Submitted by Checkit-out (as a comment)
Barbados did not feature in the World Travel Awards 2012

I suggest, to readers who have not already done so, to check out the website of the Caribbean travel awards link posted by David. Look at the list of 2012 Award Winners.  Jamaica and/or Sandals make up close to half the winners.  Bahamas, Turks & Caicos, Antigua, St. Vincent and St. Lucia are all there; but no Barbados. It says winners are voted by travel agents worldwide.  That may be partly true, but I think it is safe to assume that self promotion and politics are major influencers in the selection process.

It is interesting that Barbados was selected Caribbean’s Leading Destination in 2003, 2004 and 2005; and Leading Tourist and Convention Bureau (BTA?) in 1997, 2003 and 2004.  GAIA was Caribbean’s Leading Airport in every year but one from 1998 to 2004. Since then, lots of nominations but no awards.  Why is that? Did Jamaica suddenly improve its product overnight without anyone noticing?  Who is responsible/accountable for the apparent decline in Barbados Tourism product and profile, at least relative to the rest of the Caribbean; and particularly Jamaica. These awards, or lack thereof, should be a very serious concern to all Barbadians. BTA would seem be Barbados’ primary promoter/politician, and should be held largely responsible.

From here in Toronto it is hard to see anything being done to promote the island. I follow the Toronto Star and Globe and Mail travel sections looking for Barbados articles or advertising. There are tons of full page Sandals/Beaches ads, St Lucia, Antigua, Turks and Caicos, Jamaica. Sandals TV ads are spectacular. Apart from a very positive article about the Crane a couple of months ago, there has been virtually no mention of Barbados destinations, including in Air Canada Vacations advertising in the past couple of months or so.

Westjet Vacations has twice included Barbados in its newspaper advertising in the past month as follows.  Full page ad on outside back page Globe and Mail Travel section as a large print eye catcher. “Sale on fall vacation packages” in top half of page.  The bottom half of the page includes a 3” X 9” banner with details of package at Atlantis, Paradise Island, followed by three 3” X 3” boxes featuring in bold print, Orlando, Dominican Republic and Barbados.  Wording in the Barbados box is “Barbados – Steeped in history, yet offering plenty of comforts like island-wide wi-fi and culinary adventures. And if you like Barbados, you might also like Cancun, Negril and St. Martin/St Maarten”.  Who the h… authorized or approved that language?

The page 1 article in today’s Toronto Star Travel section features Antigua.  The Travel Rewards section in today’s Globe & Mail includes a full page Air Canada Vacations ad for Sandals and Beaches Resorts.  Nowhere in either paper is there any mention of Barbados. If Barbados is getting the same amount of exposure in London, New York et al as in Toronto, it will be difficult to keep the decline in tourism to 9% When I started to draft this on September 18, I had included the following
“If this withering performance were in the corporate world, heads would roll at BTA; and as the saying goes “A fish dies from the head down” Clearly there is a very serious need for change”. So now who will be replacement CEO;  A friend of Freundel, or  someone from St Lucia, Jamaica, UK, USA, Canada – or dare I say Sandals?

One last thought.  Barbados needs to fill those 400 rooms at the now vacated Village. I don’t know why Sandals was rebuffed in an earlier attempt to set up shop in Barbados; but these are different times.  Perhaps it is time the government change its old ways of doing business and revisit that decision. The awards they receive suggest Sandals is good at what it does.   It fills airplanes and employs people.  It is probably too late to bring that property up to Sandals standards for this winter, but the powers that be should seriously consider Sandals as the long-term answer to that urgent need.

1. @ac

There is a current reality you continue to ignore. The tourism sector drives our forex, if it dies so too the country.

2. Nobody wants the tourism sector to dies but it is incumbent for all to pull their weight and it doesn’t seem to be that way.it seems that the hotel industry is expecting business as usual from the govt as they were accustomed to in the booming years but as you david) said the govt is hard pressed for cash

3. recently a consultant/adviser to hotel industries worldwide was here in barbados and was highly critical of how most of the hotels here conducted business and their lack of exposure via simple advertising or Internet and some of the things he pointed out was quite obvious even a layman could have thought of them. like i say the hotel industry is not pulling their weight but looking for govt to do it all and it requires a combination of both,l

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David | September 22, 2012 at 6:49 AM |

Ac cannot appreciate the linkage between the sector and our forex survival.
    She believes the Central Bank earns the forex for the country.

We are surprised she is not blaming OSA outright for the current state of the tourism industry as opposed to the hotel owners BHTA. In her eyes, the present administration is totally blameless for the current marketing mess.
    It’s all somebody else’s fault as outlined in the much promised Tourism Master Plan. Imagine a full Ministry, an executing Agency (BTA), serious private sector players and interest groups a dedicated Minister and 41/2 yrs hence no Master Plan. Not even a Student Plan prepared by the previous administration, dusted off and presented as a brand new second hand design just like the Pierhead marina project or the Constitution Water Course upgrade that should have been finished in time for World Cup 2007.

5. There seems to be a common thread that hoteliers on Barbados want to exist and flourish on Government handouts. Take a minute and study the list of hotels that received TIRF funds. You will see that the overwhelming number of hotels did NOT either apply or receive any taxpayer monies. This includes us, who in 25 years has NEVER received any Government funds.
    Yet two hotels (Almond and Silver Sands received over $2 million and within months had closed their doors and laid-off over 630 people.
    While on the BTA board, I fought for a small hotels marketing budget and after ten months the amount of BDS$150,000 was finally approved to market 120 small hotels. I told them they had put the decimal point in the wrong place. $150,000 out of a budget of $92 million. It was a joke.
    So NO GOVERNMENT money and we are still kept waiting over 2 years for a VAT refund. To a small business, like ours $25,000 outstanding VAT is a lot of money.

6. Has the DLP done anything to AID TOURISM…? How many hotels went up during their term in office?…How many went DOWN?..ac I still await your answer…

I shall chuck Yardie’s SUBMISSION question IN REVERSE and challenge any DLP rant or stalwart to provide to us all those things the DLP has done on record to deserve a SECOND TERM…..”Can a case be made for the DLP to deserve another FIVE YEARS???”…..COME FORWARD ac, clone ! ccc ….( seeing you are not members of TC family)…….WHAT HAS THIS NOBEL GOVT DONE TO DESERVE A SECOND TERM?

7. AC et all listen to this one….My daughter and some friends went to dine out in the gap a few years ago. They went to Cafe Del Sol. They were seated together. The waitress arrived, they ordered drinks. Some of the drinks arrived, when they asked about the missing drinks they were told that they would have to go and ask at the bar about them because she (the waitress was ready to take the food order. While speaking, a golf ball of spit flew out of her mouth and landed on my daughter’s face. My daughter was horrified and took a napkin and started wiping it off. The waitress looked at her and said ” wait my spit went pon you? It ain’t gine kill you I ain’t got nuh disease”. She then took their order they asked if they can have separate bills. She then told them that she don’t have the time to do that and they can sort that out between them. Classic!

8. The following hotels have been lost to the industry over the last two years:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/lost-hotels.pdf

9. Many thanks David

10. Look island gal there is no excuse for rude customer service however there are good employees who bend over backwards to accomodate recently there was an incident where an employee of a restaurant found a brief case which was left behind by a visitor and she and management did their utmost to find the person and return it i meaning when one continues to highlight the negative that is all that would be heard and accepted by others makes no sense in painting all with the same brush.

11. @ac

try to understand, we are discussing a culture which breeds customer excellence.

12. “almond and silver sands collected 2million and closed their doors. that is the point and the question many are asking which no one wants to ignore. what does these big conglomerates do with TIRF after receiving not now but over period of time millions of dollars.and then fail some thing is wrong it is not like the govt is not helping it goes back to the way some of them managed their financial and also that no matter how much given there is aserious default and govt should take a closer look

13. @ac

There will be abuse of anything, it is the imperfection of anything we ALL have to tolerate.

14. i will not tolerate business mishandling of their finances and chalking it all up to “imperfection” in this case it goes far and beyond “imperfection” it is/called abuse when one is given a certain level of responsibilty and squanders or mishandled or mismanged because of impriorities or poor judgement irrespective of the fact that many would feel the burdensome fallout because of their failures

15. Does staff at these food establishments and feeding holes, receive training from their higher order? Lots of times these dreaded souls know no better…are we not taking for granted something here? A schooling on etiquette and service maybe …..oft times we are too quick to lay blame….golf ball or not.

16. does this mean that the days of raping and pillaging the tourist are done .
    i guess they have wised up to barbados.is that not too bad.!
    now you can no abuse them and big bamboo them because that is not what most of them want any more..well well what a pity.
    no more ripping of the tourist.most of them take it as they are here amongst us
    what can they do?????? complain to whom?????
    is there a visitor complaint department??????????????????
    barbados will reap what it has sown.
    and it has sown a lot to tourist that don’t report it because nothing is done about it any way..but they will not return.only the drunks and big bamboo sluts will.
    they don’t spend any money.
    good luck with all that you have done to your ignorant selves.

17. http://youtu.be/oBFz423tAAw

fix dat.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

18. Here is the advertising scorecard for Saturday September 22, 2012 in Toronto.

Toronto Star Travel Section. Air Canada Vacations full page ad for 20 Caribbean and Mexico destinations, including in Antigua, Grenada, Nassau, Turks & Caicos and Curacao, Barbados 0.

Globe and Mail Travel Section. Westjet Vacations full page ad (back page) features Caribbean destinations, highlighting Nassau, Bahamas, Freeport , Grand Bahama Island, and Oho Rios/Runaway Bay, Jamaica. Barbados 0.

Globe & Mail Travel Section, half page Beaches ad, featuring Jamaica and Turks & Caicos

I see that Barbados Flying Fish logo so infrequently these days that I am beginning to think it has flown off to Trinidad or wherever the rest of the flying fish have gone.

In my original post, I mentioned a very positive article about The Crane in the Star a couple of months ago, This is link to that article http://www.thestar.com/travel/caribbean/article/1214795–trip-to-barbados-with-her-daughters-is-a-luxury-for-jeanne-beker

Barbados did though make it into a full page Southeby’s International Realty ad on the back page of the first section of the Globe and Mail. Included in the 36 properties advertised, about half of which are in international sun spots, is an ad for beachfront apartments, from $3,950,000 US, at PORTICO, BARBADOS, showing Richard Young as the contact at West Coast Villas. Interestingly Mr Young is not advertising the Pure Beach lifestyle and investment opportunity he talks about in the video posted above by David. The way Young describes this “opportunity” it sounds like a “time share” or “fractional ownership” scheme – or is that scam.

19. @Check-it out,

The BTA has a marketing strategy for major cities like Toronto. Maybe they read BU and will tell us what it is.

Leave a Reply to HantsCancel reply