Submitted by Yardbroom
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart, the leader of the DLP

I have never been “AFRAID” to put my neck on the line for a just cause and at this stage in my life, I do not intend to be afraid now.

There have been many Blogs in support of the BLP here BU (Barbados Underground) and in other places.  So I ask myself is there in the interest of balance, another view.  I am reminded of the little boy who attempts to run away from home because his mother has given his elder brother 3 turnovers – a Barbados coconut loaf – and given him only 2.  We must see things in proportion.

There is also a lot of talk about who should lead the DLP Party because he is more popular.  I would simply say.  The supposed most popular or even best batsman on a cricket team is not necessarily the best “team captain”.

In this hubble-bubble some insidiously manufactured, we inevitably must ask ourselves what amidst the mistakes made by the DLP Government – and they have been a few – is so bad that it makes the DLP worst than their predecessors.  A long list will be advanced by those supporters of the BLP and some others of independent views, but take a step back to 2008 and remind yourselves why you changed the Government then, because only by making a decision arrived at by logical deduction can you arrive at a sensible decision.

For those of flippant minds, do not wish for the devil when you are in sunshine, for when he appears in the dead of night, you might wish you had not.

To the talk of in-fighting in the DLP, loyalty to a Party does not depend on you being the leader, to demonstrate loyalty.  For genuine loyalty is demonstrating through actions that there are people and things greater than you are and foremost of them is dedication to the people to which you are privileged to lead and who have entrusted in you their hopes for the future.

I must therefore ask the DLP.  Are you men/women of honour? are you those who seek and believe in a better Barbados? do you believe that when you look your children in their eyes in all conscience you can say I did my best for you and Barbados?  Then if you cannot there is work to be done.

Grasp this opportunity, the game is not “completely” lost never mind the whispers, the only Poll that really matters is on Election Day.  You must show by speaking to the people your dedication to a cause, Awake! and think of what you can do for Barbados, for you might never pass this way again. . . . . there is much work to be done.

1. @ David
    Intelligentsia ?
    A better word would be “gang”.

The man is an outsider, some what like the Bushman. He is therefore not trusted by the ‘gang’ to follow the established agenda, be open to ‘dealing’ etc. Sandi was the same.
    Now if as leader, one wants to be an outsider, then one has to be able to REALLY LEAD. ….. Clear vision, strong will, ability to communicate ideas effectively, …and ain’t frighten for a boy…. 🙂

Our deputies have been selected (as Caswell recently mentioned) because they were non threatening to the then leaders…not for strong leadership qualities. FS is in a position of leadership but he is not a leader. ..same is true for 99.9 % of “leaders” bout here.

He does not leverage his oratorical skills because he has none to speak of…. A propensity to use big words when smaller words, or even colloquial terms would be much more effectiv,e is not oratorical skill.

The problem is that we have no better alternative….

If you had to take a taxi home late at night in bad weather and with gangs roaming the place – which driver would you choose?

A bold brash speedster with a known history of taking wrong turns, running off the road, drinking, overcharging and wasting gas?

….or a slow maticulous driver who follows the map and drives at 5 mph and takes forever to move …?

2. He should have saved the country the embarrassment and waste of scarce financial resources by dealing quietly and effectively with the AX situation. He should have used the Inspection Report to fire the principal or send on early retirement or suspension pending further long delayed and constant deferred investigations (they do it all the time in the Police Force and the Administrative Civil Service). The stubborn and anti-change clique of teachers should have been transferred and scattered among the secondary school system thereby saving the reputation of the Alexander School from being sullied in such an awful and unprofessional way.”

Despite the propaganda peddled on this forum and elsewhere about Mr Broomes unheard of contract of employment, the above steps should have been implemented from the time the issue surfaced again. Then again this Govt rather than familiarising themselves with the nuances of Governance on attaining office immediately went on the campaign trail publicly handing out keys to houses.

3. “.which seems to be a better bet than idiots doing foolishness like Greenland and CSME in their ignorance.”
    Policy makers even the sensible ones are not infallible and there will always be wasteful ventures which would have to be endured provided that there is no evidence of corruption involved. In their ignorance the DLP was responsible for Carsicott, Sea Foods, Caricargo, Warrens Crematorium, Miami beach instead of the Coast guard station, Caribbean Airways, west indies Sweepstake, and i do believe they meant well.

4. @Bush Tea

Let us agree to disagree to some of your last comment. No political system is perfect but in a modern world where national identy has been subsumed more than ever it will take elephant balls to go against the flow. Any prime minister who succeeds Stuart will have to confrot a similar reality.

5. This blog is an indication of what the electorate out there thinks.Come hell of high water,the hardened DLP’s are sticking with Stuart and the party and the hardened BLP’s are going with Owen and the party. It has always been like this. Thank God we have the Don’t Knows, and those not affiliated to any party,such as myself, who are really going to upset the balance.

6. @miller if it is that easy as you suggest why didn,t the BLP take that route in handling AX?

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

RUM

8. There has never been a truer statement spoken……… a drowning man will catch at a straw! This article fits this to the hilt!

9. @AMused
    “a PM with integrity (FS) or a PM with an agenda of vengeance for having been ousted(O$A)?”

Integrity shite!! I am sure you know the meaning of integrity.

10. @ mash up……..What surprises me is the depth of understanding and intensity of feeling against owen arthur by the average person for the corruption under his reign…………..

Why dont you start looking into the DLP mirror and stop casting aspersions on the BLP every time you blog. According your allegations of corruption, it did not take the hungry DLPites too long to reach corruption levels surpassing what you allege of the BLP. The latest one the scandal at Hoyte’s Village.

Have you heard a word from the corrupt Dennis Lowe?

11. @ Prodigal
    But want to tell people PM Stuart is a man of integrity. Wasn’t he the AG in the Cabinet at the time of the ‘text’? Stupse.

12. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Prodigal Son

I can only report what is public knowledge and in the public domain.I know nothing of Hoytes Village,I heard Lowe was seeking to get some campaign funds by scratching somebody’s back.If so he should be out of the cabinet but you know that is small change when you compare that with the goings-on of the BLP politicians
    If that is the yardstick we going to use for lowe,well then ,when we apply that to the past BLP cabinet,boy yuh dog dead,dead,dead….because dah whole cabinet gone through,except may be for rawle.
    Cinty can’t talk because what she allowed with the villagers and that Polo field at Lion Castle will come out.

Mia can’t talk because she is one of the most corrupt politician second only to arthur….check out her ties and contracts given to jose and jose,check out the Crab Hill police station,Edue Tech and on and on …..

Don’t talk about glyne clarke, george payne,dale marshal and Barack,Rommel Marshal and the Transport Board,Noel Lynch….lordee I tired already.

On the other hand Prodigal I can tell you what I and the whole of Barbaduss know;
    I know however of a poor old man in Holders Hill who was told year after year by the town and country department that he couldn’t subdivide his prime land near Sandy Lane and gave to his children because it was in zone one.
    After years of this frustration he was convinced by Athur’s buddy Shorey and others to sell to them and guess what …in the twinkling of an eye the zoning was changed so the new owners could sub divive and sell house spots for millions.

And you know Arthur was the minister for Town Planning ….boy and he ain’t get a day for that corrupt deal… but he got something else though.

I know that bizzy and a group of unknown englishmen with no sound track record in road building get the go-ahead to add lanes and some flyovers on the ABC highway costing the taxpayers initially $90 million dollars,then 180 millions,then 360 millions and lord knows what it ended up at ……… and you know the government signed off on this project with a written contract,without specs,with some shady foreigners who were before the courts in Jamaica for corruption and kick – backs……. yet at the end of it all nichols the collector made millions from bringing in heavy equipment even before the project started………….. and arthur ain’t get a day ……. but he got something else though..

I don’t think you really want me to continue answering you,so I will ease up right now.

13. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Should read the government signed off on the Highway project WITHOUT a written contract ………

14. Mash up and buy back shut tuh f**k up!! Unless you can tell BU that the DLP clean accusing the other party of corruption is being a hypocrite. The discussion is about COMPETENCE. 2008 elections done and 2013 due!!

15. @ mash up
    Disgusting makes one want to hang their head in shame ! Disgusting! imagine having a leader with such a sordid and despicable past how can anyone defend such behaviour , Unbelievable!

16. mash up,

Start detailing the Dems corrupt practices since day one…….. and dont forget to include the dead king’s corruption as well!

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

It is really laughable to see the politically aligned compete to see which of their leaders is the most corrupt. From where I sit, the choice six or half dozen.

18. Mash up
    You have them good that they start to curse. They cannot answer because everything you have said occurred and details are available.
    Enuff and Prodigal do not just talk about corruption in the DLP bring details like mash up so that those who are involved are exposed just like Owen Arthur and his Friend Nichols.

Onions I see you have gone off with your buddies drinking big mout drinks. How come you can drink whisky still while most Barbadians resorted to ESA Fields white? I know you longing for the day your party gets back in power so that more big mout drinks can flow from the tax payers money.

19. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Enuff

I know you and your buddies can’t handle the truth huh!

With a track record like that of the past BLP why should the voters put this man owen,and mia,and glyne,and dale,and george and cynty and noel and the others back in power so that they could get their hands back in the treasury.

Why you think when you go for a job,the Company asks for your resume?Because they want to know what is your track record,what is your history.

We the voting public have the resume of this BLP lot, and we know their track record of owen and we are saying ‘not you again buddy’.

The money which was stolen and wasted could have helped us out of this big hole he left us in now and the taxpayers are who left holding the bag,while he and his people live in style buying new Audi and luxurious homes and boats.I wonder if they have foreign bank accounts too.

I am holding no brief for the DLP politicians,because if we have the evidence clear as we have it on the BLP,then they too should feel the wrath of the people.

We ain’t send wunnah in dey for dat!

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I hope you can recall the campaign promises of integrity legislation and that Ministers in a new DLP Government would have been required to declare their assets. It is my understanding that they were not required to declare their asset because most of them did not have anything to declare. However in four short years, I understand that some of the former poor now have something worth declaring.

21. @Caswell

Hope u remember how much owen and mia declared. did u believe that that was all they have accumulated in times of plenty.

Just asking

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the point

I had a good laugh when they made a mockery of declaring their assets. I felt insulted when that happened but you must admit that it was a good public relations stunt for the benefit of the ignorant.

23. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

Late to the party after a crop over wkend. Haven’t read all comments but here goes.

1. The DLP got in because of allegations of corruption, the presence of arrogance and a desire for a different type of government (which was promised).

2. No allegations have been proven, some MPs have become arrogant and it feels like there has been minimal change if any at all. Added to that, some current MPs have “questionable” practices.

Bushie is right, 6 is half dozen, but, in the minds of the electorate, they will vote with the period/party which feels good (or felt better). This is the DLP’s problem. Add to that poor PR, messaging and zero communication and you have a perfect storm leading the BLP back to power, on no real merit of their own.

In 2008 the people wanted Thompson. They saw him as a suitable alternative. Freundel does not command that respecta/admiration/confidence. His coattails are non existent and his soldiers are scrambling like chickens without a head.

Every election is somewhat a referendum on the leader/party in power. The DLP have been measured, found wanting and seemingly to tired or to incompetent to put up a creditable fight. They will lose unless a “course correction” happens soon.

Observing.

24. @ MUBB
    Haha evidence like the $3.333m cheque, the will, Marina, Rihanna show or the text? Stupse! It is not about the BLP, it is about you being a hypocrite.
    If your party is so apprised of a bounty of infelicities on the part of the former government why would PM Stuart raise the issue of an FBI Report that points to two known DLP supporters (one dead ) instead of as you purport offshore bank accounts?
    FYI it is the economy and competence stupid not phantom offshore accounts, and sadly all yuh failed miserably.

@ Clone
    “…just like Owen Arthur and his Friend Nichols.”
    You forgot Bannister or since he got two big guvment contracts post January 15 2008–one leading to a lawsuit against the government–he is no longer a tief? lmao. You are just another hypocrite.

25. Mash Up cutting at Euff,Clone pelting big rocks at Just Asking and AC sparring wid Onions.At the end of the day what changes would have been made?The PM reiterated the promise of integrity legislation,and since then? …Seems to me that CHANGE for Bajans represents a win for MY party.We know…”WE LIKE IT SO.”

26. ………………….With a track record like that of the past BLP why should the voters put this man owen,and mia,and glyne,and dale,and george and cynty and noel and the others back in power so that they could get their hands back in the treasury………………………………….

I just dont get you DLPites. Bee or Dee, do any of these have keys to the treasury? You sound so ridiculous.

Look at it the other way, why are you so anxious now at the mere thought of you DLPites not in charge of the treasury for much longer? What is in it that you all do not want to give it up? The treasury is not there for any political party to gloat over and that it has control and another should not get close to it!

Can we ask you what it is that have you all so desperate just to think that the voters may kick your incompetent butts to the wall and that you will have no more control! Is this is what have you so desperate and bent on telling lies again.

Look, this is 2012, not 2008 and the king liar David Thompson is dead.

27. Instant Coupon Avatar

@ Enuff

Bannister got two contracts by the DLP administration but what has come of those contracts? The Pierhead Marina project was organised by Darcy but DT went behind his (Darcy) back and that of Cabinet and instructed his friend, Chairman Thorne to proceed in another direction i.e. Legan, why? Of all of the duplicity practiced by DT when he was PM, the one he put down on the Pierhead Marina was one of the most creative and still is one best kept secrets in Barbados. DT saved Barbados million and millions and millions of dollars.

Bannister got a contract for a new Cruise Pier for the Barbados Port but what has happened to that? Could it be that both DT and FS knew/know that Bannister has an agreement with OSA/MIA to keep those projects warm (but with inaction) until his return?

28. I sorry fuh wunna, but Caswell Franklyn right, both a de parties got some clowns in deh.

And Gabby was partially right. If wunna continue thise xhite, people gine get xissed off.

And it’ll be wunna fault!

29. It would be interesting to see what votes Eric Lewis and MADD would get if they ran as a MADD party.

Very serious here!

Fellas, I will vote for you!

30. I can already hear the objection form BOTH traditional parties… ‘They are making a mockery of the Parliamentary system’ or ‘this anomalistic behaviour leds me to circumlocution to remove their act from being the cynosure of the election. Indeed, to vote for them would demonstrate perfidiousness among the electorate and it would take perspicacious people to vote correctly.’

Would be bare BS……fellas, Barbados needs wuinnah!

31. @ Instant Coupon
    Not according to Lagan’s affidavit.

32. Yardbroom:

I agree with you 100%.

Said before and say it again: The GE will be won on the day not a second before that regardless of what we say or think. Despite and inspite the best efforts of both parties.

33. @ OOB
    “I know convincing oneself is crucial before doing so with others…..”

You so often remind us of how dumbfounded OSA was on the night of the Election in 2008 when the count was over that I am beginning to ask are you really A SUPPORTING MEMBER of the BLP?

OSA and his supporters definitely convinced themselves first that they could not even hear when the electorate told them no more of you and your dealings, wieldings and doings.

So the BLP is still working on convincing others to believe them just as they tried to do pre-2008. Same-O same-O ehh!!!

Fortunately, a win is a win but the facts remain that the Electorate has shown that it is not as convinced and confident in Arthur as you are.

And of national interest, how is Mr. O. Arthur’s health? It ought to be made known very soon, sooner rather than later. Can he manage the task at hand let alone ahead? The public ought to know how the leader of the opposition is and his ability and strength to carry on in office? Kindly update us.

34. OOB:

The Holy Bible states and this is unchanging by the wisest man that ever lived: paraphrase better is a bowl of herbs with quietness/honesty ‘than a stall ox with corruption’.

Also ‘before Moody comes with his paint brush…’ ohh OOB, OOB!!! Moody is painting the BLP I repeat. Moody is painting the BLP not the DLP at all. READ its report. READ IT AGAIN.

There is no need to put corrective measures if there wasn’t an error. The error and decline started long before 2008 according to Moody and the astute (your expressive description of OSA not mine) Arthur did nothing to prevent the decline, slippage, loose rock, loose clay (we keep forgetting the bridge in St. Joseph of 14 years BUT BUILT RELOCATE A PRISON THAT BURNT IN ONE DAY), however, I refer to the economy of Barbados.

Yeah, are you still trying to convince others as your following and you are so convinced of the ability and integrity of the BLP.

35. old onion bags Avatar

@ Brief
    You know as I often tell ac….BLAMING BLAMING was not what the people had in mind when they gave you all the mandate to do the now empty promises (as per Blackette) in the DLP manifesto….but apart from that, man, at this 12th hour?Tell me do you all think the electorate gives a FART about a bullwinkle druple in 2008? Come on man ….people struggling to make ends meet with light, water, food and gas bills daily and you want to offer them stale rhetoric as issues?…PLEASE, wake up man…tell them what you all can do for them NOW….before they kick you all sorry arses to the kerb…Opps! my error, you did have that opportunity to do so in the just gone NO BALL budget…..instead Caesar gave them the $6 Million of Waterman Inquiry and a fan-dangle with a doctor now gone secretary….OMG !..LOL

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brief | August 7, 2012 at 4:50 PM |
    “Also ‘before Moody comes with his paint brush…’ ohh OOB, OOB!!! Moody is painting the BLP I repeat. Moody is painting the BLP not the DLP at all. READ its report. READ IT AGAIN.”

The old time name for a man’s bikini type underwear was a “Brief”.
    Don’t you think that you are due for a change?
    You have been wearing that same old dirty slip for too long now and it’s beginning to give you jockstrap itch in the area where your head resides instead of your two nuts.

Stop hiding your brain and realize that the DLP is the government of the day and has been for the past 4 years and almost 7 months. That is why the people changed the last set of jockeys who were taken down from riding the jack taxpayers like Balaam’s ass. We expect you to ride with honesty and competence not continue to flog like a jock the suffering jackass.

37. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    The old time name for a man’s bikini type underwear was a “Brief”.
    Don’t you think that you are due for a change?
    YA TOO SWEET…lol

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brief | August 7, 2012 at 4:28 PM |
    “And of national interest, how is Mr. O. Arthur’s health? It ought to be made known very soon, sooner rather than later. Can he manage the task at hand let alone ahead? The public ought to know how the leader of the opposition is and his ability and strength to carry on in office? Kindly update us.”

As a hypocrite who likes to quote the Bible to support his devilish views you ought to be aware of the saying: “Charity begins at home!”

“How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye?”

Shouldn’t you therefore be concerned foremost with the health of your party leader and the leader of government? Both of them have the same health challenges but OSA is not known to faint in public on more than one occasion. Do and say unto others as you would have them do and say to you or about your party leader.

39. old onion bags Avatar

……”a mint, a mint bring a mint and put on the tip of tongue.”… well I tell ya…
    Why people in glass houses don’t learn not to throw stones ?

40. As Caswell has opined on the charges and counter charges by party suporters; simply hilarious.

41. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

You got to give it to Onions,he does make you laugh sometimes.Wuhloss!

A mint,a mint,bring a mint and put it on the tip of the tongue…sweet…you got me cracking up.

I hear stuart say that was a lie you hear onions.

42. Miller and OOB:

All Barbados hear .know evil. see no evil, speak knowledge of evil.

Having itemized your evils what integrity are you left with? A good name is rather to be chosen …

I am pointing out biases and strong unwavering beliefs posited by you two et al and you are unable to quit you like men.

Stuart with his known ailment is leading his team showing physical strength and strength of character.

I call on the leader of opposition to prove his strength physically to the nation of Barbados. Does that make you irritable?

Barbados ought to know the state of health of our national leaders – the same group that made it a national concern a couple years ago is trying to keep it personal business now. The shoe is on your foot now..

Be brief and simple that would be sweet fuh days.

43. old onion bags Avatar

Man Brief
    Stop playing fa time ….looking in all sorta crab and cranny holes….you fa real?…According to the Mighty Sparrow..Owen..” mighty BIGGER and STRONGER AND HARDER” than Stuart d Little…dat falling DOWN when called to parade by the likes around D Garrison…..and don’t offer no small change neither….but juck for juck GINE FARTHER…..he doan want no mint either…..suck on dat belief. Brief enuff for ya?…lol

44. old onion bags Avatar

45. old onion bags Avatar

46. Onions can you send Owen and Mascoll to help out our once colonial masters
    Bank of England slashes growth forecasts to ZERO as double-dip recession deepens… but there is some relief for savers
    The economy will grind to a halt this year as the threat from the eurozone, tough austerity measures and tight lending conditions drag on the economy, the Bank of England warned today.

In its quarterly inflation report, the Bank slashed its growth forecast for 2012 to around zero from 0.8 per cent in its May report, while the economy is now expected to grow by around 1.9 per cent in 2013, compared to 2.4 per cent in its last estimate.

The downbeat outlook will increase the chances of further emergency support measures, including a possible interest rate cut beyond the current record low of 0.5 per cent and a further cash injection to the Bank’s quantitative easing programme.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | August 8, 2012 at 5:06 PM |

This is dire news for Bim so don’t you go off bragging that Bim is doing better than the UK. Bim can’t print money like the UK (“a further cash injection to the Bank’s quantitative easing programme”).

Over 50% of our tourist arrivals, much FDI especially in real estate and loads of remittances in the form of pensions emanate from the UK.
    So Clone instead of comparing ourselves with others and bragging “we are not doing so bad after all” we need to brace ourselves for some serious economic adjustments, girdle our loins and chart a new path to economic survival. Sugar is in the ICU with the undertaker watching for the total loss of vital signs and tourism is in the hospital with a serious long-term illness. What are we going to do, Clone? Blame OSA and the BLP?

48. Miller
    Are you trying to be funny. I used this article from the Daily mail to show how are main tourist market is faring.
    I was trying to point out to you BLP fanatics that you are demonizing this government for running the economy into the ground and believing that Owen Arthur,Clyde Mascoll,Ryan Straughn and the young UWI lecturer know how to correct the world’s problems. I was therefore just asking them to go to England and lend their expertise for big dollars.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | August 8, 2012 at 5:45 PM |
    “Miller Are you trying to be funny. I used this article from the Daily mail to show how are main tourist market is faring.”

Funny? NO! Dead serious? Yes! If you think that blaming OSA and cussing your critics for doing the same thing you guys did pre January2008 is going to get us out of this economic time bomb you have another thing coming. Remember the lot of hogwash about the BLP mismanagement, wastage and corruption that was ruining the economy and hurting poor people?
    Well its payback time (what you sow in the wind you will reap in the whirlwind).

What you need to tell this administration is that the longer they delay to take the necessary steps to stem the decline and prepare for the oncoming economic tsunami Barbados would become in less than 2 years an economic backwater, basket case and financial pariah that no investor would want to touch with a 10 ft pole. A devaluation would bring untold suffering to our people. If the cost of living is so very high now imagine what a 25% downward correction to the currency peg to the US dollar would do to the living standards of the average person?
    But one smells a political rat in this delay in calling elections while ignoring the pressing need to make serious and immediate structural adjustments to the economy and fiscal landscape. The DLP does not want to be seen as the party responsible for making the necessary parity adjustment from 2: 1 to an initial 1.5:1. Let the BLP handle it from next year and go down in infamy as having to swallow the DLP shit after 5 years of economic constipation.

50. It seems you are also a hypocrite too.

You are putting all the blame on a four year old administration for our perilous economic position when they came into power with the world going into its worst economic slide since the great depression.
    You dismiss any thought that there was corruption under the BLP administration. You dismiss that there was wastage. Now you are trying to force this government to make the hard decisions that you refused to make when you had 2.8 billion in foreign exchange that you claim was there.
    You can’t have it both ways by saying you were good managers in times of plenty but do not want to accept that you were also very good at wasting public funds such as Greenland, Gems, the Highway, the prison, the solar water heater project in Nigeria.

The DLP government will never devalue the dollar so if you win you can go ahead.

Leave a Reply to balanceCancel reply