Today’s announcement that Barbados sovereign credit rating has been downgraded to BB+/B from BBB-/A-3 is unfortunate. There is no consolation that we have been bundled with several European countries who have earned junk bond rating.

Dr. Frank Alleyne made a statement which resonated with the BU household on the weekend. He opined that a major problem driving our public debt is structural. He suggested successive governments have not addressed the problem. They preferred instead to be politically expedient. BU prefers to focus on a reality that in the boom years we did not solidify our economic fundamentals. One clear example was building out an economy with no concern to diversify our energy base. Another, we encouraged rampant consumption expenditure fed in the 1995-2007 period especially.

What is unfortunate is that with a general election on the horizon, the opportunity for serious public discussion and earth moving decisions will not be top of mind for government. What we have though is partisan political chatter now that Barbados has attained junk bond rating.  The opportunity for government to distil the arguments has now gotten even more difficult. BU must harp on the point that the government has to be coherent and cohesive in the way it articulates its strategy i.e. what it has achieved to date, in the near term and what it hopes to achieve.

BU commends the government – some missteps notwithstanding – for introducing reform in the energy sector at a time when the fiscal space for doing so is as narrow as it has ever been. BU has posited many times that in boom times one must prepare for the bust; we did not. Unfortunately there is a dearth of leadership and consequently a lack of vision. Where Barbados finds itself today is as a result of all the myopic policies on the last 20 years.

What BU regrets most after listening and reading the commentary which followed the S&P downgrade and Governor Worrell’s press conference is that we have a opposition party in waiting which has not had to do much to regain popularity. BU remembers during the boom time questioning the former government’s expansive strategy of debt accumulation through off balance sheet transactions.

Many have started to question if the boom period of the late 90s up to 2007 was manufactured. We have all been following the news with horror how reputable banks have rigged LIBOR rates.  We have also been following the story about oil price rigging, again by reputable entities. It maybe of interest that many of these malpractices occurred in the period of 2003 to 2005, at the height of the boom years which Barbados enjoyed.

307 responses to “Barbados Economic Misfortune Was Guaranteed”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David:

There is something bothering me a bit and I need your help in resolving this concern.

Can you tell me or refer me to the source (video of press conference or printed report) where the Governor of the Central Bank announced the level of foreign reserves as at end of June 2012.
    I am under the impression (and I might very well be wrong) that in his earlier press briefing he confirmed that the foreign reserves stood at $1.6 billion.

Now yesterday I heard a figure of $1.4 billion. Assuming both figures are quoted in Barbados dollars this is a sudden reduction of $200 million or a 12.5% downward adjustment.

Help David and let us hear or see again thee relevant extract of the Governor’s earlier report in order to establish the facts.

2. BTW Barbados Light and Power’s commitment to alternative energy is the spending of foreign exchange to import solar panels to compete with a growing number of established small entrepreneurs… you know, see which way the wind is blowing and then raise your flag.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Frustrated businessman | July 18, 2012 at 9:08 AM |

You have touched a nerve ending that goes straight to the heart of the major economic problem.
    But it seems your highlighting of the problem and offer a possible solution to stem the degradation would fall on deaf ears.
    Can you recall what FS recently said about the civil service at the opening of the Boabab Towers Government Offices complex in Warrens? With that kind of adulation for electoral gain why would the servants of the people care two hoots about what people like you and I have to say albeit couched in constructive and creative criticism.
    Just remember what C. Nortcote Parkinson said about government’s bureaucracy:
    “Work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion.”
    The local civil service has taken this dictum to a higher level of relevance and efficiency.
    The chickens have come home to roost with many mongooses behind them.

4. @Miller

On the Central Bank Website for 6-month the international reserves is listed at $1,357.

5. @ Sandra
    And it is only recently that the price of oil has reached levels that make the cost of RE attractive.

6. @ Frustrated Businessman
    And the private sector has not contributed right? What are you importing and selling?

7. @enuff

There we go discussing price points when we are talking about leadership. Are you saying we could not have validated a policy position full in the recognition that there was always the need to diversify our energy needs before 2007?

8. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

@ BAF – if we cannot compete when others are producing the same services how will we compete with China in products?

9. It seems to me that the creditors are looking at a dissmal overall outlook at the world economy and are expecting governments to seek faster resolutions for repayment of their debts now the question is how should our country seek faster resolve without implementing strident measures that would hurt the people

10. @ David
    When was the solar house built under Minister Liz Thompson? And price is key, because the argument around RE is economic i.e FOREX and little about the environmental aspect.

11. When BU suggested the government hold general election immediately after Thompson’s death it was punished with laughter. The conversation then would have been very different to now. We have been vindicated.

12. old onion bags Avatar

Bust me a laugh………..now what good would be done had this inept lot been given another term, under cloak of sympathy? Would yesterday’s development be otherwise? Me surely think not…

Now David (Brass Tacks) is calling for elections.

13. @Onions

What it would have done is provide a mandate and led room to make some hard decisions. By bringing the general election into the discussion it has painted the government in a corner.

14. Where are the DLP supporters who still think things OK in Barbados where is the one they call “!” …. No surprises with the S&P news this is what happens when you have a DLP “Lets Wait and See” overall strategy to economic reform and development.

Where are all the SMILES from a few weeks ago when the DLP presented the “nothing budget” which I’m sure the S&P folks looks at and saw nothing as well ….

Where is the PM on the issue you would think a front page present on the rating news would be worthy, but no we have to her Chris talk bear foolishness about how he surprised.

What is sad … it that at the end of the day whether DLP or BLP or whatever this is BAD news for Barbados and we must change course ……

15. old onion bags Avatar

Seems that unlike the rest of us you believe that this Govt has an inkling of an idea as to a way out…..I can tell you (based on performance)..they don’t. What good would it do playing with econ. tools and frigiting their way around. More likely things may have been worse…Moe importantly David we need a leader….time to stop the comedy is now.

16. @Onions

You have missed the point. The comment was more about recognising the moment from a political perspective. Whether D or B makes for better management, who knows.

17. @ David
    I agree with your stance ref an election after Thompson’s death–always did. I am obviously glad he didn’t….lmao.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This G’ovt has nothing to be ashamed of.

Just maintain the course that they are on and it will see us through.

Calling elections now would be a waste of time. It would serve no useful purpose. The Democratic Labour Party will continue to keep the ship of state stable.

If Seethru think that the country in bad shape then let him sell his AUDI SUV and give the proceeds to the poor.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party was calling for elections from 16 Jan. 2008.

This renewed call is just more of the same.

THERE IS NO NEED FOR ELECTIONS AT THIS TIME.

The G’ovt is still moving ahead with the peoples work. All of you BLP jokers will have to eat your words.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(neitherBnorD)

“Isn’t this an ideal opportunity for the Leader of the Opposition to move a motion of no confidence in the government?”

I see that you believe that lightning strikes the same place twice.

Bring your no confidence motion and see what happens to it!

21. And that ladies and gentlemen was a paid political advertisement costing our treasury $125 per month in the form of a constituency council stipend.

22. old onion bags Avatar

Wid you…. It would be better if I miss the whole debacle….if you had ur way….but I won’t rub it in by telling you..” I told you so.”…change will come.

23. @David. Excellent.

@To the point | July 18, 2012 at 4:04 AM. Excellent analysis. Thank the Lord for someone who thinks logically and clearly.

@ac | July 18, 2012 at 5:25 AM. As someone who is usually BLP, it shames me to have to admit that you are RIGHT!

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Willie

“I thought that he had rejected such a proposal by the late David Thompson?”

You are quite right. This is the same man who said that he will be no part of any effort by the G’ovt to seek solutions to the problems and then he hopped on a plane and flew to Antigua to help the people Antigua with their issues. Even though his input made little difference with their situation.

The Barbados Labour Party is just a bunch of opportunists. He can keep his advice, not that it is any use anyway.

He now wants people that he wants to help so much even though he has spent a little over 20 hours in Parliament since Jan. 2008.

25. @ Carson Cadogan
    Apart from snubbing the then leader of the opposition, not one single meeting was ever convened with the other persons identified by PM Thompson. It was his usual MO OPTICS, the exact reason we are where we are now. Wunna really think this thing is a joke.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think the Barbados Labour Party is a joke!

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 18, 2012 at 10:46 AM |
    “Bring your no confidence motion and see what happens to it!”

It will be punished with laughter just like the CLICO resolution, right CCC?

I notice you have stopped “skinning ya teet and mekking mock sport at me- ” millertheanunnaki (May 2012).

If you had taken up the miller’s challenge at that time you would have had a much better chance of serving another term in office. The probability of the DLP being returned to office after yesterday’s revelation has dropped to an all time low.
    But I would not rub salt in your wounds other than to say that September or October 2012 is just 4 or so months past May 2012. I also predicted that there would be tremendous pressures on the foreign reserves with possibility of a downgrade and subsequent adjustment of the currency peg by June 2012. Just give this another 4 months also.

Stop making sport at the miller and listen to his advice. Move now before it’s too late. Call the elections soon and let the people decide who they want to be in charge of their business. The same people whom you know are not easily fooled- according to you- by your nemesis Seethru Arthur and the BLP crooks and conmen as you disrespectfully refer to them.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“But I would not rub salt in your wounds”

You lack the ability to rub salt in anyone wounds. You cant even run the house that you live in.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You with these predictions. Dont you ever tire of being wrong?

But then again you have a captive BLP audience who will believe anything.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW I am the nicest person on this blog when it comes to the BLP, you know that!

31. Even before the days of “Tell It Like It Is” that political pond dog named Malcolm Taitt brought that institution he claims to represent into disrepute.Great to listen today as he was raked over the coals,as David Elis stuck every brasstack up his ignorant ass.BOUT TIME.

32. The point is with all the long chatter is that the creditors want there mioney NOW and is not intersted in along story.wether BLP or DLP some body got to pay the piper and it looks like the taxpayer going to have to dig a little deeper in theirpockets or govt going to have to sell any assets they have to satify the creditors or else barbados going to face another downgrade this is serious and the creditors not joking they WANT there MONEY NOW

33. Sandra

It is alright to argue pricing when you are speaking about services, now a Min in Trinidad is saying that it is important that the jurisdictions in the region rationalize their taxation arrangements to stave off the opportunity of overseas businesses playing one jurisdiction off on another. Services are forced to compete on price because there is very little else that separates one operative from another in same field. Let’s be honest we are all offering the same things in the region and we are competing with Mauritius, Hainan and five hundred thousand other premium destinations that are in exactly the same kinds of business that you are advocating. But to say the word “product” evokes fear because of one ONLY destination, China. Italy still produces high end cars, so too do Germany and South America, and they are produced for export. If you test me I will go into my accustomed diatribe on a business model for Barbados that focuses on Design, Production, and Effective Selling of products for export … Don’ test me, ’cause these people ’bout here tired hearing me now …!

34. The BLP got no reason to be happy cause it is there leader reckless economic policies that have set us on On a collision course for economic failure and to hear OSA calling fuh elections is dispictable some body should have shook him by his tail yesterday and tell him this is not 1995 this 2012 no more money to BORROW

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Listening to the VOB 12.30 news this afternoon Chris Sinckler appears to be slapping down the Governor of the Central Bank.
    While the Governor is questioning the rationale, logic and purpose of the downgrade, Chris seems to be taking it on board in a more non-combative and reconciliatory way as constructive criticism based on facts and objective assessment of the problems facing the country. He sees it as the necessary catalyst to push forward with the restructuring of the economy.
    It would be interesting to hear from the DLP apologists and spin doctors explain this obvious divergence of views (rift) between the Minister and his creature. Is the creature’s head on the block as the sacrificial lamb?

36. miller,
    Ignore CCC, he is so shame, he is blocking that’s all.

There is not one Barbadian, BLP or DLP who take any comfort in Standards and Poor’s downgrading Barbados’ credit rating. But we on this blog were saying that the government was spending money stupidly like it was going out of style. We were subjected to abuse by the selfish DLPites on this blog who were only thinking about the DLP.

Every suggestion from Owen Arthur was greeted with “we dont want to hear from you, he is a rum drinker, seethru and from Clyde, he does not know what he is saying, he is Owen’s lackey”.

So the DLP’s chickens have come home to roost. If they claim that when they made promises in 2007 that they did not know that things would get so bad, hey, they have not stopped spending recklessly.

*On Brasstacks, Julian Hunte just mentioned the multi million car park at LESC. Was that necessary at this time?
    *Why did they go ahead with constituency councils?
    *Adding over 6000 in the public sector in 4 years?
    *Free bus fares? This was not a manifesto promise!
    *Free summer camps?
    *PM Thompson press conference from Georgetown?
    *Richard Sealy taking 135 members of the BTA to Georgetown?
    *Spending $234,000 to bring Paul Volker here?
    *Swearing in gala at Kensington?
    *Lots of houses that are too small and no one will buy them?
    *Rhianna concert in Independence Square?
    *Fetes at the Garrison for Independence?
    *Big galas for Queen’s diamond jubilee?
    *Big parties at Illaro Court weekly?
    ………….and I could go on and on……………………..

37. @ac…this is not 1995 this 2012 no more money to BORROW

And ac, no more money to spend too! You should have taken the advice when we were giving up. You now get up out of your slumber?

38. @Prodigal Son

Come on this is how political parties in Barbados have always operated. Narrow political interest must always be satisfied first.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 18, 2012 at 11:27 AM |
    “You lack the ability to rub salt in anyone wounds. You cant even run the house that you live in.”

Seems I have done just that. Is that your painful reaction to the belly searchers being inflicted on you? OSA will soon be disbanding the constituency councils and you will be out on the streets. Pity the poor dog that sleeps in your bed! What would become of her? After being used and abused to be ejected just like that? Is that how you treat your women, CCC? You can send your real bitch over to my house to help me run it.

Now stop getting personal or operating from the gutter because you will be meeting your superior.
    Deal with the pressing issues that are upon us!

40. But wait, how comes Chris Sinckler said that the downgrade was not unexpected? After all the chest and desk pounding in the House some weeks ago when he said that the increase in VAT had brought in the most money in the history of Barbados and recently in the Budget debate? Did he really said that they knew that this was coming?

I suspected that from the statements from the Governor at his recent press conference and told friends who agreed with me that they probably knew that a down grade was coming. The mere fact that the Governor then sought to warn the agencies that they had better not think of down grading Barbados.

Chris Sinckler should really resign, presiding over two downgrades of Barbados is no small feat! The Dems are all about legacy, remember they said when DT died that he had a legacy after only a few months in office but not Owen. Some legacy, Chris!

41. @David

do you have any figures on the total number of people on the government payroll at the end of 2007and what it is in 2012. If possible please include statutory boards and temporary workers.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 18, 2012 at 12:48 PM |
    “…..The BLP got no reason to be happy cause it is there leader reckless economic policies that have set us on On a collision course for economic failure… ”

But ac how can you be so confused and engaging in doublespeak? Are you a weathercock or should I say “weatherhen”?
    You are saying in one breath that we are on a collision course for economic failure a sort of fait accompli economic meltdown caused by OSA and the BLP policies . While on the other hand your economic guru governor of the Bank is saying the opposite regarding the economy of Barbados. From the governor’s analysis, the economy is stable, with adequate foreign reserves, a reasonable low and manageable debt ratio but with only a slight fiscal problem that would be eradicated by those excellently executed medium-term fiscal strategies and which are ahead of target along with the imaginative budgetary proposals and incentives that are working in harmony with efforts to bring about a sustained reduction in unemployment levels.
    The governor even says that S&P got it all wrong with their illogical assessment of the local economy. Far from a downgrade we should be given an upgrade.
    Now ac, which side are you on or are you all over the place like Poonka just following the “!” and “to the point” crowd not knowing you elbow from your (er) knees?

43. What is the potential impact of the downgrade on the barbados economy. Interestingly over one hundred posts have largely ignored that issue. this blog seems a lot about point scoring.

Some investors make investment decisions on the basis of credit rating. they will only invest in investment grade countries. A key question could be what percentage of investment in BIm falls into this category. Of course the fact that Moodys still rates us investment grade still allows us to access at least some of that type of investment if not all.

Has there been any sell of of bajan bonds by investors? have the yields gone up? these are the things that will determine the impact. but of course our bloggers are not interested in these things, its all politics and point scoring..

44. by the way owen got three downgrades.

45. @Ellis Chase

You have to appreciate that after the 4 years of weathering a never ending economic storm this is a blow to the pride of Barbadians. The fact that it has come at the start of the silly season will do nothing to promote a dispassionate debate.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ellis Chase. | July 18, 2012 at 1:57 PM |
    “but of course our bloggers are not interested in these things, its all politics and point scoring..”
    @Ellis Chase. | July 18, 2012 at 2:00 PM |
    “by the way owen got three downgrades.”

Now what would you call that, Ellis Chase? Looking back? The downgrade to junk bond status did not occur under Owen. It has occurred under the present administration which over the last 3 weeks (budgetary presentations and the Central Bank Governor’s report) that every thing was stable and improving thanks to the imaginative economic policies and programmes implemented over the last 18 months by this DLP administration.
    Now please continue to address (as you were doing to some extent in your previous contributions) the challenges we are faced with TODAY and leave your politically partisan asides in George St.

47. Tax & Business Avatar
    Tax & Business

@ Prodigal Son

Blame Thompson, Hartley, Wickham and Sinckler for this mess. It was the latter three who conspired with Thompson on his death bed to install a novice like Sinckler as Minister of Finance over the clearly competent and passionate Estwick. They tried to make Sinckler into real MoF knowing full well that the Barbados economy had been drifting for nearly 8 months on account of Thompson’s illness.

“Time Longer Than Twine” those words still making people cringe today even though one is now a dearly departed.

Sinckler and DLP will pay the price for austerity and even at this late stage it is not too late to have a mini shuffle and replace Sinckler with Estwick and refinance the governments debt hopefully creating some fiscal space to do things to stimulate the economy. Debt for growth is still an option but NOT when robotic Sinckler is at the helm.

48. Tax & Business Avatar
    Tax & Business

Moody’s may not have downgraded Barbados, but anyone believing Barbados might be able to use Moody’s investment grade rating as the basis of bond financing is sadly mistaken given that unfortunately, Moody’s also has Barbados on a negative watch, which makes Barbados government paper, non-investment grade.

49. old onion bags Avatar

@ Ellis Chase
    Why what about the interest rates factor, you have failed to mention ? Should we be that lucky to attract a lender (other than the NIS,of course ) we shall be offered at higher interest rate now, as we are seen now as more risky. Why don’t you consider this a relevant factor, worthy of our educating ?

50. Tax & Business Avatar
    Tax & Business

Dear Prime Minister

Some advice:

1. Address the people of Barbados and do you best to motivate the indominable spirit of Barbadians

2. FIRE SINCKLER IMMEDIATELY.

Leave a Reply to Carson C. CadoganCancel reply