David Estwick – Minister of Agriculture

Last week the Nation newspaper ran the results of a poll which promotes that Barbadians prefer Sinckler and Mottley to be named as deputies. BU is against opinion journalism. Conduct a poll which addresses the need to amend to party constitutions. How about how Barbadians feel about campaign financing reform legislation.  The list is long about worthwhile issues which could have been polled. However we appreciate such topics will not ‘sell’ newspapers.

We all know that it is the person who commands the confidence and support of the parliamentary majority in parliament that count NOT the public. Currently the Barbados Labour Party has named Dale Marshall as deputy and what? It is in name only if one were to judge by job assignments. Mottley appears to be acting out the role as deputy. But who will get the nod as Prime Minister on the morning after? Does anyone believe Arthur will appoint the George Walton Chambers man as deputy prime minister were he to win the next general election? Who knows, Mottley may emerge, AGAIN! Another BU belief is that leaders emerge. There seem to be an unholy haste to elevate Sinckler et al to the top post.

Getting back to the Nation/Cadres poll last week. How is it possible for the public to prefer Ronald Jones over someone like David Estwick? Jones has been at the centre of the Alexandra School dispute and has been fingered as the person who by sitting on the King Report exacerbated the matter. His tenure as President of the Barbados Football Association should does not recommend him as a leader of any merit. The analysis is not to promote Estwick over Jones but to examine the folly of the opinion poll in this instance.

BU believes that David Estwick is the person who can make or break the DLP in the coming general election. He is a dynamic platform speaker, appears to command a level of intelligence which is superior to many of the 30 candidates on offer. All are aware of his brusque behaviour which has run him afoul of the late Prime Minister David Thompson – and Dale Marshall –  which many believe banished him to peripheral ministries. It has continued under Stuart. The Letter leaked which instructed BWA personnel not to attend meeting convened by Minister Sinckler is an example of Estwick’s ‘maverick’ ways.

It is a few months to go before a general election is constitutionally due in Barbados and BU continues to observe David Estwick to see how the famous pronouncement by him ‘time longer than twine’ will unravel. One wonders if a lot of the agro in the party does not stem from the period during the the last government when Dr. Estwick was the Secretary of the DLP and the Deputy Opposition leader to then Leader of the Opposition Clyde Mascoll and an attempt was made by then David Thompson and his cohorts to take over all the leadership positions of the party (Leader of the Opposition, Political Leader, President). The alienation of Estwick in the DLP maybe explained against this background. It is interesting to note the work rate of Estwick when he was Minister of Economic Affairs, Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry and Commerce.

BU recently reread the statement Estwick delivered after the final reshuffle by the late PM Thompson. In light of the government’s economic policy AND recent events it makes for compelling reading:

Statement by Dr. David Estwick, October 1, 2010

Let me first thank the people of St Philip West for electing me as their Representative for two consecutive terms in the House of Assembly. Let me also thank Prime Minister Thompson for the opportunity to have served as Minister of Health between January 2008 to December 2008 and from December 2009 to October 4th as the Minister of Economic Affairs, Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry and Commerce.

I would like to assure Barbadians that I hold no animosity to anyone, and I would like to clear up any misconceptions which might be at this time in the public domain.

Although it might seem that I have been given the bad end of the stick it is my belief that I have been chosen by the Almighty, and my constituents of St Phillip West to work on behalf of this country.  My mother always said: time longer than twine and that the race is not for the swift but is for he that endureth. I am resilient and will endure. However, under these circumstances I hereby tender my resignation from the Chair of the Cabinet Committee on Economic policy to allow for the Prime Minister to so appoint a new Chair.

Well-wishers, constituents of St Philip West, and people of Barbados I would like to thank you for your continued support. I would like to tell you that no person is bigger than the Democratic Labour Party, and no party is bigger than our beloved country, Barbados.

Hence, I would like to thank the Right Honourable Prime Minister David Thompson for all the opportunities he has given me to serve, and under any circumstances, I am willing to serve the people of Barbados in whatever capacity as a member of cabinet under his leadership. I would like to inform him that with great humility, I accept the position given to me at this time of Minister of Agriculture, Food, Fisheries, Industry and Small Business. Before I demit the office of the Minister of Economic Affairs, Innovation, Empowerment, Trade, Industry and Commerce. I would like to give an account of my stewardship to the people of Barbados in the capacity of Minister of Economic affairs and as the Chair of the Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy which advised the Cabinet on all economic policy matters.

This has become necessary after some misguided political pundits questioned the output of the Ministry of Economic Affairs recently in the public domain and I think that it is my duty to defend my stewardship in the same domain.

During my tenure as Minister of Economic Affairs, I was asked to undertake duties in addition to the normal economic activities of the Ministry.

• I was asked to join the Central Bank’s Committee of Chief Economic planners, that meets at the Central Bank Governor’s home every two weeks.
  • Implement and Monitoring of the Short term Response to the Economic Crisis developed by the Special Working Group headed by Winston Cox.
  • To create, implement and monitor the Medium Term Fiscal Strategy.
  • Resurrect the Natural Gas Pipe Line project between Barbados and Trinidad which was stalled since 2002.  We are now in our 7th negotiating meeting.
  • To create and implement an Early Warning Economic System that was a Budget proposal of 2009.  The Early Warning System was launched on the 27th of September 2010.
  • The Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy advances the output of the Joint Economic Committee Group established by Prime Minister Thompson in response to the economic crisis.
  • The Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy advances the output of the Council of Economic Advisors.
  • To create and devise a strategy for the implementation of the 40% procurement policy to Small Business as a Manifesto pledge.  This strategy was approved by the Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy and Approved by the Cabinet and is now with the Solicitor General’s office for final adjustment.
  • To take responsibility for the Barbados Port Inc’s Cruise Ship Project.  The project is at the stage of RFPs.
  • The Cabinet Committee on Economic policy created and piloted through Cabinet the NIS Jobs stabilization strategy.
  • The Cabinet Committee on Economic policy created and piloted through Cabinet the extensions to the unemployment benefit strategy.
  • The Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy created and piloted through Cabinet the Job Retraining Strategy.
  • The Budget of 2009 required me to create a State Trading Enterprise, the final draft is completed.
  • To develop an integrated cotton industry. The Ministry of Economic Affairs piloted through the Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy and to the Cabinet an agreement to enter a joint venture with producers and marketers of Barbados’ Sea Island Cotton.
  • Let me also note that the Cabinet Committee on Economic Policy has approved more than 150 economic papers since December 2009.  For edification purposes: let me inform you that any policies that have impact on the productive sectors of the economy are referred to the Cabinet Committee on economic policy.

The above record is proof of the output from the Ministry of Economic Affairs and I want to take this opportunity to thank the Permanent Secretaries in Trade and Economic Affairs and all the staff of the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Empowerment, Innovation, Trade, Industry and Commerce for their hard work and their commitment to working with me.

Four weeks ago, as Minister of the Ministry of Economic Affairs I presented a paper to cabinet to make adjustments to the medium term fiscal strategy in light of the prolonged recession in Europe and the slow growth in the United States.  The thrust of the Cabinet paper was to high-light that the strategy of expenditure cuts and revenue gains through increased efficiency, would not be enough to have the Medium Term Fiscal Strategy (MTFS) achieve its macroeconomic targets and that further cuts in the Current Account Expenditure in the areas of goods and services would be counter productive.

Barbados has a very heavy debt burden. We now pay $981 million BDS per year from a-revenue of $2.4 billion BDS. This is the key to the continued underdevelopment of the country. I suggested that we introduce a debt restructuring program to take advantage of the very low international interest rates being offered on Country to Country loans and Private Sector Loans. The proposal from Economic Affairs highlighted that we could realize a savings of $541 million dollars per year for 25 years if my recommendation is followed by interest rate savings as well as principle savings.  This Strategy would achieve the targets in the MTFS by 2012 and show a healthy surplus on the fiscal balance by 2014 and reduce the Debt/GDP ratio to 66% of GDP by 2014.

I would like to wish my colleague Minister Sinckler, all that is good, and that he in his new capacity of Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs, adopt the measures which I have presented to cabinet…for these measures I am sure would restore Barbados’ economic balance and reestablish Barbados’ international investment grade to A instead of a negative outlook.

My constituents have sent me to parliament to look after their interests, especially, and I take this opportunity to restate my commitment to St. Phillip West and to all Barbadians.

105 responses to “Will David Estwick FINALLY Emerge?”

1. DavidB:

Are you suggesting that only one PM is entitled to 100% of his salary as pension?

If Owen former PM regulated that he as PM received 100% salary as pension then every worker in Barbados should vote DLP simply because minimum wage was $5.00 per hour from time immemoriam and the well endowed BLP did not even make mention of increasing it.

Are you one who benefits from the BLP administration so lavishly that you just do not care about the low-income earner?

Would Freundel be only seeking to get a full salary for pension and not pointing out a despicable wrong for the taxpayers who don’t and won’t get a full salary for pension to be paying ONE former PM that when he reaches pensionable age?

David of BU is seeking balance here in this forum and yuh all often knock ac, Carson and Onions about their bias and convictions … but DavidB you are the splitting image of ‘do wah ever yuh Owen dat is alright wid we.’ Did you pen that song? Yuh sure singing it over and over and over.

2. Owen Arthur is the best Prime Minister Barbados ever had
    Name somebody better than Owen Arthur –Name them
    Sandy ?
    Bree ?
    Freundel ?

Errol Barrow was the greatest; Owen is the Best

3. Just Asking

We all respect your views.

You are very fond of the Best and we respect your views.

I would just ask Mia Mottley if she thinks that Owen is the ‘best’ PM Barbados ever had. I would Just Ask ing a gentle way as well if:

Cynthia Forde
    Rawle Eastmond
    Ronald Toppin

and their following if they name Owen as the ‘best’ PM Barbados ever had.

Yuh know what Al Barrack should have a say on this as well and even Julie Arthur and former Mrs. Arthur …

Come on!!! have your convictions but don’t try to convict (incarcerate) others because you are unable to convince the masses about your unwavering belief in Owen.

Who replaces the best with uncertainty?

‘Only a fool breaks his own heart’ that’s a line of a song.

Tell Arthur to state now what the current measures put in place by DLP have done for the country? Trinidad would not be heavily investing in Barbados if they did not see long term profitability. Had they seen short term collapse they would not stay.

Do you want to hear after Elections should the BLP win that the same Arthur gets up and say the increase VAT and other measures strengthened our dollar and set us on the path to progress in these tough economic times?

Tell him (Owen) and yourself to say it now and let the intelligent bajan electorate decide. ‘Cause even if you don’t the electorate gine decide.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brief | October 15, 2012 at 10:13 PM |
    “Tell Arthur to state now what the current measures put in place by DLP have done for the country? Trinidad would not be heavily investing in Barbados if they did not see long term profitability. Had they seen short term collapse they would not stay.”

But Brief why are you so dishonest? Are you the same person along with ac, CCC and others who vehemently accuse the BLP and OSA of selling out Barbados to foreigners especially Trinidadians?

Why all of a sudden this volte-face support for selling businesses to Trinidadians?
    Would you be supporting any further divestment of national assets to Trinidadians in the upcoming auction round of ‘distressed’ sales?

You should consult with ac before responding.

5. vincent u have a computer google. enviromental issues are one of the drivers of economies world wide issues helping to shape and redefine .across north america business have already adapted .the market for organic foods and related products is exploding leaving behind the days of bad habits and unhealthy lifestyle. unfortunately with such a wide and open market and the potential for growth barbadians insist on keeping old over new…

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply