Submitted by Looking Glass
Not in Barbados!

First congratulations to the newly appointed Governor General and Madame Loretta: another tribute to location.

Yes there is and will always be racism even among Whites. For some Whites it is a reaction to their lower class status especially after being given a title by a Black government. Blacks too are in practical terms most guilty of racism. For us it is a convenient excuse that enables us to blame others for our shortcomings. Some Whites who did not marry Blacks passed on financial and other inheritance to their black mistresses and their offspring. It led to the Black Class System (Re Comments To Rescue and Rebuild) within which those with brown-skin were considered not to be “One uh We”, treated like Whites and discriminated against. But no one talks about black racism which in many ways was more vicious than white racism.

Some left high school with a birth certificate, worked for a mixed-race owned company and never reached management level. Now one low class White soul pontificates about white racism. Does marriage to a high-brown render one anti racist? His observations suggest he knows nothing about our history, less about socio-political and economic dynamics and is very untruthful.

In Barbados Sold we are told that Blacks tolerated a relationship with the dominant white minority group who enjoy a disproportionate economic influence “which extends to the political sphere,” that Whites decided not to “fully integrate their businesses” and the unwillingness of governments to “react to the aggressive acquisition of Barbados assets.” Exactly what does he mean?

The Whites, some of whom were slaves built, developed, governed the country (Little England 12) and provided the social services we today enjoy until we voted them out of politics. Their businesses, some owned by the racially mixed, were by far the largest employer of blacks. Their offspring developed and expanded the businesses they inherited. Black businesses on the other hand died with their founders. Most of their offspring opted for education and or the white-collar job. In the last 100 or so years the indigenous Whites, including those of mixed origin, were not more than 25% of the total population. Less than 5% have a university degree. They not Blacks or government are the economy.

The suggestion/implication that local firms rejected financial bids from Blacks is an insult to Niggers. Among other things it implies that it would reduce inequality and poverty. Are there 30 Blacks who together could afford to purchase any of the firms sold to Trinidad? The businesses were sold because they were not doing well and there wasn’t much by way offspring to carry on the business. Given the absence of skills and expertise needed to maintain and develop business integration by elevating Blacks to management level remains questionable.

Successive governments and others are blamed for failing to “react to the aggressive acquisition of Barbados Assets,” and for permitting such transactions. The assets are owned by people not the Government. Government cannot dictate to people how to dispose of their businesses or how to distribute their wealth. It cannot create or multiply wealth by dividing or redistributing it. Nor can it legislate the poor out of poverty by legislating wealth away from prosperity. To give it has to take from others. The White-man has no responsibility for the woes of Blacks who have done little to help themselves or the country.

And governments are accused of ‘collaborating’ with whites. This from one who I believe worked for a firm bought by Trinidad, who never reached management level, contributed nothing to society (no community involvement) but was awarded a title. Perhaps he has a point. Being so openly critical of a government that blessed him a title and the Whites says a lot about his socio-phycological dynamics. A major business was sold to the French who offered less than a locally owned company because the mixed-race owners of the local company were deemed to be racist. So could it be that he opposed Trinidadians buying our assets because they fired the Knight? Some of the ‘Trinidadians’ are related not foreigners.

Blogger asked how many whites “integrate blacks in their class by marriage.” A few married blacks. The Knighted soul married a light-brown. Some of those considered pure whites are racially mixed and owned the largest businesses on the Rock. I believe you worked for them. How did you know whites castigated Bizzy and boycotted the wedding? Were you there?

Yes they were white public school teachers at Combermere, Lodge School, Harrison College and policemen. The principal of Harrison College, Fred Haskell, took a black boy short of clothing to Broad Street, bought him some clothing and gave free him private lessons. The boy won a Barbados scholarship. This was at a time of the GCE, when Barbados was said to have one of the best education systems in the world. Today the evaluation of our education by 2 leading universities (UK and Canada) is to put it mildly embarrassing. Others wonder based on the written and spoken word if some of you got past 3rd standard.

Captain Farmer of the police force discovered Sir Gary at a time when he couldn’t get past Spartan club door. The all-white selection committee of Barbados Cricket and the captain John Goddard selected the three Ws, Griffith and Hall (who later represented the West Indies) to play for Barbados. As a schoolboy my team and I had the privilege of being coached on the field and in the pavilion by Norman Marshall and Dennis Atkinson during a first division match against Wanderers and also at Pickwick.

You assume Whites want to “block black middle class from success.” My great-grand parents and some of the clan all had their own businesses which they started from scratch. Many of their offspring opted for education rather than business and attended university. Six of them are “Icons” in the political arena there and in the USA. Did the Whites block them from success?

I grew up in an area surrounded by real poverty at a time when ham was a luxury, when families helped each other and the high school was expensive and costly in more ways than one. Today some of the kids from the area hold the biggest positions on the island and in government. Others are professionals there, Cave Hill,North America and the UK. An exception is Onion Bags, a disaster who I believe did not make it past standard seven. Did Whitee tried but failed to block their success?

You claim governments have “roles to ensure that businesses do not have significant leverage in economies by forcing companies to break up if they become dominant.” If that were the case there would be no monopolies in the world. Do yourself a big favour. Take not what you believe or were told for granted. Do some research or investigation before commenting.

213 responses to “RACISM Lingers On”

1. @John

What can be said about you is that you are never willing to flex your argument as more information is shared. Have we not moved pass the social construct business? Have we not posited that it is real? Have we not suggested that the narrative has to be about how to influence behaviours and systems which support this behaviour?

2. @Bushie
    You really need to review your imbibing of the SEETHRU so early pun a morning. I clearly stated that my father started negotiations to sell his business with my uncle who worked for a Trini conglomerate. He was a Bajan exec living in Tdad.

BT you seem incapable of seeing both sides of any situation in honest fashion. I am not thus afflicted! The fact is that both commonsense and logic dictate that this and any situation involving race has many grey or brown areas. You insist that white peeps are so stupid that they cant run businesses and want to sell to Trinis at presumably lower prices so as to hurt black Bajans. YOU really require a PSYCHE Consult with Freud or Jung or today’s equivalent.

I at no point have said that blacks cant afford to buy businesses!!!! What i have said is that it is highly unlikely that white owners give a rahteed piss for who buys. You see Bushie I know that any seller with sense wants the HIGHEST PRICE and I also know that buyers who come from a larger country FLOATING ON OIL are more likely to pay a higher price. When I decide to sell my business in bim which is worth about $14mn I will see what the Trinis will pay let’s say about $16mn and then I will call YOU nad let you have it at a bargain of approx $18mn. WE ON????

3. @ Bush Tea

You begin the invective. You speak in meaningless generalisations. That’s my point. It doesn’t suit you I realise. But then, you mostly speak in generalisations – which is a generalisation. Now prove me wrong with an example or, better, two.

4. @ David

‘You are never prepared to flex your argument as more information is shared”

I don’t remember ANYONE EVER flexing an argument on BU. Bush Tea remains the Bush Tea of 40 years ago and Amused? LOL

5. @Bushie
    Undoubtedly whites have wronged blacks with the history of slavery! BUT dont kid yourself that black peeps in Africa were NOT complicit! Check out the series with Henry Louis Gates on that subject.

Stop deluding yourself and re-enforcing the negative, self defeating Psychology that so many UNSUCCESSFUL black peeps adopt. Yes all peeps should have a detailed understanding of this dastardly history BUT overly dwelling on it and making stupid ass assumptions will NOT get you anywhere.

Bushie the reality is that I played cricket/ Soccer in the Village, lived next door to a black family and played with them from approx 4yrs old, went to school and had mainly black friends…….so I cut ma teets round dark peeps and know how and why the various constituents feel and think.I understand why the successful are so and why the wannabees, who have a negative outlook, FAIL.

Regarding your rant about selfish, hateful whites……yes there are probably some around just as they are black, brown, coffee cream peeps of the same genre. That is being a nasty HUMAN, NOT just white.

Bushie it is going to be a VERY COLD day in Hell before white Bajans work hard and produce a successful business in order to sell it cheap to someone and then give all the $$$$$ to dark Bajans as penance for the sins of the slave trade. I never owned any slaves BT! I never ill treated darker peeps! I have been far kinder and helpful to dark peeps than they as a group have been to me.( I was treated very racially by certain peeps without any reason and purely because I was white, although the vast majority of black Bajans with whom I have interacted were and are very friendly).

6. @Moneybrain

What you have stated is ‘sterily’ factual but not a current reality in Barbados.

7. @ David
    Please feel free to elaborate.

8. @ David

Apropos of Moneybrain’s last remark – what is the “current reality” in Barbados?

9. The author seems to have launched this “personal missile” wrapped up in a Black/White issue, which is most unfortunate. Quote: ” I believe you worked for them. How did you know whites castigated Bizzy and boycotted the wedding? Were you there ?”

The author also states: “The White-man has no responsibility for the woes of Blacks who have done little to help themselves or the country”.

“Little to help the country?” All the cane holes in the Plantations of Barbados are “saturated with the BLOOD of black people”.

I will leave the issue of being”racist” as others have satisfactorily addressed it.

We are told that only Blacks in Barbados are incapable of running successful businesses? All over the world there are businesses owned by Black people and very successful ones indeed, but only in Barbados with a majority Black population we are led to believe that is not possible because of something inherently wrong with the business acumen of Barbados’ black people. That is NONSENSE.

Is there something peculiar about the social dynamics in Barbados that has thwarted black business start up? I fear there is.

You have taken the actions of the all-white selection committee in reference to the selection of the three W’s. The fact is they were three very good cricketers as simple as that, history can testify. But you did not mention the racist policy of the Clubs to which those selectors belonged, particularly Wanderers Cricket Club when it was in the Bay Land. Speak to those who do not know and did not witness the racism.

Barbados was one of the most “racist” countries in the Caribbean, racism was so endemic it needed no signs or notices. . . . .it was understood. The residue of that racism is still rampant but in a latent form.
    I too grew up in an area and saw poverty but it would be hypocritical of me to suggest that there is something special about my endeavours that set me apart. The fact is that a large percentage of Black Barbadians of ability are denied opportunities because of the social dynamics of Barbadian society and in most cases race plays a part.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

It’s amazingly interesting how two ethnic groups that have been, historically speaking, diametrically opposed and but still symbiotically intertwined could find themselves seemingly indistinguishable at this juncture of Barbados’ survival. Even in the levelling field of sexual intercourse both white and black Bajans have always needed each other to survive. Today we have situation in which the former economically dominantly species is fast disappearing because of population collapse and business technological changes. The current socially and political majority carrying the chips of their fore-parents on their shoulders continue to use the fast disappearing genetically dysfunctional group who is now a shadow of its former economic self as a bogey for their failure to achieve economic enfranchisement.

As a result of the continuing war of words, playing the blame game, blinkered and weighed down with the plantation system hang-ups, a third ethnic group has recently arrived on the scene and like a pack of hyenas have banded together to run off with the economic meat of the nation built up by the two futile warring groups both debilitated by a sordid past.

The black Bajan must stop targeting a dying species. So called white and “passing for white” Bajans are no longer a threat to their economic independence. You have failed to apply for and fight for your fore-parents back pay in order to obtain rights to economic enfranchisement.
    While you have adorned yourselves with worthless academic paper designations and meaningless Victorian educational pursuits the “nouveau arrivants” from T&T and their brothers from the motherland called India& Pakistan Inc have outfoxed you. You will continue to be the “economic hewers of wood and drawers of water” behaving like glorified “mis-educated” servants carrying out the political wishes and instructions of the new local Indian rajah, economic guru or mullah dictating the economic preachings of the mosque designed to conquer you both economically, demographically and then culturally.

11. @Yardie
    Please elaborate on what “thwarted black peeps involvement in business”

One thing that did NOT hurt black business people in Bim was paying taxes. My black friend turned to me about 15 yrs ago and announced how his father was a multi millionaire via his modest shop. Now knowing the shop’s size etc and how things work in Bim, I can say that this owner was NOT burdened by PAYING TAX! My father sure as hell was on the Tax yoke! My twenty something wife and I in the 1970s were expected to pay 70% TAX by TOM. Thanks to TOM we migrated to Canada and Bim lost 2 very productive young people. Who lost? Bim!

Yardie I do agree with much of what you said BUT don’t understand the implication of many here who say that Banks don’t want to lend to black people. That makes no sense if that person can show the right traits of success. It obviously not a shock that most potential borrowers in Bim are dark! So why would White banks with many senior black managers NOT lend to good credits that are black? If true, this is exceedingly poor banking practice.

12. Yardbroom

We are told that only Blacks in Barbados are incapable of running successful businesses?

Who told us so?

One of the oldest businesses in Barbados must be Lynch Insurance Brokers.

Its founder was a descendant of slaves who also served as a chairman of the Barbados Mutual!!

http://www.cavehill.uwi.edu/Forms/fhe/histphil/HistoryForum/papers/JamesA.Lynch.pdf

13. David | June 30, 2012 at 9:36 AM |
    “Are you suggesting a system which confers a Knighthood on Wesley Hall for example is elitist?”

Of Course man. The title has an elitist past so why continue with it, unless of course you are comfortable with the British Colonial culture of Barons, Earls and Knights … (did I forget to mention Kings and Queens?)!
    Tell me David, do you know of any Black Earls?

14. Bush Tea

Rosemary Alleyne is a head of a Department in an institution that is funded by tax payers. Nobody therefore has the right to tell her anything.

Ross

The Yacht Club has opened its doors to all, even ugly people like me. But yes. I am referring to the Yacht Club, and the Cattle Wash Club and the White Male Secret League (bet you never hear ’bout that one nuh … it is secret dah is why …lol)

15. Moneybrain

Shut ta f#ck up …!

16. ‘The levelling field of sex’

YEAH! That’s my MAN.

17. @ BAF

I was a member for a short time and once took a g/f with me to show her what it looked like from the outside (pretty run down). She started a tirade on white elitism which was, for a 27yo (see I can still pull ’em – lol), ferocious. The idea that the membership might consist of black and white persons was quite beyond her. However, I have been told – and I really can’t remember by whom – that there is an exclusively black members only club – is it a boat club or a cricket club?

18. Any of you over 50 years old must know that Barbados was a racially divided country and you would have to be really stupid to think that we will all forget the people with the hoes and the men with cork hats on a horse.

We used to look out the window of the bus on our way to Kolij.

You don’t have to deny the past in order to work towards a more harmonious relationship between Black and White Bajans.

The 90% black population of Barbados provided the workforce that helped make the white minority richer.

How many white bus drivers,cane cutters ,fish boners,postmen,,firemen,labourers,policemen, waiters,gardeners exist in Barbados?

You do not end Racism/apartheid by denying or trivializing its existence.

19. The very young know nothing of colour or prejudice. What goes wrong?

Someone told me here – it has to be either Miller or BAF – that the black ‘racism’ in Bim is to be found primarily in those who grew up mainly in the ‘sixties. Certainly, that is true in the Church and includes the Bishop. The older ones -the Burkes and Crichlows and Worrells and Gatherers and Dixons – know nothing of it; though one did tell me once that he had walked out of a service in London because Blake’s ‘Jerusalem’ had been sung and so had to be reminded that Blake’s poem was a reproof. I once heard a black priest say from the pulpit that the Anglican church had been built up “to what it is” by “the man from Africa”. Yes – well……

20. And there is Hants corroborating the point.

21. Hants | June 30, 2012 at 5:24 PM |
    Any of you over 50 years old must know that Barbados was a racially divided country and you would have to be really stupid to think that we will all forget the people with the hoes and the men with cork hats on a horse.

I remember the political indoctrination well.

It is easy to spot a person of the 60’s vintage on the blog.

I grew up among the people with the hoes and the men with cork hats on a horse (actually Land Rover or tractor) and saw a far happier Barbados than I see today.

It makes me sad to see the miserable faces today.

22. Hi Moneybrain
    In Barbados for many years it was difficult for Black people to raise loans, banks have to balance the risk they take but the Blacks always seemed to be on the wrong side of the scales. If anyone believes that there has been a level playing field between Whites and Blacks in business over the last 100 years or so in Barbados they are entitled to their views but the evidence I have seen in my lifetime tells me different.

I say this with no rancour it bothers me not but if you are going to throw a blanket over a whole people, let us have some HONESTY.

Some comments are so silly they are not worth giving legs but I could not let BLACKS have done “nothing to help the country pass.”

Hi John

With the greatest of respect, I have no desire or inclination to meander over the success of one or a dozen successful Black businessmen. I am talking of a “reasonable proportion” of the majority population.

23. @Moneybrain

This is a matter debated extensively on BU.

Others more qualified than us have documented crypto-racism.

It is more about the power structures which influence how business is done in Barbados.

Some refer to dark shadows.

It is not as simple as you make out. Of course some will make it but the culture is one where a clannish ethnic White community continue to ring fence its influence in Barbados.

24. @Yardie
    Was the comment regarding” blacks have done nothing to help the country pass” in reference to something I wrote? Please show me where?
    HONESTY??? What is that about?

How can there be a level playing field when white people were historically so far ahead in business? Logic dictates that a fringe white guy would seek help from an established white friend to guarantee a loan etc. I have no doubt that was true BUT today a black gent with a good lil business and a proper business plan cant get financing after showing promise and diligence?

25. Racism is alive and well in Barbados anyone who cant see this is in denial. What’s changed is a growing percentage of blacks no longer fear whites or give a rats ass about them and get on with their lives.
    The majority of whites remain racist and seperatist it is obvious in their gathering places, business, social activity, in every facet of life white bajans do no mix with blacks unless absolutely unavoidable like at work. The Trini take over of businesses is informed by whites not wanting blacks to be a factor in business under any circumstance.
    They rather sell, merge what have you with foreign Trini coolie firms than involve blacks as business partners or take over a company they own that’s failing.
    Any significant mixture of blacks and whites is with white tourists who as a rule are not caught up in the racism on the ground in Barbados.

26. Maybe of interest. One of many emails BU receive daily:

1.  The Al Jazeera piece on me that many of you were looking for and could not find is now in English!  I just watched it and I have to say that my friend and Director, Abir Al Sayed, did a better-than-fantastic job!  Watch it here: 

and here: 

http://www.youtube.com/user/RunCynthiaRun

2.  Gutsy Roseanne Barr interviewed Leonard Rowe about his legal case against Hollywood titans Creative Artists Agency and William Morris in which he discovered that certain Hollywood executives regularly used nigger, nigga, spook, coon, spade, monkey, and other racial epithets to describe Black people and their own Black clients!  Hat tip to Kathleen Wells for making this interview happen and for guest hosting with Roseanne.  Hear Kathleen, Roseanne, and Leonard here: 

27. We are told that only Blacks in Barbados are incapable of running successful businesses? All over the world there are businesses owned by Black people and very successful ones indeed, but only in Barbados with a majority Black population we are led to believe that is not possible because of something inherently wrong with the business acumen of Barbados’ black
    people. That is NONSENSE.

i don’t understand wher that mentality was bred and born and then indoctrinated in the minds of bajans there was a time in barbados when mom and pop stores were the main source of daily shopping shopping in the village for most household since it was convenient and also easy credit for families waiting for their overseas money and people living on a weekly paycheck what is astounding that these business thrive just because they were community oriented and creditworthiness was easy and accessible generally speaking only on Saturdays and holidays did most household go to the bigger supermarkets for groceries some of which were owned by blacks, however what is puzzling that the black entrepreneurship spirit was alive and well and appreciated but for some unknown reason their value was not accepted. i cannot not understand why no govt ever seized on that vast vault of knowledge then but decide to let the “spirit die an untimely death. How sad!

28. Hi John

With the greatest of respect, I have no desire or inclination to meander over the success of one or a dozen successful Black businessmen. I am talking of a “reasonable proportion” of the majority population.

What is a “reasonable proportion”?

That is indeterminate.

Most people anywhere in the world would rather have a job than run a business.

Of the few who decide to start a business a tiny minority actually make it and fewer still die and leave a thriving business to be passed on.

There are sharks always looking to fleece them using fair means or foul.

Some of those sharks will be in business already looking to keep competition as small as possible, … or bankers looking to exploit weaknesses for their own or their bank’s benefit…. or sometimes their own kith and kin looking for a dollar.

Many people will try both, but will never grow their business and simply concentrate on making ends meet.

James Alsop Lynch was ahead of the game at the time of emancipation.

The preceding generations in his lineage had been free long enough to have developed survival strategies which he learnt and used.

My bet is he also had a helping hand from his “white” family as well.

I gave you his example to show you that not many make it, and those who do can start from extremely humble beginnings.

He started in 1859, the Mutual in 1840.

I am sure there are others but can only think of DaCostas and some of the other members of the Big Six who were around that long ago.

…… and yes, the sharks are always there to feed.

29. My 2 cents | June 30, 2012 at 6:47 PM |
    Racism is alive and well in Barbados anyone who cant see this is in denial. What’s changed is a growing percentage of blacks no longer fear whites or give a rats ass about them and get on with their lives.

I think in the Barbados I see today, nobody gives a rats ass about nobody else … but themselves.

Everybody chases a dollar and sees no benefit in helping one another.

The few who do help one another are seen as clannish and if only moderately successful, are envied.

30. And meanwhile we have national debates about what to wear in church.

Actually all this talk about whites being racist ignores the fact that blacks also discriminate against whites. I’ve mentioned the Church but seemingly no-one wants to take me on. Then there’s the fella who runs UWI busily busting the place for his greater glory.

31. And how sad, therefore, that David will not ‘come out’ and declare that ‘BU does not condone racism in any shape or form’…..on the trivial ground that it’s not worth the bother.

32. @ Ross

Are you kidding with that question about not many white ministers ,how could you be ignorant of a time not so long ago when all churches had “WHITE MINISTER” so whats your point if you are trying to connect the absence of less white ministers to black racism in theory sounds compelling but in reality is dismissive , it was only because of the civil rights legislation that these barriers were broken down and not because of ‘socalled “Black racism.blacks have had to fight hard and long for equality nothing was freely or easily given to them . so again “What is your POINT ?

33. ” Blogger asked how many whites “integrate blacks in their class by marriage.” – Looking Glass .
    Why should blacks want to marry whites anyway ?
    The idea that white people are superior is now obsolete , so get with the times.

” White women may be quicker to develop wrinkles after menopause than black women, and the effects seem to have more to do with age than declining estrogen levels, a small study suggests.”
    Read more: http://www.foxnews.com/health/2010/11/11/white-womens-skin-wrinkles-sooner .

http://youtu.be/XKSvF4vsjLs?t=36s

34. @BAFBFP
    So sorry to interrupt YOUR SELF DELUSION!

I appreciate that some peeps hear are eagerly searching for excuses rather than working hard towards success BUT I know of far too many black success stories in business and the Professions to sit ideally by and say it is all so terrible in Bim.

If Banks are refusing to lend to good risks then the political leadership should be acting to right that wrong. The senior black Bank managers should be held to account for not putting more $$$$ out to work profitably.
    Those white bankers at the top in Canada, UK etc are the DUMBEST fools on Earth because they continue to conduct business in a country with 95% of the population with whom they dont want to lend money. Maybe somebody should inform them of what Banking is about!

35. I is a white bajan that grew up under E.W.B as P.M.. My late wife was a colored South African .. We lived in Bim in the 90s.The Black people in my neighborhood (Holetown) were nice to us & treated us good. In my youth I was told by White Jamaicans and even Germans that owned a Disco in Bay St ( across from PEPSI) that I was a racist. It is a fact that most White Bajans are racist.. That is the truth.

36. I have a friend who is very definitely dark black in appearance yet sees himself as white and boasts that his grandmother was a “mulatto”. He’s always going on about behaviour being “typical blacks” a remark which could cause a lawsuite if made by a white person. On the other hand, another friend has one black grandparent yet an otherwise white background and decides to declare themselves a black person. There are well known figures like Rhianna and Bob Marley who have one white parent and one black parent yet who decide that they themselves are black, with all that is entailed with that decision. So, your skin colour dictates everything in your life from now on? Obviously you live with the colour of skin you were born with but why adopt the mores and evangelism of the black side? At the end of the day, you have no choice about who your parents were and must decide just to be a person Everyone is so mixed today and people should not choose their path in life depending upon the colour of skin, hair or eyes it’s mad. You can feel resentment about how your ancestors were treated but that applies to people of all colours, be they slaves or factory workers in Victorian mills or mines where 6 year olds had to toil in unspeakable conditions for sixpence.

37. @David | June 30, 2012 at 9:50 AM | ”@Crusoe It is not enough to say the young will change things. There must be something discrete driving the attitudinal change.”

Absolutely I disagree! The issue IS about attitudes and inidividiual beliefs affecting collective action. Hence, changes in attitude and outlook from the young IS the MOST decisive change you could want, irrespective of ‘rules and regulations’ and then it becomes a NEW social construct.!

To be frank, just as it is the same ol same ol, spewing of unsubstantiated garbage in Parliament, without providing solid reports etc, that has become tiresome and ;of the past’ and will no longer cut it, attitudes brought from old are also ‘of the past’.

No matter how one dices and sclices it, times have changed and those with old attitudes are going to get left in the past.

Thankfully!!!!!

38. @Crusoe

Let us agree to disagree. To achieve desired outcomes attitudinal change must be driven. It cannot be left to happenstance. Many of the structures/establishment which are a legacy of a certain kind of thinking must be deliberately dismantled to unfreeze and propagate a new message which encourages a new path. Several studies have been done on this matter.

39. For those following the case in Guyana between former president Jagdeo and Kisson re: structured racism is a case in point.

40. Hi Moneybrain
    I refer to my comments of June 30, 2012 @ 6:20pm

The comment I made regarding HONESTY was “not” directed at you.

My two separate concluding paragraphs were in reference to the author of this submission, who gave the impression that Spartan Cricket Club at the time mainly Black, would have denied membership to one of our famous cricket sons, but the white selection committee members of White clubs had selected the three Black Ws.

The inference was this was some kind of noble gesture in comparison with Spartan Cricket Club’s attitude.

The White selectors being lauded were members of clubs that were trenchantly racist, particularly Wanderers Cricket Club of the time.

On another matter you wrote: ” How can there be a level playing field when White people were historically so far ahead in business?”

I say to that remark about “historically” most people would be successful in business if they did not have to pay their workers. The Black slaves were not paid in a “labour intensive industry” therefore there was enough money slushing about for the local Whites to get their cut and prosper in Barbados and enough left for some to be remitted to England for absentee landlords to build stately homes.

After “hundreds of years” of that social construct the NONSENSE that is being put forward here insults the intelligence of Black Barbadians.

41. @Yardbroom

Cannot agree with you more.

Black go to the stadium to shoot.

Whites go to Kendal.

Blacks play cricket and football.

Whites go motor sporting and sailing; and the list continues.

Of course there will be other ethnic groups who cross over but the clannish behaviour of Whites in Barbados even ‘poor whites’ speaks to how the dominant host population is tolerated. Hell even the White lawyers represent their own in the main.

42. @ AC

I do realise that finer points elude you. My finer point was that the Anglican church in Barbados TODAY practices RACISM. You got the point?

43. @ Ross

It was obvious what your point was but i also dismissed it.what you failed to realise that it doesn’t really matter at this point and time that blacks are minister since it is after the fact as doctrines and ideologies put in place have not changed and the principles and teachings remain in tact placed by whites however the only difference is that a black is espousing them while the reality is that the messenger being black is irrelevant since he /she does not control the message put in place by whites but having a mouthpiece of a different colour race or creed to deliver it.SO again”WHATS YOUR POINT”

44. @ Victor

Thankyou

@ Yardbroom

“Insults the intelligence of black Barbadians”

So now we have black intelligence and white intelligence and not-so-black intelligence and not-so-white intelligence. I’m not quarreling with you. Am just trying to point out that UNLESS we stop having ‘white’ thoughts and ‘black’ thoughts this thing will never go away..

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Yardbroom | July 1, 2012 at 8:51 AM |
    “The Black slaves were not paid in a “labour intensive industry” therefore there was enough money slushing about for the local Whites to get their cut and prosper in Barbados and enough left for some to be remitted to England for absentee landlords to build stately homes.”

How has this arrangement changed in modern Barbados except that the slaves (modern day glorified servants) are paid minimum wages to pay for their own upkeep instead of being fed and sheltered in pens on the plantation unproductive lands? The old white overseer is replaced by just as harsh and unforgiving black educated clowns many of them aping the same English in the corridors of political authority and legal chicanery.

The old England is now replaced by Canada and Trinidad, and the new slave master on the block, China.

46. @ ac

At this point, my point is that you are totally incoherent.

47. @ Crusoe

Those with old attitudes are going to be left in the past…thankfully

Yes…they are going to die…and then tomorrow will belong to someone else….and DV you are right.

Leave a Reply to MoneybrainCancel reply