The Deputies

One of the many problems which afflict our political system is the overwhelming focus on the ‘maximum’ leaders of the two main political parties, case in point Fruendel Stuart and Owen Arthur. The talk shows, newspapers and of course ‘the blogs’ you name it, the majority of the conversation is always about Arthur and Stuart. No wonder when our leaders depart – Tom Adams, Errol Barrow and David Thompson – there is a void which the parties have struggled to fill.

It seems like a long time since Mia Mottley was removed as leader of the Opposition. Of interest is that Dale Marshall  continued in his role as deputy opposition leader if there is such a position. Marshall has never attained a national profile which placed him in the conversation to be considered prime minister material. It is clear his role as deputy was to placate the Payne faction and also to recognize his facile political persona.

As gearing for the next election intensifies Arthur has recognized (very quickly) that a role must be defined for Motley given her relatively high national profile. He has had no choice but to let her assume the role of party whip used here to mean amplifying party views. We have seen her replying as lead spokesman of the opposition to the most important debates for the year; the Estimates and the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals. As Motley has regained prominence Dale Marshall has had to revert to a role which he seems comfortable. A recent press conference by the opposition to respond to the S&P downgrade exposed the batting order if one judges from the speaking order – Arthur, Motley and Mascoll. A throwback to the last election maybe when some had concerns about whether Mascoll or Mottley was the deputy?

Over the divide in the wake of the E11 saga which has interacted with the Alexandra fiasco to Jones’ disadvantage, Barbadians have witnessed the quiet dissatisfaction of Prime Minister Stuart with his long standing ‘Acting Prime Minister’. Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy has received a call up to act as deputy on the occasions Prime Minister Stuart has had to leave the country. Sealy obviously has been rewarded for his loyalty; at the time. What has not worked for Stuart in the eyes of an enquiring public is the Marshall-like personality which Sealy possesses. Given Stuart’s own taciturn nature, one would have thought a more boisterous appointment as his deputy would have been more politically astute.

If we look pass the two political leaders to plot a matchup with a general election on the horizon, Arthur and the BLP has the clear advantage if we stop at the deputy position.  The recent CADRES poll has given Arthur the big lead over Stuart in assessing the leadership position. To win the next general election Stuart will have to communicate to a demanding public in a way he has been unable to do since he assumed office. To many, like BU, who will sit on the fence for this election it will be interesting to observe the strategy of the DLP who has enjoyed making a hash of it of late. Arthur has his people singing from the same hymn sheet, Stuart and the DLP can learn a thing or two by doing the same.

At this late stage in the game it is hard to fathom what will be the DLP strategy to win the next election.

1. Reading (and listening) Carefullly Avatar
    Reading (and listening) Carefullly

……….Fortune favours the brave……….

2. @Prodigal–Arthur and cabinet gave long dose of salts Wood permission to raise the bus fares? Cabinet signed off on Arthur doing a 360 and embarassing Wood maintaining bus fares at same rate? Enquiring minds want to know who went to Cabinet and who did not before anouncing, STEWPS!

3. @Johnn

Same old same old then?

4. @John

Same old same old then?

5. @yardbroom
    good advice, but its too late. Damage control rather than victory is the course of action required now. Even that is proving difficult.

@balance
    that mantra should be applied to everyone. In certain positions the goal isn’t to please but to achieve objectives and improve circumstances. I agree with you that the Commission was an afterthought. You are quite fair in your judgments there.

@crusoe
    “Tom Adams would not have had any concern as to his own excellent abilities and confidence.”

that’s the problem with our current leaders. Afraid of their own shadows.

@peltdownman and Akeem
    we lost a little while ago. So much so that we didn’t even realise it while it happened.

@david
    “Why make the announcement before getting cabinet approval?”

buh wait, we already confirm that it’s “brek fa yaself season” Why are you surprised??

@Hinds &mash up and buy back
    All riots are not the physical, violent or demonstrative types.

@johnn
    at least Arthur came out and put the “record” straight. Woods went back to the corner.The hierarchy and rankingn order remained unmoved. What we’re seeing now is akin to verbal anarchy.

6. I would like to know also why they shift poor Wickham (from speaking his piece) on Brass Tacks?….. Now poor Dennis Johnson has to work double shift…Brass tacks followed by Fireworks……WE CAN PUT THAT DOWN TO CONFIDENCE…I guess ! Puttin up or shuttin up right Determined?

7. Why are both parties so concerned with someone overthrowing them as political leader.

If you select someone as deputy that is smarter than you are and strategise to ensure that you are more popular among your party what fear could you have?

Caswell I agree without Estwick it is not appealling. I truly really thought that Jones would have been a second selection to lead after Estwick – David Thompson lost interest in Estwick could be at the prodding and gruelling of HHenry to the detriment of the Party. I never had Sinckler in the lineup at all at all to hear that he was Finance Minister was a surprise intellectually but not on terms of close friendship. Thompson could have done something else off the cuff like naming Irene or Undene Min of Finance.

Mara is not one to be pushed hereafter and I noticed that she was allowed to act as Speaker of the House.

As deputy leader Sinckler no maybe in another 10 years but not now; Jones his poor management with the AX affair ‘no’ lost his chance along with the ‘seeking an audience with the PM’ issue; Esther is such a baby I don’t know how many years she will need; Donville although positioning himself I would not select him because of his personal views get carried more so the law i.e. ‘how he feels about it’ coming over as human yet only a few benefit by implementation such as ‘$5.00 for medication’.

I would suggest that each party emphasizes the appointment of a deputy with both leader and deputy marketed as neck and neck to restore confindence that should one depart the other would fill seamlessly into the slot.

Too often we appear to be hanging when we lose a leader although one is installed (including now). We are sure that Freundel is PM however because of his irregular appearances we are walking by faith and not by sight. We know he is working and we understand he allows the Ministers to speak on their specific portfolio.

Once upon a time you would hear I saw PM today in town or some other popular place or somewhere in the country in casual attire – not now. Our PM’s are official, official, official. That type of interaction and casual spot appearances create a feel of belonging to the people. They politicians need to bring it back to the community in person and not via television.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (BU):

Heard the the BLP’s Deputy leade, Dale Marshall, calling on the members of the Police Service Commission to resign.
    It would be interesting to know who are the members of this Commission.
    Do you know who they are, David?

9. I really did not support Steve Blackett’s, Adriel Brathwaite’s and Ronald Jones’ representation of what they saw as better being aired in public. Let alone David Estwick mouthing off that he will resign if such and such did not happen.

They should know when to speak and when to hold their views which are contrary to the PM their leader. If you want an audience with him request it or share it over cocktail – not at public forum. Build relations within Party. Make it difficult for PM to select a deputy because of loyalty, ability, teamspirit yeoman service.

The next generation is not committed to a Party as both Parties carry philosophies of mirror reflections.

The strategy will be seen – we have to remember that the BLP thought the DLP did not have a strategy in 2008 and according to Brandford Taitt I think it was Taitt who said Owen nearly choke and Billie almost caught a heart-attack when they saw the billboards.

All yuh could stop wallowing in mire of the past. Owen was so sure that he could not lose that election I just gaze over Just Askin, OOB, Prodigal et al comments.

10. old onion bags Avatar

All yuh could stop wallowing in mire of the past. Owen was so sure that he could not lose that election I just gaze over Just Askin, OOB, Prodigal et al comments.
    Why then you probably caught Aarson’s disease…”Fundementia nonsensia”
    Ask the brass to SHOW YOUR CONFIDENCE……Bring on the Bling Bling..Bling Otherwise your talk is like shhhh.

11. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@brief
    Owen deserved to lose in 2008. What’s funny is that the arrogance of the BLP then (oct-nov 2008) is the same arrogance being seen in the dlp now.

What politicians often underestimate is the mood of the people. The BLP had reasonably good performances and achievements, yet they were kicked out and rightfully so. What do the DLP have now? Leadership? Confidence? Performance? Unity? PR? None of the above?

The country’s mood soured since last year, for some even before that. . It’s only getting worse now.

Wrt the “outbursts”, owen said it simply. Those who break ranks (especially at times like these) should be brought in line with dispatch and using phase one only. The country needs democracy, but our leaders need loyalty and trust and the electorate needs to see and feel it.

Rest assured, some of these self made MPs were chomping at the bit since DT’s diagnosis. A most disgusting and disatrous way to make a transition and create organisational strength. Sad ting is a lot of these guys should be grateful they got to sniff what a seat in parliament smells like. They certainly didn’t get there on their own merit or talent.

Just observing.

12. Most Dems are in denial
    Peter Wickham did two polls. The first poll showed Mia and Chris leading both Owen and Freundel. The second poll showed Owen moving into the lead with Mia second and Chris Third.

Most Dems do not believe that and that is where the problem lies.
    Freundel should have appointed Chris as his deputy from day 1 when David Thompson died because he received the second most votes from the parliamentary group in the leadership race.

Freundel should have remembered that he was Mascoll partner against Thompson and Thompson still made him deputy PM.

Chris is the most Popular Dem and that should be utilized as Peter Wickham was saying.
    Selfishness will be the reason if they lose.

Do not bother about people like Kellman who it is rumoured voted for himself to be PM when the DLP won the Government.

Estwick head is too hot to be a Prime Minister. He may be the first Prime Minister to shoot somebody

13. old onion bags Avatar

Wait
    Clone is that YOU ?

14. @Miller

Wasn’t the last Chairman Leroy Inniss. Will have to check.

Here is an interesting reference document:

The Constitution and You Barbados

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | August 2, 2012 at 6:56 PM |

Onions, don’t run the Clone. Let him spill his guts. Things real bad with the DLP. You will soon start seeing a lot of turncoats and naysayers. When they get tired blaming the BLP, S&P and who or whatever comes along they will start on their own and the Fumbler is the ideal whipping boy.

One can just hear them moaning and complaining: “Man, if Fumble wasn’t so stupid and arrogant we would have won back the government. “It’s all the Fumbler’s fault! We should have dumped him early o’clock and we won’t be in this historic one-term electoral position”. Rumour has it that these eager beavers are so scared of losing their picks that they are even referring to their boss by that “C” word frequently used by Bajans especially males and made well known by our international pop star. The Fumbler might be slow in arriving at the bottom of Mount Venus but on seeing the flytrap he takes on a complete new persona like a Venus butterfly and hurriedly discharges his load in the bushy mound with utmost haste thus coining the nickname “Onan the premature p m (pu**y misser)”.

16. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    HE SHOCK ME ..fa real…boy the beginning of the end start. Did you hear the odder stalwart Wesley….denouncing any association wid the SSA..on VOB today…man dey breaking up like salt cod fish..rank rank…LOL LOL..

What you make of nothing more on the Rhianna show? ..it was planned for near crop ova… to max the overseas crowds …and pre elections uplift..like it lookin Jan fa real..

17. I am still voting for the DLP in the upcoming election because I see them as the best way forward for Barbados at this time. Can you see Barney as a Minister of Tourism and cannot go into a US state.

There are no bigger jokers than Glyne Clarke, Cynthia Forde, Dale Marshall and George Payne so I don’t know why you want the government back so fast. Are you missing the contract money for repairing schools and running school canteens.

You cannot understand persons who are not party diehards who can say it as it as they see it.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Clone | August 2, 2012 at 8:07 PM |

The majority of the voting people of Barbados will return the BLP to power not because they are enamoured with OSA but because of their woeful disappointment in the DLP. The BLP are not the “saviours” of Barbados but despite their so-called suspect dealings as bandied about by DT & Co they have never brought Bim to such a low ebb and virtually on her knees with begging bowl heading to the lender of last resort- the loan shark IMF.

The DLP would have been given a second term even in the face of the current prolonged recession in Western economies which is turning out to be more than an economic recession but more of a realignment of world economic dominance and control. But what has the people’s goat is the 4G type of arrogance, deceit, lying and pomposity that have crept into this administration at such an early stage. The electorate will be prepared to put up with mistakes caused by inexperience, eagerness to impress resulting in acts of incompetence. As long as the DLP had remained in tune and honestly communicated on message with the people with a show of humility they would not have been kicked to the kerb so readily. But to have a leader who not only carries an air of aloofness but is constricted by a lack of basic understanding of economic and financial management while refusing to listen to or engage with people who have the country at heart.

Unless the hacks like you openly rebel and change your leader you have as much hope of winning back the government as Satan has in heaven sitting at the right hand of your god.

19. all the BLP comments. God help wunna if yuh lose!

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 2, 2012 at 9:18 PM |
    ” all the BLP comments. God help wunna if yuh lose!”

We will remain “AS IS” or should it be “AS ARE”.
    The BLP has Nothing to lose except the opportunity of rescuing this country from pending economic and social disaster.

What about you and the likes of CCC when the fatted calf is no longer edible but has become putrid in George St.?

21. Miller
    You will get a shock of your life when the DLP is returned to office with less seats but enough to form the Government.

All you, onions, balance, prodigal, enuff and just asking have really is just a lot talk but Barbadians are living their lives as best as they can. They are partying now, in the last three days were shopping preparing for the bad weather. Next two weeks they will be shopping for school supplies.
    There is no suffering in Barbados compared to what is happening in other parts of the world.

Every child will go to school in September looking sharp. That is because the government eased the burden on parents by having summer camps where they do not have to look for money to maintain them for eight weeks. That is what is meant by Barbados is NOT only an economy but also a society, which Owen conceded to in the budget

22. miller @ac

What about you and the likes of CCC when the fatted calf is no longer edible but has become putrid in George St.?
    ac @miller
    what fatted calf. Blp left a skeleton ! gee whiz. i know you dreaming!

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ Clone
    There is no suffering in Barbados ….

Now that’s a laugh……..hey Clone…..don’t debate no more..get Stuart to call the election….tell him the above…”FA TRUTE STUART……YOU all gine WIN……why waste any more time? Clone right…go n get the bell…

24. The global recovery continues, but the recovery is weak; indeed a bit weaker than we forecast in April, says IMF Chief Economist Olivier Blanchard. In the Euro zone, growth is close to zero, reflecting positive but low growth in the core countries, and negative growth in most periphery countries. In the United States, growth is positive, but too low to make a serious dent to unemployment. Growth has also slowed in major emerging economies, from China to India and Brazil.

now after reading a dissmal report on the leading world economies you BLP paling fowls think people going to believe that OSA and the mascot have solutions tell OSA that people not stupid. first thing he needs to REBUILD and Reconstruct is his image in the eyes as of the public..

25. @Crusoe

Personally, I think the time is nigh, that Mia Mottley be given her chance. When the eleciton is over and the BLP go to Government House, I would think it right that Arthur have a word with his ‘people’, and take the Deputy PM role, have Mia take the lead.
    What kind of cockamamie logic is that? People vote for a leader they never vote for a “Deputy” , If Mia is to lead the Barbados Gov’t let her win it in her own right. Imagine Arthur going up and down the length and breadth of Barbados trying to convince people he is the best man for the job and if he is elected decides to hand it over like an unwanted prize.

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

Do not factor Arthur’s image into the equation because it is not. Granted that Arthur’s image is so tattered that it could do with a serious renovation or rather rebuilding. But things are so bad in this country that people would rather have Arthur with all his warts than endure the suffering that is being inflicted by the incompetence of the Government. And I think that is going to be foremost in the electorate’s mind when they are called to make a choice at the poll. That is why Estwick would be able to challenge the BLP: he has the brains. No other person in the DLP’s parliamentary group can match either Arthur or Estwick.

I am hearing people say that Arthur has the skills to manage the economy and that is what’s needed at this time. People are prepared to overlook his perceived discretions for a better life. So if you think that Arthur’s image will factor in the next election: think again. The Government seem to have throw their hands in th air. People are suffering and are in need of urgent help, even if it comes from the devil.

27. Caswell @ACI am hearing people say that Arthur has the skills to manage the economy and that is what’s needed at this time.

@caswell
    Seeing the results of the past OSA admininistration ? what skills are we talking about. ?

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | August 2, 2012 at 9:31 PM |
    “There is no suffering in Barbados compared to what is happening in other parts of the world.”

Well name a few that have a similar economic profile as Barbados and depend on the same sources of income. For example, Bermuda, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Singapore, Malta.

29. Interesting to note the gusto Kerri Symmonds has been championing for transparency of the Bynoe, Metal Dump, Government transaction. Seems he has hitched to an issue which is resonating.

Interesting indeed, it all circles back to communication and transparency. Will this government ever learn?

30. old onion bags Avatar

Have you forgotten the state of things?. Chaos and disorder reined for two years then and before Eager 11 …how Stuart managed to keep order beat all…..Obviously gang rule necessitate maverick mentality…..I am even more surprised there wasn’t more cuss out and walk out to show….But we still got 6 mnths. What we are seeing now is just a further manifestation of “breaking for self”….don’t forget Stuart promised…off with their heads….
    Communication and cohesion are but two obvious causalities.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | August 3, 2012 at 8:26 AM |

The political figure at the centre of this controversy is not known to play by the rules. His style of ministerial oversight has resonance with his Nigerian counterparts.

The beleaguered Cabinet chief could really gain some last minute political and electoral mileage and prove he is a man of integrity and strength of character by dismissing the minister on grounds of incompetence. This façade of course would be used to mask the real reason for his dismissal. But the lowly fella is a loud and bellicose chorister in Fumble’s loyal band. If he is not stopped from putting his dirty hands in the cookie jar he- by the grace of the fates of honesty and decency- would be asking one more time for more prayers from the same quack reverend who swore to the Almighty that a similar dishonest person would not succumb to the grim reaper under his watch.

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

I have little or no regard for Owen Arthur and if I had my way he would never ever serve this country as Prime Minister again. However, I am not making this stuff up, go to the public markets and hear what the people are saying on Saturdays. Even the DEMS are cussing the Government. I hear hard core DEMS say that they never had it so bad that when Arthur was in power, they had money in their pockets and promising not to vote.

People are desperate for relief and as they say, before none any. The any in this case is Arthur and his motley crew (pun intended). If you listen to the people on the street, the DEMS would find it hard even to hold on to the Opposition if there were a third party.

AC as a party supporter you are guilty of one of what I consider the cardinal sins of party supporters and that is they tell their members of parliament what they want to hear not necessarily the truth. But I understand your difficulty, when I supported a political party I would tell them the truth only to be vilified and ostracized for it. Mind you, I get the satisfaction of hearing some of my former colleagues approaching me and saying if they had listen to me they would not have lost the Government.

Think on these things: there might still be time for the DLP to salvage some pride at the next election.

33. old onion bags Avatar

@ Caswell
    Clone | August 2, 2012 at 8:07 PM |
    I am still voting for the DLP in the upcoming election because I see them as the best way forward for Barbados at this time.
    You will get a shock of your life when the DLP is returned to office with less seats but enough to form the Government.
    Wishing you could help a fella…………..LOL

34. Miller

Bermuda and Cayman are two British dependencies whose pay structure was way above Barbados under all Prime Ministers.

Bahamas has a superior tourism product to Barbados but not a standard of living. I have visited there and know what I am talking about.

We were never in the class of Singapore full stop.

Malta is classified as an advanced economy by the IMF which Barbados was NEVER.

You can’t have it both ways. Our entitlements are way above what it should be and so what all governments did was to borrow and borrow for us to sustain our lifestyles.
    Owen Arthur looks good because he led Barbados in a time of plenty Ponzi schemes prevailing in the world.
    Those times would never come back because people are more vigilant.

Caswell said that Barbadians are going for Owen because they want back money in their pockets. Let them wait for it because at this time there are 15 million Americans unemployed. The world is in a crisis and the rating agencies don’t care about Owen or Freundel they just want their clients’ money protected

35. @ Clone
    Caswell said that Barbadians are going for Owen because they want back money in their pockets.
    No you may not see why or make sense of the move…..but finding $598,000 for the first 3 weeks… to pay a Doctor gone secretary affa firing she… and BMW driven DLP lawyers to sit daily and entertain sh#te…..We know you all so see thru eyes of FAMILY FIRST…..F4 ..eva body else…like David said.. they got cell phones…and going to Soca on the Hill..whip DEM, FUNDY ..whip DEM….MOE money in dey pockets wha…Right Clone…I got it right ?Give them more hard food….gouge off they gasoline..mek DEM pay more for light…we gotta brek dey backs….while saying GIVE WE ANOTHER TERM pleeeaaasseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.LIKE SH#Teeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | August 3, 2012 at 9:59 AM |

So I ask you again to give us some examples against which we can reasonably compare Barbados when it comes to economic profile and performance? St. Lucia, St. Kitts, Antigua, Mauritius, Seychelles, which one?

“We were never in the class of Singapore full stop.”

You are right here! For in the 1950/60’s Singapore was way below Barbados on the Human Development Index and in its economic output and performance. Far from being in the same class they have outclassed Bim in every respect since the 1970’s. They (Singaporeans) had to face the same challenges and international economic hurdles as Bajans. Whither Bim now? Go have a séance to contact the Skipper EWB and ask him what has gone wrong with his experiment whereas his mutually admirable University colleague Lee Kuan Yew has built a first class economy with a disciplined multi-cultural society.

“Our entitlements are way above what it should be and so what all governments did was to borrow and borrow for us to sustain our lifestyles.”

So why is the current enlightened DLP administration perpetuating this kind of mendicant mentality and State welfare dependency?
    Let us hear you tell the DLP in no uncertain terms that the days of free tertiary education, totally free health care, and unproductive employment by statutory bodies are over?

37. Observing (and understanding) Avatar
    Observing (and understanding)

@miller
    “As long as the DLP had remained in tune and honestly communicated on message with the people with a show of humility they would not have been kicked to the kerb so readily.”

i don’t know why this was so hard for them to realise.

the dump is in SJS from what I understand. Not a peep from Hutson yet. There goes that seat for sure. Kerri jumped on it 8 minutes after a caller on Brass Tacks raised it 3 days ago. It’s now moved from a local nuisance to a national controversy. Perfect politics. Do you think the DLP would ever learn?

@Clone
    “There is no suffering in Barbados compared to what is happening in other parts of the world.”

There was no suffering in 2007 – January 2008 either. But, look what happened.

38. Miller:
    “One can just hear them moaning and complaining: “Man, if Fumble wasn’t so stupid and arrogant we would have won back the government. “It’s all the Fumbler’s fault! We should have dumped him early o’clock and we won’t be in this historic one-term electoral position”.

Did you change the name from ‘Owen” after saying this on January 16, 2008? Were these your exact words for your leader then, and because of your forgiveness after 4 years are you replacing it with the well-loved and respected PM Stuart who allows freedom of speech and all public servants of Little England to remain employed during a recession.

Big England has AUSTERITY measures to reduce deificit and current Stuart-led DLP Party and Government of this island has retained public service employment – a few casualties but not austere.

Caswell:

I concur that DLP members are disgruntled and many are saying that they will not vote, many are silent yet many are awaiting the bug to bite and transfer potent then they will spring into action to assist here and there even if not in their own constituency.

The truth is that the DLP knows of the feeling of its people and it is not being ignored. It has not yet been addressed but it certainly is not being ignored (meaning the top brass is not behaving like they don’t know). Efforts to comfort them will see at the polls and only at the polls. The following during campaigning will not be indicative of voter turn out. This is one election that crowds for DLP does not mean victory.

The actual election day when the people decide if they will be wasting their time voting or not will determine the successful Party.

And Miller:
    The messianic type politics is over in Barbados – we are not voting for an individual person we will not lock ourselves into that again. ARTHUR has never been and shall never be the Saviour of Barbados simply because Barbados is not in jeopardy to be rescued; new buildings/projects are underway so no need to rebuild just complete; AND like yourselves we Barbadians (people) require refilling/refreshing not restoring you people are insulting us by the use of these words.

God Bless my fellow Barbadian.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Observing (and understanding) | August 3, 2012 at 11:29 AM |
    “@Clone: There was no suffering in 2007 – January 2008 either. But, look what happened.”

Excellent observation and incisive understanding of the DLP modus operandi with smoke and mirrors!
    One can even go further and argue that far from suffering the cost of living was approx. 30 % lower and official unemployment was approx 5-6 percentage points or 50% lower and a foreign reserves level (the life blood of the economy) at a all time high of $2.6 to 2.8 billion.

40. Observing (and Polling):

The arrogance in the DLP is so silly mainly because as you said they did not get their on their own ability, potential nor even capacity. We see it all:- high-chested posture, failure to interact with middle and low-income electorate with their children, camaraderie among themselves (evident by public mouthings).

That is why today in politics in Barbados we don’t have one man that the people favour resoundingly this month is A next month it is B. As long as we listen to the ground.

I am not hearing of the favour of Owen (take anything) I am just hearing of the discontent among both parties – if the BLP thinks that its electorate has put the internal ramblings out of their minds they really have not learnt anything since 2008.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Brief | August 3, 2012 at 11:37 AM |

The difference, stated briefly, is that the BLP with Owen at the helm was in power for 14 long years and the people grew weary of their arrogance and ejected them. Whereas this DLP administration has only displayed arrogance, incompetence and known cases of corruption in its just 4 1/2 short years of tenure.

“ Big England has AUSTERITY measures to reduce deficit and current Stuart-led DLP Party and Government of this island has retained public service employment “

So we want to keep public workers on the payroll for doing nothing when the day comes? There is no work to be done or is being done by these parasites even if taken on by the previous administration. So keep them on the payroll for electoral expediency. And you have the gall to talk about “messianic” type politics! Why not send these unproductive redundant parasites on the dole as your Big England has done?

42. Miller:
    One can even go further and argue that far from suffering the cost of living was approx. 30 % lower and official unemployment was approx 5-6 percentage points or 50% lower and a foreign reserves level (the life blood of the economy) at a all time high of $2.6 to 2.8 billion.

And outstanding debts (expenses)????? Kindly, please include that so we can have a nearer to accurate balance (profit or loss) on our accounting.

43. Miller:

“So we want to keep public workers on the payroll for doing nothing when the day comes? There is no work to be done or is being done by these parasites even if taken on by the previous administration. So keep them on the payroll for electoral expediency. And you have the gall to talk about “messianic” type politics! Why not send these unproductive redundant parasites on the dole as your Big England has done?”

As an unswerving supporter of BLP who hired the people of Barbados all above and within voting age, this is a perfect example of what should be used to project the thoughts of the Head and members of the BLP.

Even the PM Stuart acknowledges, at every opportunity (mind you! I read Ryan’s encounter with property on Roebuck Street) the hard work of those he interacts with in Government and we can hear that the BLP Government hired parasites to do nothing daily.

All the people employed by Government can now vote for the DLP who recognizes, acknowledges and treats them as PEOPLE OF BARBADOS and not real estate.

Uh mean, Miller the truth is I think that the Cabinet is too big and some ministerial positions should be merged – is that to say that the Ministers are doing nothing daily? I cannot say that for I really don’t know. If an employee is underemployed it suggests the incompetence of the manager and employer. We know that infelicities and improprieties are not being corrected so do we ridicule those hired and not the hirer (BLP) in this instance.

44. Observing (and observing) Avatar
    Observing (and observing)

@brief
    “The truth is that the DLP knows of the feeling of its people and it is not being ignored. It has not yet been addressed but it certainly is not being ignored. … This is one election that crowds for DLP does not mean victory.”

This is as paradoxical as it is ironic. Indicative of knowing, but not knowing what to do. and acting counter to what everyone else knows needs to be done.

“we are not voting for an individual person we will not lock ourselves into that again”

That’s why we want to see a TEAM exhibiting unity, confidence, competence, communication, cooperation and collaboration. That’s what we’re not seeing right now.

Just observing

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Brief | August 3, 2012 at 12:12 PM |
    “.. Even the PM Stuart acknowledges, at every opportunity (mind you! I read Ryan’s encounter with property on Roebuck Street) the hard work of those he interacts with in Government and we can hear that the BLP Government hired parasites to do nothing daily.”

Listen Brief, any assessment or adulation of workers’ competence and performance coming from your Star Boy Mr. Molasses MUST be taken with a dose of Epsom salts. It’s pure piffle that needs to be excreted post-haste.
    Do you remember the praises heaped on the Ponzi crook and con artist Mr. L P? That estimable gentleman is a highly effective and successful business man who has brought invaluable benefits and savings and investment opportunities to many ordinary Barbadians and who excellently manages a very profitable and law abiding business enterprise. He is a pal of mine and should not be treated as a leper but as an ‘Untouchable’ with friends in high places.
    Would you be impressed by such a CEO of Barbados Inc. or taken in with that kind of electioneering performance appraisal? Of course, Brief, you don’t want to go there unless you are going to time travel into the past and blame OSA totally for the CLICO debacle like some of your fellow DLP cronies who can see clearly their fatted calf being snatched away by a bigger wild beast?

46. “Even the PM Stuart acknowledges, at every opportunity (mind you! I read Ryan’s encounter with property on Roebuck Street) the hard work of those he interacts with in Government and we can hear that the BLP Government hired parasites to do nothing daily.”

Hmmm wasn’t the officer mentioned in this matter being Stupse, Brief talking a lot of pup. Everyone knows the majority of senior civil servants are supporters of this government. The inertia in the public service has a lot to do with the Permanent Secretaries, their Deputies and Senior Admin Officers. Do a survey of the civil service of the persons who hold these posts or were recently promoted. Even a former (maybe current under a new name) strong supporter of the DLP here on BU got a promotion. Start in the PM’s Office: Sonja Welch and Capt Straughn.

Wasn’t the same Bryan being touted as the replacement for the current CTP when the Dems won in 2008?

47. And of course the ineptitude and aloof, know everything attitude of the Cabinet. They ran even their own supporters out of the civil service.

48. @David August 3, 2012 at 8:26 AM |

“Interesting to note the gusto Kerri Symmonds has been championing for transparency of the Bynoe, Metal Dump, Government transaction. Seems he has hitched to an issue which is resonating.
    Interesting indeed, it all circles back to communication and transparency. Will this government ever learn?”…………………………..

They are hard ears and gaff prone!

And not a word from the MP, George Hutson……one of the biggest jokers for a minister.

There is more to this than meets the eye. There is a friendship that goes way back between Andrew Bynoe and George Hutson during the time when Andrew Bynoe was chief accountant at R L Seale and George Hutson was working at an accounting firm who were R L Seale’s auditors. Do you see the connection? So George Hutson is in on this deal just like Dennis Lowe. Why is Dennis Lowe’s name always associated with some deal or the other?

But whatever happened to the land deal which the dead king had promised to compulsorily acquire in St Thomas for this recycling plant? Why did the dead king get involved in finding a place to re-site a private business?

Since when Dennis Lowe could give up government lands in exchange for private lands? Should this not have come to Parliament? Is this land to be used to build Kellman’s airport in St Lucy finally? LOL.

Owen Arthur was so right, we are dealing with a bunch of wild boys indeed! But these Dems are not so stupid, they know what they are doing. One only has to wonder what text went to whom asking for their cut!

Lord have mercy on poor us!

49. When the DLP took over the reins of government in 2008, they flooded the civil service with their supporters, they will never tell people so, they keep saying it was the BLP and people seem to believe them.

Some people say over 6000 persons were added and this is what is causing the headaches with the wages and salaries bill, not the ones the BLP hired. Those hired since January 2008 are the ones with nothing to do. We hear all kinds of stories about the extra 42 from St Philip North hired at the NHC. One in particular has the privilege of even being picked up by a NHC driver every day and sits at the computer playing games all day and no one can say a word to her as she is a relative of the minister. Even a few weeks ago, with the opening of the reception area at QEH, the hostesses were hired from St Andrew!

So brief, come back with facts.

50. @caswell or BLP supporter

What skills does OWEN Arthur have to run this economy? if my memory serves me correct the only skill OSA had was the affordabilty of having to Borrow and spend and waste which the the country is now paying a heavy price for. so what skills are we speaking of look at AX ! CLICO! BARRACK! all started and unfinished busineess under OSA ! don’t make me laugh! the man wasted fourteen years and the public is being hoodwinked !

Leave a Reply to Simple SimonCancel reply