Submitted by Phoenix
Donville Inniss      (DLP) Sandra Husbands (BLP)

David fights against the giant. Dressed in his simple tunic, carrying his shepherd’s staff, slingshot and a pouch full of stones, David approached Goliath. The giant cursed at him, hurling threats and insults.” Am I a dog that you send this kid to challenge me? “

We all know how the Biblical epic goes. David takes up the challenge and slays big able Goliath with a first time slung stone. Sounds very current and maybe soon familiar as first timer Sandra Husbands etches away into Donville Inniss, a second timer’s territory daily. St.James South constituency was the stomping ground for BLP Liz Thompson before the last elections when Donville dethroned the incumbent by a meagre 311 votes.

Donville Inniss has now had more than four years to rearrange the furniture to suit his end, but how well has he managed to do so is debatable? Husbands has managed to infiltrate, the Don’s accustomed largess and pittance with down to earth solutions for her constituents’ concerns and neighborhood needs. The Don has been using governmental debushing and cleanup resources to the max. Husbands with limited resources, has organized many fund raisers and re-started  The West Terrace community neighborhood watch. She was also instrumental in their crime prevention thrust.

Already with things heating up, both politician are squaring up like two Haitian Prize fighter birds. Who shall win this now evenly see-sawed battle, the Joan of Arc with a potential 6% polled swing behind her, or The Don holding on to new found territory with more than enough financial resources ‘en breach’?

This one for sure, is one to watch, and may be full of surprises. Should the Don’s garrison fall, so will Sinckler’s, Sealy’s and the prize scalp, Stuart’s. Pundits are already placing much attention to this seat . The marginal seat with mega bucks verses a snowballing swing.  St.James South will  surely be the watershed and litmus, make no bones about it. A lot is riding on this seat.

1. Huckleberry Bajan Avatar
    Huckleberry Bajan

I can report that the DLP joint St. James branch meeting at Queens College has had a turn out which is not only very impressive but might be cause for concern for the BLP. The crowd is massive and is growing by the minute and police have been dispatched to direct the thongs of traffic at the junction where Queens College is located.

The hall at the School is full with approximately 1,000 people and there is standing room only outside for and with another 500 people. The car park has been completely full since 5.30 this afternnon and cars are parked pass Husbands and down towards Holders Hill

2. @ True

Donville has to answer if a special road was built so that he could bemefit …

What a pity. This cannot be hidden and it is indefensible. Donville is a bit of an ass, but his nest has always been well feathered. If there is one ex-public servent that knows how to use the public service connections to his advantage it is Donville. Truth be told the DLP had to beg him to win a seat for them. He has been in the party for a very long time but frankly he really don’ give a f#ck …! That new road thing only prove my point …!

3. We voting For Donville Avatar
    We voting For Donville

There is no special road, sir. Donville is a resident in St. James south. If roads in the neighbourhoods are done, it is obvious that the residents if one of them is the MP like other residents will drive on it.
    That is non issue.

4. We voting For Donville Avatar
    We voting For Donville

Quote from DLP joint meeting of St. James branches:
    “Owen Arthur said that Sandra Husbands has the personality of a cardboard”.

5. We voting For Donville Avatar
    We voting For Donville

Freundel Stuart has a way with words – Kerry Symmonds described as a “political slug”.

6. We voting For Donville

You flipping idiot. There are scores of roads in the constituency, and a couple of blind corners as well; roads in need of repair, areas where sidewalks could be placed and the ONE road that is repaired leads to Donville and Junior Alsopp’s homes … Even Maxene who just live ’round the corner din’ get a repave …

7. I have supported the BLP over the years but this time around I will be voting for Donville Inniss in my area unless Freundel really messes up.

I have seen a level of freshness and creativity brought to St James politics since Inniss arrival. I am aware of Sandra’s ever presence in the area – but I also realize that she seems to be unemployed and therefore has lots of time on her hand.

I am not sure what Sandra has attempted to do since running from St George and St James North seats (where she was not welcomed). But I have seen new play parks, drainage improvement, roads resurfaced, signs erected, new housing starts, 200+ Haynesville residents stop paying rent, my kids can get to school easily, Wanstead Park now used for family activities, Haynesville concert (now an annual event), vacant lots cleaned up, plus alll the work done at the national level.

What annoyed me the most though, is when Sandra and her supporters could say that Inniss is very rich and does not need the seat so vote for her. I find this insulting. Is she in it just for the money? I am happy to have someone who is independently wealthy and willing to serve their country. Such souls cannot be bought.

I am satisfied that Inniss is deserving of my vote. SH may mean well, but entering politics at the age of 55 and up against a performer like Inniss who is 45, I rather go with the younger, more energetic one.

8. @ Proud Bajan
    Like your predecessor,the ‘visitor from far far East” -Voting for Donville”, your bias and leaning sentiments place both of you squarely in the category of ‘singing for your supper’ and not to be taken as the gospel truth.

We all remember the Wickham episode few weeks ago. If professionals would falter, then why won’t biased monikers.We all know Sandra is a proven worker, her affiliation with SBA out shine your accusations. Last night’s launching ( with the car park filled with vehicles from as far as St.Lucy and st.Philip) along with your surreptitious contribution, is all good as it does confirm the importance of this seat to the DLP’s future.

9. Proud Bajan … understood, allot though NOT by his hand. But why the f#ck did he have to spoil all that with such an obvious abuse of responsibility …?

10. @BAFBFP

If true Inniss carries some blame with the buck stopping at Boyce.

11. David,

Which one .. John are Darcy. If ever there was a Minister that could wag the dog it is Donville. I hear the talk about the popularity of Stinkler and I have taken a shine to the pit bull, but it is going to become increasingly obvious that what ever Donville wants he will/has get/gotten.

12. We voting For Donville Avatar
    We voting For Donville

@BAFBFP
    West Terrace was repaved and the thousands of residents there are quite happy for that. You can go in any constituency and say this should be done and that should be done but the BLP supporter who lives opposite Donville and calls the call in programmes regularly is not complaining.
    That is a non issue. The road is there for all to use including you.

13. We voting For Donville

As far as I can remember opposite Donville is bush land.

There is another pertinent complaint about Donville coming from a guy who set up a drinks stall at one of his community fairs that were held on Saturdays in the NCF’s car park. The guy had a drinks stall and had to spend his time witnessing Donville giving away drinks for free only a few feet away. This is a small issue that exposes a far bigger undercurrent. These guys jus’ don’ give a f#ck. In the case of Sandra, she will be answerable to Owen the supreme dictator who also does NOT give a f#ck. You see the problem …?

14. @BAFBFP

Remember Vic Johnson? Nothing new here.

15. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

wha it is that Donville do in haynesville agian?????

16. Realists from Haynsville Avatar
    Realists from Haynsville

We the people of St. James South are deserving of better representation. The first time I saw Donille since elections is last Saturday when he was out canvassing. Mrs Husbands on the other hand has been very visible and seems genuine in her quest to represent the constituency. Me and my family will be backing Mrs Husbands one million % .

17. Well Dun Sandra…well Dun……D posters dat pull down….if I did you…I won’t put them back up….PEOPLE DOAN VOTE FOR POSTER……not when Entertainment Travell and Brand name drugs ..pulling moe weight.

LEFF DAH RIGHT.. DEYYYYY !!!

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply