Submitted by Yardbroom
Yohan Blake (l), and Usain Bolt (r)

The stadium will be full to capacity but easily brought to a hush, the proverbial “you can hear the drop of a pin  comes to mind, as mutterings die away.  Spectators crane necks forward and eyes intent wait for the spectacle.  The day is Sunday, 5 August, 2012, the stadium clock moves with deliberate intent towards 9:50PM London time as does Big Ben across the way.  The starter grips his pistol and looks across, as minor officials relishing their seconds in the limelight, check that the athletes’ fingers are behind the start line.

On your marks! get set! the starter shouts.  Bodies rise, legs taught and coiled energy is about to explode.  In perhaps less than ten seconds after the crack of the starters pistol, eight men will uncoil with a pumping of arms and a blur of legs.  Years of training will culminate in a lunge for the finish line and arms will be held aloft.  For one man his name will be recorded in the annuals of Olympic history.  He will always be the Olympic 100 metres Gold medallist, who will it be?

Among those who are “likely” to be there are:

Usain Bolt (Jamaica)

Born: Trelawny, 100 metres Olympic Champion

Yohan Blake (Jamaica)

Born: St James

Best time: 100 metres 9.75s (Kingston) 2012

Tyson Gay (USA)

Born: Lexington, Kentucky

Best time: 100 metres 9.69s (NR)

Justin Gatlin (USA)

Born: Brooklyn, New York

Best time: 100 metres 9.80s (Eugene) 2012

Christophe Lemaitre (French)

Born: Culoz

Best time:100 metres 9.92s (Albi 2011)

We are now told he will concentrate on the 200 metres and not the 100 but you never know, these things can change.

Asafa Powell (Jamaica)

Born: Spanish Town

Best time: 100 metres 9.72s ( Lausanne 2008)

Dare you predict the first three in correct order of finishing, “NOW” even before the heats have started?  have you got the knowledge and reading of form?  Can you say in twenty five years or so, I got it right, for if you can it will be recorded and you too will be a “Champion” of sorts or perhaps just lucky.

1. The big chatter this morning is that CBC missed Blakes race and elected instead to broadcast a ‘filler’…lol.

Poor CBC.

2. The more CBC make an ASS of themselves the more pathetic they have become. This is the year of the ASSHOLES and I hand CBC the trophy.

3. Please tell me that I’m wrong but I thought I heard that the men’s 100 m final would be around 3 pm something our time . CBC’s schedule looks like it will be showing cricket if so it looks as though we won’t even get to watch the men’s 100 m final live? Someone please tell me I’m mistaken.

I agree the coverage has been crap but at least when Barry Wilkinson was on he bought a degree of professionalism and actually made you want to listen. Well done Barry!

4. The iMC will show tape delay stuff tonight…lol.

There is live streaming on the Internet 🙂

http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/115964/1/watch-uk-sports-tv.html

5. Thanks David.

6. Shelly-Anne Fraser of Jamaica repeated as women’s 100 metres champ with Jeter of the USA second and Campbell Browne of Jamaica third. Hope you folks saw it live

7. @Sargeant

An excellent race. It is easy to see the work which these Jamaicans put in to get the result. The Test match even took a break to watch the race in Jamaica. It shows how serious these guys are about their sports program. People in Barbados with MCTV saw the coverage live on Channel 606.

8. David

One of the biggest sports event in Jamaica is the High School Championship a three day affair where the attendance is upwards of 25,000. It is from this meet that athletes like Powell, Blake and Bolt emerge. This year’s 100 metre dash was won by a non Jamaican
    ( Turks & Caicos) who attends school in Jamaica for the first time, so check out the name Delano Willians in future.

9. @Sargeant

Sweet!

Just think the Barbados athlete ran 10.35 which is the same as this youngster from the Turks.

10. Barbdos sprinters are the fastest in Caribbean at CARIFTA then they disappear. What ever happened to Carifta sprint champions Dario Alleyne and Shakeim Greaves?

11. old onion bags Avatar

Poor Camelita Jetta…..her disappointment was most obvious affa strutting the turf most bombastically in front Frazier Pryce,before their semi final.
    The USA show oink, could not contain it….Go JA…..BlakeBolt tomorrow…

12. @ Turfite
    Clear sign of lack of national leadership to develop available talent.
    Same thing with the recent CUT meet where the Bajan youths did very well in Jamaica. Now they will come back here to nothing….

13. @Onions

Justin Gun is the man who looks the best of the lot.

14. off topic but……Could a picture be worth a thousand tourists?

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/oprah-winfreys-in-barbados/

15. @Hants

That pic is worth millions.

16. @Bush Tea

There was an athlete a few years ago who won the World Juniors at 400m. Mac Fingall was heard to say he was the best in the world and great things were expected. What happened to him?

17. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

I hope Bolt wins but looking at the qualifying heats this morning he appears to be struggling a bit.My Picks are:
    GATLIN
    BLAKE
    BOLT

18. @Onions

Yuh gotta give Jack e jacket and Jane she drawers Carmelita did well for a 31 year old competing in her first Olympics. Athletes esp. sprinters do that all the time they strut trying to intimidate the competition.

So far no false starts, on to tomorrow.

Canada got its first Gold today in the women’s trampoline (so don’t throw out the old one in your backyard yet) we don’t have to own the bronze anymore.

19. @ David
    …a casualty of our national lack of vision.
    What we need are administrators who are capable, and genuinely interested in helping our youth to be successful
    …what we have instead, are people looking out for personal benefits, or essentially incompetent, so they only act where it suits their own fickle purpose….and it does not suit their purpose to invest in such talent.

What about Akela Jones? Can there be any clearer case of raw talent? Some persons should be made to account for that unrealized potential! Can you imagine that after showing such promise YEARS ago, she is not in London now…? Stupsseeee

Shane Brathwaite, keire Beckles, and the more current Shekera Reece are only glaring examples of unrealized potential due to official neglect and incompetence.

20. David “That pic is worth millions.”

Is our BTA capable of strategizing to help Barbados benefit from this multi million dollar opportunity?

I have a feeling they does read BU so maybe they will take our hints.

21. @Sargeant,

30 million people and Canada only got 1 Gold and in Trampoline.

Not good enough.

22. Blake it is and today will prove my prediction to be true. After Bolt acted like he never eat a white meat yet, he became slower and less focused. Blake shall Blaze the Bolt

23. @ David
    Justin Gatlin will look good on paper…..this is a all J A race….its a close one between Bolt and Blake….the gatlin gun wid miss fire again !

24. I just read a “statement / rant” attributed to Obadele Thompson re the Kim Collins situation.
    Has anyone seen the original valid version of this “commentary” ?

25. old onion bags Avatar

Bolt looking GOOD…..take care …..Blake boy….your work cut out…Asafa Powell….not yet in finals …cuddear..now on TV

26. Bolt,Blake & Powell look good can an American sneak in? This is one of the greatest 100 metre fields in history. Jamaica will have some icing on the cake to celebrate its 50th anniversary of Independence.

27. Lightning Bolt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

28. LOL @ Onions
    …wrong about Blake
    …wrong about AX
    …want to change your predictions about elections? 🙂

29. Don’t be so cruel Bush Tea. Old Onions almost got it right.

Awesome race.

Hope you saw how much Bolt has given back to his hometown Trelawney.

Fixed up the medical clinic. pay to put electricity in the primary school and bought them computers. Made a deal with PUMA as part of his contract to supply the school with sneakers and running shoes.

30. In the official language of the Olympics “INCROYABLE”!!!. What a race, too bad about Powell would have liked to see him around at the end it might have been a sweep for Ja

31. record winning 9.63 time all the way ! gold for Bolt. great publicity for Jamaica!

32. Congrats to Jamaica and Jamaicans the whole world was watching you and you delivered!

33. old onion bags Avatar

@ Bushie
    Bolt looking GOOD…..take care …..Blake boy….your work cut out…Asafa Powell….not yet in finals
    If Bush man would put down the weed……he would be able to keep abreast of happenings….As to Ax….LOL that stuff puppy deserving to be you mate…..Elections?..Dats a LAUGH…..
    From the time I saw Bolt today…..I knew he was playing young Blake….now J A has 59 medals…..

34. Nice gesture by the Grenadian.
    He has long been accepted by his rivals. Kirani James of Grenada, the reigning world 400m champion who finished first ahead of Pistorius, demonstrated his respect for the South African by making a point of swapping numbers with him after the race.

35. WANT to hear something ???
    I am a Jamaican
    Barbados can learn from Bolt and Jamaica
    Jamaicans are something else
    Marcus Garvey
    Bob Marley
    Usain Bolt
    — 3 only but there are so many more

36. BOLT = 1
    BLAKE= 2
    GATLIN = 3

BLP = 29
    DLP = 0
    IND = 1

37. Just asking is there nowhere you can find to fondle yourself but on here. Lawd have his mercy you are tres annoying.

38. onions @ Bushie *******************************
    If Bush man would put down the weed……he would be able to keep abreast of happenings….…..

@ onions maybe have two breast in the hands

39. old onion bags Avatar

.@ ac
    …nick picking now aren’t we?( the spelling is correct)…Bushie is a clown who loves to attack Onions every chance he gets…..his fervor stems from the fact that he believes in the moron Broomes and an inept bundling lot whose driver cannot driver. Bushie…”off wid their heads man”..lol

40. It maybe incredible to think but it seems that Bolt had something in reserve. It must be obvious he shared the lime light with Blake pre Olympics.

41. Man Onions, Bushie does not attack you because of your AX stance… But because you are you…
    What put down what weed what? you and ac got wunna chops for Bushie stuff or what? ….the only weed the bushman have has been left in front of the bushman house by the cleaners….

@ ac
    So you joining up with a Card carrying Bee like onions against the bushman? ….. You old hen you !!! 🙂

42. Who exactly are these ignorant, sexist male Caribbean “commentators” covering these games? A Chinese woman just won the gold in women’s weight-lifting. Here’s the brilliant question/comment from the male Caribbean “commentator” on her fantastic achievement:
    “So, what would you do if you had to go home to her?”
    Followed by chuckles, smirks and grins from his fellow “commentators”, one a former MP.
    Why comment on the skill, talent and obvious hard work of a female athlete when you can reduce her to nothing more than the size of her body, right? Those so-called commentators would never have been allowed to get away with such misogyny on any other network but a Caribbean one. Hey, I guess we stuck-up women should just be grateful that they even gave us any Olympic coverage at all, and just shut up and learn to take a joke, right?

43. @Nia

In the case of Barney Lynch this provides insight into exactly how our decision-makers think, all of them.

44. Well done Kirani James Grenada Gold!

45. Nia it is a disease among Caribbean men that they acquire when they become “somebody”. It is called “rassoleidiots” in Bajan .

46. Congrats to Grenadian James (Gold) and to trini Gordon (bronze) in the 400m.

47. Happy Independence day to my Jamaican brethren.

48. Guess we have to pray Ryan Brathwaite steps up tomorrow,

Leave a Reply to old onion bagsCancel reply