Submitted by Crusoe
Donville Inniss – Minister of Health

Yesterday we heard the Minister of Health, Donville Inniss, indicate that the site chosen for the new $800MM hospital is in Kingsland. Firstly, I state that I am pleased that Donville Inniss has taken an open approach to the blogs, by choosing to comment. I also think that Donville has a good political future. However, there are issues related to the new hospital and its location, that I wish to highlight, as relevant to all projects.

Firstly, on the point of location, we are told that relevant stakeholders have discussed this, or at least the news report refers to the Town Planning etc. My question is, how can relevant stakeholders be seen to be consulted, when the citizens of the country have not had an input? This is not a canteen at a school, where the head and Board or Ministry can decide. This is an $800 million facility, the only major one, for the country. I am not saying that a referendum is necessary, but certainly town hall meetings and a public panel (we so love commissions and panels) is actually relevant here. Can we see a preliminary report, that demonstrates why the site is suitable as agreed by Government, Town Planning, doctors, the QEH administration?

How does one assess the issues caused by the new hospital being located at Kingsland, when all major medical assessments (private) are located in Belleville? Surely a more central location on the Highway route and closer to Bridgetown, such as Upper Wildey or  Haggatt Hall, or Waterford  etc would have been more suitable? That would have kept it closer to Belleville, the bus routes both Highway and Bridgetown and still had some open spaces for development?

Further, who is the land to be purchased from? Is it Sagicor?

In the interests of good planning and decision making, these are issues that need to be explained as having been assessed properly. I am not comfortable with a simple announcement.

Secondly, what are the specifications of the new hospital? Surely the specifications need to be addressed and agreed, before a decision on a fitting location is established? Have the specifications been agreed with doctors and an expert hospital planning consultant? Yes, we have good architects and engineers, but there are surely those who specialise in hospitals and healthcare, remember the phrase, measure twice, cut once?

Then, the issue of financing, how is this going to go forward and what project disclosures will be necessary. How will the Auditor General be involved in checking on expenditures to budget and authenticity?

Can Government commit to making this the FIRST fully transparent and properly implemented public project in Barbados? And please, no hand raising and pleads that other projects have been managed well, the past fifteen years have proved atrocious in public project management.

So, respectfully submitted in the interest of the country.

Regards

201 responses to “Proposed Location Of New Hospital Announced … No So Fast Mr. Minister!”

1. HAVE wunna heard what two former Health Ministers said in the nation today ?

BAD @&^%$#^ MOVE –old man
    BAD MOVE !

If this latest nonsense dont condemn the DLP to the heaviest defeat at the polls , I dont know what else will. The DLP has really lost it.

Election Result–whenever election is called:
    BLP= 29 SEATS
    DLP=0 SEATS
    INDEPENDENT= 1 SEAT

2. WHAT’S Ian Bourne’s blog all about ??
    I just read the blog after clicking on the link above
    I dont understand this thing about Donville Iniss
    Maybe it is too high for me: I went to school in August
    But anyhow the conclusion that I came to after reading what the link offered is that:
    THEY GOT MORE MAD PEOPLE OUT THAN THEY HAVE IN JENKINS

3. @all the tsunami prophets of doom and gloom

Using available space in town, close to the horsepital seemed like a good idea to me and while the comment about a tsunami zone has its merit, let us face it, we have to pray for tsunamis of a specific height if this little rock in the sea is to survive one of those.

A 15 inch wave, starting at 20,00 feet at the ocean’s floor, traveling at 500 mph can, given the topology of the ocean shelf, impedances, etc., produce a wave of 100 feet to 1000 feet, one that will travel as far as 1 mile inland.

The last time i checked in our geography books, Mount Hilaby is 1105 ft so we would all of us be wiped out in an extreme case. So we appear to be playing lotto with this Kingston location, betting that the tsunami is less than x feet.

@Crusoe – About your other flood zone comments in 1972 there was a 6 foot long, 1 ft wide crack in the limestone at the corner of Pioneer Road and Spooners Hill which, when it rained, would take all the water coming down green hill through a “suck” at that corner. At nights that hole used to howl.

The Ministry of Public Works, (previously MPT, or MTW or MPTW or whatever was/is the current middle initial of the name of the incumbent Minister – they seemed to change its name based on that detail. Oh yeah, they also used to repaint the vehicles to match their wives’, or outside woman’s favorite color) anyways, the ministry came and block up this “suck” and from the next year all of Zephrins and Tudor Bridge flood out.

If you check it all over barbados the natural drains and sucks that used to ten all dis rainwater furder inland, get block up. It is an MTP policy of de “suckers” blocking up de “suck”

@David what a difference a letter makes, you know if i had been grammatically correct and used an “f” instead of an “s” i would have been banned from this site (I still may be, if certain people get their way.)

I hope you don’t sell off this blog when them offers start coming in causing it is imminent, the strategy being for the BLP or DLP (de DLP en got nuh money nor nuh strategists, so i fine be de BLP) buy out the BU blog, get the names and IP addresses of the detractors, and sue some uh we, and incarcerate the rest of we “anti government” in power bloggers who pretend to be critical thinkers.

Vaseline gine sell like peas in Dodds. dildoes and broomsticks for the females. “Oh how distasteful that PieceuhdeRock is” said in a stodgy colonial accent.

By de way David, i noticing a lot of racist overtones on this blog man, you can’t comment bout nuffing before look sharp it got racist comments arising. PSV drivers breaking rules and yes so it is de injuns who own den dat is running de country, a white man come hey en shoot heself at dat pistol place en um is dat de white people down need to show nuh licenses like de black people causing we in grunt and gine bring 3 guns and 24 bullets through de US Postal service to Britons hill PO, you know tings like dat.

Trottie and dat udder fellow wid your first name and the last name like Commission or something, gine hafta stop this inciting the masses to kill de local white community, or to be politically correct, according to Lowdown, de buckra johnies,

@Where there is no..Perish i like that Donville c**tsultants remark but it is obvious that they are Lotto gamblers, 95% probability of 10 ft wave therefore Kingsland”, not paros using blackies.

Speaking about tsunamis, do you think it may be possible that the Attorney General could, for once, do something constructive and bring a case against all of the murderers at the various ministries that are involved in killing of innocent people?

Let me speak to the crime, in question. Did you notice that, from the roundabout at the base of university hill right to holders hill that this entire stretch of coastline is a “tsunami kill zone”?

Apparently every one of four successive governments and their respective ministries/agencies has/ve refused to acquire the necessary land to build strategic “egress roads” along this section of road, so that in the event of a Tsunami (warning), people might be able to drive out of this kill zone.

I really wonder what Judy Thomas, the man at Coastal Zone Unit with the purported fiduciary infelicity case (it was alleged that he mek up a company and den award contracts to heself) and the Minister of Oblongabouts, (we know he as Minister Whisper) has bin tinking bout all dis time.

Imagine dat 30 years gone by and nuffin has been done for these victims in the making, de land that was available to mek de roads pun get sell out, and people attending conference 4 to 5 times a year talking bout Disaster Preparedness

This does not have anything to do did DLP or BLP just incompetence in Hig Places

4. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

Bajans were taken in by a clever public relations package – David Thompson – the young hero with this fabulous legacy of Clico, cost of living, ; Michael Lashley who will house every last Barbadian and ‘build more houses than the BLP’ but gave us Coverley fiasco, housing every last Phillipian and 500 Tomas victims that he cannot get a roof or house over their heads after 2 years. Current PR package is Donville Inniss, with the razzle dazzle of comments everyday but in my opinion failing to deliver on sound policy and planning.
    WE GOT – DRUG REFORM PROGRAMME – no preparation to implement properly – pharmacists, seating and drug supplies; less efficacious drugs in some cases; hardship for seniors . Still happening. A more efficacious approach which was fair to all, provides effective drugs, caring and cost efficient service can be found.
    HOSPITAL – most urgent need – more efficient A & E; better nurse/patient ratio to improve care; basic supplies and equipment; elevators and operating theatres need fixing; new hospital and a health economic plan. Still not fixed. We got – electrical upgrade (cost overrun), canteen (no 24 hr service and no vending machines), portico, and a lotta longgg talk. In my opinion we still have long waits at A & E; I have heard we have 1 nurse to 30 patients at night in some cases. ST JOHN POLYCLINIC – to serve 8000 people when 23000 alone live in St. James and has no polyclinic. Was this the best us eof health rsource to benefit all citizens at a time of shortage of resources. AMERICAN MEDICAL UNIVERSITY – it will and does compete with our UWI medical faculty that is seeking to establish itself in the same int’l market. What the hell was that decision?
    PR GRABS – CLOSE NURSING HOMES – when we have a shortage of care for the elderly. Where was he sending those persons, to the hospital, back to a non-existent homes; build new ones before he closes the substandard ones ; put the old people on the street. CRAP. DEBUSHING LOTS – which cause security and hygiene issues. He will clean and bill owners in land tax. No problem with that. But one of the main culprits unkempt lots is gov’t. NEW HOSPITAL IN KINGSLAND – St. Michael houses almost half of our population – 110,000 persons. Does Ch. Ch make sense. Pleaseeee.
    It appears to me that this Minister who goes to work everyday, ensures he gets the list of events at which he can announce and pronounce opinions; have his cameraman and media contacted to ensure nightly and daily we are treated to his opinions, views, claims, threats to close& punish etc. Better use of Ministerial time is to give leadership to a comprehensive health management plan. Talk does not improve health care. Grabbing headlines is not good planning. Ministers need to vision and plan well, and ensure proper execution. Healthcare is too important, too serious an issue to be used for showmanship.

5. just asking david because i was really concerned about the allegations. thanks for the clarification. press on, mr minister; at least you appear to be trying.

6. BU has to be fair and state that word on the ground is that this new hospital business is a PR election gimmick. The ball is in the court of the minister now.

7. Sandra Husbands wrote “less efficacious drugs in some cases; hardship for seniors . Still happening. A more efficacious approach”

You are efficacious in attracting my attention but not efficacious in the clarity of your diatribe.

Doan worry doh cause I ent nuh body so it would not be efficacious to reply to my…..shoot.. I gine to wiki an see effin I cuh fine a big word.

8. @De Rock | July 15, 2012 at 12:26 PM |

RFLMAO!!! Very amusing and clear. Much thanks for the laugh and points made re the ‘s’ucks.

9. piece uh de rock yeah right!!! Avatar
    piece uh de rock yeah right!!!

@sandra husbands

One could easily have titled this “To the holy hands crew” given that your face (and that of your hubbie ) is such a regular fixture in the church of plentiful being every sunday

you as a regular worshipper, will have a much better appreciation of this biblical anecdote than the other Philistines that will read this comment. i refer to the story of the woman found in adultery who was taken to Jesus the Christ by the chief priest and Pharisees, to entrap him.

Now as you, and less holy than thou readers, would know that adultery, unlike masturbation, is NOT a single agent sin, there HAS TO BE A SECOND PERSON and as i am reliably informed, the swinging parties that go on at a certain house, which you would not know about, (given your religious calling) involves multiple partners, spouses all, espousing fornication and adultery a la 2012.

Anyways, the story continues and says that when the men who had brought the adulteress to Jesus left He asked her where were her accusers and she responded there were none and then he uttered those famois words, “neither do i accuse thee, “go and sin no more”

Yet here we are, in this year of our Lord, with you, a big-up servant of my God and Saviour, saying “Je t’accuse donville inniss of these political gimmics, i who even while speaking these words, before the cock cries twice, i who have the bane of the albatross of the ancient msriner round my neck in no less a thing as the SBA” yet i sandra have the right to stand up this sunday and accuse thee donville

others are reliably informed that certian less than honourable practices obtain in that SBA! your veritable kingdom, things that put donville’s politricking to shame. …… to silence Deighton Babb is a hard task …

And finally i would wish to say this to you and others who in speaking of the late david thompson! speak of him, not as if we had loss of one of our bajan brothers but decry him as if you REJOICED IN HIS DEATH and were colleagues of that harbinger Death, being proud to claim another one of this Adamic race.

you and others like you are going to get a rude awakening that people, particulsrly old people do not delight in others making jokes at death. it elicits a natural hatred towards the speaker.

keep it up, because you will soon find out that an individual’love for life overides their love of party.

Bajans, even BLP stalwarts, accept David Thompson as a bajan who has fallen while in service to his country. He is dead and the CLICO LINK which you and others level each day will backfire in your faces

Here is psychology 101 for you. Rihanna, irrespective of her like quotient is bajan and all bajans begrudingly give her some due BECAUSE she is bajan. Let something bad happen to her and see how the nation will rally around her.

You do your purported christian brothers and sisters a serious disservice throught this littany directed at your nation’s former leader.

Because it comes from you who purport to follow Him who encourages us to “render unto caesar the things that are caesar’s and unto GOD the things that are GOD’S”, your puerile comments reflect your religious maturity, depth and veracity and show what type of a woman you really are.

What if the future leader of the Barbados Labour Party Mia has fallen early in her politican career around the time of the Syrup scandal would her briliance have been similarly scared by a single misreported action?

i suggest that you grow up and seek to glean how this is fought from those who are more seasoned at this craft

10. old onion bags Avatar

And lil Onions thought he did Dwayne Johnson from WWE……sound more like a personal salvo…..that did lying in wait…..Irene child ya see Onions attacks don’t bear no malice…whalooos ..wha dis fellowwoman meck me and you look like husband and wife….

11. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

@piece of de rock
    Permit me to exhale. What a piece of mumbo jumbo, very difficult to follow! Does this address matters relating to health and the performance of the minister. I am not partiularly interested in your ramblings,

@ all
    A discussion on issues of performance and good government is essential.
    Government requires that we come to bring good planning and good management of resources. It is not gimmicks and show, especially if you really care about.the impact on people’s lives. Right now Barbados has to identify a way in which we will provide affordable health care and education of the best quality to all Barbadians. A new hospital is essential, however how will we secure financing with our credit rating in this state. How will we afford to sustain other social services? At the end of the nuff speaking is healthcare better in Barbados as a result of Inniss’ tenure?

On the horizon looms a deepening health crisis where four years of economic hardship, mismanagement of the economy and mismanagement of health, take their toll on an aging population. For example the decision to remove the more efficacious drugs from the formulary means they are not brought in by suppliers in large quantities. This has had the unplanned for effect that the price of these medicines have jumped significantly, so that even if a person was trying to purchase it the cost is now double what it was before. So it is more dififcult and expensive to provide your own health care, while we save 25m.. So diminished income; removal of free access to residents; hike in drug prices, loss of pensions in Clico debacle and statutory corporation pension issue will affect stress levels, access to nutritious food, access to timely medical care, Barbados will find increased incidence of stroke, heart attacks, diabetes, hypertenison etc in the population thus putting higher and higher pressure on the health system. The elderly unable to care for their needs will end up needing more and more public geriatric care, 30,000 clico policyholders coming this way. CNCDs will intensify and the cost of health care. Where is the plan for this storm or should we nip out of the office and pose for the removal of half of the roof of the Fairchild street market? Are we simply going to cut services as costs and demands increase, thus generating a vicious spiral in the nation? Meanwhile a Minister says he does not mind losing a few votes as long as he can cut 25m from a budget? Where is the wholisitic plan for dealing with this matter.

12. Gaw deng. The verbal equivalent of a Malcolm Marshall over!

13. @Sandra

Agree totally we need to ramp up the debate on affordable healthcare and other key heads under government expense control. Don’t know if you listened to Dr. Frank Alleyne today when he suggested that the deficit is structural and to properly address some serious discussion by independent players need to be brought together. However his concern is that both political parties have not shown they have the balls (no disrespect) to ask serious questions about how we should optimally point our scarce resources. Politicians are in the business of vote garnering and any conversation about scaling back on transfers and subsidies to health, transport etc is bad news.

Another point is the proliferation of statutory boards which is a BLP thing. How do we rationalise and make more efficient. We need to see earth making decisions! The time for fluff is gone, the world has become a tougher place for small island economies reliant on services to exist.

14. previous commetn @piece a de rock.

Now, @ Sandra Husbands,

Just as I have said I am pleased to see him approach the blogs, so I say the same to you.

Certainly, there will be some partisan attacks, the opportunity for such taken by a few. And as the Minister says, there will be those who lauch salvos at reps of both parties.

Nevertheless, the are most of us who have a general care for Barbados and comment out of that, not out of malice.

Thank you for taking the time.

Now, in my limited knowledge as a humble citizen, your comments above surely have some merit on the issue of the drug formulary, based on anecdotal information from friends etc.

One of my biggest issue with government in Barbados, is that matters of significance are hidden behind an apparent ‘cloak of sanctity’, which should not exist.

As far as I know, Parliamentary privilege resides in that August body, betwixt and between the four (or whatever architectural designation there lies) walls.

So, why should significant information, whether on project costs, drug formulary etc, be so hard for a common citizen like myself to find.

Should we not be able to walk into GIS and simply ask to the the computerised records, even if for a small fee?

Or shoudl this informaiton be on a website, that I can reach readily?

One of the foundations of good governance that you refer to, is the access to national information on a ready basis and full communciation and transparency of significant transactions, indeed all transactions.

Otherwise known as freedom of information and usaully embodied in legislation.

Do you agree that this is essential?

Thank you.

15. @ David
    Again the answer lies with us not the politicians. If civil servants were more about country and less about self/political party there would be no need for so many statutory boards. Not even the ‘politics of inclusion’ could change that mindset.

16. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

let me ask a dumb question. if we believe that what Mia outline in the budget is nothing but election give-aways, why makes the monthings of Donville Inniss anything else but more election give-aways?

this is a joke not worth discussing. end of story.

17. Affordable Health care starts with nutrition. Can Bajans be persuaded to eat healthy food and exercise?

Proper pork,chicken wings and barbecued pigtails combined with the over salted fast food will keep wunna at de docta.

18. Observing (and medicating) Avatar
    Observing (and medicating)

Gee David, didn’t realise that Donville came on BU to comment! I definitely have to go find my ID. “That time” has got to be right around the corner!

Kudos Sandra. At least you’re showing more fortitude than others in public life. So far I count 3 out of 60 that have dared ventured into these information rich waters. All the best.

Re. the “new hospital”. We should see it for what it is. Something to talk about, take away attention from the “economic” and “education” farces, and allow the DLP campaign to say “this is what we planned.”

If we take that against the backdrop of manifesto promises fulfilled, then, it’s pretty easy to see we’re going no where anytime soon.

I note too the Barack “leak”?? I mean seriously. It’s election season… I would have hoped that the DLP message-crafters were a little better than this. It’s too transparent and achieves no PR mileage, damage control nor public good will. Kite flying only works during Easter and high wind. The DLP government is staring a serious winter straight in the face with the potential for avalanches and blizzards. .

Back to square one.

Just observing.

19. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

Freedom of information is absolutely essential. Hand in hand with this must also be the continuous building of awareness of the average Barbadian to listen, seek, discuss and speak out. otherwise we will have a few who read and depending on their political orientation package the information to ensnare the minds of another generation of citizens. Good governance requires alert, aware and proactive citizens.

David on the issue of rationalising resources, it is a three-cornered stool. Civil service reform is one of the issues, trade union activism is another, and political will to be efficient. Political inefficiency can be caused by cronyism, political expediency to swell the civil service for electoral gain; or shortcut to achieve objectives to evade trade union resistance and a slow and ineffcient civil service which does not want to reform. The civil service is challenged in responding to the need to improve its efficiency, yet it is key to the survival of the nation. I do not know to what extent this is understood by the average civil servant. There are many in the service who want change but either it has not reached critical mass, or it is not strategicaly positioned to influence the change. Attempts to move forward reform have been stillborn because it has been buffeted and limited by the varying forces which push us back to the status quo. Had we been able to overcome these forces, or had these forces seen the common interest and long term benefit for all we might have had greater efficiency today in health, transport, immigration, port, education etc with the country enjoying more civil service benefits at lower costs, lower taxes, better working conditions for civil servants. Generally we would have a better atmosphere for working and doing business in Barbados, hence a more satisfying life for all.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | July 15, 2012 at 5:10 PM |

What a spoil sport, you are! Imagine slowing down business for the undertakers and putting tremendous burdens on the already overstretched old people homes and dilapidated geriatric hospital.
    You really know how many doctors there are in Bim and how many Hillary Beckles got on the production line ready to off load on the quack market? How would these people earn a living without a market of obese hypertensive suckers to feed off?

21. Patrick Husbands just rode the winner in the Prince of wales stakes at Fort Erie. Sweeeeeeet!!!!

22. @Hants

Congrats to him, that little Mexican boy has been stealing the show of late.

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ observing
    Kudos Sandra. At least you’re showing more fortitude than others in public life. So far I count 3 out of 60 that have dared ventured into these information rich waters. All the best.
    Others will soon fly in ……as elections near and blackbirds want to retain their nest.
    Yeah Sandra well done…..doan mind that personal salvo that mis-fire and only leave black gun powder smoke in that coward face. We duz try to keep it clean in here…..so “it” could re-package D nonsense and keep home for it friends.

Gutter rats EZ to find….now that they demolishing d market.

24. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

The global changes will no longer afford a Barbados this level of inefficiency in private or public, and if we are to safeguard our way of life a serious discussion on how will we carve a future for all Barbadians must be had. The role of healthcare is too vital to be kept at level of records management, shuttig nursing homes and burning stuff, but rather we must recognise health as one of our economic imperatives for building the future. If we have continuous breakdown of labour force, output from ill health, then economic growth is compromised. If families are burdened by illness of its income-earners or dependents this reduces the quality of life for all, as resources and energies are redirected to push back or cope with the effects of ill health. Therefore a discussion on managing healthcare costs cannot be about simply shifting it away from government as a solution. But rather a full-throated discussion is required as to how we will handle our health requirements for a nation with our demographic profile; how will the vulnerable be able to access basic services, what strategies need to be employed to keep costs and services in the reach of all citizens without drowning the taxpayers with taxes or leaving the individual to his/her own defenses in handling health. How will we address economic growth and distribution in such a way that the means to manage one’s health care is feasible, rather than simply a case of ‘gov’t cannot carry it any longer so cut services’. It has to be a rational well-planned approach with creative strategic partnerships to evolve solutions, another Barbados brand.

25. @ millertheanunnaki , “wrote What a spoil sport, you are!”

At least you clearly understand the problem and the solution.

The cost of Health will continue to escalate because Barbados has to import every piece of equipment and all the drugs.

The best management practices and policies can’t stop the costs from increasing.

The solution is obvious.

26. piece uh de rock yeah right!!!

Wait … Where these parties at …? Please friend I would very much like to know … so that I can pray for these people and direct God’s attention to the exact location … fah true … 🙂

Sandra.

Min’ you …? You is a woman. Politics in Ba’bados is a man’ game. You know this. All this fancy criticism is merely to prove that you are thinking about things but when all of the water boils out of the pot, a vote for you is a vote fah Owen Seymore Arthur who will make you Sandra believe that you have his ear, and when you by some miracle get the opportunity to effect any of which you speak, will pull the rug from beneath you … PUBLICLY. Makes you a sucker for punishment, and I do not support masochists. Sorry!

27. @Sandra

Who will lead the earth moving change which is required? How can the politician like the modern CEO lead medium and long term change given the need to win elections? We remember public sector reform and we remember the pain (ongoing) to install a Board at the QEH.

Who will lead the reform? Successive governments since Barrow have not shown the appetite to lead serious change. Perhaps Tom Adams deserves a mention.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ SANDRA HUSBANDS | July 15, 2012 at 5:47 PM |

Thanks very much for joining the BU school of hard knocks. We all can only benefit from this interchange of ideas and views. But I must repost with following

This (your take on the state of the public health sector) is just a lot of political salesmanship. Lots of highfaluting words wrapped up in glossy sweetie paper to sell to politically naive children.

What we want to hear from you is solid proposals that go against the current grain of trying to not to offend the “masses” as we are doing all around especially as funding tertiary education is concerned.
    Why not focus on the ‘preventative’ side of the health equation?

The Miller has a few creative proposals that certainly are not the normal run-of-the-mill.
    But I would leave the job of coming up with ideas and policy changes up to you before commenting but the miller would leave a little corn from the mill for you to chew on:
    Why not impose a “Fat Tax” on every fast food (short cut to the grave) outlet with sales revenues in excess of $500,000.00 per annum. The imposition and collection can be part of the VAT regime with no significant additional administrative resources or effort required. The tax should be ring fenced and used to help finance the management of NCD’s and educational programmes geared at the young about the benefits of eating healthy and the use of locally grown natural raw or ‘live’ foods in our diet.
    Don’t tell me about the tax being a burden on the poor since it would be passed on in the prices of the fast food fares. It would limit consumption and by acting as a deterrent encourage people to change their dietary habits. Aren’t similar arguments used to tax alcohol and tobacco as strategies to deter consumption and to marginalize their appeal to the young and impressionable?

29. Barbadians do not be fooled. This is just an election gimmick. This is just another DLP trick pulled out of the DLP’s bags of tricks. Elections are near, he was among the DLP faithful and so it made good politics to make an announcement. The DLP lies.

Last October, when he first made the announcement, a senior official in his ministry said he did not know how the minister could have made that announcement, he said that there were no meetings, no drawings, no quantity surveyors, no engineers, nothing was on board. Who would you believe, an official or a DLP minister?

30. @Sandra husbands

are you for real? Just convince me that i should vote for you by letting me know how you will transform thepublic health care sector.

31. @ millertheanunnaki,

How about starting with the children. School meals should be healthy.

Nutrition should be taught from 1st to 5th form at all schools.

Barbados could become a world leader by combining Agricultural production with health and nutrition education.

32. David wrote “Who will lead the earth moving change which is required?”

Lacka Forex will be the earth moving change.

Bajans still hoping for a return to pre 2008.

33. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodi
    Barbadians do not be fooled. This is just an election gimmick. This is just another DLP trick pulled out of the DLP’s bags of tricks. Elections are near
    We dun know…what I did tell ya D money run out….look TO SEPTEMBER….
    DEM (Inniss) can’t get the Sin John Polyclinic keys till January….so he come with this Trojan Horse bout a Hospital for Kingland……LOL….JOKERS TEKK OVA…fa real…lol

ALL ya hear D panic in Dr. Frank Alleyne voice today on Brass Tacks…?
    Man is DESPERADOS…..RICE bound fa a RIDE…..whaloss

34. @Miller the flute

you know that i have limited ability and cant spell, so why you bother with me, i have aslways been duncy at shoool and would just consume a lot of ignorance for breakfast and stupidity for lunch with some retardation for dinner. Johnny is too good a word for you

I mean what i say, and say what i mean. There is a beginning and an end.

35. @To the point

Stay focused on the issues!

36. And the biggest blunder of all, Bajans still haven’t taken to the streets to rally against this financial atrocity….

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants | July 15, 2012 at 7:00 PM |
    “Lacka Forex will be the earth moving change.”

So you know how to shoot? Because you have your finger on the trigger.
    The coming shortage of forex would be the catalyst for change, introspection and the design of strategies for survival. Not the political hot air coming from the political circus and regurgitated here on this blog.

The mantra for change is: FOREX! FOREX! FOREX! Or Sink!
    As part of the Diaspora we would expect you to play a greater part in the coming SOS rescue mission

38. Observing (and medicating) Avatar
    Observing (and medicating)

“Successive governments since Barrow have not shown the appetite to lead serious change.”

Bingo. Our change has always been responsive rather than proactive, aggressive and full of initiative. Globalisation and the “new financial norm” means we can’t sit on our arses waiting for things to get better.

(All) Our leaders have to step up and create better. Holding patterns only work as long as there is gas in the tank.

Observing

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To the point | July 15, 2012 at 7:05 PM |

I give you 99.9 % for your honesty. Couldn’t ask anyone for a more accurate and informed assessment of one’s own character and competence. Well done! You would have scored a perfect100% if you had looked into the mirror and added the word ‘cloth’ behind the name you believe is too good for me.
    Adieu et écoutez ȧ David BU!

40. “Responsive rather than proactive” … reminds me of the Great Fire of Glendairy Prison …!

41. @BAFBFP

The other fire waiting to happen is education.

42. The Down To Brass Tacks today should convince everyone that the DLP just cant get the country run-no time at all

Every time the DLP in power this shite happens with the economy, things does be so hard —cheese on Bread !
    Talk anout gloom. lack of hope, inertia
    The same thing happen last time they were in power
    The BLP HAD TO RESCUE THE COUNTRY and ignorant Bajans took things for granted and voted out the BLP FOR NO GOOD REASON, NOW THE SAME IGNORANT BAJANS SUFFERING -something that could have been avoided. BAJANS REALLY LIKE PUNISHMENT, They miss slavery and old headmasters

The DLP IS A BLIGHTED PARTY and should really disband. They had Clyde Mascoll and they ran him from the DLP only for a certain Mr. Man to achieve a boyhood dream of becoming Prime Minister, something the Mr. Man wanted so badly no one could stand in his way. The sooner the Party demits office, the better. What the ass they waiting for. This is not a game. Wunna fogging up the country

Freundel Sruart really playing the ass. Stuart needs to hurry up and call elections for the good of the country and stop the foolishness now ~

He seems afraid of the inevitable RESULTS:

BLP =29 SEATS
    DLP=0 SEAT
    INDEPENDENT= 1 SEAT

43. The whole hospital thing is just LAME…..Stupesss

@ Sandra
    Sorry. Bushie is a pessimist…..
    Unimpressed by big words and pretty speeches…(and all politicians)
    What have you ever done to suggest that you will be able to go where few previous Bajan politicians have trod…. And lead meaningful change…?

…for example, we’re you not around small business for quite a while…?

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | July 15, 2012 at 7:38 PM |
    “The other fire waiting to happen is education.”

Not according to our PM. Free education up to university level is the “Sacred Cow” of the DLP administration- ‘Untouchable and unassailable’.
    That was the implied assurance given as recent as late last year at the opening of the new Carlton Supermarket complex on Black Rock.

We shall see! One must always take with a pinch of salt words of such watertight assurances coming from any politician whether inside or outside Parliament.

45. @MILLER THE FLUTE.

ONLY GENIUS SCORES SO HEAVILY, SO I AM GLAD YOU RECOGNIZE ME AS ONE, THANKS FOR YOUR CONFIDENCE IN ME, I KNOW I WAS GOOD BUT U PUT ME IN THE EXCELLENT CATEGORY.

46. @millertheanunnaki

It would appear as if you alone were man enough rebuff the gibber of Sandra Husbands and neither did you genuflect nor do the “basia annulum” that priest do, kiss the ring of the pope when she uttered her mumbo jumbo earlier.

Being one accused of mumbo jumbo when i spoke of Deighton’s woes earlier, i should be an expert in identifying her proctological content.

I will not go as far as BAFBFP and make a seeming male chauvinist pig statement but i will examine her “three cornered stool” (is that something like a menage a trios?) gibber as dispassionately as possible.

These are the words of the said political giant “Attempts to move forward reform have been stillborn because it has been buffeted and limited by the varying forces which push us back to the status quo..”

What she was trying to say, but did not have the intestinal fortitude (almost said intellect) to say, is that the tail, “the army of occupation”, led by certain faceless elements, of which i admittedly am one, is wagging the dog.

In her mumbo jumbo like fashion, and in her inimical style of being politically correct i.e. not offend anyone or accurately translated – loose sheself and OSA votes, she put in some big words BAFBFP, which wunna Cawmerains nor Harisonians kan unnerstan causing de drain from which wunna ascended, de one running thru the current HC property and which was nex to de ole cawmere has so affected wunna brains dat you kan unnerstan dis high science.

St Johnians, the short for which is not johnies, would be able to cognize dis.

What she means to talk bout in she high faulting words is “dem enemies uh progress” i spoke bout earlier in my mumbo jumbo.

She en really got no plan, neva had one nevah will get one. Really some uh we is as bright as the northbound end of a south bound cow,

She and de rest uh wunna fraid to say dat we should start changing dis “status quo” by senning home thirty or forty of we “de army of occupation” dat blocking de progress of 250 thousand Bajans (and anuder 60 thousand illegal guyanese dat Frundy letting stan hey for 6 munts)

If dey was a man/woman like Barrow, one did balls, (not the woman, de man, doan let we go dere) we should be paying dem out, giving dem early retirement, or letting Adriel Brafwait (almost said dimwit) keep dem in litigation in court for de nex 6 munts dat he gine be AG. Den we cud let he BLP successor harass dem for de years de BLP fine be in power,

Dere is precedence de same ting, stretching out legal matters, boaf de BLP and DLP done it wid Barrack dese many years, it does work.

But seriously, it makes more sense to sen home a few of we indolent civil servants (and let Trottie piss parade, threaten to strike, he does only do dat when Frundy in power, he like he fraud OSA, and get an occasion to enunciate he words like he got striction) dan to let we keep de whole uh Barbados in this hijack mode while the tail wagging de dog…

47. old onion bags Avatar

Hey you pieca D rock
    Man you duz write BARE SHOITE…….It really duz stench…….way you did hiding in wait to jump in hay wid your billingsgate…..camouflage as pilgrims progress……If you think we doan know you is some DLP politician fool ya self only….but ya know what for a woman she got more stones than you cuz ..you could only be outspoken behind cloak…but is Ok…we got an idea who D clown is…D nutting man…..nuttin up top ..nutting below…highjack mode what….if ya is half D man ya would expose ya head….then ALLL we would see ya ent MUCH.

48. old onion bags Avatar

Addenda
    Is because the bell pun ring mode…..and D emotions high….but I go left you wid pieca Ishaka……BARE JOKERS TEKK OVA…….soon we D people sending waana PACKING…and that ent NO JOKE….wagg ya dog wid dat !

49. SANDRA HUSBANDS Avatar
    SANDRA HUSBANDS

@ David Change is not easy, but when a moment in time has come, change does occur. It is never lead by one person, one person may be a public voice but it is the combined efforts at the critical nodes which drive change. The question is whether there is enough pain to make the status quo untenable; are there enough visionaries articulating the future in the distance; has a critical mass formed to do the incremental work towards the change and is a pathway of policies available to faciltate and accelerate the change, when the clamour rises. This was how we reduced smoking in Barbados, how exercise and gyms became a part of the everyday landscape. it is how more people are pursuing diets, no bread, healthy foods, vegetarianism, alternative medicine and natural foods etc. it is already on the move. It is how Bajans love calypso and cropover today when it was frowned upon so many years ago. it is how culture and sport is now part of our economic mix. WE HAVE the pain in and from the inefficiencies in private and public sectors but it must be articulated within the context of our behaviours so the need for personal change is evident and inescapable. This is how reform in public and private sector will come.

Specifically about health it requires a long term focus of what we want to do, which informs short to medium term strategies. Yes prices will continue to rise as with everything, not just health care, so how will bajans live. it cannot be by families cutting out housing or clothing or….it is rather by addressing financial growth so that resources are available to provide what is needed. What is the best way to growth and what services do we wish to provide via the state or via self that will safeguard health for all. There are some creative public private sector partnerships that would ensure growth and resources to provide health care for citizens; there are phased approaches to distribution of health services which can be used; Prevention and positive reinforcement might be more effective to promote health. I would provide incentives for companies to provide mandatory wellness programmes; incentives for health results via insurance policies; regulation and fines on foods which do not meet minimal health standards; provide retraining for food providers from restaurants to streetvendors; tax relief on healthy food and inputs. Four biggies which I would not reveal at this time. This can be done it requires thought, strategy and planning and not a litany of kneejerk policy announcements – close nursing homes, fine fire bugs, outsource services, cow itch patrols, tear down the market etc.

Leave a Reply to CrusoeCancel reply