Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur
Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur says the Bees are ready.

Time we face up to facts. Too often now, plasters are to quick to be offered for every sore. Like Mathew Farley the said megalomaniac. Though some can see the truth behind the unfortunate situation, they would rather cower to a defensive stance and represent like a pit bull, giving all to their cause.  Oh how we love not to face up to the truth and call a spade a spade. It has become contagious now. It is as if by some strange complexion, we would rather be blinded, than to take the path to truth.

So what is so wrong with looking at a shovel and saying its another word for a spade? Why must we take the round about route with mundane discourse? For those who are accustomed playing dominoes, if the board calls for sixes and duces, fours or threes cannot play. It just won’t be right. If by accident, a mismatch, the result will be chaos when coming to near end of the game.  A six is a six and a duce a duce. There can be no substitute.

Why then in life’s situations we are tempted to play the  wrong cards? A three for a four…..a blank for an ess? Why do we attempt to do such hubris and sabotage or cause problems to life’s domino game? Why can’t we be honest with ourselves sometimes when we know of the obvious error? Why continue to throw good time and money after bad? Like The Four Seasons. $400 millions now sunk and irrelevant past cost to any future decision making.  Sometimes we know different but blinded by the folly of our error, continue to hold tether, hoping for change.

No one in their right minds would disagree, given the state of affairs in Barbados today, we are headed on the wrong path. Excuses don’t cut it, nor believing, given another term, some miraculous change. Simply we drew a bad hand this game. A spade must be called a spade. Finding all kinds of faults in a polls for instance, that has been proven correct 100% time with 90% accuracy, is just another plaster. Because it  does not suit one’s betterment, must we find fault rather than face the truth? Minister Donville Innis deserves full kudos here, being man enough to accept the results of the polls and seeing how best to manoeuvre, however bitter the pill. For other professionals and politicos to  speak of skew and bias is playing a six for a five, and complicates the game. Rather than face up to the present situation, they would rather lament later.

Time we learn life is like a domino game, sometimes we draw a good hand, other times a loser. We must learn to play the hand we draw (this game )and hope for a better one. So when asked next time to ‘wash the rice’ and reshuffle, make sure we sit up and draw, reaching prudently, pulling those ivories, hoping not to find one’s self with bare blanks again, when the board demands for aces. Remember blind men don’t play dominoes, this coming elections, we got to try and pull a proper hand or face the consequences.

143 responses to “Blind Men Don't Play Dominoes”

1. @ Carson

Your Bridgetown Sewerage Project story sounds very fishy to me. As far as I recall, this was a project conceived by the Tom Adams administration in the 1976-1981 period. I also seem to recall that it was your people advising the residents not to move.

The people were re-sited to Clapham under much protest; but they eventually settled down well in their new neighbourhood.

And I think this is a factor in the 1986 BLP loss.

My point is that your story about the BLP advising the people not to move does not add up. The project did not exist prior to 1976.

2. @Enuff | October 22, 2012 at 3:42 PM |

@ Carson
    You are too funny. Tell us how the DLP will “rationalize public expenditures” and contain “transfers by rationalising the cost of personal emoluments” as promised to the IADB to get the USD$150 million loan.

enuff,

You will not get an answer to this from Mr CCC. He does not respond when he is confronted with FACTS! He and the dumb DLP think that we do not read or follow the news, so they think that these agreements they make will be kept hush hush!

His constituency council job of propaganda will be gone soon. These councils are not what they should be, the people of Barbados thought that these councils would be like go betweens when dealing with government bureaucracy but they are nothing but DLP largess to be doled out to their supporters.

Can you imagine a chairman voting for $10,000 as a donation to his church? Another one paying for Hammie la’s stupidity and another one paying funeral expences?

CCC look for another job! Ouch, you may not find one now, there are none available and the unemployment rate has doubled under your administration to nearly 13%. Sorry for you!

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ DavidB | October 22, 2012 at 3:50 PM |

You see now what kind of intellectual criminal CCC is?
    Why do you think he is a long-term inmate with permanent residence in the lie factory owned by that damned lying party aka DLP?

Total arrant nonsense and bold-faced lies spew forth from his venomous mouth along with his cell mate ac.

Now “Cruel” who is the ugliest liar of them all? Cinderella Carson the Congenital Criminal?

4. @ Clone

Molasses is black, sweet and slow.

Everybody know PM Stuart black, and that is not an issue.
    Many people think he is sweet, at least his phraseology.
    But he too sloooooow!

That is what people are referring to.

Please try your silly race baiting somewhere else.

5. DavidB
    I have now put you in the same intellectual criminal category as Miller.
    Most of you have the same problem with black people.

6. I noticed on Barbados Today that Villa Nova is up for sale for $26 million. When contacted, the Judicial Manager said it has nothing to do with him as Villa Nova is part of CLICO Holdings and he has no control over CLICO Holdings only CLICO Life.

What the hell is going on here? Boy, am I glad I have never put one cent in CLICO, I would have taken matters into my hands long time ago especially when you see such nonsense going on. So when they sell off the assets now, where is the money going to come from to repay policyholders? Is any of this money going to any of the policyholders or only to pay Leroy Parris and Terrance Thornhill?

You see now why this incompetent government has to go? Why was not CLICO Holdings placed under the JM’s as well as it was well known that CLICO Life was funding every thing Greenverbs’ heart desired?

Policyholders, you have been screwed by this government.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | October 22, 2012 at 3:46 PM |

I see Stuart through no RACIAL EYES. To me he is just a man; even if a sleeping giant of a man. As far as I know the most esteemed PM Barbados ever had in the person of EWB was black and one of my heroes.

I leave racial classification and typecasting to you and your Clone Harry Callihan.

I am only concerned about his ability to manage competently the affairs of this country.
    So far he has been a “black” spot on the once pristine public management landscape of this once “fair” land. Just imagine a bucket of molasses flowing up Government Hill to Illaro Court and you have a fair analogy of the man’s decision-making skills.
    BTW, how long do we have to wait to se the implementation of the recommendations in the Ax Inquiry report? Another 6 years?

8. @ Clone

How does saying that the PM is too slow equate with having a problem with black people?

Is it that you can’t follow simple logic; or is it that are pretending to be stupid?

Nothing is wrong with the PM’s blackness and nothing is wrong with my blackness. However, something is very wrong with his sloth.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

GEORGIE PORGIE

“THE DLP TOOK 8%”

That is true. The Democratic Labour Party and the Country are eternally grateful for the sacrifice the Civil Servants made to our economy.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“It was the miller who has been pushing the shedding of workers from the public sector ‘

You think too much of your self, no one picked up anything from you. You are not that significant.

btw YOU NOTICE THAT YOUR BOY IS CAMPAIGN MANAGER FOR THE blp?

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DavidB | October 22, 2012 at 3:50 PM

you getting things mixed up.

It was the DLP who was encouraging the residents to move and relocating them and it was the Barbados Labour Party which, as usual, was opposing for opposing sake.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 22, 2012 at 5:59 PM |

What about the 3,000 that were also sent home? Looks like 1991/92 déjà vu all over again.
    The same upfront denials by Sandi are being regurgitated by Stuart and his hatchet men before the dreaded guillotine is lowered on those people taken on from 2008 to present. They would have been used, abused, and dumped just for 5 more years of siphoning at the pig trough of taxpayers’ money by the dirty lying politicians in the DLP.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

CLONE (TO Miller)

“Are you saying he is too black? ”

Have you noticed that they have a WHITE CAMPAIGN MANAGER?

I hope that they can deal with the blow back.

A WHITE MAN begging BLACK PEOPLE to vote for a Black political party in Barbados?

IS IT ONLY US THAT SMELL SOMETHING HERE?

Boy it is going to be HOT, HOT, HOT!!!!

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 22, 2012 at 6:11 PM |

It is you who are getting things mix up.

Ask Dr. Gabby why he penned and sang the song “EMMERTON”?
    Like with most things you are out of order and backing a slow horse name Molasses on a slow trip in the sewage pipe to Emmerton.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki |(neither BnorD)

I dont even think that you know where emermerton is.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party are so desperate for POWER, that they are even recruiting MASSA to assist them!

17. CCC

A WHITE MAN begging BLACK PEOPLE to vote for a Black political party in Barbados?

IS IT ONLY US THAT SMELL SOMETHING HERE?
    ………………………………………………………..
    Really CCC, is this all that you all have to come to the electorate with????

Gline Clarke made an unfortunate statement in the House during a debate this year about a white person and you DLP yardfowls went ballistic and demanded an apology although he apologised in the House.

Your logic is priceless, one of a kind!

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party drop BLACK BILLIE MILLER and pick up WHITE ONIONS.

19. CCC

Answer the question enuff asked you earlier and stop catching at straws.

Are you trying to spend up all the CC monies before the election? Oh my gosh, the fatted calf will soon be gone, oh whatever would you do???

20. Dont bring Dame Billie’s name in this. You very well know that she has retired from politics.

You would do or say anything to push the DLP’s narrative! You have no shame!

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You all dont learn.

22. Following the exchanges so far is a revelation for sure.

23. @ Carson

What you guys do is sad.

You will not be allowed to rewrite history. Anyone who is interested can verify that your Emmerton story is just made up crap.

Likewise, this stupidness about the race of the campaign manager reveals how desperate you are. Did Dame Billie Miller offer herself and was rejected, as your post implies? Of course not, but that obviously will not stop you.

24. The Barbados Labour Party drop BLACK BILLIE MILLER and pick up WHITE ONIONS.

CARSON YOU ARE A REAL ASS.

25. @ David

One look at old Jim-bo the lawyer is enough to give anyone the creeps.

Owen face very puffy and fat in the picture in the Nation newspaper this morning. He like he want to drink Mia back to the Leader of the Opposition. After the next elections:

Stuart – Prime Minister
    Mottley – Leader of teh Opposition
    Arthur – Leader of the Rumshop

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 22, 2012 at 6:45 PM |

Still waiting to hear what you learned from the song “Emmerton”.

Or is that too close to your sewage of a personality for your crass and shitty appreciation?
    The Truth can always set you free from your tank of filth and lies and clean you up.
    Even your bitch at home would rejoice in her barking for you.

Now admit you were wrong!

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

White Onions

I like I mash your corns.

28. @Carson
    they took 8% but do not forget this was after a 33.3% pay raise for the MPs and senior civil servants in August of the previous year when they said the economy was “batting like sobers” ..then BRAM! 6 months later an 8% pay cut for civil servants and 3000 laid off..sounds very fishy to me

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party is something else.

First they have restated their faith in “PARO POLITICS”

Second they have enlisted “MASSA” to help them.

What next will they do between now and polling day?

30. Carson
    What get in you of lately? You need to do like ac …and give a rest…..Onions is a big able black man, what white onions what?….like you smoking weed. Like you really doan like onions…

31. I hope Carson realizes that if we keep focusing on race in a modern-day society that we will forever be mentally enslaved! Think on that

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

All I said is , they pick up white onions?

What is wrong with that?

33. It’s actually quite sickening how some Bajans fixate on race

34. @ Carson

As Onions said, give it a rest. You are not making any valid points and you sounding more and more desperate with each post.

35. Desperate people do desperate things! The Dems are desperate, very desperate!

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

One year the BLP man was saying, “MASSA day done!”

A few years later the same man recruiting MASSA to help the failing fortunes of the Barbados Labour Party.

Eating crow is so easy for the Barbados Labour Party to do.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 22, 2012 at 6:21 PM |
    “A WHITE MAN begging BLACK PEOPLE to vote for a Black political party in Barbados?
    IS IT ONLY US THAT SMELL SOMETHING HERE?’

Yes you are smelling something here, alright! A dog called JADA.

Imagine one of the blackest men in Parliament called “Lashes” being backed with millions already in his well laundered pants pocket by a white man with a Nordic name. millions to be shared with the other garrison boy for housing contracts awarded in return.

38. Carson, Carson, Carson..

Because someone is white that makes them a “massa”? Musse your massa but surely not mine and not the rest of the Bajan ppl. I don’t think anyone other than a close-minded, racially-fixated person such as yourself even thought anything by it. His qualifications make him a good campaign manager pick..not his skin color..Simple so!

39. miller,
    Excellent rebuff to CCC. You need to kill him with facts, he’d back off and then come back. Poor fellow, he is about to lose his big position so he is desperate! Very Desperate!

40. here is a fact fuh you prodigal wuh happen to the 300million OSA was saving for a rainy day wellthe rain has come and we all getting wet and OSA ain’t saying nutting.

41. Sometimes the posts here really get too personal and nasty – on both sides. Why can’t we have a lively debate without the name calling?

We can call out each other when necessary, but it makes my skin crawl to see what we write about one another.

I know this is what happens all over the blogosphere, but is it really necessary, or wholesome?

Just asking!

42. ac
    here is a fact fuh you prodigal wuh happen to the 300million OSA was saving for a rainy day wellthe rain has come and we all getting wet and OSA ain’t saying nutting…………………………………………………

ac,
    Do I need to remind you that your party came into office in 2008 and started spending this money like drunken sailors on shore leave and gave no thought to the coming recession. Have you forgotten that your late king ask what recession, what???

Had the dumb DLP stopped and analyse the situation, we would not still be in a recession today. Being in opposition for 15 years did terrible things to you all. So excited “wunnah” were, the spending started and only when it ran out did you dumb Dems realise that there was a recession.

Remember the king said only those who stayed the course with me would be able to share the fatted calf. Well if you all shared it up, why the hell you now come asking me where the money is???? Did you not share in the fatted calf?

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

nia

“His qualifications make him a good campaign manager pick..not his skin color”

You will see.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A “political pickpocket” is attempting to pick Sinckler’s pockets!!!

How the mighty has fallen.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

So far all I have heard from the “paro” Barbados Labour Party is more of the same.

SELL, SELL, SELL,

We need a fix.

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I used to listen to the little children at school, and they had a little sing-song,

“A fight, a fight, a BLACKIE and a WHITE”.

We will see who will win, the BLACKIE or the WHITE.

Will the Black voters support the BLACKIE or the WHITE?

47. @ Carson

Again your posts tonight are not contributing anything of substance. So far we have had untruths, name calling, fear-mongering, race-baiting and bravado.

Where is the defense of the government’s policies and programmes? Where is the solid case for your party’s re-election?

48. this fuh davidb

Leave a Reply to Carson C. CadoganCancel reply