Name withheld name on the request of the author
A fictional work made famous by Nathaniel Hawthorne

…attend to the beam in thy own eye first, before ye judge.. Mathews 7:3

The Scarlet Letter is an 1850 romantic work of fiction in a historical setting, written by Nathaniel Hawthorne. It is considered to be his greatest work set in 17th-century Puritan Salem, Massachusetts during the years 1642 to 1649, it tells the story of Hester Prynne, who conceives a daughter through an adulterous affair and struggles to create a new life of repentance and dignity. Throughout the book, Hawthorne explores themes of legalism, sin, and guilt.

Hester Prynne, has been led from the town prison with her infant daughter in her arms, and on the breast of her gown “a rag of scarlet cloth” that “assumed the shape of a letter.” It is the uppercase letter “A.” The Scarlet Letter “A” represents the act of infelicity that she has committed and it is to be a symbol of her sin—a badge of shame—for all to see. A man, who is elderly and a stranger to the town, enters the crowd and asks another onlooker what’s happening. The second man responds by explaining that Hester is being punished for her sin.

Two  political parties are about to square off  tooth and nail. Both carry the badge a  letter “A” consoled within their name. Could this be a cloning of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s  magnum opus or just too big a shame to look the other way? Only elections will tell.

1. Mulling over how the author made the leap…lol.

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Quite deep, this espousal and commentary which speaks to the ubiquitous “six of one and half dozen of the other” that runs rampant around the Barbados landscape, masquerading under BLP/DLP shenanigans.

i will suggest this that will be lost on the teeming masses who like blind sheep either support the one or the other and will refuse to accept that both of them (composed from all of us) are carriers of that infamous “A”

The Christ is purported to have written the names of the men that the whore caught in adultery had slept with, the names of her accusers and then He asks them “let him who is without sin cast the first stone’ and all of them disperse.

We Bajans are practicing this whoremongering so adeptly that the “A” has been fashioned into whatever flavour of popular letter or letters gets us into the club, the job, the minister’s graces, the boardroom, the political party, any crest that get us accepted into the “holy grail” fold

Watch closely for the salvo that your Hester Prynne allegory is going to elicit

I guarantee that this blog item will undoubtedly fall squarely back into provoking the die hard supporters of the political parties jumping into the fray to use this article and pledge their undying support and commitment to “going wid Owen” or “making dollars from a penny, we want Freundy the Friendly”

3. @piece uh de rock yeah right

Ask Peter Wichkam, 40+40+I=100

I = Independents or Don’t give a damn

4. Anoijah
    Has written a very apt calypso this year..”something left in the bottle baby”.ALWAYS HOPE…
    Has there every been a government that is without sin? No But the stench rises when you have a fella who boast. I WILL NOT LIE CHEAT OR STEAL…..and the enormity of the amount.Not to forget the broke pensioners, then a recent development of a Report being missing or stolen…..ridiculous.

5. Frustrated businessman Avatar
    Frustrated businessman

Piece’s comments have been heard before; but what is the alternative? When I suggest that we haven’t even started to solve the symptoms yet, far less the problems I get looks of puzzlement. The Westminster system of government was created in a time when Feudal Lords depended on the monarchy for their wealth while supporting said monarch militarily to protect his/her ability to confer said wealth. The Magna Carta may have spelled out and barely guaranteed the rights of said Lords and Cromwell may have bent the power for a time and much more recently toward the (elected) House of Commons but only a fool would argue the system is anything but archaic. But how is this relevant to our ‘problem’? BY ELECTING REPRESENTATIVES TO MAKE UP GOVERNMENTS WE ARE CONDEMNED TO FITTING ROUND PEGS IN SQUARE HOLES! I firmly believe we should abolish Parliament (the only honest man to ever enter parliament was Guy Fawkes) and elect a President. Not a sham president like the other ‘republics’ in the Caribbean that maintain their House of Assemblies but a president who is all-powerful and who understands his success and re-election depends on him hiring ‘ministers’ who are actually qualified to do the job. Only then will we have a chance of minimising the political BS and get on with the job of running this tiny little country like the business it has to be. If there is a man alive in this country who does not yet understand the uselessness of appointing lawyers to manage our affairs he deserves to lose his vote.

6. Hester Prynne-Alleyne Avatar
    Hester Prynne-Alleyne

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right | August 22, 2012 at 9:03 PM:

“Quite deep, this espousal and commentary which speaks …”

Not deep at all. Cut and pasted directly from Wikipedia without attribution. Plagiarism, the real scarlet letter of the truly dull mind.

7. Hester
    ……….why don’t you look up the meaning of a preamble.While you at it consider the last paragraph.It is meant draw a parallel to stimulate thought and not condemnation.

8. Hester Prynne-Alleyne Avatar
    Hester Prynne-Alleyne

@Anon.author, August 23, 2012 at 5:27 PM

So you cut and paste 181 words from Wikipedia, without attribution, and then add 47 words at the end (some of which are from the Wikipedia item in any case), and call the 181 words a “preamble”?

You’re really a scholar.

Cite your sources, chum. Otherwise you look like a dick.

9. …..too much hate,is why there was this situation in the first place.Some could not wait to jump on Hester Prynne. It shows what existed in Salem in 1850 is present and flourishing toady. Sometimes we are too quick to judge and criticize, without giving fair thought.Thanks for contributing Hester-A.

10. Hester Prynne-Alleyne Avatar
    Hester Prynne-Alleyne

Anon.author | August 23, 2012 at 6:04 PM:

“It shows what existed in Salem in 1850 is present and flourishing toady”.

No, no, no, Anon. It doesn’t.

See, this is why it’s better to read actual books than to read bad summaries of them on Wikipedia. This is why it’s better not to be stupid than to be stupid. The book was published in 1850. It imagines events that took place almost exactly two hundred years earlier. Hester’s story is set in the mid 1600s. It has NOTHING to say about “what existed in Salem in 1850”.

Thanks for trying, though. Next!

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hester Prynne-Alleyne | August 23, 2012 at 6:50 PM |

So, Hester-Prynne Reincarnate, please let us- the non-literati- know what is the moral message in this piece of literature. What is Nat Hawthorne really trying to tell us?

We know that “Anon.author” might be two centuries or so off target with his timeline but it still does not relieve his incisive remark of its relevance to modern times especially in Barbados. Maybe the curse of Tituba still lives on both in Danvers (erstwhile Salem) and in Bim. If you can follow the scholarly drift on which you are being taken.

Let us hear your views on this tale of honesty and integrity all in one! Just remember, though,
    “a (Ǻ) pure hand needs no glove to cover it.” No need to cite the source. You are already quite familiar with the letters Ⱥ ♀ ♂ even if superficially aware of the moral intent of the red letter. Maybe Aesop’s fables would be less of a struggle.

12. Running Dear quick, call Soaring Eagle, tell her bring War drums and signal fire,…….annuda “Father of Battles” possibly brewing on the plains of the Nationville.

13. Too many pale face in Reservation.

14. Observing (...) Avatar

A is A no matter where it lies. It’s our choice to look for other letters. Will we?
    Quite surgical there with the Aesop fables comment miller. lol.

15. All this high talk loss me……letters? Wha gine on ?

16. How you does print them letters on this blog anyway….????

17. 좋은 수석 헐벗은 씨알도 안 먹힐 소리입니다……..

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@millertheanunnaki

“Let us kill kill the messenger, for indeed we cannot get at the king who sent him”

What the Hester Prynne Alleyne person is practicing here is consistent with, nay even the very personification of the modus of engagement of Bajans in particular, “since we cannot contend with the logic of what is being said, let us assail their character,and in so doing dilute the message of the writer”

Let us bring front and centre this insignificant issue, the writer’s lack of observance of referencing his source and in so doing kill the message.

Undoubtedly i too shall be accused of this sin for in my quotation above they shall say that “it is not authentic…”, this thing that comes from the spelean caves of your humble servant’s head, are in fact “a plagiarism from KJV” and speak to de Rock’s “precis of the plot of the Pharisees and the ultimate crucifixion of Jesus the Christ! and in fact i got that from the Merriam’s Dictionary or some other source.

Lord forbid that It be attributed to that Assassin of the English Language, the venerable Minister of Education of Barbados, a man who cannot tie to sentences together if that allowed him to keep his seat during the next general election.

There is a picture called Anonymous which posits the theory that it was in fact Edward De Vere, Earl of Oxford who penned Shakespeare’s plays; notwithstanding this possibility of theft of literary materials, does this make any less impactful the content of these timeless folios?

@frustrated businessman. Barbados will not revamp the political system during our lifetime and what you have floated, while a viable alternative will take 50 years at least to craft and another 50 for us slow poke Bajans to implement. Maybe the “Recall Option” for inept politicians (and they are many of them) might be easier to append to our current system? Do you thing Patrick Todd or Ronald Jones would be best suited to propose this for consideration BEFORE they both loose their seats?

@ Sleeper

This is not directed at you specifically but rather an observation to (BU) bloggers who enter a room and not having a clue on what is going on, are inveigled by the pixels on their screens, and the fact that eveybody writing sumting and dey gots to do sumting and dat cause dem to pounce pun de keyboard en write

Try to control this guna sparsa and move on to someplace else where your contribution will be more appropriate, someplace where your pissing in the sea will have more weight. Your contribution reminds me of those people who went to Sam Lords Castle and defaced the beautiful cacti close to the beach by chiseling out their names in these beautiful plants and saying “** & ** were here”

19. @ Pieca Rock
    This is not directed at you specifically but rather an observation to (BU) bloggers who enter a room and not having a clue on what is going on, are inveigled by the pixels on their screens, and the fact that eveybody writing sumting and dey gots to do sumting and dat cause dem to pounce pun de keyboard en write
    Since when you beCum Saddam of the blog? Is doggie dumplin like what you spewing that find breeding grounds for cloned rectum meningitis like yourself. I like the author have equal license to engage in idyll you meretricious practitioner.

20. …..translated….AHole….

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

it is a beautiful word, an adjective rarely used, and one which CANNOT BE juxtaposed against the noun practitioner but maybe, having grafted it from some online thesaurus that would be lost on you and your acolyte Sitting Bull(shit) LOL.

22. Huh!!!!!!!!!!

23. @Pieca Rock
    Go away thou self serving proctologist, yours is a problem of meritocracy by sadly handed a diplodocus,…the resulting acrimony…..pass on like the misnomer you are..

24. Sittin Bull no pale faced laureate …..but knows an idiot when he hears one……Go F Ur Shelf……nu nu bison.

25. Hey nu nu
    one which CANNOT BE juxtaposed against the noun practitioner
    You don’t get tired of spewing shoite…..you never hear about Dr Jekyll ?

26. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Understand this, because you both are close to the king, you believe that this gives you both unlimited license to shout from the nebulous shadows seeing all but being seen (you hope) by none but soft awhile .. and note this

“I have spread my dreams under your feet; tread softly because you tread on my dreams … you run too close to the edge of the envelope and any further into what is supposedly safeguarded and you will cause “this great hope” to implode…

** put a leash on the dogs. or the Jekyll will

27. ….a real rabbit

28. ..and to you yours
    The devil a puritan that he is, or anything
    constantly but a time-pleaser; an affectioned ass,
    that cons state without book and utters it by great
    swarths; the best persuaded of him, so
    crammed, as he thinks, with excellencies that it is
    his grounds of faith that all that look on him love
    him;
    Twelfth Night…..site

29. @islandgal

If you were inclined to embrace the good book living the adage ‘overcoming evil with good’ would be real…lol.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right | August 24, 2012 at 3:43 PM |
    ” ** put a leash on the dogs. or the Jekyll will ”

Who unleashed the dog in the first place? Was it Mr. Hyde? Did he manage to tame the hound of the Baskervilles?
    Tell us something, Piece Uh De Rock, what is your take on that book by L R Stevenson?
    You think there is such a personality with a bifurcated outlook not knowing his Dr. Jekyll’s elbow from his mad alter ego Mr. Hyde’s arse in charge of things in Bim? It seems as if we are neither coming nor going at times? What a split personality of schizophrenic proportion we have to endure?

31. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@sleeper Oh we are having such fun now….

animus latin for spirit is the word from which animate comes. meretricious is an adjective which because of its definition can only have an inanimate object and cannot have an animate noun. Your side kick like Batman and Robin, Bud and Lou or since we are recently waxing biblical, ox and ass seems to know you outside of these cyberspace walls and has understandably pledged his allegiance to your flag.

@millertheanunnaki

Lycantropic schizophrenia has long intrigued mankind and since Vlad the Impaler and other more colourful characters like Count Dracula, have long bespeckled the history of man.

I am a *** a senior *** and as such fokelore like Hyde is of interest not from its literary content/genre but moreso from its criminal content and the time of its issuance in 1866.

You may have noted that Stevenson would have written of Jekyll and Hyde at around the same time of Jack the Ripper and I would suggest that, being a man who was quite close to the gentile and bourgeoisie of his time, that he too was privy to the identity of Jack the Ripper and wrote this tale which would have been quite popular among Brits at the time.

I am sure that persons like Lone Ranger and others who seem skilled in crafting and interweaving code around Bajan personages might, in closer literary forensics of the Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, apply these premier skills and glean the true name/identity of the infamous Jack the Ripper whom all Britishers both then and now, inclusive of the illustrious Scotland Yard, dared not utter/reveal.

I therefore oh millertheanunnaki would say that i do not think that this book is anything but a craftily written allegory that they of the “inner circle”, they of “the Third Degree” can truly discern.

Unfortunately, I am not a man who has travelled much and cannot contemplate these deeper things that those of you who have travelled from meridian west to east can so easily absorb, bereft as i am of these skills

32. Ole indian saying, “Wounded raven hops to find comfort in any idle clover.”
    Pity the emotions evoked by this cobble and mud slung all about. Real nasty openers, one so oft wonder why, similarly the cavalcade Custer, showing at lil Big Horn…to dominate but for a while.. but til day endth..
    It is what it is…

33. AND why would I be interested in this again ??

JUST ASKING

34. Sha'Wanta Dimmesdale-Grant Avatar
    Sha’Wanta Dimmesdale-Grant

millertheanunnaki has something to say on August 23, 2012 at 8:03 PM

Here it is: “So, Hester-Prynne Reincarnate, please let us- the non-literati- know what is the moral message in this piece of literature. What is Nat Hawthorne really trying to tell us?”

Ah, K., surely we’ve been through this before, even when you were paying someone to edit your words. Doubtless it’s sad, for you at least, that your emergent career in bad journalism ended so abruptly. But now you can rest, you can relax, you can surely take peace, in the certain knowledge that your writing and your thinking will always be well below average. That must bring some kind of, er, “closure”. Doesn’t it, K., er “millly”?

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sha’Wanta Dimmesdale-Grant | August 31, 2012 at 7:17 PM

I am right next to you relaxing on a tropical beach with rum punch to boot and reading an updated version of “Animal Farm”, right Major wild boar? Or was it Squealer? Or even Napoleon? Can’t remember to clearly in my drunken stupor. Yes I now remember: “All animals are equal but Some are more equal than others”. But of course that does not include you since you are the lowest of the lowest called a pest. Now buzz off before I flick you with flea repellant.

36. Sha’Wanta Dimmesdale-Grant
    (if you are the persona)
    Last time I saw you you were smoking weed, now like you on cocaine.Two Scarlet letters….WC…what next….?

37. Seems like the scarlet letters are back……

38. …attend to the beam in thy own eye first, before ye judge.. Mathews 7:3

39. What is this? Can it really be.?

40. How history repeats itself.

Leave a Reply to I am SamCancel reply