Credit: Hazar N. Ghanbari / AP Photo

It is alleged the top RICHEST men have stashed  away some US$23 TRILLION …spitefully to keep the World in recession…the REASON…to get rid of Obama as  a BLACK President of America…..rationale…Look what has been happening under his rule – Old Onions Bag

It is no secret Hartley Henry is a great admirer of the Obama campaign. During his tenure as chief political strategist for the late Prime Minister David Thompson he wrote several articles on the subject, a few can be found in BU’s archives. Will the DLP and Barrack campaign endings be the same?

It seems like yesterday the charismatic Barrack Obama intoxicated the majority of Americans to believe that he was the man to dismantle gridlock in Washington, he was the man to build out a new economy based on renewable energy, he was the man to dissolve the century old problems in the Middle East, he was the man to bring change to the United States and to the world.  For a short period the world believed him, for a short time the United States believed him. That was  before the majority of  America screamed in the realization that Obama was a Black man!

In the Obama era the world has had to witnessed many attempts to embarrass the President in ways that have never been witnessed. The desire by some to prove that Obama is NOT an American by birth springs to mind. Who can forget  Governor Jane Brewer finger waving in the face of President Obama? The incident which takes the cake is when Congressman Joe Wilson raised his voice during a President Obama’s speech to a joint session of Congress in 2009 and shouted “You lie!”

The attempt by Republicans to further embarrass President Obama by seeking to repeal Obama’s health care law was staved off, only just! Some argue that the US legislature has never been so divided during Obama’s presidency compared to his predecessors. The inability of Obama to reach across the aisle has stymied the Democrats strategies to breath life into an economy which has laboured since the collapse of Wall Street in 2008.

BU cannot vouch for the veracity of the opening quote, however, if one is able to connect the dots, it matters not how ‘irrelevant’ the candidate (Romney) Obama will have to overcome White America AGAIN now that they eyes are wide open.

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Gabriel Tackle

.”Opposers of the BLP are trying to put together another party.They see no hope for the DLP even as an opposition.”

Then it is fair to say that they see no hope in the Barbados Labour Party either.

The mere thought of the Barbados Labour Party being returned to office is turning their stomachs.

The people vividly recall the high level of corruption under the Barbados Labour Party and they are determined to prevent you from leaving the opposition benches where you belong. I heard a guy on the call in program on VOB and he was saying the the BLP should be in opposition for the next thirty years because of their excesses during their time in office.

2. @Franktalk
    Forgive me BUT I have been led by Black peeps pun here and in the US media etc to believe that Black people are very poor/ disadvantaged. Therefore, it is logical to conclude that a major program aimed at poor Americans would be utilised by black peeps disproportionately. Am I wrong?? Only lighter coloured peeps took advantage and darker peeps were once again screwed over?

Or are you suggesting that the black peeps are so very clever that they new the end result of such stupidity and opted out??? I very much doubt that Blacks, Whites, Hispanics etc appreciated that such programs are bound to FAIL because they break the rules of human nature and finance.
    Political games will always and everywhere lead to DISASTER! A healthy housing market, like all markets, require parameters and discipline.

Stupidity has no Country or race or religion and is NEVER in short supply. Indeed, stupidity’s major cost comes after the act not before. Mugabe destroyed the lives of far MORE black people in Zimbabwe than whites. He was way ahead when acting against Ian Smith and being a freedom fighter BUT like many business owners and politicians they overstay their utility and destroy what they worked so hard for in the initial stages.

3. @Old Onions
    The powers that want the New World Order dont want to CRASH the markets they want to eradicate 3BN people that they dont need to make them richer BUT who are shouting for food and other resources which the NWO regards as WASTEFUL.

The NWO guys appreciate that at least 3BN humans are EXCESS INVENTORY that are NOT and will NOT be required with robotics, nanotech, the graphene chip etc. They want to kill us, nuff of us! Hope you filtering your water at home? Trust you NOT taking vaccinations? Better not take prescriptions from your Doctor, ensure you know plenty about nutrition versus the poisons available as food in packaged goods.

4. @Old Onions
    In order to hold tight to the money one has to also have the BRAINS working smoothly, especially in this financial mess in which we all are ensconced. Trust me that many currently rich peeps are in grave danger of loosing everything. Even I dont feel overly comfortable and i have a good track record, excellent/ brilliant contacts around the globe and the very BESt BAJAN commonsense.

History is full to capacity of nasty behaviour by political and other leaders conducting genocide and other dastardly acts. Nothing new! Seems to me that not so long back the Tootsies and the Hutus had a lil genocide fun. What was interesting is that Gen Allard was keen to stop it from occurring but Koffi refused to intervene, WHY? Seems to me a great reason to resign from the UN in protest, did Koffi?

Everything is against the black man BUT the biggest problem is the black man against his brothers. We just had 2 killed and 23 wounded in Toronto.
    The 14/15 yr old girl was performing really well in school, a shining example to all and the Phillipino 23 yr old was at the block party handing out business cards to promote the Barber shop that he and black friends had started. He had an Honours degree in Criminology from York U and was a selfless chap volunteering in the community helping youth. BUT that did NOT stop the 2 brainless, violent Jamaicans from senselessly shooting automatic weapons with couple of hundred predominately black peeps in the crowd. The media is so dumb that they tried to compare this act with a MOB HIT where the perpetrator shot the victim at point blank range at an ice cream parlour, WHY? Do they really think intelligent peeps are going to equate these 2 acts?

5. The political structure in the US is a joke! Who would design a system where the top guy ie Pres, is not leading the party with the most seats? Why would any opposition party help the Pres who is from the adversary?

I do agree that these Tea party types are NOT the swiftest BUT which of these politicians truly are NOT CORRUPT? Honest? Clever? Act as Statesmen? Disciplined? Efficient? Personally I dont know if such a rare specimen is extant in the Milky Way. They are ALL abject failures by my definition.

6. old onion bags Avatar

dross a pun dross…..it figures

7. Maybe not. No, Obama is no puppet. So, maybe that is why.

When one looks at the ridiculous candidates that the Republicans attempt to foist on the USA and by extension the world, the question should be asked
    ‘ who rules the rulers ‘?

shouldn’t you be worrying about the ridiculous candidates that the blp and dlp is foisting on the people of barbados and our anachronistic system of governance rather than finding fault with the american system of governance which holds iys politicians white or black, rich or poor accountable for their actions.

the impression i get from reading certain commentsw is that PRes obama is beyond criticism and persons attemting to find fault with mr obama’s policies are either held up to ridicule or if they are reupublican portrayedas racists.

true, the republican party has strayed from some of its values but history would record that the republicans fought against slavery.l

8. @ balance

Even de angel gabriel was one of the highest and well respected officials in heaven until he was found out for his dirty tricks. look the republicans have yet to prove that the have the well being of the disadvantage at heart all that talk about taxes is phony because it means that they have to give back some of their wealth and they not about to do so.if they cared about poor and disadvantage and people and high u nemployment they would have pass the jobs bill but we know it isall about keeping wuh got and holding all you can. so now after slavery what people must suffer . they two faced opportunist only when the opportuinty shows them in good light

9. ac reading about the republican party prior to the eighties and observing some of their positions now it would seem that the republican party has strayed from its core values but i do not buy the argument that the democratic is more for blacks than the republicans. black people always seem to be seeking benevolence from the white man and the democrats seem to be able to feed their trough in that regard better than the republicans. if the democrats are somuch pro black or for the poor; why is it after having majorities in congress from 1930 -1994 except for 1946 and 1952 and dominated the white house for over 40 years between 1932 and 2000 that black people and the poor especially those in inner cities were still fighting for improved conditions including racial equality under the governance of the democratic party.

10. Why do the majority of blacks support the Democratic Party?

Democrats fought against anti-lynching laws. Democrat Senator Robert Byrd of West Virginia, is well known for having been in the Ku Klux Klan. Democrat Senator Robert Byrd of West Virginia, personally filibustered the Civil Rights Act of 1964 for 14 straight hours to keep it from passage. Democrats passed the Repeal Act of 1894 that overturned civil right laws enacted by Republicans.
    Democrats declared that they would rather vote for a yellow dog than vote for a Republican, because the Republican Party was known as the party for blacks. Democrat President Woodrow Wilson, reintroduced segregation throughout the federal government immediately upon taking office in 1913. Democrat President Franklin D. Roosevelts first appointment to the Supreme Court was a life member of the Ku Klux Klan, Sen. Hugo Black, Democrat of Alabama. Democrat President
    Franklin D. Roosevelt’s choice for vice president in 1944 was Harry Truman, who had joined the Ku Klux Klan in Kansas City in 1922. Democrat President Franklin D. Roosevelt resisted Republican efforts to pass a federal law against lynching. Democrat President Franklin D. Roosevelt opposed integration of the armed forces. Democrat Senators Sam Ervin, Albert Gore, Sr. and Robert Byrd were the chief opponents of the 1964 Civil Rights Act. Democrats supported and backed Judge John Ferguson in the case of Plessy v Ferguson. Democrats supported the School Board of Topeka Kansas in the case of Brown v The Board of Education of Topeka Kansas. Democrat public safety commissioner Eugene Bull Connor, in Birmingham, Ala., unleashed vicious dogs and turned fire hoses on black civil rights demonstrators. Democrats were who Dr. Martin Luther King,
    Jr. and the other protesters were fighting. Democrat Georgia Governor Lester Maddox brandished an ax hammer to prevent blacks from patronizing his restaurant. Democrat Governor George Wallace stood in front of the Alabama schoolhouse in 1963, declaring there would be segregation forever. Democrat Arkansas Governor Faubus tried to prevent desegregation of Little Rock public
    schools. Democrat Senator John F. Kennedy voted against the 1957 Civil rights Act. Democrat President John F. Kennedy opposed the 1963 March on Washington by Dr. King. Democrat President John F. Kennedy, had Dr. King wiretapped and investigated by the FBI. Democrat President Bill Clinton’s mentor was U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright, an Arkansas Democrat and a supporter of racial segregation. Democrat President Bill Clinton interned for J. William Fulbright in 1966-67. Democrat Senator J. William Fulbright signed the Southern Manifesto opposing the Supreme Court’s 1954 Brown vs. Board of Education decision. Democrat Senator J. William Fulbright joined with the Dixiecrats in filibustering the Civil Rights Acts of 1957 and 1964. Democrat
    Senator J. William Fulbright voted against the 1965 Voting Rights Act. Southern Democrats opposed desegregation and integration. Democrat Senator 1964 Senator Al Gore Sr. votes against Civil Rights Act. Explicit Democrat support given to the causes of the Jim Crow laws. The era of Jim Crow laws was governed by southern Democrats like Alabama governor George Wallace and Mississippi senator Jim Eastland. With all this history, it would seem that they would be inclined to favor the Republican Party.
    2 years ago

11. They do so because they have been duped into thinking that the Demo’s are “for them”. What the Democratic Party has succeeded in doing is to create several generations of welfare recipients, who have become so dependent upon the largess of the Government, that they are no longer capable of self support. The Party can be held accountable for not only the massive poverty this malaise has created, but the crime and psychological mindset that now pervades the slums and low income housing tracts across America. This mindset I speak of is that of chastising fellow African-Americans for ” being white” when they excel in academics, embrace something other than rap music, or having a work ethic and attempting to earn a living earning a decent wage, rather than slinging crack on a street corner somewhere.
    The best thing the government could do is to REMOVE welfare completely, make it the providence of the private sector like it USED to be.

ac do you share this view of an afro-american or is he an uncle tom?

12. What makes matters worse ..is his left centered position in the Mid East..not wholly siding with Israel……the Jews in America are real damm wealthy

mr obama has publicly stated his committment to defend israel against aggression

13. @balance ”shouldn’t you be worrying about the ridiculous candidates that the blp and dlp is foisting on the people of barbados and our anachronistic system of governance rather than finding fault with the american system of governance which holds iys politicians white or black, rich or poor accountable for their actions.”

—————-

Oh yes, for sure we know that both sides have their johnnies, aside from a few worthy.

On the second point re ”american system of governance which holds iys politicians white or black, rich or poor accountable for their actions.”

You ARE joking, right???? The occasional media lynch mob aka ’50million dollar monica / bill witch hunt’ does not constitute ‘accountability’.

And who was held accountable for the ‘weapons of mass destruction’ lie???

14. old onion bags Avatar

I will pose my simplistic question yet again…..Should Obama be removed will the reoccurring recessions GO AWAY ?

15. o.k balance typical of those who would read rhe ending of a story to form a conclusion. in all that you have said is the racial divide and the many stereotypical components some of which you have espoused that push african american blacks against the wall and giving them no chance of being independent. read the histoy of blacks before the civil rights and see how much of what you say it is to be blamed on them even up to the present because of a lack of equal opportunities . recently i read where african american blacks are being discriminated on name .btw why do you think that the civil service in america is predominately black.?

16. old onion bags Avatar

LOOK LIKE IT TIME FOR LIFE BOATS…….Hear AG Adriel Brathwaite on Brass Tacks today..

17. Can you explain why America voted for the left leaning Obama and shortly after in the mid term was receptive to the nutty right?
    what makes the right nutty and the left well oh so good?

18. And who was held accountable for the ‘weapons of mass destruction’ lie???
    who in your view was to be held accountable?

19. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

@onions wha happen wid de AG ?? he like he aint singing from de same sheet as de choir

20. crusoe chew on this information before you send bush to the gallows
    Who Thought Iraq Had WMD [and deserved US military intervention]?

By Steve Foley Posted in Congress | Spotlight Blogs — Comments (46) / Email this page »/ Leave a comment »

Bumped again by Jeff, because, amidst the adulation over Sen. Levin’s statements, I can’t help but recall the eventual outcome the last time that key Democrats stepped up and talked tough about the need to deal with a threat. Perhaps you remember…it was a little ol’ place called Iraq, run by a despot named Saddam.

Try these quotes on for size, and see who (if anybody) on this list hasn’t cut-and-run from their own statements.

Clinton Secretary of State Madeline Albright, February 1998: Iraq is a long way from [here], but what happens there matters a great deal here. For the risks that the leaders of a rogue state will use nuclear, chemical or biological weapons against us or our allies is the greatest security threat we face.

Clinton National Security Advisor Sandy Berger, February 1998: He will use those weapons of mass destruction again, as he has ten times since 1983.

Portuguese Prime Minister Jose Manuel Durao Barroso, October 2003: When [former President Bill] Clinton was here recently he told me was absolutely convinced, given his years in the White House and the access to privileged information which he had, that Iraq possessed weapons of mass destruction until the end of the Saddam regime.

Read on . . .

French President Jacques Chirac, February 2003: There is a problem the probable possession of weapons of mass destruction by an uncontrollable country, Iraq. The international community is right…in having decided Iraq should be disarmed.

President Bill Clinton, December 1998: Other countries possess weapons of mass destruction and ballistic missiles. With Saddam, there is one big difference: He has used them. Not once, but repeatedly. Unleashing chemical weapons against Iranian troops during a decade-long war. Not only against soldiers, but against civilians, firing Scud missiles at the citizens of Israel, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain and Iran. And not only against a foreign enemy, but even against his own people, gassing Kurdish civilians in Northern Iraq. I have no doubt today, that left unchecked, Saddam Hussein will use these terrible weapons again. Clinton, July 2003: [I]t is incontestable that on the day I left office, there were unaccounted for stocks of biological and chemical weapons. We might have destroyed them in 98. We tried to, but we sure as heck didn’t?t know it because we never got to go back there.

General Wesley Clark, September 2002, testimony before the House Armed Services Committee: There’s no question that Saddam Hussein is a threat.Yes, he has chemical and biological weapons.He is, as far as we know, actively pursuing nuclear capabilities, though he doesn’t?t have nuclear warheads yet. If he were to acquire nuclear weapons, I think our friends in the region would face greatly increased risks as would we.

Former Vermont governor Howard Dean [D], September 2002: There’s no question that Saddam Hussein is a threat to the United States and to our allies. Dean, February 2003: I agree with President Bush he has said that Saddam Hussein is evil. And he is. [Hussein] is a vicious dictator and a documented deceiver. He has invaded his neighbors, used chemical arms, and failed to account for all the chemical and biological weapons he had before the Gulf War. He has murdered dissidents, and refused to comply with his obligations under U.N. Security Council Resolutions. And he has tried to build a nuclear bomb. Anyone who believes in the importance of limiting the spread of weapons of mass killing, the value of democracy, and the centrality of human rights must agree that Saddam Hussein is a menace. The world would be a better place if he were in a different place other than the seat of power in Baghdad or any other country. So I want to be clear. Saddam Hussein must disarm. This is not a debate; it is a given. Dean, March 2003: [Iraq] is automatically an imminent threat to the countries that surround it because of the possession of these weapons.

Former Clinton assistant secretary of state for nonproliferation Robert Einhorn, March 2002: How close is the peril of Iraqi WMD Today, or at most within a few months, Iraq could launch missile attacks with chemical or biological weapons against its neighbors (albeit attacks that would be ragged, inaccurate, and limited in size). Within four or five years it could have the capability to threaten most of the Middle East and parts of Europe with missiles armed with nuclear weapons containing fissile material produced indigenously?and to threaten U.S. territory with such weapons delivered by nonconventional means, such as commercial shipping containers. If it managed to get its hands on sufficient quantities of already produced fissile material, these threats could arrive much sooner.

Senator Bob Graham [D-Florida] and others, in a letter to President Bush, December 2001: There is no doubt that Saddam Hussein has invigorated his weapons programs.In addition, Saddam continues to redefine delivery systems and is doubtless using the cover of a licit missile program to develop longer-range missiles that will threaten the United States and our allies.

Representative Nancy Pelosi [D-Calif.], December 1998: Saddam Hussein has been engaged in the development of weapons of mass destruction technology which is a threat to countries in the region and he has made a mockery of the weapons inspection process.

Senator John Rockefeller [D-W. Virginia], ranking minority member of the Intelligence Committee, October 2002: There is unmistakable evidence that Saddam Hussein is working aggressively to develop nuclear weapons and will likely have nuclear weapons within the next five years.We also should remember we have always underestimated the progress Saddam has made in development of weapons of mass destruction.

one minute bush is a fool, a simpleton who can steal elections and dupe people into voting for him and another minute he can fool a whole nation and others too in a contrived war.

21. Transcript President Clinton explains Iraq strike
    CHEMICAL WEAPONS

December 16, 1998

Earlier today, I ordered Americas armed forces to strikemilitary and security targets in Iraq. They are joined by British forces. Their mission is to attack Iraqs nuclear,chemical and biological weapons programs and its militarycapacity to threaten its neighbors.

Their purpose is to protect the national interest of theUnited States, and indeed the interests of people throughout theMiddle East and around the world.

Saddam Hussein must not be allowed to threaten his neighbors or the world with nuclear arms, poison gas or biologicalweapons.

22. @David

Can you explain why America voted for the left leaning Obama and shortly after in the mid term was receptive to the nutty right?
    There is no simple answer but in the US in recent years it has been the norm for electors in the off year to vote against the Party of the President Newt Gingrich brought in a Republican majority with his “contract with America” in 1994 when Clinton was President. The 2010 mid term Election was in the midst of the Economic meltdown and many people were opposed to the bailout remember Milt said “let Detroit go bankrupt”. The Tea Party -which is supposed to be a grassroots organization- was the repository of the people’s anger over the bailout and the economic and financial climate. BTW how come a “grassroots” organization only has Republicans?
    Come this Fall some of them may have difficulty holding their seats in marginal districts but may still win in Republican strongholds.

23. @Balance

It would be prudent if you would do your own research instead of reproducing articles which cherry pick on the actions of individual politicians instead of focusing on the actions of the Republicans and Democrats as a whole. Both the GOP and Democrats are not beyond criticism as to the treatment of Black people but the history of the Republican Party in the 20th Century has been abysmal where Black people are concerned

Please answer the following:

Which President integrated the US Armed forces?

Which President sent in Federal Marshalls to Alabama in support of the Integration of the University of Alabama.?

Which President brought in the Civil rights Act of 1965?

and

Which President adopted the “Southern strategy” to win Elections?

24. To assist “Balance” in his search for the “Southern Strategy” I have attached the Wiki article below.

When Obama was elected President the Republicans wanted a black face at the Head of the Party so they elected Michael Steele as the Party Chairman and then proceeded to criticise him right, left and centre. Not surprisingly he lost his bid for reelection as Chairman to the eventual winner Reince Priebus and the criticism of the Chair promptly ceased.

JC Watts was one of the highest ranking Republicans (House Republican Conference Chair defeating the current Speaker John Boehner)) and seemed destined for Party leadership when he decided not to stand for reelection in a district which he had previously won by a large majority. Generally politicians at that level of seniority don’t quit, the explanation given was “family reasons” but given his stance on some issues which distanced him from his fellow Republicans I think it may have been for other reasons.

The above is just a look at two of the most recent Black Republicans in positions of power and how they fared in the Party, why should Blacks join a Party where they are not welcomed?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_strategy

25. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

@ac 5.43pm
    I think you meant Lucifer!

26. Can you explain why America voted for the left leaning Obama and shortly after in the mid term was receptive to the nutty right?
    what makes the right nutty and the left well oh so good?

@balance

What make the right so nutty is that they are against the rights of women to have abortions in any circumstance but are for the rights of all to bear arms and as a result we have crazy people committing crime and innocent people lives are taken as with the incident of the mass murder at the theatre in colorado and other similar incidents in the pass. EXTREMLY NUTTY! GUNS O>K> another extreme in where women rights to choose is unacceptable by the nutty Right wing but owernship of a deadly weapon is acceptable,

27. @balance,

As Sargeant notes above, be careful cherry picking. AT THE TIME of the entry into Iraq (not talking historical use), the reason given was ‘weapons of mass destruction’, existence which was proved incorrect.

A reason for an action now should be based on current circumstances, not previous infractions that are no longer valid.

The FACT is that the Republican machine made the decision, well into their term.

As has been accepted as reality, it so happened that Halliburton made substantial contracts out of the war, a company with, as we all know, strong ties to the Vice President.

Now, how does THAT sound, nice and comfy?

28. “And who was held accountable for the ‘weapons of mass destruction’ lie???”
    i am not about to embrioil myself into useless argument about the merits/demerits of democrat/republican governance on the people of the usa. that is their problem ; i do not live there. what the dlp/blp do here concerns me. having said that my involvement is only to correct some of the myths about the socalled glorious love that the democrats have for black people in america. i have posited my views and shared certain information with fellow bloggers to show a different perspective. people are free to believe what they believe whether confronted with facts or not. its like the myth that barrow brought free education to barbados, some of us cannot be otherwise persuaded. all the haliburton sensationalism cannot negate the fact that socalled buffoon bush cannot be solely to blame.

29. Given the influence of the world’s lone super power what happens in their house should be of concern.

30. We believe that President Lyndon B. Johnson’s administration did the most to improve the lives for African Americans, although not unhindered by the house democrats in his administration. Without the republicans in the northern states, the Civil Rights act of 1964 would never had been passed. In fact, an overwhelming 63% of house democrats were against the bill compared to a 34% of republicans. His popularity can be highlighted when 60% of the Americans who went to pay their respects when he died were African Americans. A significant improvement for African Americans Civil Rights would be the Voting Rights Act of 1965 which abolished white racial discrimination that had previously restricted their right to vote. Further legislation which he pushed through Congress would also include the Education Act which encouraged school desegregation. His determination to improve the lives of African Americans extended to beneficial improvements in unemployment whilst those living in poverty decreased by 25%. He played a vital role in ending discrimination and segregation, particularly in the South. Compared to the other American Presidents who governed during the Civil Rights period, Johnson appears to have effectively passed laws through Congress in favour of equality for African Americans.
    ————————————————————————————————————

There were 10 main presidents that had any affect on the legislation or attitudes towards the civil rights movement during this period. Abraham Lincoln, the first and probably the most talked about president of the civil rights movement because he issued the emancipation proclamation (this act formally ended slavery), was not entirely a president that was committed to the abolition of slavery. The proclamation only largely added to a movement which had already begun, with most of the slaves having already escaped slavery or wishing to do so. Abraham Lincoln’s main idea behind issuing the proclamation was not because of the slaves but to enable the continuity and unity of the United States to rebuild as he once said:

“If I could save the union without freeing any slave, I would do it”

Andrew Johnson is another main president that had an affect on the civil rights movement, but this affect was negative as he was in favour of slavery. Despite in every case of legislation concerning civil rights, Andrew Johnson vetoed, the Freedman’s bureau and the civil rights act were still able to be set up. This is mainly because of the radical republicans in congress who were in favour of civil rights.

F D Roosevelt though wasn’t completely devoted to the civil rights cause was greatly interested in the economic stability of the poor , which in turn helped African Americans . In 1938 he passed an executive order 8802 creating the civil rights section of the justice department, which provided a government agency to aid southern blacks in their efforts to gain integration. Though this section wasn’t that helpful towards African Americans it was the first time since the reconstruction period that a president had directly addressed the issue of civil rights.

Dwight Eisenhower passed many civil rights acts but instead of them being very effective became more of a symbol of hope that the law could be used to change southern society for African Americans. The 1957 civil rights act was the first act to pass congress since the civil war. Eisenhower was also the first president since the civil war to send federal troops to the south to aid the African American community especially in the Arkansas case where the 9 African American children were being targeted by white mobs by attending a once all-white school.

John F Kennedy employed more black people into prominent positions; however he appointed white supremacists as judges in the deeps south. He also publicised his support for racial equality by hosting more African Americans at the white house than any other president, and was indeed the most popular president for most African Americans during the civil rights movement. In response to black pressure JFK had morally committed the presidency to reform. This damaged his democratic party in the south, and it took considerable courage to compromise his own party and re-election prospects.

Lyndon B Johnson played a key role in ending legal discrimination and segregation in the south. His voting rights act transformed southern politics by giving blacks the opportunity to vote without fear and also his education act speeded up school desegregation and helped black colleges to be established. Under his presidency black unemployment decreased by 34% and the percentage of blacks living below the poverty line decreased by 25%. However many African Americans were dissatisfied with his achievements and as a result riots came about because of African Americans desire for quicker progress.

Richard Nixon had a dim view of African Americans, “there has never in history been an adequate black nation, and they are the only race of which this is true”. He crushed the black panthers and attempted to revise the voting rights act in order to win the white southern support. However Nixon still set up the office of minority enterprise to encourage black capitalism and embrace affirmative action (positive discrimination) as he believed jobs were the way out of the ghetto. During his administration social security and welfare payments doubled. Evidence of this is shown in 1974 where blacks living below the poverty line decreased from 87% to 30%.

Jimmy carter appointed more blacks and Hispanics to the federal judiciary than any other previous president. The percentage of black federal judges rose from 4% in 1977 to 9% in 1981. He renewed the voting rights act and increased the justice department’s power over voting rights and ensured minority owned companies received their fair share of government contacts.

Ronald Reagan, the last main president of the civil rights movement, had an incredibly positive effect on the African American population as a whole. Regan sacked the head of the US commission on civil rights, and appointed an anti- welfare conservative black republican. He successfully enacted the civil rights restoration act of 1988, which many believed was “the most important civil rights legislation in 20 years”. Under Reagan’s administration, the black middle class grew rapidly. The number of black businesses owned in his adminstration went up by a whopping 38% and incomes of $25,000 or more increased to 3.9 million, up from 2.6 million in 1979. Federal spending for social programs increased from $344.3 billion in 1981 to $412 billion in 1989, or 19.7% in 1982 dollars. Not only that but the poverty line decreased by 3.8 million people with unprecedented amounts entering the work force. There was also more giving during the 1980s, 55% more than in the previous 25 years.

George Bush, 43rd president of the U.S. has appointed more women and more minorities to office than any other president to date.

In conclusion though many African Americans despised linden b Johnson, we believe he played a key role and perhaps the most significant role in addressing the issue of civil rights.

————————————————————————————————————

In response to your question “Which President did the most to promote civil rights?” we have come to the conclusion, that although a number of U.S Presidents have contributed to the advancement of the Civil Rights Movement, it was President Lyndon B Johnson (1963-1969) who did the most to promote Civil Rights.

This decision was based upon a number of key factors, firstly he played a significant role in ending legal prejudice and segregation in the South which at the time was famed for it racial discrimination. Secondly, Johnson was able to instil courage in Afro-Americans to vote without fear; as previously violence had hindered them, depleting their confidence and social status.

Evidence to prove that Johnson helped increase the social status and morale of Afro-Americans can be seen through the changing statistic of unemployment of Afro-Americans to 34%. With the decline in black unemployment Johnson created official positions which were never before available to Afro-Americans, 300 Afro-Americans were now working in official positions in Mississippi, and this had not been achieved by any previous President. Johnson was also able to speed up the desegregation in schools by use of the Educational Acts, which helped break the cycle of poverty accustom to many Afro-Americans. As a modest President he acknowledged the fact that there was still a long way to go before equality could be resolved.

However, there are some faults in the leadership of President Johnson. Even though rate of Afro-American employment increased the majority of Afro-Americans continued to live in poor housing. Although he created a number of great social reforms, this subsequently created resentment among many Americans and furthermore the Civil Rights Act of 1968 was dismissed as an empty gesture and its enforcement was questionable

Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Which_President_did_the_most_to_promote_civil_rights#ixzz21ioB0Ip0

31. old onion bags Avatar

Again ….I ask why would there be a difference to the frazzle economic world state…should Obama vacate the Office..and a more accepted mortal assume the mantle once more normalizing the status quo?

I have heard nothing on this end…..

32. Given the influence of the world’s lone super power what happens in their house should be of concern
    you are on a different tangent my friend.; but perhaps we ought to consider if we do not benefit (trickle down economics) when the evil republican connected haliburton thief oil

33. ”all the haliburton sensationalism cannot negate the fact that socalled buffoon bush cannot be solely to blame.”

Halliburton sensationalism? No, fact that cannot be got past.

And no, of course Bush is not alone to blame, the machine that drives policy for the Republicans however, IS.

As for the distinction between the Democrat and Republican positions, being useless…er no. Not with the ramifications of US foreign policy on our own economic reality.

34. Democrats talk tolerance, but practice intolerance
    Democrats claim that they care about diversity, but readily demean black professionals who do not toe the
    Democratic Party’s liberal line, slandering blacks as “Uncle Toms”, “Sellouts” and “House N-word”,
    including Dr. Condoleezza Rice, General Colin Powel, Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, Justice
    Janice Rogers Brown and former Lieutenant Governor Michael Steele. With impunity, Democrat Senator
    Ted Kennedy called black judicial nominees “Neanderthals”. Democrat Senator Harry Reid slurred Supreme
    Court Justice Clarence Thomas as an incompetent Negro who could not write good English. “Slap at Thomas
    stinks of racism,” was the headline of the New York Daily News’ December 7, 2004 editorial.
    Democratic Party operatives depicted former Maryland Lieutenant Governor
    Michael Steele on the Internet as a “Simple Sambo” with big, thick red lips and
    nappy hair. Cartoonist Jeff Danziger and Pat Oliphant portrayed Dr.
    Condoleezza Rice as a “stooge” and a bare foot, “Ignorant Mammy.”
    Democrat President Bill Clinton – following in the footsteps of his mentor J.
    William Fulbright, a staunch segregationist – refused to enforce a court-ordered
    affirmative action plan while president and was himself sued for discriminating
    against his black employees while he was the Governor of Arkansas. Clinton also had his Attorney General, Janet
    Reno, file a class action, reverse discrimination lawsuit on behalf of a group of white janitors at Illinois State
    University to stop the University from hiring blacks. None of Clinton’s inner-circle of advisors were black,
    and he failed to take action to stop the massacre of over 800,000 Rwandans. Without congressional or UN
    approval, Clinton sent 20,000 troops to help the white Europeans in Bosnia, but refused to send troops to help the
    800,000 blacks in Africa.
    Democrat Joe Biden, while a senator, boasted that his home state of Delaware was a
    slave state. While he was an Illinois State senator, Barack Hussein Obama provided
    funding for slum projects in Chicago that kept blacks trapped in rat and roach infested
    housing. As a US senator, Obama voted against the minimum wage bill and wrote a
    letter of support for former Klansman Robert Byrd that helped that racist win re-election.

andanother thing we ought to consider, there are not enough black or mixed race votes combined in america to put a black or mixed race person into the presidency of the usa, so it had to be as a result of the white vote that a mixed race man assumed the highest office in the land of the free.

35. old onion bags Avatar

so it had to be as a result of the white vote that a mixed race man assumed the highest office in the land of the free.
    Was this vote by scheme or by an accidental flaw of the American system, which is said have been so told ? Clinton was the one who was intended to be President..but for an ole boy’s club…at the last minute…

36. old onion bags Avatar

37. old onion bags Avatar

38. @onions

Obama obviously got the support of the cross over vote. He was charismatic and not from the traditional Black cast. One thing is sure, he will have to fight to regain the White House and it has nothing to do with his performance managing the economy if we compare to Dubya.

39. old onion bags Avatar

Thanks David
    I have been hearing….though that he is well on the way….to winning back the Office. What will we hear then should it be so ?No fluke this time Clinton.What would this hold for the economic quagmire?

40. I see that Balance is the expert on US politics and History … Man get a life do …!

41. old onion bags Avatar

@ BAFBFP
    The many hats of balance….don’t know why he…don’t show a picture in the corner like you…is that really you by the way.?.cuz you strike me the kinda fellow who ent got nuttin to hide

ps.onions is a no FBI file so can show face but dont know how to ..lol..but .not a dog face like bushman..

42. @Balance

Ronald Reagan, the last main president of the civil rights movement, had an incredibly positive effect on the African American population as a whole. Regan sacked the head of the US commission on civil rights, and appointed an anti- welfare conservative black republican

Once again you are producing articles wholesale, do you know who that individual was? None other than Clarence Thomas who George HW Bush later appointed to the Supreme Court to replace Thurgood Marshall . Thomas couldn’t even carry Marshall’s shoes far less fill them

43. @Balance

i am not about to embrioil myself into useless argument about the merits/demerits of democrat/republican governance on the people of the usa. that is their problem

Given the above perhaps you should stay away from perusing the Internet and submitting articles to prove a point when you don’t know the motivation or the background of the authors.

44. @ONIONS LOL BAF have many profiles on occassion he has been Hinese and even jewish things not always what they seem. i wunda why Bushie prefer to put a picture of a dog could it be that it symbolizes subservantcy and domilcity and obedience definte characteristics bushie finds admirable in females wouldn,t surprise me if the dog is female .

45. @Nnuki/Ralian, NO Christian endorses, supports, and stands FOR, ‘Same/Sex Union, as Obama et al openly advocate, ObamaLIAR, is NOT* a Christian, he IS* a masquerading FRAUD, in numerious ways, from TOP to BOTTOM!

WHY OBAMA LIES
    Exploring what’s behind the president’s
    glaring and unprecedented dishonesty

Barack Obama’s America is eerily reminiscent of “The Emperor’s New Clothes,” where almost everybody sees the truth about their leader but is afraid to say it out loud.

The truth, in this case, is that the current occupant of the White House lies about virtually everything of importance to Americans. Barack Obama has lied about his birth, his childhood, his education, his influences and associations, his religion, his accomplishments, his policies, his true beliefs and his plans for America’s future. In fact, after more than three years as president, Obama’s lying has become so embarrassing and undeniable that the only defense his supporters have is to change the subject or to claim “Republicans do it too.”

But as documented in the scorching July issue of WND’s monthly Whistleblower magazine – titled “WHY OBAMA LIES” – America has never seen a chief executive misrepresent the truth as deliberately, recklessly and effortlessly as this one.

“WHY OBAMA LIES” features eye-opening and sometimes startling analysis from several different psychiatrists as to what has led to the president’s extraordinary dishonesty – which Pulitzer prize-winning columnist George Will recently referred to as “Barack Obama’s intellectual sociopathy – his often breezy and sometimes loutish indifference to truth.” The issue examines in-depth some of his most explosive and consequential deceptions. And, just in time for the summer election campaign season, Whistleblower features a comprehensive and mind-boggling listing – running throughout the entire magazine – of Obama lies, each followed by proof of the statement’s falsehood.

“Regardless of one’s political affiliation or worldview,” said Whistleblower Editor David Kupelian, “it will be nearly impossible to read Whistleblower’s July issue on ‘WHY OBAMA LIES’ and not conclude that the current president has virtually no regard for honesty and truth.”

Highlights of “WHY OBAMA LIES” include:

• “Understanding why Obama lies” by David Kupelian, exposing what’sreally behind the president’s obvious and unprecedented dishonesty

• “CAUGHT RED-HANDED: OBAMA’S PROVEN LIES” – a comprehensive listing of Obama’s most egregious whoppers, including proof of their falseness

• “Meet the original ‘birther’” by Joseph Farah, who reveals the surprising answer to this question: Which world-famous leader has claimed for years that Obama was born in Kenya?

• “Obama just caught in really big lie” by Aaron Klein, on just-uncovered documents confirming that Obama was a member of a socialist party – something he explicitly denied during the 2008 campaign

• “Thoughts on lying and President Obama” by Lyle H. Rossiter Jr., M.D., in which the veteran forensic psychiatrist explains why he believes Obama has developed into such a disturbingly dishonest person

• “4 lies about the economy Obama needs voters to believe” by Larry Elder, who lays out the key truth hurdles Obama must jump over to win reelection.

• “Obama’s lies about American oil” by David Limbaugh, on why we are always kept in an “energy crisis” mentality, despite the fact that energy experts affirm the U.S. has five times as much recoverable oil as Saudi Arabia

• “Falsifier-in-chief” by Ben Shapiro, who explains the implications of Obama’s disturbing boast in his memoir “The Audacity of Hope”: “I serve as a blank screen on which people of vastly different political stripes project their views”

• “When a terrorist ghost-writes your ‘autobiography,’ you lie about it” by Art Moore, on the now-overwhelming evidence that Pentagon-bombing communist Bill Ayers worked closely with Obama on his celebrated autobiography, “Dreams from My Father”

• “So who wrote Obama’s love letters?” by Jack Cashill, highlighting the very latest instance in which the press, despite all evidence to the contrary, keeps alive the absurd myth of Obama’s literary genius

• “The best politicians are shameless liars” by Thomas Sowell, on why it’s so easy for elected officials to hoodwink voters with promises

• “The president’s Obamacare lies” by Dr. James Dobson, in which the evangelical leader and clinical psychologist vows civil disobedience rather than personally funding abortions under Obamacare: “Come and get me if you must, Mr. President. I will not bow before your wicked regulation”

• “Why we believe ‘big lies’” by David Kupelian, identifying the magic ingredient that makes outrageous falsehoods so believable.

46. Because one has a different point of view doesn.t mean the opposing view should be disallowed far from it others might have gathered information from such views that could well be informative the blog is an open forum to all and one should exercise caution when one try to restrict others freedom of speech.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe | July 26, 2012 at 10:16 AM |
    “… ObamaLIAR, is NOT* a Christian, he IS* a masquerading FRAUD, in numerious ways, from TOP to BOTTOM!…”

It takes one to know one! “Only your best friend knows your secrets and only he can reveal them”.

“You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

You both share the same religion called “Lies & Hypocrisy”.

48. @David 6:44
    “One thing is sure, he will have to fight to regain the White House”

Correct. Outgunned financially, at a disadvantage in the enthusiasm gap and struggling to craft a core message that balances achievements, triumphs and vision. Not his fault, just the way the cookie crumbled.;

Interesting parallels with the local environment though…we’ll see

Observing

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This thread is pure Barbados Labour Party Camouflage.

The feeling in the Barbados Labour Party as told to me by many BLP jokers is that if Obama is return to Office in the US in November 2012 then the Democratic Labour Party will be returned to office in Barbados whenever elections are called.

As a result Barbados Labour Party operatives are trying to find out how the general population feel about Obama’s chances of being re elected and then they can tailor their message to suit.

50. old onion bags Avatar

@ Balaam’s best…

..nutting but claptrap…..why talk of that you know little? Think this is corn-dogs in NY?

Leave a Reply to ZoeCancel reply