Submitted by sportybajan
Stephen Lashley, Minister of Sports

Just the mere fact that the West Indies Federation has been over since 1962 is enough indication that West Indies and Cricket is now an ancient concept, long past its glory days. Even if  we can return to the top of this colonial sport, is it enough to sustain our individual national pride, and make us stand out as one regional people?

I submit that Track and Field now already does that, and therefore must be heralded as our lofty nest. We must embrace the sport greater than we once did King Cricket, to do otherwise would be to deny the future generation of their heritance to the throne of sporting kings.

What Cricket has once given us Track has now surpassed. Olympic Games 2012 – Caribbean Domination Women’s 100m = Gold, Bronze, Men’s 100m = Gold, Silver, Men’s 400m hurdles = Gold, Bronze, Men’s 400m = Gold, Silver, Bronze.

The Track And Field has only now started. For Barbados to get back on track with the Caribbean where Oba had placed us, we first must remove the present free loading administrators, starting with those on the AAA’s council. President Mrs. Maynard is now on her official 9th Olympic tour, and has never been an athlete…

1. less we forget barbados is a tiny insignificant island that most people don’t even know exist.
    i lived in Canada for 25 years and as a trades man went to thousands of houses and customers always asked where my accent was from.
    i would say barbados and they would say where?
    never heard of it.
    you cant be you are not black they told me.asked me if we wear grass skirts down there.lol
    If you have lived in barbados all your life and never lived abroad in big countries
    like USA ,Canada etc.for more than 5 years constant with out returning.!!!!!!
    you have no idea how badly barbados stacks up to civilized countries.
    piss poor !all government offices are badly run.
    ya cant get nothing done quickly or efficiently.etc.
    i will soon be leaving as i can not stand it much longer.my god are we animals?
    no government insight into motorcycle lanes,bicycle lanes,efficient transport along side the road as not to block the traffic.seems all government offices are corrupt or slackers.dem just collecting a pay check.
    time to go home yet?hang up in your ear if dem on cell phone with girlfriend..
    outrageous duty put on everything. what some body dead and mek wunna god.
    na .
    Olympics when barbados walk out people other than English must be shaking their heads.
    BARBADOS PROBLEM/YOU ALL THINK YOU ARE IMPORTANT IN THE GREATER SCHEME OF THIS WORLD BUT YOU ARE CERTAINLY NOT.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    CERTAINLY NO MORE ROOM FOR CARS.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    UNLESS YOU GOING TO BUILD ON TO THE TINY ISLAND.
    VROOM .VROOM -SCREECH!!!!!!!!!!. WHERE YA GOING IN TO THE SEA???????

2. old onion bags Avatar

HUSH YOUR RAAASSSSSSS do ! IGRUNTBITCH!

3. Harry you must thank your lucky stars that you went to live in a big country like Canada. That you can only find a job as a tradesman and continue to convince people that you are not black. I am happy to hear that you really don’t have any plans on coming back home unless thing get really tight up there and you run back to the backward island you have left. Remember you will not do tradesman work down here because people like you could only take jobs like a manager and don’t have the skills but your colour is all you think you need to get by. You must apply to COW Williams and I am sure that a management job will be found for your colour. Yes we are not perfect and have a whole heap of things to correct but leaving the island is not the solution. We at home will encourage people like you to come back and help us become civilized.

Onions why don’t you behave yourself and learn something from this white Bajan? He is only saying what all dem udder white people afraid to say bout we. Why get vex? Let us ALL work on improving the areas that are lacking and let them know who feel that dem colour could help them ent gine wuk anymore. Or am I mistaken?

4. LoL! Somebody needs psychotherapy… Seriously no one italking bout dismantling Cricket, but taking other sports people serious, as they are those who probally work twice as hard with no respect,and no funding. Why must Cricket continue to take the hog and others suffer,and cricket is not king anymore, let us support those who can acheive and stop stick our head in sand only pushing cricket

5. Look Isgal
    You got too much long talk fa dat Racial Bison ………Do like me ..KISSURASSUIGRUNTBITCH. …..an put he in his place…

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ harry | August 8, 2012 at 9:06 AM |
    ” less we forget barbados is a tiny insignificant island that most people don’t even know exist.”

So, harry, aren’t you ashamed to be born in Bim out of a genetic lineage that through decades of incest has degenerated into the worst physical mental specimen ever walked on the face of this Earth? Now that you are in the island take a journey down Church View St. John and see a physical manifestation of yourself. Maybe a little genetic mixing with some other race would save your sorry ass.

But there must be some iota of good about that nasty piece of work called “harry”. Why don’t you redeem yourself by naming and shaming the government into taking immediate corrective measures to the following seemingly intractable situations?

Remove the thousands of uninsured and unlicensed vehicles from the potholed roads of this 2×3 place. While at it, do something about the poorly maintained commercial vehicles especially the ZR vehicles. The black smoke emanating from these carcinogens dispensing mobile units from poor quality fuels is totally out of sync with the hypocritical image we try to project about caring for the environment and sensitive to the causes and contributors to climate change. Even our PM is on the PR bandwagon but not putting his muscle to the job of removing these asthma causing and polluting road hogs or iron pigs.

Remove the garbage and debris from the gutters and pavements especially after the poorly done weeding jobs. Leaving the debris on the sidewalks for weeks on end is totally unacceptable. This deliberate blocking of the pavements is a continuous eye sore to both locals and tourists alike and reflects rather badly on the hygiene habits of the residents. Bim can learn a lot from Bermuda where tidiness and environmental presentation are concerned.

7. I prepared to bet that the Jamaicans men will drop the baton in the final of the four by one but the women on the other hand will scrap for the Gold in record time with both US and JA breaking the old mark …!

8. @Trackman

It would be interesting to know the percentage of the National Sports Council is allocated to cricket.

9. @Harry,

I jave not lived in Canada, but have visited on business. Interesting how your experience and mine differ. When the hotel staff i.e. waitresses etc ask where I am from and i say Barbados, they certainly know, they generally saw ”awww, I wish I was living there, visited there and loved it’, or some such anecdote.

Always have such friendly treatment from the Canadians, nice people.

10. After reading Oba’s letter in the Nation this week I’m calling on the Minister of Sport to establish a Commission of Inquiry into Oba’s claims that Barbados was robbed of an Olympic bronze in Sydney 2000 because of incompetent officials. As Ax is subject to Inquiry so should Obas’s charge. We must name and shame the officials involved.

11. Anonymous didn’t Oba get the Bronze? You must mean Silver?

12. Yagot Ma Bawlin Avatar
    Yagot Ma Bawlin

islandgal246 be sayin: “islandgal246 | August 7, 2012 at 9:00 AM |

My daughter was a former Barbados athlete and all I can say is all the same IP address David PS I run outta room on google online albums an I lookin fa more space, heah? For pictchas a plants!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Heah???? Ya got ma bawlin stupse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Heah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL. And er, lullz!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Heah???????????????? Bawlin ya gotma

13. i got a right to my opinion that is my prerogative..my second home is Canada.
    [best economy in the world] i will persist from there to destroy this racist country barbados has turned in to..keep talking your bajan shi- Small fries.
    where i live blacks are not wanted.red necks and hells angels may give you a little trouble ,small time asses.as for old onion bags go fuc- your self .
    and island girl i can see you never been no where because trades men make more than office workers in Canada.
    as usual here the poor blacks are used to do manual labor and paid a fraction of what real trades men make abroad.
    you know i really don’t care .i can not wait to get to funk out of this hell.
    best wishes.
    happy days.

14. cruso must be lovers of the people here to your face .
    but behind your back you just another negroid.
    and as you say you have never lived in Canada so you actually paying to be treated well.it changes after 6 months or so.go check it out.
    Canadians may say they would love to live here till the under belly and the bugs and the fungus and the shouting and traffic.
    after 3 months or so they change their mind.
    any i don’t really care was just saying look at the map of the world and see for yourself how small barbados is.it is only obvious.
    but if you think you all are important in this world keep thinking so cause tourist like to come and go in the ocean and rent a rasta..
    usually those types are the scum of Canada.
    best wishes to all. oh onion bags go fuc_ you self.
    by the way i don’t subscribe so i don’t read your stupid replies .
    i have spoken.
    good bye

15. Harry where I have been you have NEVER gone, Thank your God that Canada took you in. In the eyes of Canadians you are on the lowest ladder. You are just another ekkie bekkie trying to pass up there. Now take your racist comments and shove it up yuh rassclat. Tek yuh brekfus sausage and and shove it up yuh behind, I forget , it ent long enough!

16. The Harry johnny should be taken seriously the overwhelming majority of white Bajans think just like the stinking racist cockrat.

17. A Minister making an excuse on the fly with no track record is promising a high performance program for the next Olympics (ALL puns intended). Now tell me was the previous Olympics not held just four years ago with enough time to start this program in time for the current games? Was this Minister not the Sports Minister four years ago? I mean who the hell does this guy think that he is fooling?

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Torontonian | August 8, 2012 at 4:42 PM |
    “The Harry johnny should be taken seriously the overwhelming majority of white Bajans think just like the stinking racist cockrat.”

That piece of “decent” Bajan cussing got me in stitches. The word “cockrat” aptly defines ‘harry” whose filthy mind can only be filled from the sewers where such vermin thrives.
    But what he is saying about how local whites see the stupid blacks has a ring of truth about it.
    How else can you describe the recent rat shit spewing forth from the mouth of the man at the helm of the Olympic luxury jaunt and freebies awards? These guys just see the athletes like their house servants; just there to make their lives comfortable and live in luxury. Again he will blame the black athletes for being lazy, indiscipline and talentless.

19. islandgal246

The officials should be insisting that the Gold medal be stripped from this crock Kostas Kenteris, that is where the effort should be placed. Oba would then be given the Bronze.

20. Truman Q.Prince Avatar
    Truman Q.Prince

Tell ma junior how sick dem wimmen be. Dey be real sick?

21. Ryan Brathwaite’s story is a sad one a young man set to conquer the world in 2008 declines inexplicably to a trundler an overwiehgt one by 2012 less than 3 yrs later and he is only 24. Will the lean mean machine who split and beat the American juggernaut in 2008 ever return. Pity.

22. Not White At All Avatar
    Not White At All

I in dat wid you, notty.
    Ya
    got
    ma
    bawlin
    heah?

23. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@harry | August 8, 2012 at 9:06 AM |
    “i lived in Canada for 25 years and as a trades man went to thousands of houses and customers always asked where my accent was from.
    i would say barbados and they would say where?
    never heard of it. you cant be you are not black they told me.asked me if we wear grass skirts down there.lol”

u lived in canada for all that time and still have a blue collar job?

LIE NO. 1 = people would tell u they NEVER heard of Barbados yet they know that the majority of the population is black? what rubbish are u trying to put over to us intelligent bajans, unlike yourself?

LIE NO, 2 – they never heard of barbados but yet they assumed that these same people wear grass skirts? boy, by now u should have a level of intelligence so that even if u attempted to lie, it would be difficult to know the truth.

LIE NO, 3 – i lived in Canada too and NEVER had anyone EVER asked me those stupid questions, in fact they loved my accent, they know the island and longed to visit but said,it was expensive here, they also admire the fact that it is governed by blacks. if no one knows about Barbados, how is it that Hollywood starts visit here often Simon Powell,(who has property here), Orpah (who has a home here), deceased Michael Jackson (who has a home here), Tiger Woods, Mariah Carey, and the list goes on, what about claudette colbert who retired here etc? i have may FB friends who as soon as i inform them where i live, the conversation takes a turn to how exciting, how jealous etc, now it seems to me that u have an extremely difficult time in Barbados, u seemed like one of those ecky beckys who all look alike. u have migrated to Canada and still have not improved ur standard of living, that has NOTHING to do us bajans, descendants of slaves. u seemed really jealous or envious of us who live here, why? is it because that u realize that in spite of how small Barbados is, the black bajans no longer give a damn about what white bajans, and even lease about the poor ecky beckys such as who i perceive u to be? u are just like some people who leave here, returned and angry because, u see many bajans living a more successful life than u, i know because i have heard the comments of people like u, who have left for 20 yrs and more shock to see how the people and country has develop. don’t be mad at us, there is time for u to improve ur standard of living in Canada, while u are at it, please for heaven’s sake, read books, study etc but do expand your intelligence before u come on this blog with such transparent dribble that u would expect from a 6 year old, who is not mature enough to cover all basics when attempting to lie and trust me, i know u are lying

UH LOVE MUH SELF ‘-)

24. @harryharry | August 8, 2012 at 4:09 PM | ”cruso must be lovers of the people here to your face . but behind your back you just another negroid.”
    —————-

So, you are calling the Canadians hypocrites, that is not very nice. So, you dont like bajans, now you dont like Canadians either?

Do you like anyone?

25. A little bit of perspective: The IOC has a successful commercial enterprise in the form of the Olympic Games held every four years. They parcel out the broadcast rights to deep pocket media organizations and make a mint out of license fees for various products which carry the slogan “official xxxx of the Olympics” they even have an official condom “Durex” although much play is not given to that but in the Athletes Village these popular items are dispensed freely. The boys and girls have to let off steam sometime and I have heard that that it is not only “Citius,Altius,Fortius” on the field but in other places.

There is the unspoken bragging rights attached to each country’s medal count it used to be the number of Gold medals but that has been subtly revised by the US media since the former East Germany (with the help of drugs) and the former USSR started to haul in more Gold medals than the USA In the current Games the American broadcaster (NBC) now has the total medal count which places the USA ahead of China although the latter has won more Gold medals. Time was when the Olympics was the venue for gifted Amateurs but there are professionals from all sports including Tennis and Basketball. Golf is being introduced in Rio so look for PGA players to join the other millionaires.

Poor countries e.g. Barbados do not have the resources to compete with the large countries to ensure that its athletes enjoy the best training facilities have access to the best equipment and are attached to the best coaches. In Canada e.g. the Gov’t provides a monthly allowance for “Carded” Athletes which is supposed to supplement their living and training expenses, athletes are also sponsored by some commercial enterprises which provide assistance so they can train year round. Canada has won one Gold medal at this Summers Games, Australia which also has an extensive Sports program with a large budget has won four Gold medals so far.

China has done well in the Aquatic and Gymnastic events, how do they do it? China has large “Academies” where children as young as five are taken from their parents and trained in some specialty for years on end until they arise at the Olympics ready to take on the world. The Chinese look for certain characteristics in these children e.g. if they have large hands or feet they have the potential to be good swimmers etc. there is the story of a female Olympic diver who won Gold for China but she was so isolated from her family that she didn’t know that her grandparents had died a year earlier and that her mother had breast cancer for several years.

Jamaica is an example of a poor country with limited resources which has produced several outstanding athletes much like Barbados used to produce outstanding cricketers, perhaps the cricketing Nations could persuade the IOC to adopt Cricket as an Olympic Sport and Barbados may upset someone and win a medal.

Just a few observations from a limited perspective.

26. The HARRY situation.
    harry does not live in Canada, he lives in Barbados but he – and his clandestine supporters – or others are embarrassed by his comments. Now he tries to pretend he is not a white Barbadian living in Barbados . . . pathetic. Just re-read what he wrote from the beginning on this and another thread on “Bussa” the trail is simple if you join up the dots. If you want to “tell” a lie harry you must have a good memory and be good at it.

What galls people like harry, is that Black people have the audacity to express a contrary opinion and they cannot tie them to an ox-cart in the plantation yard and flog them to within an inch of their lives.

27. Sargeant

You just had to take a swipe at China nuh …! I wonder how many athletes there are from the US that have relatives and friends who are currently in detention with out the possibility of ever having a trial, as per the Homeland Security Bill?

And this talk about Barbados having limited resources has been rubished with the call for a useless Commission of Enquiry that will cost SIX HUNDRED THOUSAND F#CKING DOLLARS. And do not forget that last month Stuart up and lef for Canada to “drum up some business”. How much business did he drum up? Where are the figures? Two weeks ago the Minister of Industry was off to England with an entourage to “drum up some business” … Again how much returns can we expect. Just two days ago another lawyer fella jump pun a plane and run to England to “Network” … A half million dollars to commission a report on Poverty that is now shelved.

Seriously Sargeant, Barbados does have more resources than is being let on. It is just where and on whom such resources are being spent … Feel me?

28. old onion bags Avatar

@ harrie
    harry does not live in Canada, he lives in Barbados but he – and his clandestine supporters – or others are embarrassed
    You lie-ing bastard you…as the english say…trashy

29. @BAFBFP

You just had to take a swipe at China

Actually I was taking a swipe at a few things; the commercialization of the Olympics; the extreme measures that some countries take to win medals and the difficulty that countries have in winning medals considering that they have far more resources (economic and population) in comparison to Barbados.

As to the Chinese……

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2182127/How-China-trains-children-win-gold–standing-girls-legs-young-boys-hang-bars.html

30. Sargeant

So there are cultural differences and do not believe everything that you read from the established Western media houses. Wonder what the Dailymail has to say about Bolt …?

31. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Don’t get yourself all knotted up.As I posted on an earlier site harry using another name posted on an blog about 1 year ago some similar nasty things using the ‘N’ word and he admitted then he was an indian.

He is obviously enjoying the attention he is getting.

32. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Should read ……posted on a blog a couple weeks ago instead of site.

33. Shoudlnt bolt be gracious towards his country folks who competed with him, i have become turned off his behaviour. He can learn something from the pompus americans who ackmowledge their coutryfolks even if they dont even win a medal. Bolts selfishness was evident in the relay, he pompasetted before congratuating the other team memebers. when he won the 200, blake had to wait until he did some push ups before he was ackmowledged. I though I was the only one who was prepared to comment about his behavour, but even some of my online acquaintances noticed his unprofessionalism in dealing with his county folks. The American wmoen relay runners cover themselves with the flag to celebarte, the reLAY was a team effort, not a bolt effort alone. SHAME ON YOU BOLT, BUT CONGRATULATION IN WINNING YOUR THREE GOLD MEDALS. BLAKE I AM ROUTING FOR YOU ALL THE WAY FROM NOW ON.

34. @ to the point

take it easy maybe he was overwhelmed and excited at another win. don;t read much into it. and don’t be sidetrack by those who might have their own agenda .

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To the point | August 13, 2012 at 7:26 AM |
    What the hell has BOLT done you? The man is a showman like Muhammad Ali. That is how he attracts attention and gains popularity.

It’s all theatre and show to bring millions of dollars and publicity Jamaica’s way.
    He is more popular than Rihanna and is really a true and productive international ambassador for JA. What a man! Marley + Bolt + Fraser-Pryce + Blake = Jamaica’s Finest

36. “SHAME ON YOU BOLT, BUT CONGRATULATION IN WINNING YOUR THREE GOLD MEDALS. BLAKE I AM ROUTING FOR YOU ALL THE WAY FROM NOW ON.”

To the point why don’t you stick your point where the sun doesn’t shine!

37. We Bajans are a funny lot. We sent grown trees to London, now we are catching at roots.

38. @millertheanunnaki> Bolt is not my cup of tea like a few I’m skeptical of the Jamaicans its seldom mentioned but the Jamaican girl Frazier Price who won the hundred was banned for the use of a performance enhancing substance. She alike Gatlin is on the comeback trail. She alike Gatlin cheated. The jury is out on the Jamaicans they should be congratulated but there is a whiff of suspicion in the air.
    Notorious producer of illegal steroids Victor Conte reckons no less than 60% of the runners in London were cheating with banned substances.

Leave a Reply to SargeantCancel reply