It is appropriate BU returns to the issue of Freedom of Information (FOI) on the second anniversary of death of former Prime Minister David Thompson. The promise that FOI and Integrity Legislation would have been introduced by this government early in its term swayed BU and we supported the DLP in 2007. Sadly the government has not demonstrated the political will to implement transparency legislation. Five years later it is fair to describe the promise as a gimmick to win votes.

A big disappointment also has been the hypocrisy by local media concerning its reluctance to report on this matter. The Fourth Estate as a key member of civil society and should have identified the lack of FOI legislation as a natural cause given the nature of its business.

The short video confirms the importance of investigative journalism in a democratic system of government. Bear in mind FOI laws are on the books in the United Kingdom and Heather Brooke had to fight to unearth information which the public was entitled to know.  When the information was eventually made public it resulted in several members of parliament being sent to prison.

In Barbados we continue to allow politicians to undermine the governance system.

1. Out of curiosity did the Nation mess up on this because of questionable comprehension skills by Maria Bradshaw and Editor?

2. @Old Bailey the Wailey

You can’t make this stuff up!

3. Old Bailey the Wailey Avatar
    Old Bailey the Wailey

is maria bradshaw a trainee reporter cause she seems to have demonstrated some retarded comprehension skills?

4. No she is not a trainee some might recall she was the Nation reporter who ‘overheard’ the conversation between Hartley Henry and Caroline Martindale.

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/08/24/boycott-the-nation-newspaper/

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 24, 2012 at 6:42 PM |

That’s what can happen when a society is overly eager to implement gender or any other affirmative action and is prepared to compromise standards to achieve this Pyrrhic goal.

Or is this a case of the Peter, sorry, Penelope Principle at work here. Maybe it’s just a case of choosing the least worst among a bunch of mediocre incompetents parading as educated and trained members of the Four Estate. Maybe she is under pressure to sell newspapers and up advertising revenues or else.

6. miller don’t take a leaf out of my book cause my book got a lot of asses in it not to mention yours who is the head on the list, look go on eating your crow sandwiches.. must be feel good on an empty stomach of garbage which you everyday delights in gobbling up by the nation. this time the govt got the nation by the balls after their failed attempt to discredit FS with that rag amuffin Town Hall meetimg and a coordination of having that political weasel the RT hon set stuart up with a so called theatrical response of him not attending the ‘ town hall meeting ” they come up with a story that was fed to them by a little twirp. another reason any body of class and character should not VOTE for the BLP. classic case of deceit and defamation ,

7. @ millertheformerneutral…..Some of those adjectives {at least two of them} you tossed at AC easily could apply to Kaymar.Since there are all yours seems only fair to let you choose.

8. “On the front page of the Sunday Sun they reported the Mia Mottley was the BLP’s campaign manager in 2008, when in fact it was Dame Billie Miller.”

the same Dame Billie Miller who is now on the EBC. lets see if Hants and company will go wild with that info.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 24, 2012 at 7:04 PM |

This is one well equipped jackass that is prepared to jump on your back anytime you step out of line with your lies and allegations. Are you sure you are prepared to handle the miller’s jack?

Why are you turning a blind eye to this DLP administration bold faced fraud, corruption and blatant thieving of the taxpayers and BWA consumers monies?

As long as you refuse to speak out against this stealing the miller’s middle foot jack would continue to mount your jenny back until you ‘bray’ the truth for everyone on BU to hear.

10. As a boy Sunday School was a must for me.Then somewhere along the line I became lost,weary and wild I questioned the veracity of my spiritual moorings.This day gives me hope.Why?I do not know.Yet I feel as though my faith is about to be restored.YES THERE’S A GOD.

11. millerAs long as you refuse to speak out against this stealing the miller’s middle foot jack would continue to mount your jenny back until you ‘bray’ the truth for everyone on BU to hear.

stealing all right like how the blp stole the clico audit report when it comes to lies and corruption yuh party wins hands down and that might be the only legacy yuh party got to stand on your despicable party with the aiding an abating of the nation has shown another reason why the BLP would be an obstacle to freedom of information and integrity, lies ands deceit follows them wherever they go even in to certain sects of the FOURTH estate namely the Nation. as fuh the big foot keep it cause maybe one day yuh might need it to kick the RT hon in the as,,,,s he friends of none and keep statellite pun all. middle foot my …………

12. Hal Gollop only shame that the public of Barbados knows now that he is screwing the taxpayers. What the hell he could do to earn 1.5m just so. He aint no hard lawyer. The staff were sworn to secrecy and some body got vex and leak the letter. You see now we need the elections. Was he going to share this with his friend?

Just asking??

13. De Man Ring De Bell Avatar
    De Man Ring De Bell

@ Prodigal Son

you realise that if the project is worth 44m, then his 1.5m is leass than the minimum scale fee as prescribed by the bar association?

being a hard lawyer ain’t a reason to get paid more or less, its whether your client is happy with your service. mr.gollop seems to have been advising the bwa most competently.

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ De Man Ring De Bell | October 24, 2012 at 8:09 PM |

$1.5 million for writing 2 or 3 fu**k-ass letters and filling in forms?
    Doesn’t the BWA have it own in-house Corporate Secretary or CFO?
    One wonders what the architect, engineers and politicians are get? Sounds as if the consumers will be getting a $25 million building for $ 50 million payout plus interest under the BOLT arrangement.
    No wonder this country is in such a putrid state of decay especially its legal system.

So much for Hal’s high morality soap box which need to be kicked from under him. Raping the country at this time and paving the way for a sure bet devaluation and strict special economic measures imposed from without.

15. @ old bailey

The truth is an absolute defence against a charge of libel; but there are other defenses such lack of malice, lack of actual damage to the person.

If someone I was a tall black man, it would be untrue but not libel because there is no damage to my livelihood or reputation.

You are really stretching it to think that there was some inference that Gollop was representing both parties.

Today was obviously silly putty day at school.

16. David

I gotta tell yah, but this thing about cussing the female participants on this blog ain’ righteous man … some body calling ac a DLP a## cleaner or something, it ain’ righteous man … Cuss the men all yah want but show li’l respect nah …. yah stupid bitches …!

17. One has to wonder what value there is in taking the conversation to the gutter. It only defines who you are for others to see.

18. @ David ..
    It has been pointed out that the Nation has changed its online version of the story . It removed the paragraph which said that Gollop was the lawyer for Innotech. But would you believe that the Nation has got it WRONG AGAIN ? The letter WAS NOT written to Dr Brathwaite as the online story now says ; I heard Mr Gollop tell David Ellis that the letter was written to the Chairman of the Negotiation Committee ; it was only COPIED to Dr Brathwaite the Chairman of the BWA . Does this paper have editors ? By the time this Kaymar Jordan woman is through with the Nation they will end up totally broke .

19. @ Laughable

It makes one wonder what is the problem if the paper is not paying attention to detail at the height of the sill season which can easily result in financial impact.

20. “Gollop vents on radio” That’s the headline to the follow-up story in today’s Nation. And the tone of the article matches the headline. I think it’s a bit cocky, but it clearly shows that they know they are on solid legal ground, as I kept repeating in different ways yesterday.

The editorial puts it all in perspective.

The substance of the story is sound, and we the taxpayers and electors should be very concerned about what is happening at the Barbados Water Authority.

Minor factual slip ups will occur in journalism. I think the Nation has had more than its fair share of these. But nothing, except public safety, should trump the public’s right to know.

21. @ DavidB
    You are either wittingly or unwittingly missing the real danger of the article . If you had heard the point that Gollop made you should realize that the real sore point of the article lies in the Nation representing him as working for BOTH Innotech and the BWA . Why do you think they jumped to remove that first paragraph . Accusing a professional of a conflict of interest cannot put you ” on solid legal ground ” UNLESS you can show that the accusation IS TRUE . David Ellis clearly understands that point ; you obviously do not .

22. @laughable

Of course they made an error and it was corrected in the online version. The issue as DavidB has explained remains
    relevant.

23. @ Laughable!!

You surely live up to your moniker!

Nothing in the article implies such. To come to that conclusion a reader would have had to have prior knowledge that he was the attorney for the BWA. And even so, a reader can just as readily conclude that it was a mistake; which it was.

Or, the most likely conclusion that most readers without prior knowledge would draw (incorrectly) is that he is the lawyer for Innotech and not the BWA.

So your point, and Mr. Gollop’s point, is a red herring.

Why do you guys try to make mountains out of molehills?

24. The substance of the story what evidencence do you have that the substance of the story is “sound” it would give a bit more credibilty to the natIon if they printed the letter under the banner the public right to know. it makes no sense at all for the nation to throw an article which intself can be libel and slander into the public arena like raw meat giving cause for innuendo and controversy a reputable paper having the law on it side would give a full and fair report including the letter

25. “It cannot be moral for a newspaper to take pride in stealing or having stolen a document to publish in a newspaper, because the document was sent under official coverage and copied to three persons, none of whom is THE NATION newspaper. So THE NATION had absolutely no right with it,”

You hear libel? That is libel.

Can you see the Nation headline in big bold type?

HAL GOLLOP SAYS NATION STOLE LETTER – SUED FOR LIBEL

26. @DavidB

Have to agree with you and BU is not a fan of the Nation newspaper.

27. @ David

The Nation is complicit in plan of act by the BLP which goes under the operational name: “Lets get the Prime Minister through Hal Gollop, his friend”

Lets just accept that the Nation has already done a commercial deal with the BLP and its financial backers for the coming campaign which will result in the Nation securing millions and millions of dollars in revenue for advertising space.

Bajans love to give people what they don’t want. They pay attention to what you are asking for but always give you what you don’t really want. The BLP should be careful not to insult Bajans right to choice who they want and vote accordingly.

According to one speaker at Rice, St.Philip “Fumble call the damn elections and lets the BLP get back in power, we ar ethe ones with all the answers”

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Inkwell | October 25, 2012 at 8:10 AM |

The Nation stole the letter the same way the FBI & CLICO reports were “stolen”.

How can Hal Gollop be so naïve and accuse that newspaper of stealing a so-called confidential letter? Did the Nation newspaper break into any of the offices of the recipients?

Look Hal, get real? One of your ‘trusted’ recipients or confidential associates leaked a copy of the letter to the BLP and the BLP gave a copy to the Nation for political mileage.

Why attack the messenger even if the letter is contained in an envelope with the name slightly misspelled but delivered to the right address?

29. @Garage Office

If you are correct where is the logic in the Nation publishing information that can be easily disproved?

30. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

If only anything was likely to come of these discussions………………

31. Why must there be any corrections needed “if” the letter is sound need for corrections suggest that the letter is fraudlent and can be challenged in court.

32. Future Generations Avatar
    Future Generations

the Nation should really have to apologise to innotec tho. the article would make people believe that them did suing the government and claiming 50M when it ain’t so. um is clear that innotec still funding the construction even tho the financing for the project ain’t yet kick in from ansa capital markets bank.

33. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar

If only anything was likely to come of these discussions………………

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bdos Underground Talkshop | October 25, 2012 at 9:31 AM |

Pigs love mud that’s why you have joined in.

35. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar

Oink!! Oink!!

36. Where the Nation can take heat is the fact it’s editorial today is disingenuous by claiming freedom of the press. It has failed to pressure the issue of FOI.

37. HA HA HA Miller … You is a stand up comedian now …? HA HA HA HA

38. @Miller

You have to learn to turn the other cheek.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 25, 2012 at 9:32 AM |

Are the Auditor General’s findings into the outlandish Fraud at the BWA that took place under the ‘watchful’ eyes of the illegally appointed Chairman Arni Walters fraudulent and can be challenged in Court too?

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 25, 2012 at 9:52 AM |

I am no hypocritical ‘Christian’. I believe in the old Mosaic rule of “an eye for an eye and a tooth for tooth. (LOL!!!).

Where were the likes of Hal when the Nation printed untrue statements authored and repeated by Chris Sinckler and Donville Inniss that the BLP had secret meetings and agreed to lay off 10,000 public sector workers? Who stole the minutes of those meetings?

I bet you will never hear another word from Sinckler or Inniss on this topic on any platform or other public forum in the upcoming campaign

41. @David 9:38
    the Nation is a creature of convenience! The only ones crying for FOI is us here.

42. Hi you miller as usual try divertion to turn the attentiion from the true CULPRITS that being the NATION tell them to publish the LETTER a fair and clear cut resolution. No sense on sitting on potentially dangerous evidence however i suspect that the only deceit found would be in the NATION. TIME TO PUBLUISH THE LETTER lets see who are the real hypocrites

43. @ac

Actuall the issue here is how will the government and Stuart make a decisive decision about the BWA project warned by Gollop’s letter.

44. Has it been confirmed that the contents of the letter are those of HAL the letter is being subjected to correctiions so how can one clearly give a true assesment and conclusion of what is in the letter unless the matter is confirmed by all parties involved right now their is a lot of backtracking by the NATION which leaves one to suspect that there is tampering involved with the contents that is why i say PUBLISH THE LETTER no need for speculation

45. @ac

Are you not following the matter? Hal Gollop called in on talk show yesterday and confirmed the authenticity of the letter. What he has a problem with is that the Nation published it and in the process misrepresented who it was addressed to and the client he is acting on behalf of.

46. Hal Gollop is just sorry that the details came out.

He was a BLP supporter for years, as soon as the government changes, he changed too as he too believed that the DLP will be in power for 30 years like CCC and ac bragged about on BU.

So he like most opportunistic people jumped on the band wagon to share the fatted calf. At this rate, only the carcass must be remaining!

ac, the full letter was read out at Rices, too bad you were not there. It is regrettable that the writer of story mixed up whom Mr Gollop was representing but that does not take away from the fact that these people are raping the country…………………getting fatter whilst the rest of the people are suffering.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 25, 2012 at 1:14 PM |
    “Are you not following the matter? Hal Gollop called in on talk show yesterday and confirmed the authenticity of the letter. ”

That is typical ac style; blindly attacking without evidence or reason.

The major contents of the letter were published in the Midweek Nation newspaper yesterday.
    Ac the silly sod with the unmitigated gall to bully those who stridently oppose her with the arrant nonsense of threatening to let lose her legal pit bulls on people who challenge the crap and lies she writes.

@ ac:
    Well if that is the kind of in-house legal advice you get as indicated in your contributions above @ 12.26 PM & 12.56 PM then that explains why the local legal system is in such a bad state and riddled with incompetents and crooks.

48. David, ac is the only person in Barbados that did not hear Gollop’s comments on both radio stations yesterday. you ain’t know? how else could she make those stupid comments.

49. If it was something to do with Owen Arthur, she would have heard it.

Where is the arch Dem CCC on this? Not a scandal, right ac and CCC??

Only those who stay the course with me will be able to share the fatted calf, famous words of the late “great” David Thompson.

50. Mr. gallop said many things pertaining to the letter or opinion and he clearly stated that by the Nation being not able to get the basics facts right everything else in the article is flawed which should leave one to believe that some of the contents of the letter might have been changed in the nations effort to do mischief. much of what i have said, mr galop never went into the detailing of the letter except to where he was misrepresented but from my understanding from his comments it is clear that there was evidence on the nation parts to misrepresent contents or the very substance of the letter

Leave a Reply to DavidBCancel reply