Adrian Loveridge – Owner Peach & Quiet

In many respects YouTube is a wonderful thing and used responsibly can be a great educational device and a powerful marketing tool. I recently watched a video entitled Domino’s Pizza Turnaround’the true story of how Domino listened to its harshest critics and made their best pizza ever. At the time of writing this column, almost another million people had watched it and while the product isn’t directly related to our tourism offerings, it’s difficult not to draw parallels. Perhaps now is finally the time to sit down and better listen to our customers, our visitors, and ask them what we are doing right and conversely, what we are doing wrong.

From a very early working age, I was incredibly lucky to work with some visionary, inspirational and subsequently highly successful people. One thing, that never left the forefront of my mind is that if you expect to sell any commodity, product or service effectively, is that you had better know everything about. And could that be why, perhaps, we are not witnessing an increase in the number of visitors to our shores, when many other destinations are.

Years ago, when I participated in a number of overseas sales and promotional events, both consumer and trade travel to support the BTA’s efforts, I felt that I had an overwhelming obligation, obviously not just to know about our own little property, but as many other hotels, attractions and restaurants as well. I cannot think or more than four or five hotels on Barbados that I have not either personally visited and in several cases actually stayed in.  Similarly, experiencing our many dining options and activities. Yet, if you look closely at our tourism policymakers, the agencies they represent, including the hundreds of staff at the Barbados Tourism Authority and Ministry of Tourism, how many can say the same.

Start with the board of the BTA for instance.

How can you possibly make informed decisions and define strategies, when you do not have an intimate knowledge of the product, warts and all. It is not a criticism, but a simple basic common sense observation. Recalling some of the larger travel shows, often on your feet, for hours at a time, of course, a huge spectrum of society is going to approach you, but at least you knew whatever the question, that you were capable of offering an informed answer. Matching the right product with the client’s need is absolutely critical, if you want people to return. In an evermore competitive world, ‘winging it’ is no longer an acceptable way of doing business. And if you are not thoroughly au fait with your own product, how can you compare it with the strengths and weaknesses of your competitors?

Has the time finally come, to put all the politics aside and place the very best qualified people in place with proven ability, irrespective of any party allegiance, to the benefit of the entire country and its population. It would appear that so very much depends on ‘us’ having a profitable winter season ahead. In the national interest can ‘we’ continue to, or afford to take further chances with this industry?

1. @ Fedup waaaaaait. nuhbody en tell you?

4seasons done buil …….in Toronto. google it eff yuh doan believe uh den.

Penhouse sellin fuh $28mill CAD.

Babadus 4 Seasons ent billin nuh time soon.

2. @fedup
    Agreed! Couldn’t believe it when i read it.

@miler
    we’ll see.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | October 8, 2012 at 7:46 PM |
    “So dig up the factin Golf courses and start plantin food. (metaphorically speakin)”

Plant food what. Macaroni pie, chips and corn curls don’t grow in Bim. Besides, lashley planting stone and wood to reap $70 million in reward to be laundered overseas.
    Ask farmer Jada if you doubt it!

4. @millertheanunnaki,

So when the Government change can we expect Food Security to be Job 1?
    Check wid Owen an leh we kno nuh!

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | October 8, 2012 at 8:12 PM

Read my lips, Hants:
    When the government changes the IMF will be ready to control the fate of this small island that once punched above its weight. From junk bond status to economic jail for living above our means is what is in store for us.

6. Wait miller they say youre a doctor like you place yourself on medication.
    Arthur and his pimps up and down the country serenading us with pie in the sky lullabyes on how he will get economy growing making decisions fruendel wont make etc now you telling us we goin wid owen to the IMF.
    Look miller go up in Oistins sit down drink a rum with the BLP vendors you hand pick for the stalls yuh.

7. All this DOOM and gloom been hearing this since 2008 . sounds like it has become a religionof sorts same as christianty mantra “jesus is coming soon “.”

8. @ ac

Just plant some food. I am a DLP supporter too but the fact is that the Barbados economy is in deep doo doo and not even the “friends” like Canada lending a helping hand.

Check out what it cost to build the New Four Seasons in Toronto.

The Canadians just like Emera want instant profits for limited Investment.

9. David

I want to voice (?) an official complaint about this forum of which I have been a part for many years, being usurped by partisan mouth pieces to the detriment of the rest. It has become such that I simply look at the handle of the contributor and scroll down to the next irrespective of the merit of the contribution. It has become tedious. I might seriously have to consider begging to be let back into the BFP forum if there is no attempt at managing this campaign. The same thing is taking place on the call in programs and I find it a hell of a lot easier now not to listen to them at all …. 🙂

10. @BFP

It is the silly season. This too shall pass.

11. @BAFBFP

Start a post nuh. I will gladly contribute.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Anon | October 8, 2012 at 8:33 PM |

Time will tell my friend, time will tell.
    Ask David Bu if the miller has been wrong so far about things to come.
    The same way individuals end up in the bailiffs’ hands or go bankrupt for living above their means, unemployed and still living big on credit and won’t pay their bills countries find themselves in the same predicament.
    It’s just a matter of months before the forex runs out. Same time frame Freundel says the elections would be called in.

Instead of giving the miller medical advice you ought to be asking Sinckliar why he has to try to borrow a measly US $33 million to tide the country over the Xmas holiday.
    It’s like a gambler or druggie begging to borrow $10.00 to feed a habit and promising to pay back when he gets money.

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply