Consumers International (CI)

Consumers International (CI) in collaboration with Barbados Association of Non Governmental Organizations (BANGO) is working to complete the final draft of the Banking Code of Conduct for Barbados.  The project is being funded by the Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) in Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago and Jamaica. The objective of the exercise is to establish minimum voluntary standards of conduct for financial institutions.

The document is currently being widely circulated to garner feedback from the general public. BU encourages the family to jump on the bandwagon.

15 responses to “Feedback Invited On Draft Banking Code Of Conduct”

1. If the code of conduct guarantees basic timely service I’m all for it. The Banks in Canada have an Ombudsman who was responsible for resolving disputes which were unresolved at the Department level. Failing this the customer had the option of going to a Federal Ombudsman who would have final say in any dispute.

RBC the country’s largest Bank opted out of the Federal program three years ago and recently TD followed suit. RBC hired its own Independent firm to handle these disputes which has made many consumer advocates unhappy. There are three Canadian Banks with operations in Barbados, so far RBC is the only one that has opted out wonder if the others will follow.
    Will RBC be amenable to any dispute resolution arising from the Code? Here is a client’s recent experience

http://www.moneyville.ca/article/1241845–rbc-offers-45-000-for-mistake-if-client-leaves-in-31-days-roseman

2. “to establish minimum voluntary standards” … “minimum VOLUNTARY standards” .. Oh shite, don’ mek me laff … And this is what the IADB could find money to support …? You see what I mean when I say that there is NO such things as “scarce” funds. I could tell you of at least ten other people who could put that money towards “true” productive use for which there is a chance, A CHANCE of some return, people who have no other option but to deal with the likes of the Enterprise Growth F#cks and the Fund Ass people

3. LOLOL @ BAFBFP
    Those small business loans people REALLY have you ticked off…!
    …how much you looking to borrow…?

4. 100,000 BDS … You game Bushman …?

5. Petty cash?
    …call Bushie in the morning….

6. LOL … Let me get some funds to pay mah phone bill first … HA HA HA MURDA!

7. You sound like a serious loan risk. Yuh… You sound like you hand to mouth.. Next thing Bushie can’t find you after the first repayment date pass….

…besides you like to cuss too many people.

You don’t know that success in business in Barbados is about having no principles? ..that way you can belong to both parties, nuff churches, ’bout 3 Lodges, and laugh in everybody face and agree with whatever they say.

You like you got this foolish idea that just because you have a good idea and prepared to work hard that you will succeed… LOL. Funny!!

Skipper why you don’t just go and get a l’il government pick and take it easy? ….like Onions…

What entrepreneur what?!?

8. Bush Tea

That is the most sense you mek in years … HA HA. But lemme tell ya man you got anything by way of assisting me with some genetic reprogramming ..? Ha HA

9. Police making laws for police…..sounding familiar?

10. watch and learn how fuc-ked we are .
    http://youtu.be/3X4hwQzTTL4

11. what loan. i hate that word “loan” when indeed people are being sold money at ridiculous high interest. a sign should be posted in every financial institue stating”BUYER BEWARE”

12. Harry

You racist son of a bitch, I always sensed that we were on the same side. Ya White shite, but I likes yah all the same … HA HA HA. Keep talking bro’

13. […] the authorities in Barbados have come up with a wonderful idea of a voluntary code – see Feedback Invited On Draft Banking Code Of Conduct. It is interesting that many of the features of this draft code are similar to those of the now […]

14. Best Free Dating Sites: http://tantslougnierough.cf/kx1gk?&sjjle=fsmxH

Leave a Reply to BAFBFPCancel reply