Peter Wickham, Head of CADRES

BU’s position on the influence which  Cadres opinion polls maybe having on Bajans is a matter of record. The fact that some have perfected the methodology to project the ‘science of polling’ as the gospel according to Mathew, Mark, Luke and Peter has become worrying to some. Is it that a good poll accurately measures the ‘mind’ of the person polled? Do you believe the result of a poll can be used to influence the undecided and reinforce the position already canvassed by the pollster? The fair minded have to admit that there is some robust questioning required to better understand the influence polling has on shaping public opinion in a small country like Barbados. Sadly Barbadians have decided to follow the developed world and accept wholesale polling in our political space.

It is unfortunate that the Cadres Poll has become a big discussion point leading into the next general election. In a general election where some constituencies will be ‘close’, the Cadres Poll may prove to be a factor afterall. However there is another issue of concern.

Peter Wickham leads the Cadres organization and to his credit has developed a good reputation across the region based on the consistency off his polls. Here is the rub. He writes a fullpage column in the leading daily newspaper. He is a host on the leading talk show on radio. When there is breaking news of a political – and sometimes not so political – Wickham is sought after by the Nation, VOB and Barbados Today for his perspective. Oftentimes one is left to wonder why a country which has invested billions of dollars in education cannot reflect it in the diversity of views solicited.

The ease which Wickham connects with some of our politicos often exposed in his role as a talk show host is worthy of observation. Also his willingness to express positions, in the opinon of BU, which conflict with how a professional pollster should conduct himself. BU will not besmirch the reputation of Wickham by detailing the politicos he rubbed shoulders with at Cave Hill and elsewhere, suffice to say Wickham should become more senitive to the extent his professional reputation is exposed.

Should Barbadians be concerned?

1. *their

2. ‘In 1961 upon the opening of the Deep Water Harbour,EWB said that the best thing GHA could do was to jump in and don’t come back”

Gabriel- do not pay much attention to political statements made for political expediency or chicanery.In 1961, EWB lambasted the white business class across the length and breadth of Barbados particularly the Barbados Shipping and Trading ( the sale of which Mr Thompson had threatened to stop if he became PM before the ink dried) calling it the bastion of colonialism. all that time Gabriel- The chairman of BS&T, Mr Douglas Lynch was an influential member of the DLP’ He was an honorary pall bearer at EWB’s funeral as well.

3. @enuff

If you do a search of BU somewhere there is a blog pre-2008 which questioned as well how polls may influence public opinion. The issue here is not methodology which Wickam has been consistent, it is to what extent does a contrived instrument serve to manipulate public opinion by those with bags of money.

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 7, 2012 at 6:38 PM |
    “…..What fatted calf in 2008 what ever was leftover by the BLP wasn’t even enough to pay the bills as the taxpayers would soon find out!”

Which bills? You mean bills for the constituency councils, free bus fares, summer camps, nonproductive overseas ministerial jaunts, partying nonstop and most recently the $600,000 mobilization fees for the AX Inquiry?

You ought to be ashamed of the disrespect shown to your dear departed leader DT. Didn’t your grandparents teach you not to speak ill of the dead? Why are you calling a dead man a liar?
    Bushie is very disappointed in you for being fooled by a liar, even in death. With “ac” (alternative current) dead brain cells it does not mean you have to accept that a dead man can tell no tales. “The evil that men do lives after them!” However, the Families First Account is not interred in St. John’s Church yard but awaiting the Queen’s consent to determine the timing of elections even though Chris has decided to have a jada sponsor and not wait for his share of the inheritance.

5. @ David
    But um aint new!!! If you go to the last election ‘Change’ was central to the polls and what was the Dems’ election mantra? Thompson would have never ended Wickham’s contract at CBC!!

6. @enuff

Why do you believe PM Stuart refuse to ‘renew’ Wickam’s contract?

7. @Prodigal Son | August 7, 2012 at 11:04 AM…The young university students conned this poll. ..They took our info and then asked who my neighbours were, ticked them off the list, asked me if I knew their political leanings, I said I could not say and then the two of them filled out two forms. So if they did that, multiply that over and over if all of them were doing this just for the money and you can see how Ian Boxhill’s poll was sabotaged by the lazy young students who were supposed to act honestly!

Wuhloss, so our sons and daughters are both lazy and dishonest.

Lord help us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

8. @old onion bags | August 7, 2012 at 12:05 PM…”the stupid headmaster from St.Peter.

ROFLMFAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9. I like Peter Wickham

10. Ian Boxill’s poll and reason for it is the exception that proves the rule. In Wickham ‘s case it should be clear that if there is any blame to cast it should be directed at those who commissioned the poll and I believe that one of those people has already been identified in this forum. Wickham is my friend and as my friend I will state with certainty that Bush Tea’s claims are baseless.

‘Nuff said.

11. what will they think of next Avatar
    what will they think of next

12. So wait BAFBFP…!! Bush Tea ai t your friend too…? 🙂

13. IS it true that Peter is a —>>>ooo (——

14. My man my friends don’ cuss me in public …! I rather you NOT be my friend then I would have good cause to keep a better eye on you … This thing ’bout keeping your friends even closer don’ work for me as I am NOT near sighted …!

15. All right den BAFBFP…. If that is how you want to play…
    Looks like Bushie don’t have ANY friends at all, since the Bushman is wont to cuss both friend and foe in public or in private – if the situation so warrants… Like when they talking Shoite…

Like you just now…
    So once someone is your friend you giving them the benefit of the doubt…? You suggesting that you don’t have any stupid friends..? ..and then got the gall to introduce Wickhan as your ‘friend’.
    (..Bushie hope you are not the one he is hoping to be able to marry when Mia becomes PM.)

Why you don’t invite him to come back to the BU family? He frighten for ac and Islandgal or what…? Or he can only operate where he can disconnect the mike when it suits him…?

16. @Progical

firsly pollsters are trained for the exercise. Secondly when a poll is complete persons are supposed to go back into the community to obtain a sample of those polled and enquire whether the pollster visited the area he said he or she had done. Thirdly there is a margin of error for those who might lie, amog other things.

A properly conducted and executed poll can reveal how people are thinking. A poll is a pot shot of opinions are a given time.

@Bushie

A poll is not only about adding the quantitative data,, but analysing the qualitative as well.

17. Bush Tea

Man cuss me all you want… but this talking shoite thing ain’ washing. You disagree with me well that’s fine, but last I check I would normally reserve the shite talking label for those who actually deserve it, and that has never been you. So cuss me all you want foe, but know that I ain’ goin’ to respond in kind till I have real good cause, and when that moment come, well, I goin’ just leff you be … HA HA HA …Murda … Ol’ people … Can’ live wid them, and yah can’ commit them neither … HA HA HA

18. old onion bags Avatar

Just another DLP thread highlighting there ARE STILL IN DENIAL of what a scientific polls have shown….still in denial after 2 months? Yes..they still have done NOTHING to CHANGE things but continue in their SAME stupid ways….THEY WILL NEVER CHANGE…..
    snip

let us move Wickham off D air first, discredit him too (again) …and then attempt more propaganda”….but change we ways..No..we right and our methods workable”…When we lose,and lose we will…we shall GO DOWN singing..MY WAY…Lol
    TRUE TO FORM……24hrs later …all as I predicted……DLP on a mission…ATTACK WICKHAM…..Wickham is not your problem…THE PROBLEMS ARE YOURSELVES……YOU CAN”T RULE,..YOU COULD NOT GET THE JOB DONE…so like true babies..WHA WHA WHA..BIG MEN IN DENIAL…YOU ARE ON YOUR WAY OUT…..Bye Bye DLP…good riddance !

19. old onion bags Avatar

…..No sir…Wickham is not the problem…..Wickham offered direction….to a HARD EARS and OWN WAY bunch who are set not to stop wasting money on a Waterman feeding hole …while breaking the backs of the middle class with a fervor only the mad Bushie and his stupid compatriot can match….IT MUST BE DONE ! …they will never change.FUNDY GOT TO GO !

20. .FUNDY GOT TO GO !

And I would agree … but who would you replace he wid … Arftur …? What is wrong with you people …

21. Any how who has descredit themselves is “lickham Wickham”who conducted a poll which intent wasbto divide the party not so much as to show OSa as the prefered leader because when one analayze the results it shows that if PM STuart is not the leader the DLP would win. however how does one reach such a conclusion when Chris is minister of finance and according to the BLP people are suffering..what the eage 11 did not accomplish it seems the poll was engineered to achieve

22. It would useful even if a diehard supporter commenters suport positions with a little analysis. To simple parrot a party line becomes boring for some.

23. old onion bags Avatar

You want analysis….you wait ya gine soon get it…when the bell RING ! Time for analysis DONE…even if I were to bring a pork on a platter..waana so would deny it…No sir…NO CHANGE POLICY of the DLP written in marble up sin John and only he waana so duz believe…..but dat is ok…all ya gine pay to learn..ask Crazy GEORGIE.

24. old onion bags Avatar

25. old onion bags Avatar

Tricksey….look ya boy….LOL

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 8, 2012 at 7:55 AM |
    “…. what the eager 11 did not accomplish it seems the poll was engineered to achieve.”

So you are finally admitting that you strongly believe the Wickham poll was rigged to present FS in a bad light with the evil hand of CS guiding the Wickham fella in this PR strategy to make FS look like a joker.
    Do you think this strategy was “engineered” by a gathering of the male equivalent of coven of wick hams down bottom bay with HH in a ‘rear’ attendance and all expenses paid by jada through garrison boy lashley planting stone and wood?
    One wonders if the Ponzi con artist joined the FS intended coup d’état after returning from Paris(s) in his first cameo appearance at the AX Inquiry.

27. Observing (and observing) Avatar
    Observing (and observing)

“To simple parrot a party line becomes boring for some. ”

Then we were boring for a lotta lotta months now den. lol.

objective analysis with rationale/facts/reason is like gold in this country nowadays.

28. @miller so then why is the BLP so jubliant when all it seems is that in order to achieved the desired result one would need an accomplice and a willing one at that and who else fit the bill no other than OSA who would see the results as being favourable while risking his own leverage and fatebringing down stuartwhile at the same time elevating chris and bringing chris into a race OSA would not win

29. Aug 8 at 5:39 a.m. “so like true babies..WHA WHA ”

Actually old onions babies are very smart. Observe if a baby encounters a problem, that the baby will try a different strategy.

It is only adults hardened and set it their ways who do the same thing over and over, and over again, and expect a different result.

Please note also that while there are mad men, (and women) there is no such thing as a mad baby.

30. It would be interesting to see how the next poll would be engineered since the last poll so far has failed to swayed PM into doing any thing reckless which would have caused divison and destruction of the party HA! HA! what would they think of next ,

31. Read Peter’s article today, this is the type of commentary he should be leading in the public space which complements his discipline.

Leave a Reply to Prodigal SonCancel reply