Ryan Thorpe laboured for six years to restore the historical building known as Voliet Bourne’s Bar and Andy’s Bakery & Deli ,116 Roebuck Street, Bridgetown              (Before and After shot of the building)

A lot of what is wrong with Barbados today is encapsulated in the story of Ryan Thorpe’s battle with government bureaucracy. We urge you to take 10 minutes and read his story. It is about a Barbadian who used his money and business insight to  restore the historical building formerly known as Voliet Bourne’s Bar and Andy’s Bakery & Deli at 116 Roebuck Street, Bridgetown SIX years ago. (Read the 9-page document penned by Ryan Thorpe).

Despite his long winded challenge with officialdom, Mr. Thorpe still finds the time to make recommendations to government on how legislation  can be enacted to give better oversight to historical buildings in Barbados.

1. It is indeed incredible that decisions can take so long. Long drawn out decisions do not mean good decisions. Besides, only one man can approve something? Joke. Poor process design. What if he is sick for a few weeks? Or travelling?

2. Is this the same Captain Randolph Straughn whose name was linked to a certain report which has resurfaced recently? Why was Straughn transferred from Customs anyway?

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | August 1, 2012 at 7:58 AM |
    Yes, David. The very same; hence the delay. A real member- top brass at that too- of the army of occupation.
    Maybe if Ryan had been a Nigerian or Indian he would know what to do to get the army man to shake his greasy hands.

4. ‘The public service is now more than just an army of occupation. It is an army of siege, exploitation and a downright total hindrance to the country’s further development.’
    The public service does have its faults but has never been in reality an army of occupation. That maxim without any truth was coined by mr barrow in one of his drunken stupors when he could not have his own way against senoir public servants worth their salt( unlike these certified mendicants today ). The integrity and principle of senoir public servants of yore stood firm in the face of political pressure; hence the introduction by mr barrow of the 1974 constitutional amendments used by mr adams to telling effect and which has been the bedrock of the emasculation of the public service from then until now. miler, you have to include repealing the 1974 constitutional amendments as part of your programme and i might be inveigled to vote.

5. Rate This

David | August 1, 2012 at 7:58 AM |

Is this the same Captain Randolph Straughn whose name was linked to a certain report which has resurfaced recently? Why was Straughn transferred from Customs anyway

are you deliberatelyand facetiously fanning the flames of fire here david? you ought to be enlightening the blog with the reasons Captain Straughan was transferred from your sources of information.

6. Lawd wunna gine open a can of termites now.

7. a dutchman investor say

A dutchman investor told me today via email , you have to put a rocket up the public servants azz to get results and decisions , he also mention that from the 1st of July (Crop Over Season) funds should of pass to someone in government to get approval . He said every Public Servant wants to be at every soca event to showing off themselves which cost them around $500-$1,000 per week . Approval would sure be guarantee

8. @millertheanunnaki | August 1, 2012 at 8:19 AM “Maybe if Ryan had been a Nigerian or Indian he would know what to do to get the army man to shake his greasy hands.”

Ryan boy since you lived in England for a long time surely you know that Nigerian term “dash”

Looka boy ya betta “dash” someone quick.

9. In Barbados we use the term “prouge” but it is the same thing. It looks like you will have to give somebody a “prouge”

10. In other places they call it “bribe”

Dash, prouge, bribe. Same damn thing

11. DO you know that two things rule the world ?
    DO you know which two things ?
    DO you know that if you dont have one that you better have the other ?
    DO you know that have you have none that you could talk chalk, you getting nothing done???
    DO you want what those two things are ??
    JUST ASKING

12. DO you know that two things rule the world ?
    DO you know which two things ?
    DO you know that if you dont have one that you better have the other ?
    DO you know that if have you have none that you could talk chalk, you getting nothing done???
    DO you want to know what those two things are ??
    JUST ASKING

13. Simple Simon

I like the culturial terms LOL. Why should I bribe people to carry out they job .

A ministry was bribe in Georgetown Guyana , and the full payment was intercept with death of bodygaurds and the minister , yet still the parties get to carry out the transaction after a new person was appointed .

Simon am too late crop over soon finish ,
    Proverbs: If you take the time ant kill an ant ,you must find the head .

14. @ Ryan

“I was inform via email by a Government Headquarter insider (unknown), the decision is with Mr. Randolph Straughn since April 2012 and they said his position can’t be override.”

This statement is baffling. If the decision was made by persons (not PS Straughn) appointed by the Minister, who in this case is the Prime Minister, in accordance with the Act then Randolph Straughn’s sole role is to issue the decision on the instruction of PM Stuart not to be the final arbiter. There is always Judicial Review by the way.

15. Enuff
    This statement maybe baffling ,only if you want it to be , This is my reply to confirm , I have sent almost 5 letters to the PM at the beginning of the year . He should of reply to my correspondance like the Minister of Finance stating that they is an appeal department for the Town Planning Department in the Government Headquarters . No one wants to get involve when situations gets crazy especially when it gets to the Media . FYI Captain Straughn is the PS Special Assignment Officer for the Prime Minister .The arbiter is with him , why you think Fruendal dont reply (shame) or cant confirm status

Captian Straugn
    Former Comptroller of Customs
    Special Security for Cricket World Cup 2007 Special Assignment to the Prime Minister
    Head of the Ferturnity

Enuff Food for Thought : The British High Commission dont even want to get involve ;

No worries , within 14 days the matter will be publish on the Tourism Board websites links (abroad) , Barbados became Independance in 1966 but still run by the Queen. so who in charge the document will be CC to

BU may not see certain people comments but AID and knowledge arriving daily from the post . It may be lawyers ,members of the governemnt , reporters or even victims of simuliar situations . I couldnt believe the support from international people as far as Asia cause a Bajan in every country

16. This little country had so much pride that it is killing them. Imagine boasting to the world how well educated we are, how we have the best civil service in the Caribbean and I know they mean the world, have the best Tourism product and the rich and famous continue to flock here. Yet to set up a business here is a nightmare. The motto is we welcome you to get your money and a big rock pon yuh toe. The dark underbelly of doing business is alive and thriving in this paradise.

17. @ barbajan
    Mi still lost. Look file a motion in the Court.

18. To everyone Thanks for the support and sending you messages out there via emails and the social network . I received conformation today that the matter will resolve and ASAP.
    As special thanks to DAVID ,Enuff ,islandgal246,simple simon,just asking and all the others not mention , BU really gets the message out there. e

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ barbajan | August 2, 2012 at 6:13 PM |
    ” I received confirmation today that the matter will resolve and ASAP.”

So that is what it takes to get lazy unproductive civil servants to do their job? Name and shame them, thanks to BU!

Well why not let us use the same strategy and get lazy bastards sitting in the NCC and Drainage Unit offices to arrange for the immediate removal of the debris from the pavements and gutters of our roads within a 24 hour time frame. All the debris from weeding and de-bushing of the verges now sitting on the side of the roads will find itself in the wells and watercourses when this storm passes and dumps inches of rain on the potholed roads.

What about getting those thousands of unlicensed and uninsured vehicles off the roads of this little 2×3 place to reduce the amount of black smoke full of asthma inducing particles and carcinogens from the very poor quality but very expensive vehicles fuels?

20. @barbajan

Glad the BU family was able to assist.

@miller

baby step 🙂

21. millertheanunnaki “when this storm passes and dumps inches of rain on the potholed roads.”

This is just a little storm so wha you worried bout? Wann Bajans doan worry bout nutten so.

Man go an drink anudda single malt doo.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | August 2, 2012 at 7:10 PM |
    “Man go an drink anudda single malt doo.”

Wha you talkin bout? In this weather for leather? Even ac gine get piece tonight and think about the bendwood dick broomes.

You just envious because you can’t get proper Mount Gay Eclipse 100%, the Cock or the the One Eye Man up there on the cheap.

23. ” Yet to set up a business here is a nightmare. ”
    Is this Ryan a black man or a white man? sorry to say but if you are perceptive you would notice that the majority of national and non-national so called business men always praise the system because the same people who participate in the Emancipation walk Wednesday always go out of their way to please them. you would see white people up and down in the accident and emergency casualty as if they own the place and not so much of a whimper a whimper from the emancipated nurse or doctor now coming to work from the emancipation walk but not afraid to lecture their own race about the dos and donts. I was doing business for a black brother overseas and customs rejected his documentation and hence his goods lay idle in the port attracting storage charges. Guess what. They despatched a caucasian shenanigan here to sort out the matter and guess what he resolved what seemed to be a problem within a day of arriving in Barbados.

24. He said every Public Servant wants to be at every soca event to showing off themselves which cost them around $500-$1,000 per week . Approval would sure be guarante

utter nonsense. only a few govt departments enjoy the luxury of interacting directly with the public to the extent where the system could be manipulated to their advantage and the politicians in charge.

25. Balance you should know that GOD is a white man and don’t expect anything to change,

26. Balance like yuh ent know how tings wuk. Yuh ent got tah go in de place tah pass yuh donation. Dat is done off property and in a safe zone!

27. Balance

He said every Public Servant wants to be at every soca event to showing off themselves which cost them around $500-$1,000 per week . Approval would sure be guarante
    These words was a Dutchman comments, not Ryan Thorpe

Yes Ryan Thorpe is a black and proud Bajan not even 40 yrs of age ,who grab a piece of Barbados to write my name on histories page.

MY Brother,My enemy
    Not every black man is my brother ,not every white man is my enemy
    we like to play the racist card too much

FYI its a white man (Bajan)that make the call to resolve issues , and he is not a friend of mines ,but now he will be

It shows barbados is not a play fair society
    Thanks for the input BALANCE

28. Approval dated the 17th september 2012 was granted for the Savera’s House historical building . Thanks to the BU family and Mr Henry Fraser .

29. You are welcome Ryan!

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply