Submitted by Steven Williams
Sir Branford Taitt’s career was adversely affected by the protracted nature of the St. Joseph Hospital inquiry

I just heard a news extract of comments by Opposition Leader, Owen Arthur, saying that he is not averse to the Government seeking foreign investment into the redevelopment of the closed St. Joseph Hospital. Well, my first reaction to that news item was: The BLP has no moral authority or legitimacy to speak about the St. Joseph Hospital. They Are Shameless! Truthfully, they ought to hang their heads in disgrace.

How things have changed with the passage of time! Can you really take this man and the BLP seriously? They were responsible for closing down the St. Peter based health institution as soon as they got in 1994. They went after the previous Health Minister, Branford Taitt, and hounded him out of politics with INNUENDOES, LIES and ACCUSATIONS OF MISMANAGEMENT AND CORRURPTION. All of this culminated in a Commission of Inquiry.

That commission thoroughly investigated the hospital, and the report which exculpated and vindicated Sir Branford, never saw the light of day. The BLP Government NEVER made it public, simply because the document exonerated Sir Branford, after he was held up to public scorn and ridicule. They did not even have the common decency to apologise to the honourable gentleman.

The Report was deliberately ‘hidden’. It had to wait until a change of administration after 2008 for the findings to be made public. Remember the BLP went the length and breadth of this country saying the worst possible things about Sir Branford and the DLP. These ran the gamut from innuendoes and unsubtle lyrics in calypsos like ‘Steel in There’, and charges of nepotism and mismanagement, to the illegal recruitment of Barbadian nurses from Britain and immorality, and who was responsible for the fire that destroyed his constituency office.

ALL OF THE ABOVE ACCUSATIONS WERE PROVEN WRONG. Yet, the report was concealed by an administration hell-bent on politically damaging the DLP and permanently scarring Sir Branford’s character and public image, thereby leaving a repulsive impression of these persons in the minds of Barbadians. BUT, IT DID NOT WORK!

Now, a reincarnated Owen Arthur has the temerity to speak about the St, Joseph Hospital. I feel he should be made to repay the Treasury every cent spent on that Inquiry. Shame on you Owen Seymour Arthur, Shame on you! We have not forgotten. You robbed Barbadians living in the north of the country of access to health care that the DEMS were providing.

Moving to another salient matter. Recently, there was an unfounded allegation made at a BLP branch meeting that this administration had increased the numbers in the public service with its supporters, while axing some with BLP connections. Please furnish the evidence. NONE EXISTS!

I wonder if that person making the claim remembers that three top executives at the QEH – Millington, Springer and McAllister, as well as Gloria Broome, the first and only female Superintendent at Glendairy Prison, and a host of other public servants, were unceremoniously fired for doing their jobs. Their replacements performed poorly.

This administration did not pad the public service like its predecessor. In fact, it had no elbow room, even if it wanted to, since the VAT $$ used by the previous administration to inflate departments dried up; it was stuck with offices and agencies set up to employ BLP lackeys and supporters – e.g. RDC, UDC, NAB and the Pan African Commission – which are all a burden and a drain on the economy.

So, far from padding the civil service, the DLP kept the numbers (BLP partisans) that it found. The upshot is: these are now undermining the administration at every turn; from leaking documents, to passing confidential information to the opposition to the detriment of the Government.

If Owen Arthur is so keen to trim the fiscal deficit and privatise agencies, let him identify these and others, and be honest with Barbadians that he will retrench thousands from CBC and NCC to the Transport Board, the BWA and the Airport and Sea Port, putting them on the breadline. Please give us the specifics Mr. Arthur.

By the way, in the same news item, Mr. Arthur scolded the DLP for not developing the Scotland District (1/7 of Barbados, he says) after more than four years in office IN A RECSSSION; when they had 14 years IN A PERIOD OF PLENTY and ENDEMIC WASTAGE. I say no more. You be the judge.

Barbadians beware of the second coming of Arthur and the BLP!

88 responses to “BLP Has No Moral Authority To Speak On St. Joseph Hospital”

1. @ youngobserver

I think it was Ronald Jones who used the tern Armageddon.

That notwithstanding, these things tend to have a slow and long term impact on our ability to borrow and attract foreign investment. When we have to pay higher interest rates, that will hit government finances and lead to reduced availability to money for social services, infrastructure, etc.

So the impact can be expected in the medium term.

But don’t forget that government finances are already so stretched that we are seeing the situation where money is being borrowed from the NIS to finance the Transport Board, the UWI etc. Government is also borrowing about $50 million monthly to meet current expenses. All of this is unsustainable, and there must soon be a day or reckoning.

2. I meant “day of reckoning.”

3. @youngobserver

Its the steady diet of shallow journalism masquerading as serious analysis. the country deserves and can do much better.
    ==========================================

This is true, but it has always been true. And we have to make our decisions in spite of it.

Last election cycle, the media favoured the DEMS. This cycle it’s the BEES. I think perhaps they play it this way to boost their bottom line.

4. BTW, the Advocate has sold it’s soul to the DLP. It said as much in an editorial about two years back. So that, along with CBC, is the other side of the coin.

5. to all the sideliners and bu head counters i say :the only thing necessary for evil to flourish is for good people to sit on the sidelines and say or do nothing. in a democracy the right to free speech should not be taken for granted .

6. @ac

Sounds good, but whose free speech is being threatened?

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DavidB | October 23, 2012 at 5:39 PM |
    “BTW, the Advocate has sold it’s soul to the DLP. It said as much in an editorial about two years back. So that, along with CBC, is the other side of the coin.”

The reason why the Advocate has sold its soul to the DLP is to survive as a business operation and pay its monthly bills met primarily from indirect transfers from the taxpayers.
    The promised TV licence has not yet been forthcoming so that enthusiasm showed for the January2008 General elections might have waned significantly unless similar watertight assurances are given this time around to revive the flying of that banner of support.

Five years are a long time in waiting for a dividend to be forthcoming from a investment made in a dead King.

8. The same trend exist on the talk shows. 12 to 20 callers are regulars but thousands take comfort in listening. It is what it is.

9. Young observer,

You would do well to be more widely read and do not only read the joky column penned by Lowdown on Fridays. Where or what is the educational content of Lowdown, his wife or his cows?

Read the Nation and the Advocate as well. You should have enough sense to decipher what is truth and what is fiction. The reason why young people are not well informed is because they do not read and only watch channels of no educational value like BET.

You do know that Americans have the same problem with their media, they call it the lame stream media and Americans go to the new media for their news.

10. “it is what it is” not so the sqeaky wheel always get the most grease.

11. The so-called ‘young observer’ is too funny. #just saying lol

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Youngobserver | October 23, 2012 at 4:14 PM |
    “I have been told that BWA and CBC do not currently require transfers from the consolidated fund to fund their operations, and as such are not burdens on the state finances. i am told that the most government does is guarantee loans for capital projects.” “if my source is to be believed the loans that have created problems at CBC and BWA in the past were ones raised under the last administration. is that correct? or is it now completely out of order to make any reference to acts of the last administration is discussing any issues.”
    “Are these points correct or not, can someone who knows shed some light with some hard evidence please.”

Listen young ‘Tattle Tale’, ‘Blabbermouth Babsie’, ‘Lick Mout Lou’ and ‘Market Vendor’, it’s just not good enough to use the sound bites such as:
    “I have been told”. “I am told”. “If my source is to be believed.”

Since you are so critical of the mainstream media and this blog why not ask your sources to shed light with real hard evidence.

Start with the National Accounts and the Annual Estimates and then get back to us with the following: “The National Accounts record and report that….. “ The Estimates for 2012/2013 project that…”.
    Now stop wasting the thousands of educational dollars invested in you young observer. Wee need to see a return.

13. @ young observer

To follow up on what Prodigal Son said about deciphering truth from fiction, take the issue of civil servants’ jobs.

At least 3 government ministers have accused several BLP officers of holding a secret meeting where they made plans to cut 10,000 public sector jobs if the BLP is returned to power.

On the other had, there is an IADB loan agreement available on line (http://idbdocs.iadb.org/wsdocs/getdocument.aspx?docnum=36818134) where the government commits itself to “rationalising the cost of personal emoluments” in the public sector.

Bear in mind that in 1994 David Thompson campaign was based on an alleged secret IMF deal by the BLP/Owen Arthur to devalue the Barbados dollar. He alleged he had the document and would share it with the public. We are still waiting.

You can put two and two together to decipher what if fact and what is fiction. No one can pretend to be confused on this one.

And that is the process. Read widely, get your information from as many sources as possible, sift and analyse, and then make a judgement on the issue at hand.

14. “However, 63 percent of those housing units are considered as in good technical conditions and 37 percent in regular or bad shape, due to their aging or lack of appropriate maintenance, either by the state or the population.’

how then could the situation have improved in the last decade? not logical.IT has worsened as a result of the reasons abovementioned, out of 11 million people, i posit without fear of contradiction that only about 5% live in adequate housing.

15. young observer by his clever comments is proving to be not so young after all and is showing where his preference lies as is his right even if subtly. good and balanced response at4.32 pm davidb.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ balance | October 24, 2012 at 5:45 AM |

We can see right through his/her (young observer) “transparent” youth and “open” agenda. A convoluted liar tripping up him or herself all along the damned lying path (DLP) to George St. while blaming everything going wrong in Bim on some bogey international recession. What we have on our hands is not an economic recession but major corrections to the financial markets which we have to learn to live with going forward. How could some international economic adjustment stop this administration from implementing Integrity legislation?

Young observer could as well come clean like ac and CCC the mascot and nail his colours to the DLP family mast blazoned with the heraldic markings of the guild of pathological liars.

17. That “young observer is no young person but if they are then it shows that free education system in Barbados is wasted and a failure …..

18. same can be said of balance who claims to have no people leanings or affiliation yet from his postings shows tendancies of being pro BLP

19. Bajans will be called upon to pay for their childrens education and user fees wiil be introduced at the Queen Elizebeth hospital for all services renderd there and at the polyclinics

20. Bajans will be called upon to pay for their childrens education and user fees wiil be introduced at the Queen Elizebeth hospital for all services renderd there and at the polyclinics

CCC, BAJANS HAVE BEEN PAYING INDIRECTLY BUT GRANTED NOT FULLY FOR THEIR CHILDREN’S EDUCATION FOR SOME TIME NOW AND USER FEES FOR CERTAIN SERVICES AT THE HOSPITAL AND TO THE PHARMACY TO ACCESS MEDICATON

21. “same can be said of balance who claims to have no people leanings or affiliation yet from his postings shows tendancies of being pro BLP”

CAN’T FAULT YOUR LGIC AC, INACCURATE THOUGH IT MIGHT BE. PLEASE BELIEVE ME WHEN I TELL YOU I ONLY TRY TO BE BALANCED AND LIKE YOU I BELIEVE OSA SHOULD HAVE TAKEN A BACKSEAT BUT UNLIKE YOU I THINK HE DID A MARELLOUS JOB IN MANAGING A BROEN DOWN ECONOMY HE INHERITED WHEN HE CAME TO POWERAND RESTORED CONFIDENCE IN THE COUNTRY AND UNLIKE YOU I CANNOT SAY HE IS A CROOK UNTIL THOSE LIKE YOU BRING THE EVIDENCE AND EXPOSE HIM FOR THE CROOK HE IS.

22. balance it is easy to say but when one look back in the years of the BLP there is nothing that one can point to that would have protected barbados from world wide economic shock given that the BLP had all the financial resources and money for proper planning fuh god sake after 14 years problems like transport and health are still problematic for the country and energy and food production are where these not relevant in sustaining an economy and society through good goverance

23. people want to change the government because they want better from their government and that is their right. I do somehow believe that I have the right to ask for more from the media because I want better.

My political leanings are mine and nobody’s business. I am a young, well read, thinking person, who is not some puppet to be jerked by the elites and media outlets, or driven by who is up and who is down.

24. Miller, I can read and count thank you. The question being raised in terms of CBC is not whether its part of the estimates, but whether or not the revenues earned by the corporation covers the operational costs. the same for BWA. I don’t know the answer, I am asking a question.

25. you know my education, not at the expense of the tax payer has taught me a thing or two about the skills of argument. The BU faithful are now resorting to one of the standard tactics, don’t deal with the argument attack the person who raises the questions.

26. Mystic, where have i blamed a global recession for anything in bim in my posts. you know I have noticed this trend in a lot of debate recently where people seem to want to bat, bowl and field too.

Your line is that the DLP is blaming the recession for everything and you seem to impute that into any argument that does not join in your chorus.

What an arrogant, self important set of people.

if you read my posts I am largely asking questions, seeking to be enlightened, and widen the debate.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Youngobserver | October 25, 2012 at 10:06 AM |

I too would like to know these things.
    If only we can get the Ministers in charge of these statutory bodies to adhere to their legal responsibilities and have prepared audited financial statements no later than three months after the end of their financial year.

Being a young enthusiastic observer you might want to ask the relevant Ministers why this incompetence and blatant violation of the law. While you are at it ask the Minister responsible for the NIS to do the same. We will be happy for those up to 2010/11 financial year.

Now don’t show your true colours and do like ac and talk about the BLP had 14 years of doing the same thing. No ad hominems, please!

28. Given the nature of the accounting and auditing process, its difficult for my young and inexperienced mind to see how you discuss that issue without looking back. But any reference to the past is not allowed on this blog.

You are still dodging the issue though. You people know everything and have access to all kinda documents, so based on the most recent financials of CBC and BWA do their revenues current their operational costs? If they don’t just tell me so, so i can confront the person who suggested to me that the revenues from these two entities cover their operational costs and as such they are not a burden to the taxpayer. what is all the drama, intrigue and vitriol about on what seems likely a simple and harmless question and search for information?

29. “balance it is easy to say but when one look back in the years of the BLP there is nothing that one can point to that would have protected barbados from world wide economic shock given that the BLP had all the financial resources and money for proper planning fuh god sake after 14 years problems like transport and health are still problematic for the country and energy and food production are where these not relevant in sustaining an economy and society through good goverance”
    AC i could easily say that the dlp has done nothing to tackle your concerns after having the opportunity to govern for 26 years but i do not want to present a tit for tat situation here. the issue at present is the state of the economy and the dlp has not not inspired in its manangement afer having the blp thrown out on charges of corruption which they have nottrie to or have been unable to prove.what people are saying is that things in the country are worst off than four years ago after promising to reduce the cost of living. that is the issue the dlp has to deal with to retain governance not owen arthur’s alleged infelicities. granted the dlp is a popular party as a result of having been able to indoctrinate a large segment of thhe population through the academy of politics and might win back because of goodwill but not performance for sure.

30. @balance

You comment explains the problem for the DLP but not for the reason you posit. Who can expect that any government managing a country in these economic recessionary times can achieve the performance of the boom years? Especially a country like Barbados? This is where the DLP has lost the argument i.e. it should be communicating to the people how they have done the best in the circumstances. Instead we have the nonsense arguments about comparing to employment of 6% in 2007 etc, foreign reserves of 2.8 billion,etc

31. ‘Who can expect that any government managing a country in these economic recessionary times can achieve the performance of the boom years”

mr david, like the nonsensical ‘country not only economy society’ proclamation i have never been able to buy in to this ‘boom year’ utterance. what i do know is that mr arthur took a battered and dying economy and i am not casting blame on mr sandiford because i heard mr sandiford say with my own ears that the economy was batting bhetter than gary sobers and those saying otherwise were prophets of doom and gloom so i am not casting blame but the fact of the matter is that when mr arthur resumed office th economy was in the worst shape it has ever been and under his management, things began to look better for the economy and confidence in the bads dollar was restored. we could spend a whole year arguing that it was because of policies he inherited but in my book that is mere speculation, the fact of the matter is that what ever he found he had to manage it well and that he did. if boom years resulted, then he and he alne as minister of finance must take the credit and like the man told me that barrow give his children free education and i can’t tell him otherwise, then you can’t convince me that mr arthur was not rsponsiblbe for the good times i enjoyed between 1998 and 2007.

32. A political spin but you are entitled.

33. A political spin but you are entitled.
    SO ARE YOU

34. A political spin but you are entitled.
    SO ARE YOU
    OR SHOULD I SAY JUST FOLLOWING IN YOUR FOOTSTEPSWHICHARE BECOMING MORE PRONOUNCED IN RECENT TIMES AS YOUSENS DANGER FOR TE DLP. MY ADVICE TO YOU IS DO NOT PANICYET, ALL IS NOT LOST AS TE NEXT POLL WILL SHOW.

35. @balance

Stopping posting your nonsense if you have nothing to write.

36. IF MY POST AT 5.25 IS NONSENSE, THEN REFUTE IT IN DEBATE NOT BY VITRIOL.

37. Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit
    of this website; this web site consists of amazing and actually good
    information in favor of visitors.

38. BLP Has No Moral Authority To Speak On St. Joseph Hospital

A VERY TRUE STATEMENT

THE REFURBISHED ST JOSEPH HOSPITAL WAS WORKING PROPERLY

THE BLP DESTROYED IT!

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply