Submitted by Harry

I would like to pose the question to SIMPSON MOTORS [SHELL], MCENEARNEY, NISSAN and all car importers and the government of Barbados. Why are we not encouraging the importation of cars such as these?

Is it possibly because Simpson wants us to buy his cars to buy his fuel? No, not a man who owns his own church. In theory Simpson Motors while playing under the disguise of helping Barbadians to get cars with loans from the banks [thieves] and insurance [again thieves] because unless you actually have a accident which I have not had in over 20 years they are taking my money for nothing in return. And over pricing for his own profit and his kids of course. He has caused in theory the traffic on Barbados roads and the pollution of Barbados air.

Not so? Suzuki every where!

Never mind as long as he can buy his way into heaven it is OK. What he destroys in the name of BEING A MONEY MONGER. What deal do these dealers have with the government? Has anyone ever checked? Demonstrated in the video we can do the same thing here in Barbados. Possibly set up a couple of windmills in SIMPSONS’ front patio over looking the crane where the wind blows day and night.

Think about it.

1. wow,the video explains that there is less maintenance than a regular car.
    but some one comes up with maintenance would be a problem.
    may be it is just me that is the problem as i have said racial things before.
    electric bicycles electric scooters,electric cars,all cost less to use any where in the world especially in a place with lots of sun,where i live in Canada when i am there,has months without direct sunlight but solar panels are on street lights and parking meters,bus stops,even cars. and still work just from little UV they get.
    also did we not hear the part about/ the while breaking it charges the battery.

i see women in Canada riding electric scooters in the cold and rain to work every day.if a little old lady can do it !well i guess any one can.
    as i have already shown you can now buy solar panels at wall mart .
    i really don’t know what else to tell ya.
    try this—– the sun gives free power and also the wind gives free power.
    you guys figure it out. and why there is none here where the sun boils most days.
    Adrian, David / it is mind boggling, not so? see what i mean now about bajans.?
    oh by the way those stand on chariots the police ride around on the board walk and elsewhere are electric.!

2. croso –you get the power from the sun,and wind.and these cars take less maintenance than regular cars less moving parts you see.
    don’t understand comment about ;
    1) We have proven that we cannot and choose not to service current technology and implement simple processes for improvement

2) Mass electric motors are simply another way to utilize energy.
    i fixed your misspelling of utilize for you.
    you just don’t get it do you?
    any way it is out there .
    do nothing and perish,or move ahead with technology and improve your lives.
    your all decision.
    why do i feel like banging my head against the wall now.lol

3. @Harry,

Check the Oxford dictionary. North American bastardisations and ‘z’ ‘s do not cut it.

4. The simplicity of it all does not connect with the reality for one people are so attached to their cars and the abilty to move at faster pace that one would be hard press to see little johhny and mary giving up their auto mobile for a scooter. Sargeant is making salient points in addressing the overall cost in the long term and as much as man like to be greedy the poor little guy would always be suckered punch left holding the bag with all kind of outrageous charges

5. I know a very good, young Barbadian Renewable Energy Engineer with an interest in solar energy.

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Harry callihan | August 25, 2012 at 7:38 AM |

Harry the dirty callihan, no need to be pedantic between an “s” and a ‘z”.

Focus on the major issues. You have a solid argument to defend so stick to your ground and I will continue to support you in this cause. What you are proposing is the future of transport in Barbados.
    Never mind the naysers and doubting Thomases. Yet these same people with the typical Bajan attitude of “da can’t wuk bout hey” have said nothing against the government’s propaganda of greening policies and strategies to wean the country off fossil-based fuels. None of them, especially ac, has dared speak out about the energetic dichotomy flowing forth from the hypocritical tanks of both political parties.
    So because we have incompetents currently running things both at the operational and administrative level we should not embrace new technologies. Why not get rid of the incompetents and fix the road infrastructure instead of bashing the technology of the future ad nauseam, ad absurdum?
    These luddites would even oppose and find reasons why a very interesting proposal that was already put to the government but resuscitated on this blog by Beverly Yearwood | August 24, 2012 at 3:24 PM cannot be implemented or is workable.| “Suggestion that almost nobody in Bim will ever take seriously: the Bermuda approach. Maximum one car per household, no exceptions. Get a scooter. And enforce the law.”

What do you guys want? To complain ad nauseam and when alternatives are put on the table shoot them down like sitting ducks? Suppose Henry Ford had given into his critics, would we have a mass land transport system today or would we still have jackass carts and, in the Colonel’s case, horse and buggy? What about solar technology? Would we have solar water heaters in light of the initial opposition?
    “Those who dare, win”! Nothing ventured, nothing gain!
    Technology is the only means by which man’s existence becomes bearable and convenient enough for him to artistically think of a future. Adapt or perish. And as sure as night follows day, man will perish unless he stops overfilling the carbon sinks. Man has put more carbon in the atmosphere in the last 200 years than Nature took millions of years to remove to accommodate mankind’s short existence on this planet.
    Think on these things before dishing dirty harry’s suggestions!

7. @enuff

Good stuff!

The reality as others have opined above is that small open economies with exclusive reliance on fossil fuel CANNOT wait for the industry to settle on standards etc. We have shown in the past that we can lead e.g. solar power, electoral system, sugar cane development etc. We can use the UWI to establish a Caribbean Standard and pool resources to satisfy our market, let others follow for chrissakes.

8. This ain’t NO joke, everyone is reading this number One NY Times best seller!

What are “The Harbinger” and “The Isaiah 9:10 Judgment” all about? They are about the revealing of an ancient mystery that goes back 2,700 years and that lies behind everything from 9/11 to the collapse of the American economy. The mystery is so specific that it reveals things such as the exact dates of the greatest economic collapses in American history (from 3,000-year-old scriptures) and the actions and words of American leaders before they do or say them. The book and documentary represent an urgent alarm and wake-up call to America – a warning of judgment that most are calling “amazing” or “stunning.”

What are the “Nine Harbingers”? In the last days of ancient Israel, before its judgment and destruction as a nation, nine harbingers of judgment, nine prophetic signs identifying a nation in danger of destruction, appeared in the land – each one, a warning of things to come. Those same nine harbingers are now reappearing on American soil – some involving the highest leaders of the land – even the president of the United States.

See the full article by Joseph Farah
    http://www.wnd.com

9. Man dissing what technology everybody loves the fact that the can get on an airplane and fly across the atlantic in record time. everybody loves the fact that they can pick uop a telephione and call old uncle jeff or auntie lousie great stuff and benefits but what some of us are talking about is cost until a drastic reduction in the overall cost is found to implement all of what harry is talking about we will be four steps forward and six steps backward cost and implementation is a driver behind technology

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 25, 2012 at 11:33 AM |
    “but what some of us are talking about is cost until a drastic reduction in the overall cost is found to implement all of what harry is talking about we will be four steps forward and six steps backward cost and implementation is a driver behind technology”

You have just been hung by your own petard and sown the very seeds to destroy your own argument.
    Every new technology is always faced with initial high costs. It is by buying into and widening its usage that unit costs of production and distribution are reduced over time.
    Ac, do you remember when the PC first came on the market? What is the cost of a PC today?

Reinvent the wheel and come again with you totally poor appreciation manufacturing economics and marketing of technologically new or innovative products.

11. PC good point. however miller when one considers the cost to drive on the internet highway it is not cheap in addition some households only availabilty to the use of cable tv is only by having thePC and for most it is/an astronomical cost which can ran a monthly bill of abou two hundred dollars monthly. remember all of your arguments have been used to promote the cost factor as relatively cheap but that is niot true .technology good but not cheap i prefer to have it but the question can we all afford it

12. @miller”These luddites would even oppose and find reasons why a very interesting proposal that was already put to the government but resuscitated on this blog by Beverly Yearwood | August 24, 2012 at 3:24 PM cannot be implemented or is workable.| “Suggestion that almost nobody in Bim will ever take seriously: the Bermuda approach. Maximum one car per household, no exceptions. Get a scooter. And enforce the law.”

What do you guys want? To complain ad nauseam and when alternatives are put on the table shoot them down like sitting ducks

—————————————–

Good lord. Yuh cyan read man? THE POINT IS one cannot talk about such things when the underlying infrastructure is not in place.

Specifically, as an example, your Bermuda approahc, how can that work when man and wife work and the transport system ispissily inefficient, when both may have travelling jobs, when no one in their right minds in bim would drivea motor scooter, knowing they will likely be waiting to get killed, that is not hearsay, fact. Only today a transport board bus pass me like a freight train on a narrow road.

IF you can get the ‘culture’ and implement strict changes in transport, THEN AND ONLY THEN, can you implement cost reduced and efficient methods.

THAT is what I said above re smaller cars, etc etc.

But until you get infrastructure changes and cultural changes in place IN REALITY, you are wasting time’

Next point, the electrical car is still in infancy AND a long way from competing monetarily with the petrol and diesel engine.

You all talk about cost this and cost that, but the whole issue in term sof cost, is that the average man cannot and could not afford it.

Even in the US and Canada, petrol and gas still rule.

Why yuh tink?

You all are talking bilge.

Sure, nothing wrong with UWI et al takling a leading rein, but that is in research and devlopment, far from implementaiton, which is currently , under current AND MEDIUM FUTURE scenarios, impractical and unworkable.

So, call people names and pigeon hole, but do not, do not, put in place ioiotic mechanisms (such as that garage road worthy certificaiton) that put the average man at disadvantage.)

At the end of the day, the average man dont care about the environment.

He cares about bread and butter on the table.

But you want environment and cheap? Horse and cart, cheap, environment friendly.

But wunnuh transport board buses would run them all down, passing at 60 mph and cutting.

Learn to balance ideas between theoretical, practical and the unlikely.

And understand the issue, before ranting about ‘bajans doan want tuh change’.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Crusoe | August 25, 2012 at 6:28 PM |
    “But until you get infrastructure changes and cultural changes in place IN REALITY, you are wasting time’ ”

What you have said in your post speaks volumes about the national psyche of Bajans.
    Here we have a society that boasts so much about its exceedingly high rate or deep penetration of free education even up tertiary level yet something as important to our socio-economic survival is deemed too much of a challenge to even consider far less meet. What is the purpose of education? Why are we spending so many billions of dollars in education? To boast about our fast falling ratings on the Human Development Index (HDI) and our imaginary “developed country” status?

So what do we do, Crusoe? Be realistic like Man Friday and throw our hands in the air and wait for the culture to change and the infrastructure put in place by some unseen hands? Or should we be bold enough with some so called creative imagination and demonstrate to the world that “size does not matter” while extracting some returns or dividends from that exceedingly large investment in education, especially on the Hill?
    Unless we seriously embark on a road of changing the way we do business in this country our standard of living and quality of life would come under tremendous attacks. Many of which would be self-inflicted. Many others, however, would be imposed upon us from outside like the buffeting we are presently and will continue to experience from the international economic adjustments taking place. We either adapt or perish. Waiting for something to change on its own will see us slipping further down the economic slope and the HDI.
    The longest journey begins with the first step. Or more precisely: “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”. – Lao-tzu.
    What are we waiting for? For the Chinese to lead us by exporting alternative energy solutions to our culturally unprepared financially challenged island with its crumbling infrastructure?

14. yu see miller no body talking about not making a change for the better but once you start there is no turning back and one must also look at the benefits vs the risk.the fact is that corporation has sold the consumer a lot of feel good hype to buy a product the consumer shakes their hear in agreement signs the dotted line only to find out that the product was not all it was hyped up to be. the problem is not technology but those who controls it

15. @Crusoe

Research will tell you that the two things against electric cars is the cost compared to conventional vehicles because of the batteries. The cost of the battery for electric cars will come down with mass production. The other is the infrastructure issue i.e. being able to ‘gas’ up on demand. These are issues a creative people can confront. It must be said however that BU’s own preference is the Hybrid model. Miller has made the good point that as a country we can create power sources fueled from alternative sources of energy. Barbados has a solid reputation in the field of solar energy now is the opportunity to take it to the next level. Stop saying can’t.

16. Research will tell you that the two things against electric cars is the cost compared to conventional vehicles because of the batteries. The cost of the battery for electric cars will come down with mass production.

research also shows that as technology improves cost escalates the consumer prefers better over outdated models and in the process the outdated product becomes obselete which means the consumer is forced to do away with old and buy the newer and improved product at higher cost .the same with the battery.

17. This is a challenge for Barbados which can be viewed from so many angles. Why not zero rate Hybrids for 1-2 years to allow the market to respond? In the same way many in the market buy gas guzzlers others may want to buy Hybrids to show commitment to greening etc. If the government is serious about the environment it should do all it can to permit consumers to access products which will help. It would also assist in growing knowledge capital about a different kind of product. Other Caribbean islands are already selling Hybrids by the way.

18. that video above is old and probably made by the oil producers did you not hear the man say the battery was warrantied for over 100,000 kl in the origional video
    hybrid is not pure electric either by the way.
    some of you people who have never lived abroad for any length of time[5 years min] have no clue of what you speak.
    this i believe is the whole problem with barbados,backwards,ignorant.
    you can get solar panels and wind mills online now to recharge these cars.at your home.
    wunna living the dark[pun]ages..lol
    i give to funk up.you can lead a jack ass to water but you can not make it drink!!!!!!!!!!and by the way leaps and bounds have been made with electric cars it is just you don’t know about it.wow

19. cruso you do work for Simpson don’t you? or you are good at writing a lot of long talk witch amounts to nonsense.
    OK lets wait another 10 years so we can be really far behind and still paying too much for electricity and gas..sit and drink you rum.lol

20. our current set of cars are polluting our air, thats why we have such high chonic diseases in barbados, too many old cars on the road because of too much duty on new cars. Newer cars have better emissions and have to meet certain emission standards to keep pollution down.

Besides if they lowered duty to like 50-60 percent more people would buy from dealers and government would make more revenue. as it is most people buy second hand, so the government only gets one set of revenue (duty) per car.

21. @Das Boot: “our current set of cars are polluting our air, thats why we have such high chonic diseases in barbados.

Could you please support that claim with evidence?

22. thank you ,it was my idea.i am indeed a forward thinking man.
    now if i just had the money to set the thing up before some one takes my idea and steals it.

23. wait or has that already happened?do i get any credit,what do i get.
    the rich get richer and you know —————–

24. http://news.barbadostoday.bb/2012/09/15/switch/
    dem steal my idea.of course.

25. STOP WAITING ON SIMPSON MOTORS AND THE OTHER CAR DEALERS . CONSUMERS CAN GO ONLINE AND START IMPORTING ELECTRIC CARS . ELECTRIC CAR ARE MORE ECONOMICAL TO OPERATE . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zq8VMB3n1-4

26. ELECTRIC TRUCKS :

http://youtu.be/iLkmfkSy1G8?t=35s

27. REDUCED TRANSPORTATION COST

28. com/watch?v=TfMCUj00ytQ

29. As these babies swallow more than the usual amount of air, they need to be frequently burped and thus prevent the discomforts as well as
    regurgitation which would be dangerous in such babies.
    The Rhinoplasty Surgeon makes incisions on either side of the
    nose or across the septum that divides the nose. In other cases, nose jobs
    are conducted just for visual factors.

Leave a Reply to Harry callihanCancel reply