Senator Santia Bradshaw and CEO of  Pyramid, Barbados Labour Party candidate for St. Michael South East

It has been drawn to BU’s attention that several companies which Senator Santia Bradshaw has significant interest have benefited in the hundreds of thousands from the Enterprise Growth Fund (EGFL). EGFL is a government agency which manages several funds to ‘assist with financing through tooling and retooling and expansion of businesses in the productive sectors’.

Based on the documents attached Pyramid Entertainment Management Inc  received what is described as a cumulative grant in 2011 of $450,000.00, Got Rythmn Inc received $146,000 in 2010 and Entertainment Network $51, 857.00.

In summary three Santia Bradshaw companies received $647,857 from the EGFL over a relatively short time period.

This is a government agency which is funded by the taxpayers of Barbados therefore BU deems our forage into the financial transactions mentioned as a matter of public interest. We want to know the basis for advancing greater than six hundred thousand dollars to the goodly Senator. The taxpayers want to know!

Relevant Links:

158 responses to “Senator Santia Bradshaw Companies Rake in $647,857 From Enterprise Growth Fund”

1. The money given to Banks Holdings alone, if it were put into the new child maintenance fund, would allow $145.00 more per child; i.e $195.00 per week instead of $50.00 since the grant is nearly three times the amount of the maintenance fund which is set at $400,000.

I don’t particularly like the child maintenance move on the part of the government because I worry it may remove the moral responsibility of the indifferent fathers and may encourage a wrong set of parental ethics. But I appreciate that the government is trying to do what it believes is right; even though the timing smacks of electioneering.

I raise it in this context to demonstrate how grossly outrageous is the huge grant to a wealthy foreign-owned company out of the public purse.

2. David

External Auditor meaning overseas based? … Or is this just an exhibition of a lack of confidence in your own ..

3. David | October 26, 2012 at 7:47 AM |

@Penteham

A story will always have many angles. You are correct BU selected one.

I would really like to know why Barbados Underground like they want to be the next replacement for the INVESTIGATOR (ex newspaper) …..its ok to select AN ANGLE…. but select a sensible one….EGF has a mandate to issue loans to worthy and astute businesses that can repay……Congrats Pymarid for locating some and increasing FOREX coming to BIM…..now take that for a positive angle BU……and smoke it wid crappo.

4. And CMC is foreign-owned too!

5. So I see you grant money to a company that can repay …. Full marks, come to the front of the class

6. @ Onions

Yuh miss de boat dis time. They were grants, not loans.

But you larger point about foreign exchange earning capacity is highly relevant.

7. @BABFP

External Auditors in Barbados like PWc, Deloitte’s etc.

@Onions

If it were a DLP face you would have no problem with the angle we know. Are you like Mia threatening BU? Do you guys with deep pockets and political affiliation feel you can rule freedom of expression in Barbados? BU highlighted this matter using our best judgement and we stand by it. Did we report a falsehood?

8. @ David

I am trying to pick on BU, but with all due respect, your response is very weak. The “other matters” that you say we can also query should have been the main story, with the Bradshaw grants being part of the subtext.

It’s the silly season and it’s easy to get caught up in a juicy political story. But a larger net needs to be cast.

9. Truthman Burton Avatar

@Foolish Carson!
    Re: “Is that the reason for the Barbados Labour Party hiring a WHITE campaign Manager?”
    Carson , do you remember a White woman named Jennifer Lazzlo, who the DEMS brought here to mange and strategize their campaign, and she made some disparaging remarks about Barbadian workers being “toilet cleaners?” Did not she also accused Hartley Henry of pressuring her for NOOKIE?

10. @ Truthman Burton

True dat!

11. From my earlier post: “I am trying to pick on BU, but with all due respect, your response is very weak.”

This should have read “I am NOT trying to pick on BU, but with all due respect, your response is very weak.”

12. Man pick pun BU they shoulders broad … No need to apologize. No sissies in here tonight … HA HA HA

13. Again we love to throw around terms. What is amount of forex the Senators companies earn? What forex what!

14. I took Onions foreign exchange comments to be true on face value, but perhaps should not given the nature of forums like this. But, still, would it not be a relevant consideration if this were a factor?

15. BAFBFP | October 26, 2012 at 6:10 PM |

Man pick pun BU they shoulders broad … No need to apologize. No sissies in here tonight … HA HA HA
    =======================================

I always want my motives to be clean; that way I can maintain a balanced perspective.

16. Al’right DavidB I get you. So following on with this clean motive agenda tell us, what does the B in DavidB stand for …?

17. The first letter of my surname. HA HA HA!

18. HA HA HA .. Vagabond As long as it is not the first letter in Bradshaw … HA H AHA

19. Do we know how much the Bradshaw companies earn in forex? Is earning forex the consideration for getting 640 thousand dollars?

20. so me the taxpayer invested some money in bradshaw companies now all i want to know what is the return on my investment or in other words what did i get out of it, simple no hee or haws

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

old onion bags | October 26, 2012 at 5:25 PM |

“Foreign exchange”

You and the other Barbados Labour Party jokers really think that Bajans went to school at the stand pipe.

Foreign exchange?

Just asking a question Onions, are you sure you dont mean Foreign overseas Bank account?

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

Answer this question for me please, who was it that sponsored the gay show where the gay man collapsed and died?

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Truthman Burton | October 26, 2012 at 5:43 PM |

You late as usual.

Read this;
    Read the whole thing dont cherry pick,
    “Is that the reason for the Barbados Labour Party hiring a WHITE campaign Manager?

The Barbados Labour Party dont believe that voters would trust them otherwise, so they are using tricks now. Also we are being told that “there is only one leader” and “the party united” and all the other nice LIES!!”

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

To all the Barbados Labour Party operatives on this thread:-

“Methinks thou dost protest too much”

25. @ BAFBFP

“…what does the B in DavidB stand for …?”
    ==========================

The first letter of my surname; or it could also stand for Barbados. HA HA HA!!

26. And it’s not Bradshaw.

27. Seriously, though, while any probing is welcome, I am for the bigger picture. At least the documents brought to light some dealings that seem unpalatable to me.

The Bradshaw issue, without further information/evidence, does not seem like a big issue to me. If we want to argue that political and public figures should be scrutinized to a higher degree, then fine. But to single out apparently innocuous transactions which, it seems, were approved under the current administration does not seem the most worthy target.

And to ignore the other glaring problems with the EGF grants to large, successful foreign-owned companies is beyond hypocrisy.

28. And to ignore the other glaring problems with the EGF grants to large, successful foreign-owned companies is beyond hypocrisy.

DavidB, you miss this one. It is the Barbados based unsuccessful, money-draining, high-flyers posing as Invest Barbados.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

How many people these three companies employ?

I mean besides the Directors.

30. How many people these three companies employ?

for evey dollar she spends what is the return to help building the economy ,i meaning all these people being breast feed by the taxpayers there should be some accountabilty on their part to show what benefits the economy is gaining. where are the checks and balanaces ? who keeps an eye on these long neck geese,? free money? who ever heard of that

31. Pele Paris looking down Avatar
    Pele Paris looking down

Also do remember the is over Half a Million Dollars of GRANT FUNDING this woman has extracted from taxpayers to pay off her two mortgages one of which was with Scotia Bank.

32. David wrote “Based on the documents attached Pyramid Entertainment Management Inc received what is described as a cumulative grant in 2011 of $450,000.00, Got Rythmn Inc received $146,000 in 2010 and Entertainment Network $51, 857.00.”

It is obvious to me that these companies promote Musicians and probably Events at which some of the “Artistes” perform.

I don’t think what Ms.Bradshaw has done is illegal and in Barbados morals and ethics doan count so leff she lone.

33. is the same racist ,black power ,pan African member talking on here.
    i remember beating you as a boy at school is that why you hate whites???????
    the lord says a lawyer who is dishonest and not honest in his business will burn in hell.read that verse.?wunna best get some white bajan help soon of you going down the drain,
    like flushing a toilet full of well guess.

34. BU is out on a limb with this one……so seems a majority consensus….(exception Carson)…..Oh Boo Hoo…..let’ s look for another hunt….writing this one up now…doan know if I will finish in time for SaT…..” A BU Dream wake me up Hollaring “

35. How many grants were given out to small businesses or for cottage industries can someone answer that please? How many grants were given to women who represent the highest among the unemployed? What are the justifications for these grants? Why do we expect taxpayers not to ask question?

36. Some of the world’s most baffling social problems, says Peter Eigen, can be traced to systematic, pervasive government corruption, hand-in-glove with global companies. In his talk, Eigen describes the thrilling counter-attack led by his organization Transparency International

37. There are several types of political corruption that occur in local government. Some are more common than others, and some are more prevalent to local governments than to larger segments of government. Local governments may be more susceptible to corruption because interactions between private individuals and officials happen at greater levels of intimacy and with more frequency at more decentralized levels.

38. Bribery is the offering of something which is most often money but can also be goods or services in order to gain an unfair advantage. Common advantages can be to sway a person’s opinion, action, or decision, reduce amounts fees collected, speed up a government grants, or change outcomes of legal processes.

Extortion is threatening or inflicting harm to a person, their reputation, or their property in order to unjustly obtain money, actions, services, or other goods from that person. Blackmail is a form of extortion.

Embezzlement is the illegal taking or appropriation of money or property that has been entrusted to a person but is actually owned by another. In political terms this is called graft which is when a political office holder unlawfully uses public funds for personal purposes.

Nepotism is the practice or inclination to favor a group or person who is a relative when giving promotions, jobs, raises, and other benefits to employees. This is often based on the concept of familism which is believing that a person must always respect and favor family in all situations including those pertaining to politics and business. This leads some political officials to give privileges and positions of authority to relatives based on relationships and regardless of their actual abilities.

Patronage systems consist of the granting favors, contracts, or appointments to positions by a local public office holder or candidate for a political office in return for political support. Many times patronage is used to gain support and votes in elections or in passing legislation. Patronage systems disregard the formal rules of a local government and use personal instead of formalized channels to gain an advantage.

39. @Onions

BU does not post a blog to garner consensus from commenters. We post what we believe.

40. @ David
    The next time that Onions promises to leave BU, Bushie hereby moves a motion that you assist him by banning him….

41. @ david

And what do you believe in tis case? lol Maybe this would give us a better insight into the purpose of the grants and who benefited. Cultural industries (your pet project) maybe?

http://www.pyramidartists.com/

42. @ Rodent’ Behind

You are absolutely correct in your analysis of the major problem facing societies.- “systematic, pervasive government corruption,”

HOWEVER, the problem runs MUCH deeper than that. You see the issue of “systematic, pervasive corruption” is not restricted to government, but is pervasive THROUGHOUT the whole society. From schools, to clubs, to families, to national organizations to churches to …..wherever there are people.
    The situation in government shows up dramatically because of the nature of their responsibilities, but if you were to randomly select ANY 30 Bajans now, and put them in parliament – the only thing that will change (maybe) are the surnames.
    Without a fundamental change in the very nature (character) of our people, THERE IS NO HOPE OF IMPROVEMENT.
    …Wuh even a former PM of long standing postulates that we need to import “competent persons” into this country to assist us in running things like our banks, hotels, businesses… if we are to succeed…

…..now what can possible bring about the needed change in our character that could address the natural tendency to graft…?

43. Slightly off topic: is Ruel Ward still a director in Pyramid And what is the status of his court case?

http://www.pyramidartists.com/index.php?option=com_contact&view=contact&id=3%3Aruel-ward&catid=12%3Acontacts&Itemid=67

44. whatwillthey think of next Avatar
    whatwillthey think of next

The people of Barbados needs to hear about this. This must be spoke about from every political platform. This is corruption.
    ======Also do remember the is over Half a Million Dollars of GRANT FUNDING this woman has extracted from taxpayers to pay off her two mortgages one of which was with Scotia Bank.===

45. It is always interesting to listen to those who squeal the loudest when subjects like this one are raised. Some questions are asked about why Senator Bradshaw’s companies received grants from EGFL totaling 640,000plus. In a transparent system this information should be easily available. No lotta long talk required.

@Enuff

We need to start somewhere and we have picked Bradshaw and Lowe to highlight the need for transparency. There is time to examine other angles; and we will. For the purpose of this conversation picking two government/a prominent individual serve the purpose for now. There is time to deal with the other issues.

46. “Also do remember the is over Half a Million Dollars of GRANT FUNDING this woman has extracted from taxpayers to pay off her two mortgages one of which was with Scotia Bank”
    ==================

She could only extract the funding if she made the decisions herself. The documentation shows that the EGF made the decisions. And, by the way, isn’t Terrence Thornhill of CLICO infamy not the Chairman of EGF since 2008?

Also, where is the evidence for the paying off mortgages; none of us has seen any such documentation. So, stop being so nasty-minded and petty!

Meanwhile, the really big issue of big foreign companies and their shareholders benefitting handsomely from public funds does not bother you guys. If there was any interest at all in improving Barbados, there would be healthy discussion of those issues. But clearly that is not our concern; which is really quite sad.

47. BU has stated that the companies referred to are “Senator Bradshaw companies” and companies in which she has a “significant interest”. What precisely is the nature of that interest?

So far as I can determine from a quick read only Old Onions has addressed this.

I am intrigued that BU has (rightly) made a virtue of asking questions. Problem is that when others do it we are labelled “pedantic”. Now BU, with all the integrity you can muster – which is it?

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply