The sights and sound…yes the pic is meant to arouse sensibilities on a Sunday morning

Barbados, like all of the other States in the Caribbean region has committed itself to protecting the rights of children through ratification of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (C.R.C.). Integral to this collection of rights are those geared at the protection of children who are abused, neglected or at risk of harm.

CHILD PROTECTION IN BARBADOS

The story which continues to incense sensible Barbadians of a child being abused by two adults on Kadooment Day is rapidly reaching the end of the seven day period for top billing. Director of the Child Care Board (CCB) Joan Crawford, goaded by the public outcry, is quoted in the media that the widely circulated picture will be forwarded to the Police for investigation. Implied in the action by the CCB is that there is enough evidence to support a case of child abuse.

It was interesting to listen to Joan Crawford explaining that the picture does not expose the faces of the adults in the picture therefore it will be difficult to locate the individuals. Her apologetic observation begs the question, is Miss Crawford a member of the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF)? She is obligated to report the matter and let the RBPF used its sleuthing skills to locate the individuals.

This is an opportunity for the government agencies responsible for guarding public morals to step up.  BU holds the view that even if the culprits in the picture escape having to answer a charge in Court, a message would have been sent to others. It is not business as usual, the public, many of us anyway, will NOT tolerate this nonsense any longer. Hopefully the public consternation being shown will resonate with parents who have the important job of raising children.

Part of the problem is that stakeholders in the Crop Over Festival need to agree to a Code of Conduct. It was interesting to listen to Gwyneth Squires and Chetwyn Stuart being questioned in the media about the incident. Gwyneth was horrified and scathing in her condemnation of the adults for including a child in their lewd exhibition. Chetwyn Stuart was more accommodating by suggesting that  bad situations will occur and we have to continue to educate the people. His a wishy washy response if ever there was one. We have Gwyneth who continues to build cultural themes into her designs and then there is Stuart who is into beads and feathers and making money. It explains what is wrong.

What made Barbados different a few years ago was the length we were prepared to protect our society. Look out for children by imparting wisdom driven by a value system which defined what was decent and what was vulgar. We live in a society where any behaviour can be rationalized in the name of the right to personal freedom.

75 responses to “We Have To Protect Our Children”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | August 17, 2012 at 2:50 PM |
    “Who is asking for another law? The outcry is to find the culprits (adults) and prosecute them.”

More like “Persecute” them!
    It’s unfortunate but the Law is not on the side of the pressured CCB or the Police in this case. The legal system in Bim is not yet that sophisticated as to accept that kind of ‘photographic evidence’ in the courts to convict persons. No private parts are exposed and there is no continuous activity to paint a picture or draw an incontrovertible conclusion of real or simulated sexual activity or intended sexual activity.
    Our law enforcement and legal systems still operate in the days of Robert Peel without even a modern day maverick Lord Denning to make common sense rulings.

The most that can be expected is a naming (identifying) and shaming of the two adults involved in this photo of public humiliation of a little boy. Maybe the CCB can discipline the parents or guardian of the child. And a visit and arrest by the police of the two adults can bring some sort of social censure and ostracism with its consequent rumour spreading would send a strong message without the punishment of any trump up charges that can’t stand up to legal scrutiny or chances of success in a criminal court.

When are we going to see the CJ after a year of meeting, greeting, and public socializing starting to clean up the judicial system and make publicly aired recommendations for the modernization of the Evidence Act to reflect the technology of the times?

If a video of a driver breaking the traffic lights (with the car’s registration clearly obvious)is recorded and sent to police can it be used to prosecute the owner in a court of law in Barbados today?

2. @miller

If the police practice sleuthing 101 many witnesses can be found.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | August 17, 2012 at 6:02 PM |

You are joking, right?
    Those spectators in the photo were laughing their heads off. Do you expect them to be concerned about the “immorality” and disgust projected in that child exploitation photo? The police would have to “bribe” them to do their civic duty in the same way politicians have to buy their votes to participate in a process which our fore parents lost their lives in a futile fight to participate in.

4. david @ ac
    Who is asking for another law? The outcry is to find the culprits (adults) and prosecute them.

and david what would be the charges?

5. @ac

Good question, let us see what the police turns up in their investigation.

6. contributing to the delinquency of a minor.

7. what investigation . How is there going to be a investigation if there is no law that subjects a person to what is being perceived as a criminal act by way of dancing also known as wuking up. Now first there must be a definition and laws that prohibits such dancing. it really behooves me how a society for all the wrong reasons might be digging a hole which maybe impossible for them to dig themselves out of under the umbrella of dancing which for some translates to immoral or deviant behaviour and the socalled reflection on society and its negative effects on children in general..

8. @ac

The Child Care Board has turned the matter over to the police. It is up to the police to determine if a law was broken. The the file will be handed over. Don’t rush the brush.

9. hants ; Can you be more specific. i meaning peeing on the sidewalk in an emergency with my kid at my side can constitute” contributing to the delinquency of a minor. What one must recognize that laws are or should be written not for some but for all and the intent should not be that of one having to look over their shoulder at every beck and call. within the law there should be a sense of freedom that everything a person does is not wrong and the govt is not always watching and waiting to prosecute , when we start nick picking what is moral and best we start going into all kinds of loops that what might have started out with a good intent which eventually stifles or rights and invades or privacy . just take a deep breath nothing borne out of emotional thought should take full flight,

10. David | August 17, 2012 at 6:02 PM |
    @miller

If the police practice sleuthing 101 many witnesses can be found.
    I am sure that many cameras and phones were clicking away at this bit of action. Given time, many more photos, some of them more detailed, will surface on the net. Ya can’t hide and wuk land in Barbados,neither can you hide after Wukking up pon a child.

11. Given the amount of publicity and attention this pictured has gotten. “if” this is a dance troupe the possible monetary advantage to them would have all be worthwhile as it was for the newspaper which published the picture

12. All of you who in favour of the ACT need to be tied to Nelson statue and get a good dose of Cat O Nine…All O Wunna Mental and need to get waken up.

13. Charles Knighton Avatar
    Charles Knighton

At a camp closing last year, those in authority deemed it proper for a nine-year- old girl to perform Rhianna’s “Man Down”. This year, (Nation page 9 August 18th) another camp’s leadership closed with a street jump-up featuring several preteen couples demonstrating what has come to be called the “back-shot position”.

Please tell me again how much money is being allotted to these “character building” camps?

14. @Charles

Based on feedback to BU and observation the camps are doing a good job if we define good as keeping the children off the streets.

The camps need tighter supervision, it is currently too lose.

The government should consider separating the infants from the juniors/seniors i.e. different locations.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Duppy Lizard | August 19, 2012 at 12:28 AM |
    “All of you who in favour of the ACT need to be tied to Nelson statue and get a good dose of Cat O Nine…All O Wunna Mental and need to get waken up.”

It is from such barbaric extremes remnants of a recent slave society that could be fingered as the cause of such wild abandon and what you would consider as moral reprobation. We are now physically free so let us compensate for years of physical abuse and exploitation by being morally reckless even if we are still in mental shackles. Massa day dun se we can do “bad” as we like. Even the law enforcement agencies are exceedingly reluctant to enforce basic laws and standards in this country, especially on our roads. The highest court in our land is riddled with people who pay scant respect for the laws of the land and whose rectitude is practice more in the breach than in the observance. Remember the gun play and character assassination that take place in and around that talk shop where election to office is seen as an easy avenue to get rich quick through contract awards and low(e)down dealings.

16. Barbadians have gone Effen CRAZY, full stop!

17. joe marley | August 19, 2012 at 9:20 PM |
    Barbadians have gone Effen CRAZY, full stop
    ……………………………………………………….
    Must be all of that dope we inhale when the police burn tons of the stuff.

18. The latest word on the street is that the woman on the turf is the child’s mother. If so it puts into perspective a popular and common american term. (MF).

19. NOT IN RESPONSE TO THIS POST – IT IS A REQUEST FOR YOUR HELP IN ANY WAY YOU CAN:-
    Please help however you can – the child abuse cover up must be exposed
    We hope you sign the petition and or add a link on your site.

Petitioning @ukhomeoffice
    This petition will be delivered to:
    John Vine, UK independent Chief Inspector of Borders and Immigration @ukhomeoffice Michael Robinson Head of Jersey Customs and Immigration Service
    @ukhomeoffice: Restore the Tier-1 UK visa of journalist Leah McGrath Goodman #FreeJersey

by Trevor Pitman, Deputy of the States of Jersey

“Author and journalist Leah McGrath Goodman watched the investigation and digging at Haut de la Garenne from her U.S. home with interest. As the national and international TV cameras turned away from the story, she remained interested and decided to write a book on the subject. She began making trips to Jersey to research allegations of cover-ups…She set up a meeting with the Immigration Service and says it was all going well until she told them what she was writing about…”

– BBC

————–
    and extract:-

Ms. Goodman successfully conducted her research until 11 September 2011, when the UK Border Agency detained her at the request of the Jersey Customs and Immigration Service. Absent any charges, Ms. Goodman was fingerprinted, photographed and stripped of her passport, phone, wallet and possessions and held in the basement of Heathrow Airport for more than 12 hours – past the legal limit – without access to a lawyer or the U.S. consulate. The UK Border Agency copied her papers without her consent and questioned her about her work in Jersey before sending her back to the U.S. In January 2012, the Border Agency then sent Ms. Goodman a letter informing her it had taken the additional step of banning her from entering the UK Common Travel Area for two years, but did not explain the reason for this action. It denied her the right to an appeal. UK Member of Parliament John Hemming interceded to reduce her ban to one year, expiring 11 September 2012.

———————-

Your help would be very much appreciated, the real truth must be exposed.

Link: http://www.change.org/petitions/ukhomeoffice-restore-the-tier-1-uk-visa-of-journalist-leah-mcgrath-goodman-freejersey

Thanks
    Peter

20. old onion bags Avatar

…..Rev.Lucille Baird….” Barbados has lost all respect for the Crop Over Festival”….Big hard back women exposing themselves in front lil children….

21. All simulated sex should be banned
    As a matter of fact
    All sex should be banned
    unless the sexers are doing so for reproduction
    Bulling/Wicking =crimes against nature
    punishment-
    Firing Squad

22. charges to be laid for this pic too

23. Yagga Rowe | September 16, 2013 at 4:42 PM |
    All simulated sex should be banned
    As a matter of fact
    All sex should be banned
    unless the sexers are doing so for reproduction
    Bulling/Wicking =crimes against nature
    punishment-
    Firing Squad

Yagga Rowe | November 15, 2013 at 4:02 PM |
    charges to be laid for this pic too

24. Somebody has to stop this public dirty dancing involving little children.

25. Culture from the waist Down !!!