Submitted by William Skinner
Governor Delisle Worrell (l) CJ Marston Gibson (r)

Anybody remotely acquainted with Dr. Delisle Worrell, the distinguished governor of our central bank, would not be surprised that he is now being judged on such unimportant matters as to how he dresses and what he parades in during the Festival of Flesh that was once Crop Over.

First, let me state without apology, that both Dr. Worrell and our new Chief Justice Mr. Marston Gibson, represent a breath of fresh air blowing through the corridors of snobbery and intellectual arrogance, that passes as brilliance in our country. It is obvious, that neither of these two obviously brilliant minds have caught the eye of those intellectual frauds that masquerade about here as if this country is their exclusive academic playground. Lord Nelson will turn into Bussa ,and vice versa, before the likes of an Owen Arthur or his willing side kick, Clyde Mascoll succeeds in turning Dr .Worrell into” an economist of Lilliputian status”. Anybody, who has taken five minutes to research Dr. Worrell’s work, will know that neither of these two gentlemen is held in the esteem that comes close to the good Governor’s standing in intellectual circles. It simply does not merit any serious discussion.

We have long held Bishops, Chief Justices and Governors of the central bank in such high regard, that we sometimes forget that they are accountable to the people. And that in the case of Governors of Central Banks and Chief Justices, we are the ones who pay them, and pay them very well, taking into consideration our meagre resources. The same can be said of Commissioners of Police and other powerful professionals. By all means we must respect the office but don’t allow them to believe and act as if they should not or cannot be touched.

We should therefore be more than relieved, that we finally have two extremely high profiled and scholarly professionals, being paid by the tax payers who are prepared to at least communicate with all and sundry and be human rather than portraying themselves as almost gods.

As for the old argument of whether we wear jacket and tie or Nehru, we ought to be frank and admit that we seem happier wearing jackets and other outfits in our very unwelcoming climate. We are yet to “free our minds” that we should dress as our climates demands.

Those who have known our distinguished governor can attest to the fact, that he has always enjoyed driving mini coopers. As Mr. Barrow once suggested: we have champagne taste and mauby pockets. At least the Governor cannot be accused of living above OUR means!

Chief Justice Gibson, who does not come from the bowels of the new elite black political managerial class, can expect some harsh and unwarranted criticism as he ploughs through the backlog of cases and generally poor management of our justice system administration that he has inherited. The knives will be drawn because these two distinguished and down to earth gentlemen are not out there mingling only with the so called new elite of our island state.

1. @ ac
    ha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. Barrack being handled too, the fishing agreement, the Eager 11, Alexandra, flooding, cost of living, duty free cars, FOI, Integrity legislation, cultural industries bill, agri land protection act, new QEH……………. You get my drift?

2. On the mention of the QEH, where is Minister Inniss? He came, he commented, and he …

3. @ enuff

if one folow the clico debacle one would understand the process that is taking place that would eventually led to where the policyholders would be compensated in one way or another, but for OSA to talk that drunken gibberish as if he talking to little children is ridiculous bordering on lunacy. the man has been a pM for 14years and there was not excuse for him to be so blatantly opportunistically political when it comes to dealing with a subject as sensitive as the policyholder. he ought to be more sensitive in his style and manner in addressing the issue instead of looking for votes his believability has reached a record low and his intent to misled and deceive was obvious in his comment.the fact is the national debt should have been foremost on his mind when he address the Clico issue and how it would impact the national debt from borrowing to pay the policyholders.

4. Owen is becoming an embarrassment to your party and Mia is laughing all the way to 2018.He made another slip of the tongue gaffe down in Deacons Road when he said that yah know we have to lay off some of those civil servants but he tried to recover by saying something to make people laugh.
    When Freundel hit he with those letters and files that he deny knowing about then Bajans would see that we do not need an arrogant(as describe by people working in Government Headquarters during his reign of terror)spiteful, dishonest Prime Minister again.
    Onions Freundel framed his arguments on HONESTY at the DLP conference and so you can believe that is the argument he would take to the Barbadian public when the bell is rung.

By the way David, Owen Arthur knew who the most money was going to if Barrack was paid and so did not pay. The law should be followed by the BLP and DLP but it was only the DLP who offered from reports in the press to pay in installments and he refused. He will have to wait or take the building which the government can give him now because the new building in Warrens is finish and ready for business.

That whole Barrack contract involving Glyne Clarke and George Payne should be investigated by a Private International security company.

Can you imagine a new government with Glyne Clarke, George Payne and Noel Lynch again? LORD HAVE MERCY ON US

5. @acClone
    I thought the two of you wanted to debate tonight with sense…..I was wrong.

David you are so right….”it is hard to get over dented PRIDE…”
    Time you two (above) come to accept it…..

6. enuff @ ac

@ ac
    ha haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. Barrack being handled too, the fishing agreement, the Eager 11, Alexandra, flooding, cost of living, duty free cars, FOI, Integrity legislation, cultural industries bill, agri land protection act, new QEH……………. You get my drift?

yeah you ar reall adrift.

in the mean time do your maths and tell me how many years AFFta had to correct them.then when you finish figure out how many years Stuart has to fix them/

7. @acClone
    I thought the two of you wanted to debate tonight with sense…..I was wrong.

@ onions

it is only when you can control the topic. not this time . you guys like to talk CLICO now talk yuh talk look that Affta made a fool of himself on this one wuh yuh think>

8. Freundel Stuart could frame he argument in a bowl of shite–we aint voting for he and the hapless DLP.

In 1999
    BLP = 28 SEATS
    DLP = 2 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 0 SEATS

NEXT ELECTION
    BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT = 1 SEAT

WUNNAH really think that we gwine vote for a LAZY Slothful Prime Minister who dont read reports or pay attention to current affairs

9. Just Asking
    When Barbadians wake up this morning and see the Dean’s speech in the Senate in today’s’ Nation newspaper.
    They will be just like the Dean be asking these questions
    What has the BLP done in four years to make us believe that they will not do what they did just four years ago?
    Will George Payne return to not speaking if he doesn’t get his favourite Ministry?
    What role will Mia play?
    Will she who is not worthy to be a leader in this country because of her lifestyle be elevated over the spiteful four?
    Just asking?

10. Man Clone
    What ails you lad? Like you went to sleep and had a dream…..curtains coming down..lol .What ya gone lambasting poor Just asking for ..when is me ya really want? You did mean Dean Harold?…(I ent see my paper yet) what he sayin?He shooting from d hip too? Well well signs are wonders… As my gran mudda usseded to say “If Hott would wait,he mout won’t get burnt”…ya rushin d brush man….tings gine pan out just fine , you just watch n see….

11. The Prime Minister on a recent radio program, is referred to as a CEO. What absolute foolishness. These shights that have been running these countries for years have been creating definitions on the fly to explain away their relevance. Who is the CEO of the Government, the PM or the Civil Service Chief …? (Ask Mr, Minister …) Either way they both are doing a shitty job at making money for Barbados preferring instead to tax the shite out of their own and service their egos in the process. CEO’s my ass …!

12. Onions wunna guys been bolting to the head of the line wid empty promises and plenty long talk now i see MIA was on a rampage teaching the crowd about TRUTH i hope AFFTA was listening cause he is a stranger to truth .

13. The reas why wunna mudd f…king arsssss is being tax is because in the good times wunna live high off the hog and nobody thiought about saving for hard times now the chickens have come home to roost and everybody crying foul. look the old fool AFFTA who help to create this economic dinousour still looking to pile on more debt of 100hundred million dollars not counting interset. and guess who gonna pay .YOU

14. Clone
    Can you imagine a new government with Glyne Clarke, George Payne and Noel Lynch and Owen Arthur again? LORD HAVE MERCY ON US

If this happens it will be the darkest nay the saddest day in Barbados post Independence. My family for the very first time will consider migrating.

15. Barry
    Start the process now….Immigration passports now done on line….I hear the prices gone up too….and no longer are they renewable…

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply