Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Greg Christie was appointed Jamaica’s fourth Contractor General in 2005

The call has been made umpty times now on BU for Barbados to have a Contractor General. For those wondering what are the duties of such a noble sounding  executive officer, in a nutshell….”to assist government in the fair advertising, soliciting, and final disbursements of contracts for services and purchase of major worth.” More detailed….

The Contractor General is given the onus to monitor the award and the implementation of government contracts with a view to ensuring that —

1. such contracts are awarded impartially and on merit;
  2. the circumstances in which each contract is awarded or, as the case may be, terminated, do not involve impropriety or irregularity;
  3. without prejudice to the functions of any public body in relation to any contract, the implementation of each such contract conforms to the terms thereof; and
  4. to monitor the grant, issue, suspension or revocation of any prescribed licence, with a view to ensuring that the circumstances of such grant, issue, suspension or revocation do not involve impropriety or irregularity and, where appropriate, to examine whether such licence is used in accordance with the terms and conditions thereof.  (Courtesy Jamaica’s Office of Contractor General).

If we in Barbados are serious about stamping out all forms of pandering and corruption gotten via contract negotiations by governmental officials, the office of Contractor General needs to be legislated and functioning as soon as possible. Such will assist in highlighting transparency in all governmental contract dealings and will go hand in hand with our proposed Integrity Legislation Act.

Consider for more details this link. Time for showing we are serious about going forward, is present and awaits the true Sir Lancelot. Will they step up to the plate?

155 responses to “Time for a Contractor General, Barbados”

1. UWI 150 back peddle…. Alexandra “laff it off” ….SIDE- WINDER…..top shot….Minister went to Olympics for $100,000….Tomas juk juk

2. Time was when genius was more precious than gold, but
    now to have nothing is monstrous barbarism.
    Ovid

3. Onions
    People like Mia Mottley are asking wait this is the Barbados I know where children are carrying school Northface and Hurley bags for $385.00.Is this the Barbados you know?

She is also a hypocrite and liar when she said never in the History of Barbados that a citizen was given a judgment by the court and not paid by the Government under Tom, Barrow, Sandi and Owen. She forgot that the judgment was given under Owen for 34 million. Bajans are not stupid Mia

4. @ Clone
    Truth engenders hatred of truth. As soon as it appears, it is the enemy.
    Your aphorism will never coincides with the truth: it is either a half-truth or one-and-a-half truths. Just like your Capitan and his Virgil…..lost drifting and probably drinking a soda water some where now in Washington….Hold strain Clone the punishment soon over…the Nation wants it…you can’t hold a poop forever….it will kill ya.

5. Onions
    All the DLP has to do is use yours recorded tapes against your party.
    It is a lie to say that never in the history of Barbados that a government refused to follow a court order and mentioned Owen’s name among those persons who never did it. He refused to pay Barrack the 34 million

6. @Clone

Didn’t the BLP appeal the decision?

7. How people (Clone) could lie so ??

JUST ASKING

8. Mia also said in this tape that she dealt with the Coleridge and Parry matter differently. In today’s paper Mr. King said that he did not go to a Board meeting for a year because of the Chairman of the Board. Mia always swept things under the carpet. Alexandra started long under the BLP why she not helped to solve it. In fact I think Mr.Broomes became Principal when she was Minister of Education.

Mia was the biggest failure as a Minister of Education. Edutech would have been investigated in a more democratic country. It was never sustainable and now schools computer labs arte like grave yards.

9. CANT HOLD A POOP FOR EVER —LOL lol lol LOL lol–(fits of laughter)

well poop in the states is what we in Barbados call shite

10. Clone cuddear….answer Just Askin……ya oping now. Seems you got the ‘Sin Clerk disease’…..we know… it contagious.

11. David
    Why was he given the contract?
    If it was a legal contract why did he have to go to court to get money that he worked for?
    These are the questions that must be answered.
    Was he qualified to carry out the contract?
    There is some scam about that contract or a PM would not appeal a judgment won by a contractor that did work for a government
    Just asking like Just asking

12. Clone beak get BREK……whalosss…..Look Clone you doan got a Sunday Sun newspaper? Take a hint…..I gone fishing

13. Clone is displaying typical DLP shitehung-behaviour –Blame everybody else–

Man fess up -the DLP aint cutting it

Here is the deal , -After the next election the DLP will be given time off to Rebuild—Out with Freundel because it wil be :

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

YOU DOUBT ME ??

JUST ASKING

14. @Clone

That may well be so that questions need to be answered about how the contract was awarded to Barrack but that is a separate issue. The Court Order must be respected.

15. I never disagreed that he should be paid but if I was a Prime Minister going into an election I would be paying him the initial settlement. If I win then he gets paid the interest. If I lose then the next Government can pay him or behave like they did before.

16. @Clone | September 23, 2012 at 4:35 PM |

BARRACK, clico, AX, a sprinkling of the PROBLEMS developed under the Blp it took Freundel to bite the bullet and wrestle a host of BLp generated thorny issues to the ground. The dishonest BLp refuse ownership of debacles they engineer. Bajans are not fools we may not guzzle SEE THRU but we can SEE THRU lies.

Remember Lionel Craig firm “constructing” St. Leonards school. Who were the CBC reporters he nearly cuff down ON camera?

Who “toxic” nowadays? Geoge or Clyde even Lammie the starve Douglas Leopold Phillips author. Carol Roberts the big time BLP contractor like she find different wuk. Remember the auditor General upbraiding Minister MIA for paying a truck load of government coppers for hairbraiding.

The fiasco with DR. Leo Brewster got BLP fingerprints on it. The list is limitless.

Arthur dipping he hand in the treasury to subsidise he friend Hinckson. GEMS the one Mascoll know inside out. Wonder if he will ever come clean on GEMS, JAWS and Hardwood.

Not a fellow investigate where the $150,000 Owen dish out to retired cricketers come from. He said it was he personal monies. Where is the FBI report Owen told the nation was on his desk.

17. @trapper

Sorry but this bullshit narrative will not work this time around. Wheel and comeback again.

18. The person posting those comments about Arthur you are out of line. It is a shame DLP surrogates believe they have to go low this early in the campaign. One would think this is not the kind of approach Stuart endorses.

19. David wrote “Sorry but this bullshit narrative will not work this time around.”

In other words, the BLP is no longer responsible for anything prior to 2008 so after each election we can ignore the transgressions of the previous administration.

David wrote “it is a shame DLP surrogates believe they have to go low this early in the campaign.
    That is the price you pay for democracy and freedom of expression.Politics in a democracy is a low down dirty business.

Perhaps it is time to follow Royalrumble’s doctrine and make the “father of first world Barbados” the Dictator. The short man would look dapper in Army fatigues just like Fidel and Chavez.

The fundamental problem we face is the incestuous relationship between both political parties,the captains of industry and the lobbyist.

There will be no real change in the status quo because progress in Barbados is about big wall houses, bimmers,benzes and shopping trips to Miami and Toronto.

20. @Hants

You misunderstand the point, if they do the message will not resonate this time around.

21. @ Clone
    Was the final decision of the court regarding Barrack not after January 15, 2008?

22. The truth is that many of the misdeeds of the past administration have been passed onto this one, as incompetent as it is. I think of Mottley and the prison quickly comes to mind. Look the pot can’ be callin’ the kettle black. Both parties wan’ bannin’ from elective politics ….

23. To borrow a quote, high tide has receded and our nakedness has been exposed.

24. i used to buy into the “saying that govt is a continuum” but i am had pressed to believe that any credible govt would have allowed issues like AX BARRACK and CLICO to get out of hand most govt today are wrestling with hard issues to do with foreign affairs and economy not the kind that OSA and the BLP left behind that are an impediment and eye sore to a country most leaders would be laugh to scorn in any other country and be given the boot if for 14 years they had left those kind of issue get out of control and unattended and yes the BLP should be ashamed and laughed to scorn for avoiding the AX and other such issue and leaving them for another administration to deal with.

25. @ac

a people get the government they deserve. What did we the people do when Hallam King was transferred to a desk job? What did the unions do? Did anybody care really? When the government at the time decided to appeal Barrack’s case what did the taxpayers do? Did we care? When CLICO was building housing developments, and offering high rates who cared? It all begins and ends with the people.

26. under the leadership of MIA and OWEN arthur Al barrack construction was awarded a 36 million contract “WITHOUT TENDER” in 2006 the court ruled that Barrack was to be paid 34million which the BLP refuse to do in 2008 the DLP govt paid barrack 2.5million and as of now OSA never once obeyed the ruling and give barrack one red cent leaving in inthe laps of the DLP to resolve forgetting that he OSA and MIA was the one who had hired Al Barrack.

27. @ Onions
    Bushie just saw that comment ’bout you getting three big rocks if the Bushman should ever step into your yard….
    ..skippa, if Bushie EVER step in your yard, look for ONE rock……. A BIG ONE….to hide under…..! 🙂

28. @ac

Why can’t you understand that the BLP appealed the decision? Why do we make mountain out of mole hill arguments?

29. the same problem with the BWA the f..king company was almost bankrupt all kinds of maintenance problems nothing done to resolve the many problems . bt guess what the DLP had to make the hard choices once again to clean up the mess left behind by who yes you guess right OSA and his wasteful team of misfits causing the govt to raise the water fees to compensate for the :do nothing” irresponsible mess of 14years and guess who gets the blame the DLP for all of OSA mismanagement in making the right choices necessary so that the BWA would not be shut down. 14 years of PIG SH,,T that is what this country was living in. now the DLP got no choice but to clean up stinking as it might be.

30. @ David
    Where did you suddenly get such faith in our court system?
    …that whole Barrack thing is a scam from beginning to end. Are you not suspicious that in a court system where routine cases that Bushie or you can decide in ten minutes are taking 15 years on average, this Barrack issue has been thought the whole system like a flash? Appeals and all…?

If the case is completely finished why are the details so sketchy? Should it not be clear to everyone exactly WHY we are forking out $80M and exactly WHO is to blame?

Is there a blog on this?

…are you saying we should just fork out the $80M just so…?
    …you know the saying about fools and their money right,,,,?

31. @Bush Tea

There is a single point BU is making, respect for a court order. The political dimension remain for discussion of course.

Here is a blog about the Barrack matter:

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/12/28/barracks-millions/

32. you know the only reason OSA appeal “Because he wanted some place to run for cover and the court was a safe bet He had no intention of paying the man. only a fool would believe that OSA had any intent of paying Barrack but now he has turned the issue into a political football . in any case in all the political meetings and grandstanding OSA has been doing neve ronce has he mentioned any intent of paying Barrack if relected. silence on this all other issues he motor mouths on.

33. @ ac
    You are are a blatant liar!!

34. Enuff

ac is not that far off mark.

35. @ BAF
    You either lie or not.

36. Anyway I done with the tic4tac.

37. 1. What did it cost to build the tower?
    2. Who provided the bridging finance for the construction?
    3. What is the market value of the building?

Solution. Sell the building and pay Barrack.

But I got a feelin dat there is a whole lot more to this story than we know bout.

38. @ David
    The blog to which you refered Bushie is nonsense.

You mean to tell Bushie that if a group of lawyers get together with some elaborate scam -which is VERY EASY to do if you have badly written laws as we have, (written by the Same lawyers) – and then get a court to support them on some technicality – that you are willing to take up Bushie’s pension money and pay to some front man “because we must obey the court”?

….you joking with the Bushman right?

What is Barrack’s background?
    Did Barrack legitimately win the contract to build the place?
    Did he build it? If not, why not? ….and who did?

What are the grounds for the court action?
    ….why are we ordered to pay him? …who else erred?….how?

If we create situations where these crooks can get together and fleece the treasury BY USING THE COURT we are being just as idiotic as if they had just sent the money to their overseas accounts via bribes and cost overruns like before…..

…that make us the same fools, it is just a different method of parting us from our monies…

Bushie says don’t pay a cent until all questions are answered publicly……
    ..what court what?!?

39. Bushie

There are different types of stealing some of which amounts to crimes and then there is unethical behaviour which does not reach the threshold of a crime but nonetheless dishonest.

When a minister gets his outside man appointed as a deputy head of a department above other deserving applicants, you might think that there is no crime but there is an offence called misfeasance in public office, unfortunately no one comes forward with the evidence. Even if they who would prosecute.

40. That should be, Even if they did, who would prosecute.

41. @Bushe Tea

Anarchy?

42. Bushie
    You got this thing covered
    I want David to know that bajans does talk nough but does be thinking.
    Let start with some of the talk you heard on the streets back then.
    It was rumored that some lawyers were in a company with Barrack.
    Is this why Owen went to court to make sure these lawyers don’t get any free money?
    Mr. Barrack always say he owe so many people. He should not have borrow pass the 36 million and now depending on tax payers money as interest on a payment that should have been paid in 2006.

43. This Barrack mess occurred under George Payne as minister of housing did it not?

Dale Marshall was chairman of NHC?

The DLP has had 4+ years to place in the public domain if there is another side to this matter.

44. @ Caswell
    …you ain’t figure out yet that you trained the bushman? 🙂

What Anarchy What?!?!
    Bushie’s loyalty is to TRUTH AND JUSTICE!! Courts ONLY deserve respect when they are so committed. Where do you think we would be if everyone went along with the so-called courts that dispensed “judgements” to persons of our complexion around here just a few decades ago?

Are these not the same “courts” that presides over the various land transactions all over this place…. Like the old lady who should really owns Kensington Oval?…..but don’t….

The simplest method of controlling ‘goodie two shoes’ such as yourself David, is to convert you to “Christianity” and then get you to meekly conform to crooked laws.

……but not Bushie…The bushman deals with TRUTH AND JUSTICE not puppets… or ‘Poppets’ as a pal refers them…

How come it is that the BU family do not feel capable of dissecting such court decisions to assess whether such they are fair and just?
    Amazing how we undersell ourselves….
    …when we are not allowing O$A to pocket bribe money from a CLICO bank and get away with it, we are giving a pass to David Thompson who is similarly conflicted. …or we turn a blind eye to ministers blatantly manipulating the system to their own personal benefit….

David, this is the very definition of fools….and the consequence is poverty

45. David
    These political parties would never lock up another politician. It is so strange that they have it as an art that you accuse in opposition and do nothing about it in government. In fact you are either promoted or honoured.
    One day coming soon the people would wake up and elect 30 independents who would just run a broad based government for the people

46. @Clone

BU remains hopeful that we will get the documents in our inbox one day that blow a few of these public figures to thine kingdom come.

47. @ David
    What “other side to this matter” are you talking about?
    You have not figured out yet that these politicians are all on the same side and that it is us IDIOTS on the other side?
    Why would the DLP expose the dirty linen of the BLP? That would only make sense if they intended to operate differently.

All these gimmicks at election time are just games being played on us idiots.
    After Mascoll went to join O$A and changed his position on GEMS and JAWS you should have got the hint.
    …and when Thompson won last time and refused to pursue HARDWOOD it Had to be clear.

…don’t try and brek fuh yuhself…..

48. Bushman kickin’ tonight.

But he miss an’ call David a idiot … now that’s simply not civil ol’ chap …!

49. Bushie wrote, “these politicians are all on the same side”.

Other than you Bushie, only the middle and upper class know that.

Yuh does have to get invite to de hites to know wha does really go on.lol

50. @BAFBFP

That is ok, no thin-skinned people around here.

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply