Andrew Pilgrim, President of the Barbados Bar Association

… we decided to approach Andrew Pilgrim, well known dramatist and President of the Bar Association for his view…

Bajan Reporter

The above was extracted from an article posted by Ian Bourne on his websitePresident of the Barbados Bar Association sees special Unit for Raul Garcia as Tax Inefficient – Let the former Convict live and work here!. What snagged the attention of BU was not the substantive issue highlighted by the article but the way Andrew Pilgrim was introduced. Whether Bourne realized, it he reminded BU of a growing concern we have about Andrew Pilgrim and his role as President of the Bar Association. To add to the rub BU got sight of a document which features Pilgrim in an upcoming TV-series. 

BU is fully supportive of the Arts and our concern should not be seen as being against The Soap Opera Project. We wish the Caribbean Film Festival all the success. BU has been  an advocate for this government to get more aggressive in its effort to support the cultural and creative sector. BU continues to monitor the passage of the Cultural Industries Bill and will not attempt to muddy the waters at this stage although we remain agitated at the agendas being played out.

We have to wonder to what degree Pilgrim’s extracurricular activities have compromised his role as President of the Bar Association. It is no secret BU had high hopes for Pilgrim to do what his successors were not able to accomplish; put a new face on ‘lawyering’ in Barbados. The appointment of Pilgrim and CJ Gibson both perceived as different thinkers appeared to be an opportunity to be seized.

We have to be fair and admit that the performance of Pilgrim continues to be a disappointment. We appeal to Pilgrim to suffer some introspection and do the right thing. His immediate resignation should feature prominently in his deliberation.

1. “agree … parachute him back to Florida NOT Cuba. Cuba really has nothing to do with this, and it is the US that bred the f#cker in the first place ”
    are you for real mr babf? are you telling me that a man should have more rights in an adopted country than the country in which he was born? Why do you not advocate that the govt of barbados refuse to accept persons deported from the usa back to barbados after committing a crime? would you like to be denied entry into the land of your birth because of some inhumane law promulgated by the govt of your country?

2. “Government needs to demand that a country of origin take him”
    mr stuart is credited with talking tough to trinidad and making them issue redjet the licence to fly awayand to get the pine hill milk back to t&t; perhaps he can talk tough to the castros to remove that inhumane draconian law that prevents citizens fron returning to the land where their navel string is buried.

3. “Why do you not advocate that the govt of barbados refuse to accept persons deported from the usa back to barbados after committing a crime”

Oh but I do. And from you an admission that it is this stance by the US in opposition to the very policy that they have set for others is the other reason why they should be the recipient of this convict. In any event he is a US citizen. Leave Cuba out of this … … please!

4. This would not have been a problem in the first place if the bogus courts bout here had sentenced him to life in prison as he deserved.
    …the gall !!! ….to leave where-ever-it-is he come from, and bring drugs here to destroy Bushie’s children’ lives… to make money for himself and his drug lords.

….far as Bushie is concerned, he should be kept under John Nurse’s care until RR, and who ever else wants him free, can arrange and pay for a country to take him…. Perhaps they can try Columbia….they may be interested in his skills….

….. “aginst international conventions my foot!”!!!

5. @ Bush Tea

I guess the ‘enlightenment’ couldn’t last. Thank God you will NEVER have political responsibility for anything.

6. @ BAF

On Garcia

None of us know what is going on, or has gone on, behind the scene. In a sense, my view is as yours. The country with which Garcia is most closely connected is the US – but by reason of long residence prior to 1994 BUT NOT citizenship[. That’s the problem. But I would have thought that the US is big enough and bold enough to take the chance – not that there is any ‘chance’. The man, from all reports, is reformed – which is why the rant I”ve just read from Bush Tea is so antedeluvian. The fellow that was apprehended with Garcia was deported to Columbia some years ago. He did not have the same problem of ‘statelessness’ as Garcia. I rang the US Embassy and told them what I thought – but people don’t always listen to me – lol.

On AP

And I “like” the CJ too. He IS very likeable and certainly considerate, by all accounts, on the Bench. BUT I think I do have an “old boy” (Miller’s term to me) sense of ‘fair play’ – and so feel that what this post is doing to AP ( whom I know but for whom I have no particular brief) is a replay of Kafka’s ‘Trial’ and so journalism of the worst kind.

The Bar Association (through AP) came up with a double figures list of reforms which was given to the CJ before Christmas after the latter, in oral conversation, had invited the BA to put forward its views. If you remember, AP got fed up, after waiting for months for an acknowledgement, and told the CJ off (in effect). That produced the famous ‘leaked’ email from the CJ to AP which was the subject of a post on here and which was used to attack the lawyers because in effect the CJ said ‘I will not be rushed by you or anyone. Get your own house in order.’ Everyone loved that of course – as they were meant to do. As a publicity exercise in deflection it was first rate. The BA promised further proposals, following the first list, but since, by all accounts nothing has really happened to the first, I’m not aware that it has. So if this post were headed ‘AP’s Frustration’ it would have more meaning I think. David has persisted in ignoring my request for information about the fate of the list, which I suppose corroborates my view of the meaning and intention of this post.

7. @ BAF

Sorry – yes. Write it.

8. The gist of the arguments on this Garcia situation is that Barbados and the Barbados government are somehow inhumane. That is nonsense.
    This man is in a quandary of his own design.
    How does it now become OUR problem to solve because he decided half a century aro that this was a soft easy target for his wickedness?
    Government can only follow the law….just like the US, Cuba and Columbia are claiming to do.

The solution is for persons like RR and Garcia’s family and friends who sympathize with his situation, to take meaningful steps to assist him.
    …like offer to post a bond of $1 million to facilitate his release on bail and undertake to guarantee his conformance with the law while free.

There are always persons like RR who would want us to ignore the REALITY that karma is unforgiving and unrelenting. But persons who choose a particular path to life MUST EXPECT a particular kind of ending…..and that goes for ALL of us.

If the government of Barbados has excess funds to expend on issues like this, why are we not looking for those existing cases where innocent citizens are in Dodds due to circumstances totally beyond their control – and often associated with the greed and incompetence of lawyers and other officials?
    …..because it suits some particular ego…?

9. @ Bush Tea

‘Karma is unforgiving’ – dunno bout that but it could explain why you will NEVER enjoy political office thank God.

I mean cum on…you’re supposed to be a seer but what have you given us?

1. There is no redemption and no forgiveness.

2. There are ‘innocent’ men everywhere.

3. Garcia is a corrupter of youth

4. Lawyers are greedy and corrupt.

5. RR should put up a one million dollar bond.

6. Government must follow the law.

7. It is not our problem.

Makes a marvellous manifesto for innovation and change doesn’t it – ‘for sure’ intellect combined with elementary compassion and vision – all the qualities of the true sage?

BUT it may be that somewhere in the make-up there is the phantom of drug abuse – in which case I’m very sorry; OR it may simply be that drugs for you, like homosexuality for others, is an abomination. If the former, it’s down to you. If the latter, then it’s Pharisaism.

I once met a wonderful Jamaican doctor. In his scheme of things homosexuals were lesser animals than rapists and should be wiped off the planet. Maybe that line of thinking with drugs is your particular madness too – but if it is there will be many more long-term prisoners at Dodds and the greedy and corrupt lawyers will have a field day.

10. RU4 REAL? ….is that what RR means?
    …that is the most disjointed set of gibberish that you have managed to produce to date….. and that is no mean task.

Where did you EVER hear of a bushman seeking, wanting, thinking about, or in any way interested in any type of political office…?

It is natural but quite childish to be judging other by your own standards and desires ….

While you may have no problem with drug dealers for your own personal reasons, most others (and the laws of all countries) tend to see the situation differently.

Bushie’s point may have been a bit above your comprehensive skills, but the point was not that it was not a problem for Barbados, but that the solution, as dictated by our law is what seems to be YOUR problem. You apparently would want us to REWARD this man with expensive gifts and national recognition.

HE IS FREE TO GO….. And you, along with his friends and family are welcomed to arrange it on his behalf.
    What is it you want? Bushie to arrange it for you?
    …or do you want Stuart to drop AX, CSME, the Eager 11, elections, the economic crisis, O$A, Barrack, CLICO, the Court mess and whatever- else to facilitate your mission in life – which seems to be to ensure that this man enjoys a better quality of life than thousands of poor Bajans who only worked hard and did their best for this country.

If Bushie was indeed interested in political office, he would make Garcia an offer in exchange for publicly naming those with whom he conspired to corrupt this country in the first place….
    ….wonder what kind of names would turn up…..?

11. @Bush Tea

Some lawyers are known to attract clients who find themselves involved in drug crimes.Of course all are entitled to representation.

12. They are entitled indeed David, but that does not entitle them and their minions to bullshit the rest of us citizens into feeling guilty because they ow find themselves reaping the fruits that they have sown.

Bushie is always amazed and unimpressed when clear deviants from societal norms feel that they can apply reverse psychology to make the rest of us feel guilty about having made the right choices….

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | July 7, 2012 at 5:20 PM |
    “Bushie is always amazed and unimpressed when clear deviants from societal norms feel that they can apply reverse psychology to make the rest of us feel guilty about having made the right choices….”

Explain to a naive potentially social deviant what are these social norms.
    Are you referring to some set of social ‘rules’ prevailing in Barbados?

Give us some examples so we might be able to judge if our behaviour meet those “socially accepted” criteria.

Can we include in your list of ‘non-deviant’ societal norms such common Bajan activities like:
    Having loads of children outside of wedlock, with a high incidence of teenage pregnancies, abortion STD and AIDS.
    Drinking rum and getting on bad with possible domestic violence for a night cap;
    Urinating in the alleys in Bridgetown and along the roads in a manner to ensure one’s manhood is on full public display;
    Walking in the road instead of on the sidewalks or pavements provided;
    Throwing garbage from car windows and taking rubbish from your property and dumping it on others; What about clearing debris and garbage from the road verges and piling it up for weeks on the pavements or the gutters?
    Using a plethora of swear words instead of communicating in simple Bajan parlance;
    Going to church every Sunday but refuses to offer your fellow parishioners a lift in your fancy SUVto the same church but got the gall to discuss with your church associate in hypocrisy the poverty of those churchgoers who tend to wear the same garments on more than one occasion.

Come, Bushie, tell us what are these societal norms we must live by other than those enshrined in that Golden Rule: “Do unto Others as You would have Them do unto You!”

14. @ BUSHIE

YOU were doing fine until you delve into the psyche of the humane mind and pullout your broad brush .
    how about the married man who have a couple mistresses and outside kids ;Deviant ! or not!
    How about the man who kicks his wife and hugs the dog! Deviant ! or Not!
    how abut rev, morris! Deviant or not!
    how about unwed mothers! Deviant or not
    how about fathers who don’t support their children 1 DEVIANT or Not!

15. ac
    Why you trying to make a bushman sin his soul tonight nuh? 🙂
    …did you or miller hear anyone complain about being a deviant? Can you imagine a bigger deviant than a bushman?
    (BTW …what is wrong with kicking the wife and hugging the dog…?)

The issue is about being deviant AND expecting the other side to kowtow to your whims and fancies.

if certain deviants want to play house with persons of the same sex why do they NEED OUR APPROVAL?
    If some want to play house with sheep, THAT IS BAFBFP’s business 🙂

If RR wants to have a retirement package for ex drug mules why must he seek to impose his fetish on the rest of us “lock them up” freaks?

@ miller
    these days are funny nights with that golden rule yuh!!
    Can you imagine a fellow could look at the bushman and want to do unto Bushie as he would want the Bushman to DO UNTO him…? 🙁

…..that could lead to a fellow getting hurt REAL bad yuh hear!!?

16. Great information, useful as well as superb style,
    as share nutrients along together using good
    ideas and concepts, a whole lot information and
    inspiration, both of which I want, thanks to offer
    this type of tips right the following.

Leave a Reply to millertheanunnakiCancel reply