they will win as a Bluff , a Fake

DITTO –FREUNDEL STUART + DLP hacks

32. @ac

The issue Adrian is quizzing is not the efficacy of the tax but the efficiency in how it is being managed.

On 4 November 2012 14:29, Barbados Underground

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Anthony:

Do you know the most recent figure for VAT outstanding, i.e. remains in arrears or uncollected?

34. david the question poised by adrien was why he did not get his vat refund correlating it to a reluctance on govt part. and as an extension further follow up to state that govt MP’s should take a salary cut and public workers sent home as a a way of resolve .i however sees it differently as by my response.as far as how it is managed i compared to a family of six where the apple can only feed four equal amounts however the head of household to be efficient must slice that apple into a fair set amount not necessarily equal which means the pieces would be smaller in order for all to share and in such cases not everyone would be happy. .

35. BU agrees with Adrian. It must be hard in these times for businessmen to survive. If government has an obligation to honour VAT refunds, it SHOULD! In much the same way it refuses to honour a Court Order to pay Barack. We are a right mess. Again he is correct that leaders lead by example and one way the government can extend empathy to the people is to reduce the size and cost of the Cabinet. It is about making effective and efficient decisions.

On 4 November 2012 15:05, Barbados Underground

36. @david 10:46

U r correct. People don’t mind paying once fairness, efficiency and accountability can be shown.

Vat gone up, more money collected, but thee economy moved from stable to stagnant. Kind of reminds one of the BWA increases…

The issues are, can the blp afford to roll back the vat? Doees the other side of their economic formula allow for it? Are the dlp maximizing the little revenue they’re getting while aggresively attacking expenditure? Is a tax the best way to prop up an economy?

The answers to these might lead to a better debate and a better choice in the voting box. I think B’dos deserves one decent devate on the competing economic visions and philosophies. The media back and forth and partisan talking points here and elsewhere don’t help us to reasonably determine which “path” if any is best for thee country and its individuals.

Just observing

37. @ miller

Last number i hear was 300 milllion of which 50% was supposibly uncollectible since buisness ceased to exist.

@ robert rose

the link should help minus it being a bit out of date talking about enviromental levy http://businessbarbados.com/investor-guide/duties-and-taxes/

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac:
    “Again he is correct that leaders lead by example and one way the government can extend empathy to the people is to reduce the size and cost of the Cabinet. It is about making effective and efficient decisions. ”

I don’t think it is possible for you “ac” to appreciate the importance of the above statement. You are so myopically partisan that commonsense is the Holy Grail to you. Nothing with a modicum critical constructive objectivity can influence “ac” into seeing the forest from the trees as far as this DLP administration is concerned.

The refusal to process VAT refunds is downright illegal and totally dishonest. It is not the government’s money but amounts already paid upfront on the business inputs. Let the DLP administration do something about the millions collected from innocent customers by the crooked business persons who blatantly and fraudulently refuse to pay over to the VAT office as required by law.

Tell Chris Sinckler to stop meddling in the enforcement exercises of the VAT office but instead haul the crooks before the courts so we will know who these thieving business persons are that stole our tax dollars.

We don’t want to hear any 14 years OSA crap from you on this one, ac! You keep trying to justify bending the rules and flagrantly breaking the law as long as the DLP is running the show. And you claim your husband is an upright and honourable lawyer. What a laugh!

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observing(…) | November 4, 2012 at 11:31 AM |
    “I think B’dos deserves one decent debate on the competing economic visions and philosophies.”

I too would like to see such! A debate between Mia Mottley and Chris Sinckler; but without reading from a prepared speech. Chris is very poor when it comes finance and economic matters when having to speak ad-lib or on his feet. He waffles and resorts to bullshit and meaningless numbers.
    The only problem here is that Mia might let him off the hook when he lies.
    He is definitely a square bullshit peg in a round finance hole. Finance is one area where bullshitting is not a strong point or recommended as a strategy in argument and debate. Just listen to Mr. Physical Deficit Jepter Ince!

40. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Politics now is about people getting an opportunity to make money not about Serving the Public. A lot of poor ‘black boys see it as an opportunity to make money and get ahead and this comes with strings attached and long strings to some individuals too. One obviously black Minister, I understand, has 17 million dollars in an overseas bank account—in 4 years of GOVERNANCE——Ha Huh !

41. @miller
    Last elections it was the BLP that ran from debate. Let’s see if we can at least get one this cycle…could you imagine Freundel vs. Owen? Or Mia vs. Chris? Or God forbid Jepter vs. Mascoll? Murda.

The depth of the two teams though is worrying. Apart from 4 maybe 5 names we have a group of politicians who are out of their league in terms of competence, communication, and capability.

Just observing

42. I maybe missing something but Owen never set a timeline to rollback the 2.5% VAT increase but everyone assume it would be immediately after an election win. I think he did reverse the 8% pay cut but it was years after their first election win

43. You guys are so ready to attack where did i say that the govt should not paythe refunds .stuepsee

44. @ Anthony

Thankyou very much for the link which confirms my understanding of what you said earlier and, indeed, the feedback I’ve had from one businessman who imports regularly for commercial purposes. It still seems odd though….that you can have a tax on taxes….don’t you think?

45. OSA nobrolling back nutting. man can,t be trusted he need to produce the 100million he claimed he saved for a rainy day

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | November 4, 2012 at 12:47 PM |
    “You guys are so ready to attack where did i say that the govt should not paythe refunds .”

So what are you saying then ac? That government must prioritize its commitments? Fine! So why didn’t the same commitment to national service and sacrifice you are calling for apply in the case of the Alexandra School Inquiry? Why was there haste to pay these specially selected lawyers? Why wasn’t there a call from you for the lawyers to work pro bono or at reduced rates in the interest of the nation? Why didn’t you ask Hal Gollop to do his civic and moral high-horse duty since he was about to submit his invoices to the struggling BWA for $1.5 million?
    Why didn’t you tell Darcy Boyce not to demand $40 million of taxpayers’ money for the airbrushing redesign of the Pierhead marina project? $40 million that found itself in the offshore account in a St. Lucia IBC?

Why didn’t you ask Mr. Lashes the man who planted much stone and wood around Barbados to stop the laundering of $17 million which has found its way to an offshore account that will soon be frozen since he will be unable to leave Barbados to access?

47. @ old onion bag

I went looking at retirement homes last week. However, I like to plan ahead – I am not there yet!

You started out talking about the low “Foreign Reserves”, and then try to link this to the “increased” VAT revenues. I don’t see where the two are related. An increase in VAT will not increase foreign reserves unless the government busy such on the money market.

I pay my VAT in local dinero. Remittances are in foreign currencies.

I am disappointed in Hamilton as well. His new cars are definitely not as good. He had a stirling career with Mclaren and he ups and leaves. However, he was warned by McLaren’s people that he was making a mistake.

48. Both parties have reneged on promises and this is why we are having the current debate. How do we hold our political parties accountable. Anybody who believes one of the parties is more virtuous than the other needs their head examined. The reality of parliamentary politics is that an opposition parties only will know the state of the treasure when they assume office. It is the great anomaly which an expectant electorate perennially fails to grasp.

On 4 November 2012 17:46, Barbados Underground

49. @JahArmy

The BLP 15 point plan is suppose to be implemented by 2016. The issue will always be how can an Opposition promise anything if it is not fully apprised of the state of the treasury?

50. @ robert ross

I think it counter productive. Vat compounds from first landing till it reach the consumer but what can we do about it now ?

Leave a Reply to Carson C. CadoganCancel reply