Submitted by Old Onions Bag
Clyde Mascoll, promises the BLP will relieve taxes on the middleclass if elected

“capitalism gone mad ” ― Mighty sparrow

Things in Barbados today are like living in a boiling cauldron. It is hot hot and getting hotter. The people of this once ‘amiable and smiling faces’ land, have changed their outward appearances over-night and are real vex. When last you been to the supermarket or joined a paying queue,or the utility companies line? You don’t dare say  “good morning ” nowadays and expect a mannerly reply. People are feeling the burn deep inside and manifesting their bile outwardly.

Visited the gas station lately and observed? See the long dreary faces as consumers accept their plights. Gasoline is almost a necessity like food and the providers know it. The prices go up and seldom down, but the mean price of this commodity is always up. One often wonders how come this is so, as the price of crude had in the past, plummeted, and remain that way for awhile. It leaves drivers with ‘nothing’… but to accept a sense of hopelessness.

Water bills high, light bills skyrocketing, cell and telephone rip rip rip. Nothing to smile about, like a vice grip or pliers locking off your swallow pipe leaving one fighting to breathe.

What once seemed an obviously easy fix, somehow turns into maze. Headmasters .v. teachers, commissions to solve, all at woozy cost. Somehow and knowing where, good hard earned tax payer’s money being apportioned out loosely, while those who ‘don’t really seem to matter’, have to work really hard for theirs. Signs of the times my friend.

Just heard of the news recently about a minibus rumpus near campus, last week, a lady falls from a muti-storey mall, so much nowadays to contemplate,  nothing good, all to infuriate .

We hear of pecuniary transfers and swaps of the pejorative kind, poor quality drug replace, ups in  taxes, professional fees, of all kinds…..leaves one to wonder, are we really living in the last times?

Yes fellow Barbadians, times really hard to find a smile, with gasoline now a $1 a mile and we fighting like hell to keep alive. The living standards in Barbados are quickly regressing, and no one dare argues otherwise. Some families are at present eating once a day only, others next to none. What more could possibly happen to make our calamity worse? More taxes?, No way people could fathom the dress. True reasons for all this, people of Barbados are now overly stressed.

1. David
    Oh please don’t come with that school boy tonk trick ….Such —just an introductory first step….What else can explain the structure, in the Sunday Sun front page… The planned new Port terminal… a magnificent glass structure estm cost $400Mil…would you have us to believe that such is coincidental to the cause?we wanted to know how it was planned to be paid for ..NOW WE KNOW …Were we to assume that business (same ole same ole ) in the old terminal would have been that expeditious by the extension of 6pm to 6am…Since when does tourist SHOP AT THESE HRS any way?iT IS A FRONT PLAIN n SIMPLE…

2. old onion bags wrote “What else can explain the structure”

Ask any Architect in Barbados and you will get your explanation.

It might have a little to do with the history of the port and sugar bonds.

3. The introduction of gambling into a community has various effects on communities. In a lot of cases crime and drug trafficking to support a vice causes higher risk of robberies and attacks and homicide.

Supporters of legalized gambling feel that the casinos increase tourism and causes growth in the retail sales industry, and restaurants. They do so without considering the horrifying social cost as a result. Unfortunately, while problem gamblers are very lucrative for the industry, their addiction leads to child neglect, crime, distressed families, suicide and bankruptcy. And, it is the non-gamblers who are left paying the tab for these costs through higher taxes…..we don’t want this here in Barbados. Give gambling on our waters a thumbs DOWN !

4. Onions why uh sound so …so early in the moring wuh happen yuh belly hurt you .Cud god it is ony offshore casino wait wuh happen bout all the talk bout wanting foreign exchange .yuhsee wunna talk nuff shite all the time about DLP doing nutting now that they put a plan in place to help the tourism industry wunna belly hurt..but i still waiting to hear the BLP plan

5. OK Einstein…. Forex right ?….watch this now..answer me this ……which 1. Which bajan shops duz be open 6 pm to 6 am presently ?
    2.Which tourist does go looking for souvenirs at 3 am.?..(of the tangible kind of course)
    3. We stand to charge a ship a TAX for this 12 hrs…lets say $50,000.. Enuff to pay for the $400Mil terminal right?
    4. Even if a visitor wants to go off the ship for entertainment (taxi get something)..how many you feel will leave FREE entertainment n FOOD on the ship, to go St.Lawrence…..given this calibre of tourist history?

It just does not add up……there has to be more…this Act was just a door opener to further HOPEFUL plans…but we gine stop DEM. No casinos coming bout here to finish wreck this place…..do sum research….its not worth it in the long run….the winners will come from overseas and corrupt govt officials with bribes ….(Bahamas) that is all.

6. old onion bags | September 26, 2012 at 7:45 AM |
    The introduction of gambling into a community has various effects on communities

Dont see any terrible effects from the Tom Adams dictatorship era. Tom was the biggest gambler in the western hemisphere. Fantastic stroke by GOB to incentivise cruise ships to stay longer. Taxi drivers, restaurants, Pelican shops, night clubs, bars, attractions stand to benefit. Speightstown even Limegrove and the Flower Forest will see more action. Why knock a move which brings forex. In Bahamas at night the bars are filled with cruise passengers not departing until midnight. I was there crowd so thick couldnt get to the bar.

7. Thinking
    Even in the daytime…ask the vendors in Pelican Village…ask the store owners in Bridgetown…..what sales are like from Cruise ship tourist?…..ask the taxi men….they rather walk. You need to investigate these things. I know I live here….

8. Onions you got one problem and that is you are trying so hard to discredit the govt that you have become unreasonable in doing so and as much that you have approached this issue twirling the baton of “fearmongering” without even giving it a chance.

9. And you like IsalGal…….Did you not hear PM get married? Did she mean Patrick Manning. Peter Millington,Percy Millar, Peter Mark, Presilla Millar, Pansy Megis,or Peggy Mustor….which one nah ?

10. NO GAMES HERE……THIS IS A MUST SEE…….I dare you !

11. Tom was the biggest gambler in the western hemisphere.
    —————————————————————————-
    True dat if you doubt it ask his lapdog Glyne blind Murray. Poor Eric Fly pass he would know. You could test Lammie and Clyde Griff left to Tom Adams casinos would be licking down Barbados. Tom for you who dont know is the father of the modern BLP.

12. Onions
    Your leader went in front of the business leaders and gave them some ideas of how he would conquer this problem.

He said that he sold the BNB and that it created revenue and more employment. He would therefore look at the other statutory Boards to see what economic benefits he would get from them.
    Onions to tell the truth I did not hear more of the speech as I took that from VON news.
    Onions where are the creative plans He is back to sell sell sell sell everything in site. Onions do you feel we should sell our only oil company to Trinidad?
    I am now fully convince that Owen Arthur is not the person to take us forward

13. @ Clone
    Hush Do…..the DLP going DOWN……too many BLUNDERS

14. David
    I think you will have to stop giving onions any articles let him just post his collection of YouTube videos.
    He just does not lift the debate on BU.

15. @Clone

As you know all kinds post on BU. We have to be tolerant to the views. It is something the BU household has had to cultivate 🙂

16. @ LOL LOL…..Clone you have to admit……Dat is a good one….BOOM…LOL

17. LOL LOL…the best part …the woman hollaring fa blue murder……and a man down……gone head first …..DOWN IN THE HOLE…LOL…whalosss

18. Clone | September 26, 2012 at 8:57 PM |
    Onions
    Your leader went in front of the business leaders and gave them some ideas

I saw the clip on CBC those were not business leaders every Blp yardfowl from Gail to Martinez to Barker came out the woodwork to full up the place.
    I saw one “businessman” Tan Abed.
    Who Owen think he fooling?
    If Thompson was alive that vertically challenged coward would’ve finished with politics left Rugged grand daughter in peace and gone picking peas and drinking rum in the Whim almost said Tobago but they already have their own dark shadow.

19. Anom 1
    Pity …you did not see me too?… I was the one next to the beautiful bomb shell in the exec suit with the long flowing hair……my wife of course….but there again ..you were too busy ‘malaciousing’…and pimping for the Ossie Moore Parade.

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply