Submitted by People’s Democratic Congress (PDC)
Former Prime Minister Sir Lloyd Sandiford led restructuring in the early 90s

For, on Tuesday, 17 July, 2012, Standard and Poor’s – one of the three major international credit rating agencies – downgraded the Barbados Government’s financial credit rating. The Government’s foreign currency bonds status has reached junk status – from BBB-/A-3, to BB+/B, in the S&P’S rankings.

But, the PDC is not surprised that this has come about. As that, ever since the Barbados government’s last effective downgrade by Moody’s (another of the three major international credit rating agencies) in 2011, we would have been forewarning many people many times on here – on BU – and in other fora – that the Government of Barbados international creditworthiness would have been deteriorating at such a fast rate, that it was only a matter of time before it was going to be downgraded again by anyone of these credit rating agencies.

Well, that is what just happened on Tuesday – a day when, too, the Nation Newspaper was reporting big and bold on its front page, how the main public sector union – the NUPW – was bombastically ungraciously pressing for a 10% wages hike for public workers.

Arthur accused of sqandermania and padding the public service thus dismantling the work of Sandiford

Nevertheless, what this last downgrading has emphatically said, et al, is that for over the last 25 years or so both DLP and BLP Governments have been grossly and recklessly mismanaging the material financial affairs of this country.

From the time the Owen Arthur government took office in this country in 1994, 18 years ago – it was very clear that this was the position the country was bound to come. So, not constrained by the altruistic nature of the office of Prime Minister and Minister of Finance – the then noviciate Mr. Owen Arthur took it upon himself to carry the ‘triumphantilism’ of he and his party’s winning the 1994 general election further by soon engaging in an unwanton, unnecessary massive expansion of  the public sector of Barbados (employment in the public sector employment was estimated to have at one point swollen from 21.9 of the entire labour force in Barbados in 1994, to 30% of that said entire labour force in Barbados, at the end of September 2004); several ministries, government departments and statutory corporations  were foolishly inspired and/or inaugurated by Arthur (including the Ministry of Social Transformation, the UDC, RDC, FTC, the Poverty Alleviation Bureau. etc.), and public sector transfer costs (taxation) were estimated to have increased significantly primarily on purely political grounds.

The Late Hon. Prime Minister David Thompson continues to pad the public service

Especially with the VAT coming into existence in 1997, the Owen Arthur government doubled the reported total yearly amount of EVIL WICKED TAXATION THEFTS, moving them from a reported BDS $ 1.0 billion in 1994 to BDS $ 2.2 billion in 2007, mainly to support his political financial squandermania and excessiveness and some of his downright political objectives, for example, HIS ILLUSION OF CREATING 30 000 jobs, and the nebulous POLITICS OF INCLUSION.  Ironically outlandishly enough, in 2012 though, this same political nuisance Arthur can be found to be accusing, however rightly, this present Stuart Administration of increasing TAXATION to support the very unsustainable untenable political goal of not sending home  a single man or woman from the public service at this very juncture.

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart leads the biggest Cabinet in the history of Barbados

Some BU readers may well remember the PDC article we did some time ago on BU about certain types of empty insincere recurring words, themes, and discourses that many DLP/BLP parliamentarians/candidates  in Barbados deceitful use or not use, at some times to help secure cheap political points over one another in those or other times, even though – whenever the facts have been ascertained – they prove that some of these same people who use these very words, themes, etc. would have earlier themselves indulged in similar things behaviors as those ones that they would then be later accusing some of the other political figures of doing or not doing. Well, Arthur’s case above is a dastard example of that.

Anyhow, what is most reprehensible about that public sector expansion and duplication and wastage of resources that Arthur did during his years of gross misrule – is that they started to take place only within a couple whiffs of the Sandiford Administration having managed to substantially complete the structural and stabilization program it had agreed with the IMF in 1991/2 – and which itself would have realized substantial reductions in the size of the public sector then. For example, the work force of government was reported to have fallen from 24.6 per cent of the entire labour force in Barbados in 1991, to 21.0 in 1993. There was also realized the restructuring of many public enterprises – hence, for example the Barbados Transport Board proceeded to go the route of conductor-less, fare-box buses. Also some enterprises were merged with one another – hence, the BIDC, BADMC.

Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Delisle Worrell accused of less than credible in his utterances

There was also some measure of privatization of government enterprises – Arawak Cement Plant – or divestment in private sector   companies – BET, BARTEL, and in the same Heywoods Hotel that has recently been in the news). Mr. Sandiford (now Sir Lloyd) and the IMF had instituted an 8 % pay cut for public workers, had reduced the size of the fiscal deficit of the Government from BDS $ 248 million to BDS $ 54 million, had reduced the size of the current account deficit on the balance of payments, from BDS $ 317 million in 1992 to BDS $ 171 million in 1993, and had been forced to cede greater political material space to the much more efficient private sector to operate in.  ALL OF THESE MEASURES AND MORE IN EXCHANGE FOR BORROWING AN AMOUNT IN MILLIONS OF DOLLARS FROM THE SAID IMF!

Of course, the Sandiford Government and the majority of the people in Barbados at the time had to pay a very heavy political, material and financial cost then in 1991/2 and later on for the gross and reckless incompetence of the same Sandiford Government in 1989/90 – part of this said cost being the same draconian DLP Government/IMF program.
Anyhow, back to Arthur, Arthur engaged in the highest public sector borrowing this country would have ever seen at the time, crassly moving the gross government debt from BDS $ 2.4 Billion in 1994 to BDS $ 5.4 Billion in December 2007, and thus skyrocketing the estimated government’s net claims on the public sector to as much as negative half a billion dollars in 2007. Arthur was warned by Standard and Poor’s and the IMF about the adverse consequences for the creditworthiness of the Government of this country when he and the BLP undertook massive large-scale borrowing for the ICC World Cup and its associated projects in2005/7 – chief among them the Kensington Oval Redevelopment Project.

Also, Arthur approved so many other non-income/non-revenue generating projects at such a fast pace and in such a clustered way, and esp. through the use of the BOLT system, that the rising astronomical levels of public sector debt that will incur will serve to drown out many of the productive efforts of many of the people of Barbados for some time to come. Hence, some non-income/non-revenue generating projects and, too, some of which involve very costly repayment terms are the Dodds Prisons, the Halls of Justice, the widening of the ABC highway along a certain stretch, the road rehabilitation project that started from the bottom of University Drive and that ended at Garrison, the NHC Warrens Office Complex. Also, the government’s off budget borrowings rose to staggeringly high levels, and the NIS became another political means for financing some of the borrowings – Hence the Airport Redevelopment Project funding, the Coast Guard Project. (Again, this Arthur now pillories this present government for doing similarly). In 2006 the deficit on current account of the Balance of Payments moved from a surplus in BDS $ 269 million in 1994 to a deficit of BDS $ 664 million in 2006.

What was very unfortunate about such instances was that Arthur did do so many and  more dangerous and wicked things to the political economy of this country,  despite his saying in coming to office in 1994 that under his leadership there would have been a private sector export led political economy and else in this country.

Well, too, from the time the David Thompson Administration took office in this country in 2008, it became starker than before that the government of Barbados was going sooner rather than later to reach junk bond status on the assessments of the worsening of the creditworthiness of the Barbados government by at least one of the credit rating agencies. For, the late David Thompson further unwantonly increased employment in various areas of the public sector – e.g. scores of people were employed by an expanded Drainage Unit. He incorporated the very unnecessary and useless Department of Constituency Councils and Constituency Councils, and had instituted just before his death the biggest Cabinet in the history of government ever in Barbados. Thompson also ensured that the largest EVIL WICKED TAXATION THEFTS that have so far been carried out in this country were inanely carried out in 2008, so much so that even simple bicycle owners were hunted down by the former DLP leader for more taxes. Since taking over from Thompson, Chris Sinckler would have done nothing to stop the Standard and Poor’s downgrade, furthermore he made sure that he was the Finance Minister under whose watch this was going to happen by increasing EVIL WICKED TAXATION THEFTS further in his 2010 Budget, and by increasing government borrowings.

As for the present Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Dr. Delisle Worrell, his role in this massive decline in the political economic state of affairs of Barbados, has been to casually attempt – however unsuccessfully – to explain away this gigantic prolonged political economic financial depression Barbados is in, rather than to find strategic solutions out of it. Also he has been less than credible in his utterances on many issues pertaining to the amount of growth of nominal incomes, payments and transfers that have been generated in the political economy and services industry sectors in Barbados, pertaining to whether or not these same sectors can be deemed as stable in their overall performances at this stage; pertaining to whether or not the rate of unemployment that exists in Barbados today is more than what the Central Bank officially says it is, etc; such and more, ever since the Central Bank of Barbados would have perfunctorily recalibrated the so-called economy in 2010 to make the fictional size of the so-called economy seem bigger than what it really is, and to mainly mask the deep-rooted material and financial problems that the government is in and the country is in.

We again call for the public to make sure that there is a Commission of Inquiry into the administrative research functioning of the Central Bank of Barbados.

Well, since money cannot make money, and money cannot cost money, other than it is foreign exchange, and since nominal incomes, payments and transfers cannot be produced without money, the position that the Barbados government finds itself in having its credit rating for foreign currency bonds downgraded to junk bond status by Standard and Poor’s; in having therefore to face the grim prospects of paying higher costs to use the US dollar here in Barbados; and in having to face the spectre of outright refusal by some persons overseas to invest in government bonds on the international capital markets, etc. is extremely scandalous and ignominious.

As that, contrary to what Standard and Poor’s has said about the reasons why the Barbados government has had its debt profile downgraded…as stated by them ….“owing to the weakening of the economic fundamentals…and that such is a function of a still very weak external environment and its impact on Barbados, and the big competitive challenges and structural shortcomings that Barbados faces, inter alia”, the real  and fundamental causes of this down grade are not even being dealt with by them. This is something that Standard and Poor’s must be told in no uncertain terms. Standard and Poor’s, in its reported explanations for downgrading the debt profile of the government of Barbados, is dealing with the symptoms or the effects of the causes of the fundamental political material financial problems that Barbados faces at this stage. So, in its down grading of the government of Barbados credit rating, it is not dealing with the underlying causes of these problems either, neither is the jack-o-lantern  DLP/the BLP dealing with real underlying substantial causes of those problems.

For some of the real and fundamental causes of the conditions and decisions that have led to this junk bond status are:

1. DLP/BLP Barbados governments having over the years been purporting to make so many people believe that it has the ABILITY TO REPAY LOCAL AND FOREIGN DEBTS, WHEN IT CLEARLY DOES NOT. It mainly conducts that kind of atrocious deleterious debt generating business via its fiat. It is a fraudulent thieving series of subterfuges that these governments have been engaging in. No financial institutions in Barbados would lend millions to any private person or any private entity that does not have the ability to repay period.
  2. Notwithstanding their having so many marketable and saleable assets and services at its disposal, and their having so many government people with so many marketable skills and services at its disposal, DLP/BLP governments have been blatantly openly wicked and gross carrying on with TAXATION and excessive interest rate driven public sector borrowings, etc.  rather than they making sure that TAXATION, Interest Rates are abolished, etc. and rather than they making sure  that these things and people are put to maximum use in the process of the government earning more of its income on a sustained basis in this country. What backward wicked governments!
  3. The improper use of money and improper allocation of money by Government.

So there we go.

NB. All statistics used in this document have been drawn from Central Bank statistics.

149 responses to “A Very Sad Time In Barbados' Financial History”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Telling it like it is Mark.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This article should be required reading for every Bajan.

3. Let the Bees win the election and have nothing to do them when they call for “national unity” so they can preside over the public service cuts and the forthcoming devaluation. Look good for the Dees in 2017.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I agree.

5. ha haaaaaaaaa the DLP apologists are pure comic relief.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mark and I have had some heated debates in the past, but I largely concur with what he says here.

Bajans must remember that the BLP took Barbados from an A- S&P rating to where the DLP found it on assuming office. Which was not very far away from where we are right now.

7. A possible solution is for Barbados :

Oil Deposits in the Caribbean basin – largest deposit ever
    Ezili Dantò of HLLN
    July 12, 2010

” There is ample evidence that the oil reserves under the Caribbean Basin are on the same scale as those of the Persian Gulf, the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden combined, and that they contain three thousand more times natural gas than oil. ”

Jamaica seals deal to drill for oil next year

KINGSTON, Jamaica, Monday May 28, 2012 – After a few years of uncertainty, it has been confirmed that the Canadian oil and gas exploration company, Sagres will begin the process of drilling for oil in Jamaica come next year.

…”We continue to be excited by the potential of the La Concepcion prospect, a prospect mapped straddling Blocks 9 and 13, with an independent evaluation establishing a gross mean prospective resource estimate of 3.0 billion barrels,” said President and CEO of Sagres Gary Wine at the time.

Paulwell also noted at the time that, based on the data collected to date, there were indications that there could be as much as 10 billion barrels of reserves in the Walton Basin.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/index.php/news/jamaica_news/580733.html#ixzz21GlUSwbD.

http://youtu.be/QqIWqLylZj8

8. A possible solution is for Barbados :

Oil Deposits in the Caribbean basin – largest deposit ever
    Ezili Dantò of HLLN
    July 12, 2010

” There is ample evidence that the oil reserves under the Caribbean Basin are on the same scale as those of the Persian Gulf, the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden combined, and that they contain three thousand more times natural gas than oil. ”

Jamaica seals deal to drill for oil next year

KINGSTON, Jamaica, Monday May 28, 2012 – After a few years of uncertainty, it has been confirmed that the Canadian oil and gas exploration company, Sagres will begin the process of drilling for oil in Jamaica come next year.

…”We continue to be excited by the potential of the La Concepcion prospect, a prospect mapped straddling Blocks 9 and 13, with an independent evaluation establishing a gross mean prospective resource estimate of 3.0 billion barrels,” said President and CEO of Sagres Gary Wine at the time.

Paulwell also noted at the time that, based on the data collected to date, there were indications that there could be as much as 10 billion barrels of reserves in the Walton Basin.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/index.php/news/jamaica_news/580733.html#ixzz21GlUSwbD.

9. Dems have to accept the reality that they presided over Barbados’ economy to bring it to JUNK BOND status, that is REALITY.

The Bees took over an economy in 1994 with the IMF in control, having their own man in an office in Government headquarters, with over 24% unemployment, with the public sector demoralised after cuts and the 8% salary cuts, investor confidence at an all time low, with things hard, hard for families to manage, people could not get foreign exchange to send for their children studying overseas, I had to ask my relatives to give my children money whilst I paid their mortgage here.

And after four years of DLP gross incompetence, you sorry people still want to blame the BLP. The PDC has never run anything other than run out a pen.

If you all knew these things, why the hell you came into power and spent all the money left like drunken sailors on shore leave. You Dems are really senseless people! As a consequence of your stupidity, all of us Barbadians will have to suffer more!

10. PDC
    I do not believe in your no taxation policy.
    but
    You have painted a true picture of Owen Arthur led BLP and the David Thompson led DLP re the civil service
    That is why we are where we are today.

11. @Prodigal Son

You have conveniently sidestepped the points raised by the PDC. Debt accumulation started way back and where we find ourselves now has been exposed by the protracted economic situation. Just look at post 9/11 period and observe the impact on the economy then. BU agrees with the PDC that successive administrations have contributed including the current one.

What is happening now is akin to going down a hill and it keeps getting steeper and steeper before the brakes popout!

12. Prodigal son

Standards and Poor’s did not blame the government policies but projected that external factors are not going to help in the medium term in lowering the debt and therefore projected a downgrade base ON WHAT MAY HAPPEN. Correct me if I am wrong.

Government is a continuum therefore any debt that was left by the BLP government is debt to the DLP government. Right or Wrong

30 million US every January for the Prison is paid by this government for the last government. True or false.
    Kensington Oval debt.
    Cricket world cup debt
    Judicial center debt
    All of those are being paid because we have not defaulted on debt
    Only Al Barrack debt is not paid which seems to be a political hot potato for both parties. Really is it true that Al Barrack was partners with George Payne and Dale Marshall in a building business.

13. Managing any economy in the world today is bad news:

Why China’s growth model is in BIG TROUBLE, and so are the countries depending on it!
    by Jack CrooksSaturday, July 21, 2012 at 7:30am
    An interesting phenomenon seems to infect the human psyche in the field of investing and economics. It’s the idea that “this time it’s different.” Regarding China, we continue to hear the nonsensical mantra that the country displays capitalism with Chinese characteristics, therefore China will continue to grow uninterrupted.
    I say to that, dream on! And I’m not the only one. Michael Pettis, a finance professor at Peking University’s Guanghua School of Management, offered this insight:
    “There is no such thing as a different kind of economics, and even a very cursory glance at Chinese economic history should have made clear that if China really does exist in a different economic universe, with its own set of rules, then this has been a fairly new phenomenon. For most of its history the same old set of rules seemed to apply to China that applied everywhere else.”

14. @ David
    The Dems phuck up the place.
    At least the Bees built assets (PDC has some outlandish scheme to finance infrastructure) while the Dems increased public sector employment, sent home the Guyanese and employment still doubled. Where are benefits of the borrowing under the Dems?
    We can only blame the BLP if what is happening now had happened under their administration. To assume that the current state of the economy would have been the outcome under the BLP is bseless especially given the fact that they advanced a totally different solution to the problem. What can not be disputed is what has occurred under this government. An increase of $3b in 14 years vs over $2bn in less than five years

15. @enuff

You are more intelligent than you last comment. As a country and as individuals were have been living above our means and in the current state of the global economy given its protracted nature, we are now seeing the consequences.

Don’t you see that four years later there is still clamour for wage increases etc? No thought for pulling back lifestyles as a country and strategize accordingly. Yes the BLP accumulated assets but list the ones which today are forex generating.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

“The Bees took over an economy in 1994 with the IMF in control,”

The bee took over an economy in 1994 with an A- rating by S&P rating agency.

What was the S&P rating when the bees left office.

Talk about that!

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

“spent all the money left like drunken sailors on shore leave”

Dont hijack that term.

That term aptly describes the attitude of the Barbados Labour Party when in office.

There is plenty of evidence to support it.

18. old onion bags Avatar

THANKS FELLAS FAH HOLDING D LINE…

Well well, I now get back from sticking a big boar PIG….two two’s ….like this here one which Aarson and a ole Joker in new clothes Gully bore…TRYING to revive.. it was DEAD DEAD…..Ladies and gentlemen….it’s lost cause ….A BIG LONG article with nuff sour faces…truly a FBI Fugitive BillBoard….(finally PDC man Mark get noticed) ……but FA WUH ?….The DLP pig …like the one now gettin mekk into souse…IS A NO MORE…..imagine a PM pitching off S&P and Moody ratings with disdain…I beg your pardon…why who will the lending community listen to…..FUNDY or S&P..? Think of these things while I gorge my fresh pig head souse…..mmmmm

19. WHY dont PDC, PEP and the new party join up –that is merge ?
    WHY wunnah always want wunnah own church , wunnah own political party, wunnah own little this and little that?
    WHAT is wrong with you people ?
    IS Carson Cadogan a clown or what??
    In haste to condemn the BLP , he jumps back to Sand P RATINGS BUT HE AINT DEALING WITH THE RATING AT THIS TIME
    Dont care waht happens we are not voting for Freundel Stuart and the Eager 11 –a bad combination and a sorry bunch–yuh talk chalk !

BLP =29 SEATS
    DLP= 0 SEAT
    INDEPENDENT =1

20. Wunna ent see Gully Bore boring nuff since late last night. Like he wukking ova time!

21. Gully Bore yuh ent tired boring we?

22. old onion bags Avatar

Gully bore…..Do the maths…lol

23. old onion bags Avatar

24. old onion bags Avatar

……….2x …+….1..= 1…….x..= …DLP……have to go

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

David | July 21, 2012 at 12:26 PM |
    “@enuff: You are more intelligent than you last comment. As a country and as individuals we have been living above our means and in the current state of the global economy given its protracted nature, we are now seeing the consequences.”

You are quite right in your conclusion that our past excesses or “sins’ have finally caught with us.
    But aren’t you also not “guilty” of finger pointing? Why this heavy focus on the BLP’s misdeeds leading to the present economic suck or black hole we are currently in.
    If you perceive the electorate to be generally intelligent, savvy, or perspicacious then why can’t you accept that the very reason they changed from to BLP to the DLP to mange the affairs of this country is because of their acceptance of the DLP’s claims of squandermania, incompetence, corruption and over borrowing by the BLP. They (the electorate) decided to give the DLP a chance to change things and improve their living standards by first bringing the COL under control recognition.

So ask yourself what has the DLP administration done to fulfil the expectations of the intelligent electorate? Lower the COL? Slaughtered a fatted calf? Increase the national debt significantly? Expand manpower numbers in the public sector? Gotten involved in the same past corrupt shenanigans with Pierhead marina, Invest Barbados million dollar payments to the Chairman to finance his business enterprises? Oversaw two credit rating down grades in less than 5 years instead of 3 during the BLP 14 year reign?

David, if you were a chairman of a the board of a large private sector corporation and the current CEO kept trying to convince you that the current poor performance of the business is due to the actions of the previous CEO whom you fired 5 years ago for non-performance wouldn’t you ask the bullshit CEO why he think he was hired? You were hired because you convinced us that you knew what the previous manager did wrong, you knew the problems and the solutions and you promised us that you can do just that no matter what; hence the largest management team ever put together in the history of the nation.

Even at this very crucial time when we should be open, honest and forthright we are playing again the silly season games with the so-called electorate. How can you, David, could be so concerned about our state of affairs but yet we have a PM who refuses to swallow a dose of reality and advises Bajans not to worry since the assessment is just an opinion of a insignificant source and the opulent lifestyle we have grown accustomed to is certainly NOT under threat. Let’s continue as always as we have been doing for the last 18 or so years!
    God help us! Where there is no visionary leadership the stupid people get the government they deserve!

26. @Miller

It is why the BU household struggles to remain hopeful after hearing the BLP’s offering. We however remain expectant

BLP DLP same damn party.

Both parties pander to their constituents by feathering their nests at the public expense.

Both parties feed current behaviour i.e.slaves to consumer durables.

There is little hope although they say hope springs eternal.

27. old onion bags Avatar

Why don’t you say …..look let me declare my hand….

People…..just another bad cop pointing finger strategy……but I have always heard the proof is in the puddin (and the people have eaten before.)…not just slack talk to try to cut votes

28. @Onions

All BU is interested in is proper governance for the people. BLP or DLP same difference.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | July 21, 2012 at 3:22 PM |
    “All BU is interested in is proper governance for the people. BLP or DLP same difference.”

Yes indeed! But not in this going down. Things are not the run-of-the-mill changing of one tired and corrupt guard to another eager to get their hands on the kitty. Our own livelihood and existence as an independent political entity depend of the future path we follow.

The current DLP appointed CEO is clearly out of his depth. A mediocre pedestrian lawyer stuck in an era of” classical’ Barbados who has won the super lotto jackpot where the fortunes of leadership is concerned.
    What was his main contribution to the last budget debate? Anything concerning the proposals and the impact on the future development of Barbados? Is he a man of vision? Have you ever heard a statement from this CEO that could give some insight into his vision of future Barbados?

What is the man’s mirror image? A man stuck in 1970’s politics but even then we had people of vision not of mediocrity and indecision.

Barbados deserves better if we are to see any dividends from our boastful claim of massive investments in free education to tertiary level and social services from cradle to grave.

30. @Miller

The people will decide when the PM rings the bell and BU does not intend to stand in the way of those who want to support either party.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@David | July 21, 2012 at 3:52 PM |

Yes, indeed! “One day coming soon the people will wake up”, if we are to believe the Mighty Gabby!
    Meanwhile, back at the ranch the intelligent people of this ‘educated’ nation are being insulted in a most arrogant and offhanded manner. Even a BCC student studying primer government and politics knows that under our Westminster form of governance the PM is the only person who can call elections before the constitutionally set date.
    Why repeatedly use that as some Damocles sword over the Opposition? Does he intend to bring charges of corruption and abuse of public office against certain BLP members and past associates in the next few weeks?
    The major question is: Is he expecting a major oil find off Barbados within the next 2 months? If so, he is a political genius primus inter pares. If not this arrogant strategy of carrying the electorate to the wire with all agony and no ecstasy is tantamount to being the opposite of a genius.

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Is it a coincidence that our PM shares the same initials as the captain of the ill fated Italian cruise liner Costa Concordia, Francesso Schettino, who was courting and dining while the ship was heading for the rocks?

33. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@david
    I think the DLP faced the problem of imposing their philosophy and “management style” on an economy that was pummelled into shape using a completely different style and philosophy. The resultant shock (2008/9 budget) proved too much to bear. The following comatose period (2009-oct 2010) deprived the country and economic brain of enough air to stay afloat far less improve. Then (oct 2010) til now has been a valiant effort (with some creative accounting) to at least keep the image looking good. As the saying goes too little too late. Reasonable strategies, positive policy, but at a late time, on an economy that’s still partially in pre-2008 mode and with a “no wiggle room or scope for error environment.” Oh, not to mention politicians that are way out of their depth on financial/economic matters.

The BLP started the rot yes, the DLP more than completed the erosion. Could the BLP have continued their “debt management?” Who knows. What’s for certain is we’re here. The question isn’t who’s more capable, it’s who do we trust more to keep the ship stable and/or get us out. 14 yrs on one side, 4 on a next. 4 trained economists on one side, none (sigh, Jepter maybe) on the next. Straight up decision making in one side (in the past at least and not always for the better), uncertain/slow decision making on the next.

The electorate will decide.

34. what more can be said straight up no nonsense article.. D or B like that!

35. @ David
    I am a strong believer in EVIDENCE. As unintelligent as I my last post might have appeared it is based on FACT not speculation. If the BLP is to be given blamed for the current “sordid mess” (a favourite line of PM Thompson) give them credit for all the housing projects they conceptualised and developed and had ready to implement that the DLP currently bragging about.
    I would say this much, if the BLP had not left those FOREX in the Central Bank the Buhbaduss dollar would be devalued by now or we would be in a structural programme with the IMF. Ask the PDC and the DLP how they would have financed the building of a new prison? Wait no need to ask the Dems…………after all they are borrowing just to pay civil servants!!

36. A lotta long talk from the BU intelligentia but please tell us if it was a mirage when the economy was booming and overheating under the leadership of Owen and co.
    All uh wunna participated joyously in the sale of Barbados land (to be used for its best value).
    Some uh wanna used to come up hey and brag about how well wunna were doing.

Bottom line is that Owing and co borrowed when they should have been saving. Along come the DLP and could not stop the slide down the slippery slope.

Now wunna positioning for the next round and looking for the opportunity to suck the marrow from the bones of the calf now the meat gone.

I gine do what I can to make my few cents stay in Barbados, I gine continue my miniscule support by buying bajan here in the T dot.
    Bajans in the Diaspora must look past the bs and try to help Barbados in a tangible way.
    Leave the economic theorising and political to Old onions and Miller.

Doan mine Bushie neither cause Bushmen doan need forex.

37. Professor King Avatar
    Professor King

I like the Bees
    I am not a card carrying supporter of the BLP but the country seems to run better under the BEES and my grandmother, mother and others older than I am confirm this. The DLP always struggling with the country and blaming other people. The BLP get on with the JOB–Grantley Adams , Bree St.John, Tom Adams, Owen Arthur versus—Sandy , Stuart and Barrow . There is no comparison DLP down 4 to 1
    The DLP seems to be blighted and for their sake and the country should call elections and let us have some proper governance
    Whats wrong with that /

38. Professor King went to school at Bumley and did not attend class regularly.

39. old onion bags Avatar

Hants
    You mad fisherman you….hope you get caught in the hail and lose a tooth (joking) Pro King is correct….and it shall come to pass ..watch..You don’t live here but chose Ole Maple….we suffering like mad down here ..and you catch trout for leisure….what’s wid dat ? We eating sardine at $2.00 a can and the lowered grade..milk is now $8.00 a litre…Why you can afford to lick your mouth in support of your inept party…..while we are about to starve..

40. old onion bags Avatar

DEM go to GO…..them got to GO…we can’t take NO MORE….

41. Professor King Avatar
    Professor King

PRIME MINISTER FREUNDEL STUART isn’t bothered by Standard & Poor’s (S&P) downgrade of Barbados’ credit rating to junk status, and he doesn’t believe Barbadians should be either.

As for Opposition Leader Owen Arthur’s call for elections now in light of the downgrade, Stuart has told him to “take it easy, that time will come”, and advised him to “prepare for the battle of his life”.

In his first public reaction to the S&P announcement on Tuesday, Prime Minister Stuart said while he respected the international rating agency’s opinion he did not agree with it, and it would change nothing.

“I am not perturbed by the expression of the opinion of the ratings agency,” he said yesterday
    —————————————————————————-
    STUART LIKE HE IS A CUNT YEAH !
    THIS MAN FUH REAL ?

42. @old onions,

Brunswick sardines cost $1.09 Canadian which is $2.15 Barbados.
    And if things get tougher up here I will not be releasing any Salmon, Trout, Bass or Pike I catch.

I know how hard it is for poor and lower middle class people in Barbados and I empathise.

Unfortunately for them a change of Government will not help.

43. Professor KING please do not insult the anatomy of a woman by referring Stuart as one. Please refer to him as a DICK or better so a LIMP one. Have a good night!

44. “Debt accumulation started way back and where we find”
    debt for small economies like barbados is a necessary evil. its how you mangae the debt that is the key. debt accumulation started way back in the 60’s with the advent of’ free this and free that’ we cannot have it both ways. the price of progress is fuelled by debt. why do you think courts and standards and mannings are household name?.

45. “Brunswick sardines cost $1.09 Canadian which is $2.15 Barbados”
    eve sardines cost $1.39 at popular and they eating good too.and you do not even need a can opener.

46. “Don’t you see that four years later there is still clamour for wage increases ”
    are you saying that representatives of workers should be condemned for seeking to enter into negotiations for better conditions wages and otherwise which are four years overdue for their membership? rather than castigating, shouldn’t the the union be given some credit for holding strain for so long in the midst of unprecedented levels of taxation which they have had to endure and the ever increasing cost of living? isn’t it the duty of the unions to enter into negotiations with government every two years for expected salary adjustments and shouldn’t the union have gone to the tableand garner goodwill rather than condemnation had they been required to extend the olive branch? don’t you honestly believe that the unions have acted responsibly in the face of the crisis?

47. “eve sardines cost $1.39 at popular and they eating good too.and you do not even need a can opener.”

An where dem mek?

48. “All BU is interested in is proper governance for the people. BLP or DLP same difference”
    but at the risk of invoking your ire i must confess that your comments are blatantly slanted for the dlp and against the blp’ only when put on the back foot do you try to put a different spin to your previous unimpartial comments.

49. “An where dem mek”
    doesn’t matter to me when the price is right. mr barrow always used to say that bajans got champagne taste with mauby pockets and he was supposed to be a wise man.

50. Balance…. LOLL

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply