Do we need a Political Ombudsman?

Election manifesto is a statement by a political party,explaining what it will do if they win the elections.Through election manifesto the voters come to know about the policies of the political party they are going to vote for.They can easily think that which party will prove the best for them,they can decide that with whose policies they want to go.therefore an election manifesto is very important – WIKI

Political parties the world over will make promises to an expectant electorate. Based on the ‘complexion’ of the political climate these promises are as outlandish as they come and bear no relationship to the reality of getting the promises implemented if the party is elected.

To be fair to political parties there is nothing wrong with using a manifesto to ‘promise’ what it will do if elected. What must be challenged is the need to establish a ‘check’ for John Citizenry to exact accountability. Why shouldn’t the electorate feel comfortable knowing that the UWI, Cave Hill, Fourth Estate and other entities in civil society have the credibility to challenge, clarify and demystify promises made by political parties on the campaign trail? Why should John Citizenry not have recourse in the law to recall ministers and members of parliament who they are perceived to have under-achieved?

More and more public opinion is being shaped by the partisans who make the loudest din. An example of this can be found on the daily talk shows and the newspapers, even the BU! In this environment where a large segment of the population are ‘Indians’ whose opinions can be shaped, it leads one to question what additional measures can be implemented to ensure our system of democracy remains ‘pure’.

In the 2008 general election the Thompson led Democratic Labour Party (DLP) promised Transparency Legislation in 100 days, it promised that Barbados Labour Party (BLP) operatives suspected of corruption would be held to account, it promised jobs, it promised to reduce cost of living … Another general election is on the horizon and the political parties are at it again. The BLP spokes-people are promising they have the policies to kick-start the economy. The DLP [government] is advocating that its policies are required to lead Barbados during this challenging economic period.

In the USA there is an agency which does ‘fact checking’ to keep politicians and others honest with their mouthings. Although a good initiative, what is required is for ordinary Barbadians to become more discerning and apply reasoning to what is being served up to them by opportunistic politicians. We need to stop politicians playing us for fools in 5-year cycles. Is it unreasonable for Barbadians to expect promises made by politicians to be realistic? The answer is yes but we need to be vigilant when they are not. To relinquish this responsibility because of party affiliation or disinterest makes it a dereliction of our civic duty.

Some suggest with the advent of social media and the spontaneity it brings to how information is shared, this maybe the catalyst for greater transparency in government.  We shall see.

http://www.blogdash.com/full_profile/?claim_code=56c7e8736cfd2cb7b6cfd8983c3d3c56

1. When Mr. Food Stamps or Dog food can vehemently declare…that the DLP last manifesto was but an exercise of promises and deception….why how much credence can be placed in another DLP document…..are we babies still cutting teeth or do we learn from our mistakes?

2. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Strictly from a tourism perspective, not single one of the eight manifesto stated objectives have been sucessfully implemented. Most of the failure to implement cannot be blamed on the recession.

3. Fourth estate? ya joking right?Ours is one where a phone call gets a news story pulled.We have one that permits for the enthusiasm brought to the table by a young journalist to be butchered all because they dared to ask the same question a second time,having not been satisfied with the initial answer.Our fourth estate tolerates probing only if it is done within the confines of the editor’s office.With or without consent.That my dear sir is a synopsis of the fourth estate in our Barbados Today.Dat’s why politicians laughing at we.

4. @Adrian

To add the BLP has been essaying that they will improve business facilitation to make Barbados more competitive. What happens now in the civil service did not start in the last 4 years. How will they do it. They need to tell us. We have allowed our politicians to promise the world and what?

5. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

My thoughts exactly. The Leader of the Opposition publicy stated that ‘we’ must re-position Barbados as a 5 star destination. What he failed to mention is how long will that take and how are you going to do it with an industry on its knees. We only have ONE 5 star hotel with 112 rooms.
    That will not keep planes in the air.
    When the word ‘crisis’ was mentioned by tourism leaders months ago, the politicians dismissed it as pessimistic rhetoric. They perhaps now realise it was the most accurate and descriptive word.
    It’s almost too late.

6. @Adrian

Didn’t Mia ‘promise’ the BLP would establish a 500 million fund?

The question is how.

7. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, What is the interest rate payable on the latest IDB loan to Government? What would it be on a further $500 million, and if the tourism industry partners cannot service current loans (43 per cent of non-performing loans in the tourism sector), how are they going to repay any new loans?
    Neither party is addressing the issues in tourism.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 7, 2012 at 11:16 AM |
    “What happens now in the civil service did not start in the last 4 years.”

Your implied critical assessment of the civil service does not square with the glowing review of excellence ascribed to it by the PM. He has nothing but high praise for this hallowed organization.
    Or should we take these commendations in the same the PM sang the praises of Leroy Parris?
    ‘A most estimable gentleman worthy of highest recognition as an outstanding performer that should be emulated and in charge of a well managed and very successful and expanding regional business with an ethos of strong ethics and high moral commitment to regional development.’

9. @Adrian

This is why we need to ask questions. How, how,how?

Not one ask from the venerable fourth estate yet?

10. @Miller

In the BU household we don’t get caught up in the hyperbole.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac the now dc (damned coward):

Since you are always calling OSA a big liar (and the miller also) can you explain why this DLP administration is reneging on its promise and stated commitment NOT to borrow money from overseas to shore up its balance of payments or foreign reserves?

This promise was given by both the Governor of the Central Bank and the MoF just recently as July after the Press conference on the economic and financial status of the country for the first 6 months of this year. Even in the face of the S&P downgrade to junk status both the Guv and the minister made it abundantly clear that the downgrade assessment was wrong and not indicative of the real performance of the economy. They both claim to be not unduly worried or perturbed since Barbados has no intentions of borrowing from overseas for any fiscal or financial support since devaluation was and will never be a threat under the DLP management. According to them, Barbados had more than adequate forex and there was no need to worry.

Tell us ac what has happened between then and now- in less than three months?

Ac if you do reply (which I doubt very much you can or will) please don’t blame OSA for what happened during the last 3 months. Everything was honky-dory in July, remember?

12. Sadly you will all find out the hard way that the world economic situation has changed and Barbados will continue to suffer regardless of who is in power.

The New Four Seasons Hotel and Private Residences Toronto just opened.
    Penthouse selling for $28 million cad.
    http://digitaljournal.com/article/334264

I doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

13. Owen already give the best advice ever by a Bajan politician.

Make a kitchen garden and grow yuh own food.

14. @miller this blog is not for fist to cuff and drag out wrestle-mania types like me . take yuh challenges on the OSA blog i feel more comfortable over there where i can put you in a “full nelson”and body slam yuh black arssss! Sorry david did not mean to barge in on your intellectual discussion except that one misfit by the name of miller called my name. anyhow i agree with yours and adrien comments. the others can be tossed out windward in the stillness of the night . again i heartily apologise DAVID!

15. @Hants

Note that the questions asked by the Cadres/Nation newspaper poll today cherry-picked many questions to poll but not among them was how we feel about our lack of food security.

16. To be fair to political parties there is nothing wrong with using a manifesto to ‘promise’ what it will do if elected. What must be challenged is the need to establish a ‘check’ for John Citizenry to exact accountability. Why shouldn’t the electorate feel comfortable knowing that the UWI, Cave Hill, Fourth Estate and other entities in civil society have the credibility to challenge, clarify and demystify promises made by political parties on the campaign trail? Why should John Citizenry not have recourse in the law to recall ministers and members of parliament who they are perceived to have under-achieved?

Ac easier said than done. ! first of all how many people would vote for a politician if they told the truth. so it is a job left totally up to the Fourth of Estate to give the weeded out fact from fiction the freedom which the press enjoy gives them full liberty and accountability for overseeing the goverance of a country and it is incumbent for them to give the public an full account and overall unbiased perspective of everything that affects the nation but sad but true here in barbados we often find that the press would rather prefer to skin teet and go to bed with the politician than do what is right for the country and the people so then the politician gets away with every lie under the sun but guess who is to blame

17. @David,
    Food security and forex substitution are critical to an Island economy in difficult times.

Bajans do not even consider the possibility of having to line up to buy rice and corn meal.

Fortunately growing food is not difficult in the tropics so Government can enact an emergency plan to convert the golf courses to farms.

Castro will even send some Cuban “specialist” to show how to grow crops using only manure and how to use bugs and insects as “pesticide”.

18. @ac

Where is the logic in a politician telling lies to be exposed by the Fourth Estate?

It would be self defeating.

It means the obvious, a coopting of the Fourth Estate by politicians.

19. @Hants

This is the point, we have become fat off consumption behavior and here is the catch – our politicians continue to promise us that this approach will guarantee the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. We keep believing.

We are living in a different time. The world economy has shifted, start with capital flows from South to North and how it will impact our vaunted international business. Tourism will be a lottery in the current environment with our main market continuing to labour, for some time to come to.

20. @ David
    To add the BLP has been essaying that they will improve business facilitation to make Barbados more competitive. What happens now in the civil service did not start in the last 4 years. How will they do it. They need to tell us. We have allowed our politicians to promise the world and what?

It is called a Business Facilitation Unit in the Prime Minister’s office!!!

21. @Enuff

Do you mean the BLP will continue the strategy of circumventing the civil service by hiring an army of consultants in the Prime Minister’s Office? Is this sustainable? Whither the public service?

22. david @ acWhere is the logic in a politician telling lies to be exposed by the Fourth Estate?

ac david if you follow american politics you would have see the numerous times politicians have been caught lying to be exposed by the press , but then again it is a different world there.

23. Or secondments who knows? But we all know public sector reform will take time and is dependent on the civvies not government unless you advocating firing people.

24. @enuff

What BU is advocating is for both political parties to stop PROMISING their supporters jobs by padding the public service to support its popularity amongst its base.

25. @ David
    Isn’t creating such a unit from among exiting civil servants reform? What padding of civil service? You are the one expecting consultants.

@ ac
    Well PM Thompson told lies on George Edghill, the fourth estate believed him but not the Court hence one million dollars to GE.

26. @enuff

We are guessing at the moment and this is the point, we need to know.

27. Political parties are their for one reason and one reason alone, to gain access to the public’s purse for as long as possible… and that’s it. It amazes me how after so many years people who should know better are still being caught up in the “good” that they should be doing … What a crock. The people who run for office know exactly what they are about. Know one from that bunch could ever be my leader … sorry..!

28. there … no

29. Good to hear Arthur promising that should his government win the next election it will introduce the CIB, use sports as a key plank for developing the youth and push ICTs, all items we have hotly debated in this forum.

30. No Authority without Accountability.We need a leader bold enough to change the neo-westminster system we have adopted in Buhbaydus.A smaller Central Government,a modified system of local government.Privatize the seaport and retain ownership of the airport.Find a partner for the transport system if the present minibus owners will not take up a partnership with Government; Similarly for the BWA,NHC,CBC and all these statutory corporations which are bleeding the treasury with impunity and too much under the influence of politicians.These entities need rigid private sector style input and performance standards.Review our libel laws.Allow individual soap box/Eric Fly style meetings in say Queens Park once a week ,say on Sundays, where no one will be arrested or hauled before the courts for any statement made.Cut out the freeness mentality and assist only those who need assistance.The church can help in identifying needy cases.Concentrate on a premium education at the Primary level and stop the embarrassment of illiterate children and those those who cannot speak standard English.I have no idea what was found to be unacceptable with the way I was taught in the”bad old colonial days”,but I was your average bajan student and although versed in the ‘lingua franca’,knew when and where to use it so that standard English was and continues to be my familiar medium and thanks to some choice teachers,cringe at what passes for English Language on our airwaves.

31. I would agree that neither party should be giving gov’t jobs to their supporters, neither should they be giving gov’t housing to their supporters. Everybody should be going thru the proper channelsa to obtain these things based on merit rather than political affiliation or friendships. So whose going to put a stop to it?

32. @gabriel

a bunch of nonsense being thrown out into the airwaves privatization of a nation security to pay bills can be classified as utter nonsense or gibberish, the BLP in its haste to fix what should have been done fourteen years ago is putting the country’s national security at risk one must and should understand the vital and most important role of governance is to maintain and properly secure its people a nations valuable asses ts of which AIR ! TRANSPORT! SEA! are all classified under NATIONAL SECURITY the reason being in times of crisis . Privatization of these sectors is not an option and therfore for all the wrong reason is a panacea for paying the nations debt . fix the problem instead of throwing out the baby with the tub

33. davidGood to hear Arthur promising that should his government win the next election it will introduce the CIB, use sports as a key plank for developing the youth and push ICTs, all items we have hotly debated in this forum.

Arthur being ARTHUR!

34. Interesting to note there is a conversation at this moment whether the Chinese should be allowed to build/own strategic assets/key facilities in the US.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 8, 2012 at 5:07 AM |
    “Privatization of these sectors is not an option and therfore for all the wrong reason is a panacea for paying the nations debt . fix the problem instead of throwing out the baby with the tub ”

Now the bold faced liar ac is admitting that there are problems to be fixed under this DLP administration.
    But why are you expecting the BLP to fix them instead of privatizing them? Isn’t the DLP the party with the mandate to fix them? Almost 5 years and these problems still worsening! You are going to still blame OSA and his inspired international recession now a depression in Bim? Don’t you think the onus lies on the DLP for at least taking the responsibility for settling $ 2 billion of the national debt? At least fix their share of the problem.

So instead of criticizing ad nauseam OSA and the BLP like some sexually frustrated hag why not tell us here on BU how the DLP should go about fixing the problems since in your view the BLP had 14 years to do such like paying off the $ 2 billion debt incurred between 2009-2011.
    Please ac identify at least 1 solution to the problems before throwing out the baby with the tub. You could start with the Cost of Living by recommending to the DLP to include in their coming manifesto the party’s promise to reduce the high Cost of Dying by giving away free coffins made in China.

36. .
    David wrote : Interesting to note there is a conversation at this moment whether the Chinese should be allowed to build/own strategic assets/key facilities in the US.

David, the US economy like it circling the toilet bowl too. Two factors helping to mask the situation for now are that the US does have the world’s biggest military, and because the US dollar still functions as the world reserve currency the demand for US dollars is artificially high and hence the value of the dollar remains high (enabling them to keep paying for the world’s biggest military).

Dollar Hegemony in the Empire of the Damned

Many commentators and economists wonder if the US is able to turn its ailing economy around. The reality is that it is bankrupt. However, as long as the dollar remains the world currency, the US can continue to pay its bills by simply printing more money. But once the world no longer accepts the dollar as world reserve currency, the US will no longer be able to continue to pay its way or to fund its wars by relying on what would then be a relatively valueless paper currency.

And the US realises this. Today, more than 60 per cent of all foreign currency reserves in the world are in US dollars, and the US will attempt to prevent countries moving off the dollar by any means possible. It seems compelled to do this simply because its economic infrastructure seems too weak and US corporate cartels will do anything to prevent policies that eat into their profits or serve to curtail political influence. They serve their own interests, not any notional ‘national interest’.

Pail Graig Roberts (sic – should be Paul Craig Roberts), former Assistant Secretary of the US Treasury, notes that much of the most productive part of the US economy has been moved offshore in order to increase corporate profits. By doing so, the US has lost critical supply chains, industrial infrastructure, and the knowledge of skilled workers. According to Roberts, the US could bring its corporations back to America by taxing their profits abroad and could also resort to protective tariffs, but such moves would be contrary to the material interests of the ruling oligarchy of private interests, which hold so much sway over US politics.

snip

The US economy appears to be in terminal decline. The only way to prop it up is by lop-sided trade agreements or by waging war to secure additional markets and resources and to ensure the dollar remains the world reserve currency. Humankind is currently facing a number of serious problems. But, arguably, an empire in decline armed to the teeth with both conventional and nuclear weapons and trapped in a cycle of endless war in what must surely be a futile attempt to stave off ruin is the most serious issue of all.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/dollar-hegemony-in-the-empire-of-the-damned/

37. Green Monkey
    You have just put our world in proper perspective.
    You have identified the gaping holes in the world’s Titanic hull and highlighted the fact that most other “concerns” are simply about rearranging the deck chairs.
    ….wonder if Onions will get it?….. 🙂

38. Miller you need to stop it you are sounding like a stark mad raving lunatic. BTW didn,t the poll give the BLP the advantage so any manifesto suggestions you should give to the RT HON.as no doubt he would like to hear since at this point and time the RT HON only seems to be reading the tea leaves daily

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 8, 2012 at 8:11 AM |

It takes a madwoman to know a madman.
    We are still awaiting some ideas from you on how we should go about dealing with our problems instead of blaming OSA for everything wrong in Bim and the world.
    Maybe OSA is the cause of your psychosis.
    I am sure most on this blog would agree on that.

Once again like a true mad person, ideas, ac, ideas we want to hear from you! Not carping hot air and ad hominems. Or are we expecting too much of you, sweetheart?

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Green Monkey | October 8, 2012 at 7:28 AM |

The World is ripe for a war! Will the flash point be in the ME or in the China Seas.

41. @ac
    You should be aware that airports and seaports are not controlled by the local union only.Actually that phenomenon is a case study of ‘ownership without paying the real costs,the BWU and its muscle in the economy of Barbados’.Discuss.
    Back to my substantive point.The ICAO and the IMO are the real governors of our air and sea ports.You either kowtow or you are lepered.Did’nt you know?

42. @gabriel …………………..you know if i was dumber than chalk i would believe your comment in reference to the IMO and ICAO fortunatately contrary to popular belief i do read and read enough to kniow that those two organisations provide guidlines and rules and regulations which most countries adhere to it has nothing to do with owernship. now go take a five minute break forair you have been submerged under water for too long

43. @millertheanunnaki, Bush Tea, David and any other interested parties.

Another perspective (completely ignored by mainstream media sources) on the origins of the current troubling economic times currently facing the USA and other industrialized countries and their smaller appendages and hangers-on (eg Barbados) can be obtained by viewing the documentary “The Secret of Oz”.

From the Youtube intro to the documentary “The Secret of Oz”:

What can government do? The sad answer is — under the current monetary system — nothing. It’s not going to get better until the root of the problem is understood and addressed. There isn’t enough stimulus money in the entire world to get us out of this hole.

“Why? Debt. The national debt is just like our consumer debt — it’s the interest that’s killing us.

“Though most people don’t realize it the government can’t just issue it’s own money anymore. It used to be that way. The King could just issue stuff called money. Abraham Lincoln did it to win the Civil War.

“No, today, in our crazy money system, the government has to borrow our money into existence and then pay interest on it. That’s why they call it the National Debt. All our money is created out of debt. Politicians who focus on reducing the National Debt as an answer probably don’t know what the National Debt really is. To reduce the National Debt would be to reduce our money — and there’s already too little of that.

44. @miller…………..you are beginning to sound like a scratched and outdated 45 rpm. which when it is time was popular and well like unfortunately the time has come just like the record where your popularity has dwindle and you have outlived your usefulness . That is advice however i do have an idea on how to relieve you of your misery and constant harping about ideas

45. @ David

Good to hear Arthur promising that should his government win the next election it will introduce the CIB, use sports as a key plank for developing the youth and push ICTs, all items we have hotly debated in this forum.

These ideas are ALL in the National Strategic Plan 2006 – 2025. All!!

46. @enuff
    3:00 pm
    I’ve always wondered about the existence of documents that clearly spell a way forward looong before the current “crisis,” yet they just sit there. If there is one criticism you will hear with respect to the current government is that they almost wholesale tossed all previous developmental plans and programmes out the door after January 2008. Ironically having to pick back up a good few of them and retract their own as time went on.

47. @ac
    With respect you know there is a huge difference between ownership and governing.You may own your home but you are ‘ruled’or ‘governed’ by an authority as in most civilised societies to have your surroundings clean etc under pain of censure in law if you don’t observe the rule or law.Similarly with those UN governors for want of a better term who lie sleeping until you awaken them for a special concession or you are required to fulfill such a requirement by a civil or maritime authority like the FAA or CAA or CLIA,HS,EPA etc and until you accept that recommendation and make it lawful,you will be denied your request or the benefit you seek.

Leave a Reply to Adrian LoveridgeCancel reply