Recruiting The Best People To Oversee Our Number One Industry

Adrian Loveridge – Owner Peach & Quiet

In many respects YouTube is a wonderful thing and used responsibly can be a great educational device and a powerful marketing tool. I recently watched a video entitled Domino’s Pizza Turnaround’the true story of how Domino listened to its harshest critics and made their best pizza ever. At the time of writing this column, almost another million people had watched it and while the product isn’t directly related to our tourism offerings, it’s difficult not to draw parallels. Perhaps now is finally the time to sit down and better listen to our customers, our visitors, and ask them what we are doing right and conversely, what we are doing wrong.

From a very early working age, I was incredibly lucky to work with some visionary, inspirational and subsequently highly successful people. One thing, that never left the forefront of my mind is that if you expect to sell any commodity, product or service effectively, is that you had better know everything about. And could that be why, perhaps, we are not witnessing an increase in the number of visitors to our shores, when many other destinations are.

Years ago, when I participated in a number of overseas sales and promotional events, both consumer and trade travel to support the BTA’s efforts, I felt that I had an overwhelming obligation, obviously not just to know about our own little property, but as many other hotels, attractions and restaurants as well. I cannot think or more than four or five hotels on Barbados that I have not either personally visited and in several cases actually stayed in.  Similarly, experiencing our many dining options and activities. Yet, if you look closely at our tourism policymakers, the agencies they represent, including the hundreds of staff at the Barbados Tourism Authority and Ministry of Tourism, how many can say the same.

Start with the board of the BTA for instance.

How can you possibly make informed decisions and define strategies, when you do not have an intimate knowledge of the product, warts and all. It is not a criticism, but a simple basic common sense observation. Recalling some of the larger travel shows, often on your feet, for hours at a time, of course, a huge spectrum of society is going to approach you, but at least you knew whatever the question, that you were capable of offering an informed answer. Matching the right product with the client’s need is absolutely critical, if you want people to return. In an evermore competitive world, ‘winging it’ is no longer an acceptable way of doing business. And if you are not thoroughly au fait with your own product, how can you compare it with the strengths and weaknesses of your competitors?

Has the time finally come, to put all the politics aside and place the very best qualified people in place with proven ability, irrespective of any party allegiance, to the benefit of the entire country and its population. It would appear that so very much depends on ‘us’ having a profitable winter season ahead. In the national interest can ‘we’ continue to, or afford to take further chances with this industry?

0 thoughts on “Recruiting The Best People To Oversee Our Number One Industry

1. Mr. Loveridge

What you have written is true for tourism but it is equally true for all other areas in Barbados, particularly so in the governance of this country. Seats on statutory boards for the most part go to the party faithful as rewards for service to the party. Of late the distribution of seats change not only when the party in power changes but also when the minister changes. In a process not to dissimilar from eating your own young, ministers get rid of board members when portfolios change.

It will not get any better unless matured people offer themselves and are elected to Parliament. We have been seeing some people emerging to lead this country who do not have the skills to run a lemonade stand, but they in turn determine the composition of the statutory boards.

Mind you very few private sector entities seem to get it right either. Lots of these businesses select their idiot relatives to be managers and supervisors, more so among white owned businesses.

2. Perhaps now is finally the time to sit down and better listen to our customers, our visitors, and ask them what we are doing right and conversely, what we are doing wrong.

nothing should be overlooked in the strategizing and marketing of our tourism industry . everything absolutely everything inclusive for too long the industry has continued and still continues too sit on its laurels and depend on one or two components to drive our tourism industry the world has become a much smaller place due to technological advances and there is no excuse for the tourism industry not being able to reach millions of people on a daily basis worldwide. but it requires smart and innovative people to able to do so. i can think of many ways of reaching and attracting people to barbados without having to rely on one or two markets and its people s availability.,

3. @ David | October 8, 2012 at 6:09 AM |

Urban Cumberbatch a former VP in the BTA is acting in that post. It will not be filled until after the elections, one way or the other.

4. @ ac | October 8, 2012 at 5:39 AM |
    “.. i can think of many ways of reaching and attracting people to barbados without having to rely on one or two markets and its people s availability.,”

Can you, ac? Well since you are so brilliant as manifested by the many erudite and informed contributions to this blog how come you have not approached your party’s hierarchy and asked them to put you on the BTA Board to make your scintillating ideas come to fruition to save the industry?
    You could also do the industry a favour and insist on your party that the DeFreitas man from the Boat Yard who is full of knowledge, experience and new ideas be appointed to the BTA Board.

Or are you just a pipsqueak yardfowl just capable of cackling on BU?
    Prove us wrong and come up with at least one strategy to attract more people to Bim.

Hints:
    Start with the cleaning up of the blasted rundown place where garbage is everywhere and the streets and alleys full of piss and the air polluted with toxic fumes from the vehicles driven by unruly and surly road assassins including the government Transport Board buses.
    Why not tell them at the BTA to insist that the Oistins Bay Gardens have at least another set of working toilets given the hundreds of people from overseas and locally who attend that place on Friday evenings.

5. Miller i am warning you to cease and desist baiting me you are an antagonist and have the potential of becoming an arsonist always quick to start fires and standing by and watching everything burn to the ground .sounds familiar

6. @ David | October 8, 2012 at 7:23 AM |

You have already seen one in the form of Leroy McClean at the BIDC with his watertight lucrative contract. You could possibly see a few others possibly at the BTA and Invest Barbados. Bu these would be rather short-term since these are entities up for serious restructuring or disbanding under an IMF suggested reorganization plan for the Bajan economy if we are to get balance of payments support to stabalise our fiscal and monetary systems.

But given the turmoil among the ministers and the glaring divide between the PM and his Cabinet do you really expect such appointments to take place within the next few weeks on the eve of general elections which should be called before the 12th February 2013 the date the current parliament must be dissolved if we are to avoid a constitutional challenge with the Estimates and the Appropriation Bill for the financial year April 01, 2013 to March 31, 2014.

Sections 108 & 109 of the Barbados Constitution reads as follows:
    108. (1) The Minister responsible for Finance shall, before the
    end of each financial year, cause to be prepared annual estimates of
    revenue and expenditure for public services during the succeeding
    financial year, which shall be laid before the House of Assembly.

109. (1) The Minister responsible for Finance shall, in respect of
    each financial year, at the earliest convenient moment before the
    commencement of that financial year, introduce in the House of
    Assembly an Appropriation Bill containing, under appropriate heads
    for the several services required, the estimated aggregate sums which
    are proposed to be expended (otherwise than by way of statutory
    expenditure) during that financial year.

For the purposes of this section and section 108
    (a) “financial year” means any period of twelve months beginning
    on 1st April in any year or such other date as Parliament may
    prescribe;

The miller is giving this advice to the PM and MoF gratis as a token of appreciation for the free secondary education received in this country.
    You should also notice that OSA is a keen reader of the miller’s contribution and has incorporated a few of the miller’s kernel of ideas and wisdom in his public pronouncements. That’s what you call blowing your own trumpet or in the field of milling grinding your own corn. (LOL!!!)

7. @ ac | October 8, 2012 at 7:58 AM |

We want to hear ideas, ideas and proposals, ac, out of you not idle stupid threats.
    Great minds discuss ideas. You want to join that elite group or prefer to wallow in gutter-sniping politics while the country is heading right to the IMF doorstep with begging bowl in hand like a repeat of 1991/92.

8. miller now youi have gone from the sublime to the ridiculous. just for the record over the period of time i have been on BU i have given many ideas pertaining to this topic unlike you who is filled with selfgrandising and the potency to toot your own i have also avail my thoughts and ideas to the various ministries and by using my leader as my role model i choose not to be boastful and pompous you know you are begging for a good as… whopping this morning to which i would galdly obliged

9. @Miller

We really need to stop this nonsense of appointing party faithfuls to key positions. What can we do to improve? Yes there is an understanding that there is a place for appointing people where comfort level exist but…

10. @ ac | October 8, 2012 at 9:43 AM |
    “…. i have also avail my thoughts and ideas to the various ministries and by using my leader as my role model… ”

Seems that they are either NOT listening to you or your ideas ain’t worth what Paddy shot at (jack shit) in their eyes. If Fumble doesn’t even want his right hand to know what his left is doing, do you really feel he would be interested in listening to an old fart like you? The tourism product is the worst it has ever been and you can’t dispute that.
    Birds like ac always flock together hence the poor shape of tourism in Bim and the quality of leadership we are saddled with for the time being.

11. David

I do not mind if party faithfuls are appointed to jobs but on condition that they competent, capable and qualified to do the job, and their contracts should terminate automatically on Election Day. If their party retains the Government, they can be re-appointed.

12. @Green Monkey

The BU family is aware of your submissions over the years, how do you propose a small island sovereign given our economic fundamentals should adjust.

13. @ Caswell Franklyn | October 8, 2012 at 11:00 AM |

I support that position. Only contracts for senior jobs.
    What is also required is a serious privatization & divestment programme to limit the power of politicians to manage the largesse pig trough at the statutory corporations and other State involved agencies.

• Miller

Re your comment at 11:08. You should listen to Bushie, he is talking sense again. Privatization in the Barbadian context has only been used to bail Government when they so mismanage the country that they have to sell off the country’s assets to get foreign exchange, rather than control the demand. Just go through the supermarkets and see the unnecessary items that we import to maintain a delusional lifestyle, just to mention two: canned coconut water from Indonesia, and grated coconut.

Mr. Loveridge (11:18)

Don’t require the impossible. Competent leadership at statutory boards? That is heading the way of the dodo.

14. Mr. Franklyn,

What percentage of those currently on the job would you deem ‘competent, capable and qualified’?
    I am looking at tourism and struggling to identify those with all these three qualities.

15. wunna go two/ worst and worsted.lol
    it don’t matter one bit who get is as government it will always be the same .
    money in dem pocket ,money out of yours .
    no difference at all.same corruption ,same shit different pile of.
    until a white prime minister is in place it will always be African trickery and corruption.let me see where would find such examples .
    oh how about African countries.huh
    really hard to see.know of any countries run by Africans that are not corrupt to the bone? let me know when you find one……you meking me laugh and fall down pun the floor.

16. Miller you are on a roll to discredit ac while at the same time making yourself look like a FOOL! You need to CHILL.a piece of advice ,

17. @ Miller

“I support that position. Only contracts for senior jobs.
    What is also required is a serious privatization & divestment programme to limit the power of politicians to manage the largesse pig trough at the statutory corporations and other State involved agencies.”
    You sound just like Owen….. Admitting your incompetence to effectively manage the various aspects of the public’s portfolio, so your solution is to hand it over to the private sector which is motivated by graft and profit and is equally incompetent to manage efficiently.

How about finding someone who CAN manage effectively and hiring/ electing/ appointing/ co-opting/ them to do the job?

How about ADMITING your incompetence and standing aside if you are incapable of doing the job?

The requirement is for someone who can successfully manage Barbados so as to maximize the potentialities of ALL Barbadians,….not to neglect us to the Blocks, frustrate us with failed policies and then sell out and to outsiders.

What is required is a divestment of the incompetent and visionless jokers posing as leaders and politicians bout here.

18. But the funny thing is that the hypocrisy of the millers/and those who call for PRIVATising is fully exposed as on the other hand they are crtical of the high profits and excessive fees these entities make. leaving one to wonder what is the TRUTH behind all this so-called privitisation the RT HON and miller the auctioneer is talkingabout

19. @Bush Tea | October 8, 2012 at 12:31 PM |
    “How about finding someone who CAN manage effectively and hiring/ electing/ appointing/ co-opting/ them to do the job?

Like whom? Leroy McClean at BIDC? Rice at the BTA? Arni Walters at the BWA? Derek Alleyne at the UDC and Outrum at RDC?
    You want us to go on?

“How about ADMITING your incompetence and standing aside if you are incapable of doing the job?”

Can we really say that your advice has been dismissed by the DLP during the last 4yers and 10 months? Sounds like good warning advice to give to the DLP for the last time before the bell of dismissal is rung.

We are willing to bet you are not bushman enough to send that advice to the PM and tell him to stop encouraging Bajans in foolishness. Tell him to withdraw the application to the IADB to borrow money in order to finance their ostentatious lifestyle based on imported luxury goods and services. Tell him to cut imports by $70 million and he would save this country from further debt and ending up in the loan shark hands.

20. Anyone konw what is happening with Almond Beach Village? Surely the bids would have been examined and a decision taken by now. Or is it just another N&M deal done behind the backs of the shareholders?

21. Harry you does talk some shoite nuh. Dat video wid you pon it yuh cahn even talk basic English. I could see that you went to school at the stan pipe in St. John. And yuh doan look too white too. Yuh look like a grizzly bear tek yuh half black Backside back to Canada, Vancouver to be exact. Yuh shudda stay home and run fuh PM yuh ole mongoose. BUT yuh sound real hurt bout what yuh come and find bout hey doh. I cud agree wid yuh pon a few points BUT yuh so bitter and racist dat I ent got nuh sympathy fuh yuh. Actually I do have some sympathy fuh yuh yuh grisly bear.

22. Miller, it is not a Bushman’s place to “send advice to the PM”….that is much more in line for an Annunaki don’t you think…?
    You sen um!…but PLEASE drop the privatization nonsense…

As to competent managers, there are quite a few about.
    One characteristic of such persons is that they are NOT ‘hand to mouth’ people, so you will hardly see them out and about begging mendicant parasites for votes…..
    You will also know them by their fruit…. Success in the various areas that they would have managed over the years. A MIDAS touch of sorts.

Obviously our current political system is designed to marginalize such persons from politics and to attract the dregs and beggars that we now have. IT IS A SYSTEM PROBLEM.

CASWELL is needed in framing a proper solution. COME FORWARD with the BUP Caswell….and stop playing the donkey.

23. Adrian Loveridge wrote “How can you possibly make informed decisions and define strategies, when you do not have an intimate knowledge of the product, warts and all.”

How many Hotel owners in Barbados have invited some of ” the hundreds of staff at the Barbados Tourism Authority and Ministry of Tourism” to their hotels for a weekend to have an ” intimate knowledge of the product,”.

Or you want Government to pay for “on site training of staff”?

24. Hants,

Why on earth would I invite them?

Thats THEIR job and they are paid to do it to the best of their ability. How many BTA or MOT staff do you think we have turned away, let alone the various Ministers of Tourism and PS’s.
    Learn and teach by example.

25. @ ac | October 8, 2012 at 12:03 PM |
    “Miller you are on a roll to discredit ac while at the same time making yourself look like a FOOL! You need to CHILL.a piece of advice ,”

You have already discredited yourself. Just read with a clear mind the crap you post here for intellectual discourse on political matters; if that is possible for you to think with a clear mind unless you are discussing the rights of homosexuals or fighting the religious rightwing fanatics which I back you on.

It is you who have to chill and get the OSA monkey off your back (sorry, from your craw). Once you have done that and have taken a quantum leap into the present and looking forward to the future you and I might just see eye-to-eye and agree to disagree.
    As long as you walk around with that OSA burden of the past I will be unto to you always trying to get your knickers from being in a twist ready to prepare your cat for my political middle foot.

Stay tune to the miller’s transmission as long as you are haunted by the ghost of OSA and can’t get over the past. There is a helpline called the ‘OSA Recovery’ which provides counseling to those DLPites who are afflicted with ‘Arthuritis’. Mia herself has decided for the sake of the country’s future to put publicly aside for the time being her differences with OSA.

A word to the wise is sufficient. Ac, are you listening? Neither Fumble Stuart nor Sinckliar can handle what is before them. It requires people of superior intellect and

26. come up here island girl and let me grind ya up in a pig processor
    i feel you would make a tasty sausage.
    come on negro.
    and your language is better .wait you out he cuntry?

27. @ millertheanunnaki | October 8, 2012 at 4:04 PM |

For your eyes only, ac:
    “It requires people of superior intellect and competence to face up to the challenges and constant denial and lies will not help us.”

28. Adrian Loveridge wrote “Thats THEIR job and they are paid to do it to the best of their ability.”

Its YOUR Hotels so if you Market and run them to the best of your abilities you should be successful because that is what you are “paid” to do.

Keep lobbying government to fire the incompetent staff at the BTA and MOT and hope for success.

Still wonder why Butch Stewart markets his hotels. He could just rely on the JTA and JMOT.

What’s that old Bajan saying? “The Lord helps those who helps themselves.”
    and D C Thomas “God bless the child that’s got it’s own”.

The Government might change soon Adrian so things might improve wid Owen an Barney.

29. @ Caswell Franklyn | October 8, 2012 at 6:15 PM |
    “we import to maintain a delusional lifestyle, just to mention two: canned coconut water from Indonesia, and grated coconut.”

I saw the same thing along with others and was shocked with outrage that this country imports such nonsense.
    My criticism of Bushie is directed with his constant carping about OSA and the BLP 14 years of so-called mismanagement and selling out of Barbados. But yet we have a DLP administration which promised change and a new direction for the country’s development but yet he Bushie fails to openly and honestly criticize the DLP for perpetuating the same nonsense.

He is a coward and politically dishonest. Instead of telling it like it is and haul the Stuart administration over the coals for putting the country into further debt by borrowing money to support such crap as importing coconut water from all the way as far as Indonesia.
    I am sure Stuart would more listen to the Bushman to stop the nonsense that any BLP leaning yardfowl feeding on corn milled by the weirdo anunnaki.

• Miller

If you believed the DLP’s promises about change and a new direction for the country’s development, you would only have had one oar in the water to paddle. The DEMS are on record as saying that a manifesto is not a social contract with the country so as a result they could put anything in one. It is up to the country to be fooled again and again. Fool me once shame on you: fool me twice shame on me. The DEMS therefore have no reason to be ashamed if the country allows itself to be deceived a third time with unrealistic manifesto promises.

30. @Caswell and Miller, canned coconut water from Indonesia check the label (coconut water and sugar). is sold in Canada mostly to “Canadians” Now the Brazilians have hit the market in Toronto with O.N.E coconut water in tetra paks.(tried it, don’t like it)

West Indians buy pure coconut water from Jamaica sold in West Indian restaurants and Grocery stores in Toronto and at $3.50 per 500ml.

I am surprised Bajans having started importing Sugar Cane from Costa Rica.

31. You have already discredited yourself. Just read with a clear mind the crap you post here for intellectual discourse on political matters;

ac @miller

Clear mind and clear conscienous thats is how it is done. For you a clear mind consist of greed and selfishness ., No body on this thread has agreed with your political point of view on Privitzatioin now it is time for you to throw fits and temper tantrums ,still tell us how PRIVITization going to help the poor when the bottom line is the dollar and govt has limited control of how they run or managed their company and most of them depends on govt subsidies . on this subject you are the LONE SOUL working to make the rich richer and the poor Poorer .

32. Caswell Franklyn | October 8, 2012 at 11:00 AM |

“I do not mind if party faithfuls are appointed to jobs but on condition that they competent, capable and qualified to do the job, and their contracts should terminate automatically on Election Day. If their party retains the Government, they can be re-appointed.”

And this number should include the Chief Justice, Chief of Police, The entire Bench, UWI Chancellor, heads of the BTA, BTI, Invest Barbados, BIDC, Central Bank and FTC and so on …!

33. Barbados does not have a Leader who can get those around him to support any drastic change in the way Bajans live.

The AmeriCanadianisation of Barbados is irreversible without a Dictatorship.

Both political parties will continue to acquiesce to the capitalists and merchants who continue to saturate Barbados with products that are not needed but wanted.

The Government might change but the people and their desire to consume like ” middle class Amurcans” will not.

34. Harry

My Klan friend … these people ’bout hey ignoring you and islandchick cussing you but I am agreeing with you except for the fact that you keep bringing colour into things … England has never had a Black PM but its government has exhibited corruption to a level that would make any African leader cringe. You see the problem is that most of it is not reported on. You only hear of these things when things get too out of hand to cover up like with the case of Tony Blah and the killing of a million Iraqis, or Callaghan and the devaluation of the Sterling by one third, or the involvement of the Bank of England in the world recession and so on …! Your video on crime in the Caribbean spoke to five instances of crime against tourists in the ENTIRE Caribbean. It later claimed that the overwhelming majority of instances of crime was against locals and NOT tourists so the video is very misleading ….

35. @ ac | October 8, 2012 at 6:59 PM |

We shall see.
    Do you want to bet that before 2013 expires a few of these State enterprises will be on the auction block? The IMF will be here by then since the forex will be almost completely exhausted

He who pays the piper calls the tune. And the Country is almost broke.

36. @caswell 11:00 am

fully agreed. It’s the incompetence and ignorance of that incompetence that is killing us.

@miller
    Is there a precedence for such a “water tight” contract such as now obtains at BIDC??

37. @ Observing(…) | October 8, 2012 at 7:24 PM |

Maybe there is.
    But what is possible is the total disestablishment of the post or even the organization and just pay severance under the law, if any.
    Caswell to advise to the contrary.

38. Have you all noticed how empty the supermarket shelves are looking today? I wonder if that will be the case when no more forex is available. Hmmmn just watching and gardening.

39. Here we go again imposter Avinesh Persaud in the news for the umpteenth time lecturing us what do this time on entrepenuership. Persaud we dont want to hear the crap we want to hear when 4 Seasons restarting. You collecting thirty thousand dollars a month of taxpayer money and delivering f**k all. Shut up on topics not connected to 4Seasons.
    You are the best snake oil salesman in Bados your nearest rival is A. Loveridge.
    Steups.

40. millertheanunnaki wrote”The IMF will be here by then since the forex will be almost completely exhausted.”

So dig up the factin Golf courses and start plantin food. (metaphorically speakin)

41. @ Fedup waaaaaait. nuhbody en tell you?

4seasons done buil …….in Toronto. google it eff yuh doan believe uh den.

Penhouse sellin fuh $28mill CAD.

Babadus 4 Seasons ent billin nuh time soon.

42. @ Hants | October 8, 2012 at 7:46 PM |
    “So dig up the factin Golf courses and start plantin food. (metaphorically speakin)”

Plant food what. Macaroni pie, chips and corn curls don’t grow in Bim. Besides, lashley planting stone and wood to reap $70 million in reward to be laundered overseas.
    Ask farmer Jada if you doubt it!

43. @millertheanunnaki,

So when the Government change can we expect Food Security to be Job 1?
    Check wid Owen an leh we kno nuh!

44. @ Hants | October 8, 2012 at 8:12 PM

Read my lips, Hants:
    When the government changes the IMF will be ready to control the fate of this small island that once punched above its weight. From junk bond status to economic jail for living above our means is what is in store for us.

45. Wait miller they say youre a doctor like you place yourself on medication.
    Arthur and his pimps up and down the country serenading us with pie in the sky lullabyes on how he will get economy growing making decisions fruendel wont make etc now you telling us we goin wid owen to the IMF.
    Look miller go up in Oistins sit down drink a rum with the BLP vendors you hand pick for the stalls yuh.

46. All this DOOM and gloom been hearing this since 2008 . sounds like it has become a religionof sorts same as christianty mantra “jesus is coming soon “.”

47. @ ac

Just plant some food. I am a DLP supporter too but the fact is that the Barbados economy is in deep doo doo and not even the “friends” like Canada lending a helping hand.

Check out what it cost to build the New Four Seasons in Toronto.

The Canadians just like Emera want instant profits for limited Investment.

48. David

I want to voice (?) an official complaint about this forum of which I have been a part for many years, being usurped by partisan mouth pieces to the detriment of the rest. It has become such that I simply look at the handle of the contributor and scroll down to the next irrespective of the merit of the contribution. It has become tedious. I might seriously have to consider begging to be let back into the BFP forum if there is no attempt at managing this campaign. The same thing is taking place on the call in programs and I find it a hell of a lot easier now not to listen to them at all …. 🙂

49. @ Anon | October 8, 2012 at 8:33 PM |

Time will tell my friend, time will tell.
    Ask David Bu if the miller has been wrong so far about things to come.
    The same way individuals end up in the bailiffs’ hands or go bankrupt for living above their means, unemployed and still living big on credit and won’t pay their bills countries find themselves in the same predicament.
    It’s just a matter of months before the forex runs out. Same time frame Freundel says the elections would be called in.

Instead of giving the miller medical advice you ought to be asking Sinckliar why he has to try to borrow a measly US $33 million to tide the country over the Xmas holiday.
    It’s like a gambler or druggie begging to borrow $10.00 to feed a habit and promising to pay back when he gets money.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.