Mia Mottley promised in reply to budget to restore pensions to Statutory Board workers

Employees of Statutory Boards are entitled to receive a pension after being employed for ten (10) or more years. However, in accordance with Section 32 A (1) of the Statutory Boards Pensions Act, Cap. 384, persons who were employed with Boards after September 1975 and are entitled to receive a pension shall have that pension reduced by the amount of pension payable by the National Insurance Office when this latter pension becomes due. It should be noted that those persons who were employed with the Boards prior to September 1975 would be entitled to a pension from the Board and the National Insurance Office without any reduction.

Our investigations revealed that the Statutory Boards have not been reducing the pensions of its former employees as required by the Law. This has resulted in these retirees receiving payments to which they are not entitled.

Auditor General’s Report 2011

Statutory Boards because of an oversight – BU suggests negligence -has resulted in several retirees receiving pension monies to which they have not been entitled over many years. One would have thought the error having been discovered should have been corrected forthwith. However the matter has become smothered in politics like most issues in Barbados. With a general election on the horizon the government is likely to not endear itself to pensioners who have had one pension cancelled.

Mia Mottley in her response to the Budget promised  to return the two pensions. Implied in the promise by Motley: should the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) assume the next government the Statutory Boards Pensions Act, Cap. 384 will be amended.

It is interesting we have not had more debate about this issue. In effect the BLP has promised to legitimize the illegal pension payments by Statutory Boards to those employed post-1975.

BU compares the BLP’s position on this matter to when government amended the Judicature Act to clear the way for CJ Marston Gibson’s appointment.

1. @! | June 28, 2012 at 8:57 PM |

You said. . . “If there are Bajans out there gullible enough to believe the Alice in Wonderland response to the budget from the BLP. . . . .
    I reply, If there were Bajans out there in Jan. 2008 to believe the “ALICE IN WONDERLAND” story that the DEMS gave to those same Bajans, then don’t you think that those same Bajans are not entitled to change their minds when they realise that they were miserably duped (made asses of) four and a half years ago!!

Don’t even bother to answer this post.

2. @ David

The DLP fellows have sent OSA the signal, get out of the way or expect to be dragging through the political mud. This is going to be akin to watch one of those wild african safari documentaries where the old (and former pride king) male lion attempts to return to the pride and challenge for the leadership again.

Male lions loose a pride when they are beaten and run out of the terratory of the pride, if and when it attempts to return either to the terrratory or the pride, its is mauled in a most savage way usually ending when it has been killed.

3. @David | June 28, 2012 at 8:57 PM |

@Observing

You asked about how the change to the tax band will impact?

See further explanation below
    http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/tax-changes.xls
    David, the figures on that spreadsheet do not compute. The way I understand the changes is as follows:-

The tax free allowance on ASSESSABLE income remains the same $25 thousand. Then on the 1st $30 thousand of TAXABLE income 17.5% is to be paid and anything after that will be taxed at the 35%. In other words as per example used the annual income is $60,000.00. Less 1st 25,000.00 as personal allowance would leave $35,000.00 of TAXABLE income of which $30,000.00 will be taxed at 17.5% and thus the remaining $5,000.00 will be taxed at 35%.
    So from the above the annual tax payable SHOULD be:-
    1st $25000.00 = $0
    17.5% of $30,000.00 = $5250.00
    +35.0% of $5,000.00 = $1730.00
    Total tax payable yr. = $6980.00

I could be wrong, David, but that’s how I understand the changes. Don’t forget I only went to Brumley College in August!

4. Observing (and propaganding) Avatar
    Observing (and propaganding)

@Fracutred BLP
    Didn’t Sinclker say “I know of no such letter?”

Didn’t Freundel say “heads will roll” or “let’s move on to Phase Two”

Didn’t David Thompson say “we will live for transparency and accountability?”

Didn’t Lashley say “Barrack will be paid”

If a “FBI report on a desk” coupled with an “aged audible audio tape” is the best the DLP can do for political ammunition you could as well save it and some may say shove it.

@Prodigal
    “You really mean to tell me that in 2012, the DLP will come back to use DLP 2007 election propaganda”

I am still struggling to believe it myself. honestly.

5. Please connect the dots for us: What is the significance of the FBI report?

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de hood | June 29, 2012 at 3:59 PM |

I can vouch that your approach (application of principle) is valid but your calculations are not altogether arithmetically sound. The tax payable on the residue i.e. $5,000.00 is $1,750.00 and not $1,730.00 resulting in a short payment to the Inland Revenue of $20.00 (LOL!!!)

However, the Minister of Finance announced in his rap up speech a correction to the initial proposal. The 17.5% threshold has now moved up to $35,000.00 instead of $30,000.00. This would result in additional tax savings for those with relatively high taxable incomes. The additional tax savings on this “under the table” sweetener to the middle class would be $875.00 resulting in an overall tax savings of $ 2,495.00 per annum instead of the originally proposed $1,620.00.

The Minister said it was an error but given the man’s track record for bullshit and subterfuge it might be more of a case of a negotiated settlement with certain white collar workers interest group to curry favour at the polls.

7. Caswell,

Do you know if regarding this two pension problem… did the pensioners make any contributions to their pensions like most people are doing? If so, that will make a big difference.

8. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

i really believe the DLP should leave out the mud. they are going down a dangerous road. the Barbadian public voted the BLP out of office for all the bad things the DLP said they did in the last elections. this was stuff done over 14 years.

when the dirt is put on display for all of Barbados to see, i think it will kill the DLP. i don’t want that, but i believe if half the shit you are hearing about them is true, Bajans will gladly put Owen and his so called band of thieves back in office because they stole and run the country.

this group is just stealing and they forget they have a country to run.

moreover, what is this thing with the DLP attacking private sector groups because they express a views of the budget or lack of response from the DLP government?

are we not a free society anymore. i think what we saw last nite is a very ratted government.

9. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

miller? that is something that i don’t understand. in each and everyone of his budgets, he has to come back and make a correction. does he not fact check or read what he writes or is given?

disgraceful.

10. @Prodical

The debate was between the current pm and former pm, david is not here to defend himself, hence you should concentrate on the issues both spoke of and judge, dont u think so?

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (not BU) | June 29, 2012 at 5:46 PM |

Sinckler is not “naturally” intelligent like Mia, Owen or even DT. He is pedestrian but has grasped the art of graft. He is smart and prepared to do anything (even lie, deceive and back stab) to succeed in a world that places emphasis on pseudo academic performance and intellectual sleight of hand. He has mastered both techniques and with his physically imposing appearance and loudness, has used these ruses to his political and career advances.
    As can be seen he is in his element when reading high sounding speeches with loads of jargon and highfaluting phrases written by others for his glorification.

Sinckler really does not understand what is going on with the Barbados economy which requires handling as if it was nitroglycerin. The management of the many competing variables both exogenous and endogenous cannot be left to the outcome of chance or to a ‘wait and see’ approach. A similar unfortunate scenario played out in the 1992-94 period when David Thompson was put in charge of the economy like a child playing with matches around a leaking gas line.
    Sinckler is strictly a supreme bull-shitter and strives in the political ‘black’ arts. But time is the Master and his day for naked exposure and reckoning is at hand. Karma is a bitch! Estwick still fancies himself as the economics and finance guru of the DLP but it is not in his destiny to oversee the socio-economic undoing of Bim and be remembered in ignominy. He will remain a ‘shadow’ minister of finance who almost made it just like Richie Haynes was the almost PM when EWB went to the great retirement home in the sky.

12. Wunna hear the PM say that we have the BEST public service in the English speaking Caribbean?……I wonder if the Judiciary is included? I am also wondering if he has first hand knowledge about the English Speaking Caribbean islands public service? When making broad statements like these, the PM should have facts to back up his statements. As usual when he says so it has to be true because he is the PM? To be honest I will not be so arrogant and conceited to make such a statement because I do not have the facts to back this up. I may feel so, BUT I do not have the facts. It seems that this government makes decisions based on FEELINGS and not on FACTS!

13. @miller

How can you ridicule chris as a :liar: yet still support the biggest LIARS of them all OSA! but being A blp yardflow i wouldn’t expect nothing better. You guys are sooooooo disappointed that the DLP can submit such a “REALISTIC” budget when compared to the “FANTASY FUGHET” that MIA presented that wunna like tops keep Spinning ! and spinning ! like it or not Wunna yesterday policies have run their course and the old ideas that you guys keep retooling not gonn help the BLP get reelected. It is time the BLP sing a different tune. People like ‘brand and new” not recycled garbage that can only get you so far before the wheels drop off, OSA so desperate for recognition he in his selfish way wanted to keep parliament awake all night to talk about education and UWI when he had 14years to do all and above that shoulld have been done now at two in the morning wanting the spotlight on “Himself and pretending to care as usual it is all about “HIM: Not me i fell asleep

14. Well said, miller. I couldn’t agree with you more!Do you notice that the Dems do not mention the dead king or hold him up even though they said he left a legacy! More CLICO money than a real legacy, I would say!

15. old onion bags Avatar

I wonder if Stuart now that the Budget ova n dun wid…..would RING D Bell and put us poor souls out the suspense….of not know what will INCREASE NEXT…..price a gasoline or more increases in food prices…..cuz ya now see the trinidadians ready to flex….is the time now to show all the poppettering who is really boss….I hear they fire the whole top brass at Consolidated Finance….we shall see who comin in..and short out some from Brydens…

16. islandgal,
    I was waiting to hear if he was going to say …we have the best civil service in the world! That’s Dems for you, only fluff!

ac, good to see you on a DLP role again, I was at one time thinking that you were the lady who was the fiercest DLP defender on Brasstacks who passed away recently. Sorry, I wish you only the best!

But you know that miller is right in his assessment of Chris Sinckler, he is a like a child with matches around a gas line in terms of being MOF. He is out of his depth and to cover his lack of knowledge, he turns into a thug and bully. That’s a fact!

17. ac,
    What fresh budget you talking about. were you not listening when it was pointed out that a lot of the parts of the budget were cut and pasted from previous budgets! You hacks like to go on at Owen Arthur and the chief architect of this budget Frank Alleyne hitting hard for 80 and he got ideas but not Owen. Give me a break!

18. BTW when last OSA Thank any body foranything expect for votes .i think and that i could be wrong. THe DLP is a class act having a man of integrity and honesty at the helm in PM STUART.

island gal i have listened to that sweet hearted and good natured lady on Brass tacks just goes to show the right stuff the DLP supporters are made off.she will be miss by those who knew her and those who only heard her.

Anyhow see how truth always trump perception. finally you have found out the truth in that all of your perception as to who the lady was was untrue . But not surprising that is the history of the BLP all PERCEPTION nothing to do with REALITY OR FACTS >

19. the above comment 2nd paragraph was @ prodigal!

20. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Try swallowing this REALITY…..ONE TERM….

PERCEPTION…….best Civil service in the Caribbean…NICE n Percy must be real please……

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | June 29, 2012 at 7:16 PM |
    “You guys are sooooooo disappointed that the DLP can submit such a “REALISTIC” budget when compared to the “FANTASY FUGHET” that MIA presented that wunna like tops keep Spinning ! and spinning ! like it or not Wunna yesterday policies have run their course and the old ideas that you guys keep retooling not gonn help the BLP get reelected.”

Just a few snippets of the Nazi type propaganda reproduced below. Do they sound familiar? You hear lie! Those are lies!
    Mirror mirror on the ac wall who is the more lying of them both? B or D?

In the first 100 days of the new DLP administration
    remove VAT from building
    materials on houses valued up to
    $400,000.
    _ Establish a Home Ownership Revolving
    Fund for public sector workers, providing
    interest free loans to appointed public
    servants with 5 years service who are first
    time homeowners. This fund will be capitalized
    with an initial injection of $40
    million

new DLP administration will review the basket
    of goods on which VAT and other impositions
    have been removed. It is obvious that that basket
    is too limited and in light of the high incidence
    of chronic non-communicable diseases and
    the need for healthier eating among the population
    something must be done to ease the cost of
    foods that fall into these categories. We commit
    to expanding that basket significantly, following
    full consultation with sector stakeholders, consumer
    bodies, and nutritional experts. Equally we
    believe that the time has come for a more comprehensive
    review of the impact of price movements
    in basic food and other items in this country.
    Energy costs have risen more often than they have
    fallen in the last 2 years and this has driven up
    the cost of production. A new DLP
    administration will examine the feasibility
    of removing the VAT on utility
    bills for households and businesses
    alike.

In the first 100 days introduce the Agriculture
    Protection Act that will require
    a 2/3 majority of both houses of parliament
    for a change of use of land from agriculture.
    We will reserve 30, 000 acres
    for agricultural use.

Provide access to duty free motorcars for
    personal use for designated public servants

The DLP administration’s attitude to accountability
    will be based on the understanding that as servants
    and representatives of the people there can
    be no secrets or matters to be hidden from the
    population. Consequently, a DLP administration
    will be accountable for its actions and policies
    and take the public into its confidence.
    Under a DLP government, the people will be kept
    informed of what the government is doing on their
    behalf through:
    Regular press briefings following meetings
    of the Cabinet of Barbados
    Press briefings by Ministries/Departments
    to inform Barbadians of major developments
    and changes
    The publication of details of agreements
    and contracts involving the government
    and its agencies
    Formal Ministerial statements at regular
    intervals on the progress of ongoing programmes
    and projects
    A revision of and adherence to the rules
    regarding Parliamentary questions

22. I am still waiting for the BLP yardfowls to tell the public where the 500 million dollars for the Tourism Fund will come from ?
    The silence is deafening. The BLP really think Bajans stupid-stupse! Coming in parliament and telling big lies.
    Either the BLP planning to send home thousands of public sector workers or they are lying. Which one is it?

23. ac,
    The lady was a DLP hack like you. One day, after reciting her talking points, David Ellis asked her if there was anything that the DLP has done wrong, she said no. The DLP has made no mistakes. You call that being political honesty! She did on Brasstacks what you do on this blog….. spin DLP bull…..!

24. Fat ass Mia boomed BNOC should forego making a profit so Bajans could get cheap electricity on another point of order fat ass Duguid said if BNOC is only making a profit of 37 cents on a barrel of oil it would be bankrupt and out of business. The 2 hefty jokers did not even know they were contradicting each other. Anybody else picked up the stupidity of them 2?. Lord come for your world.

25. @ Prodigal

No respect ! cuhdear!

@ miller

Can’t even imagine the disappointment and let down the DLP felt when on arriving to take up the helm . instead of finding money to implement the policies they had so proudly and truthfully given to they electorate found a basket of DEBT! and to add insult to injury they then had to asked the people for their support to clean up the ugly and despicable mess OSA and the crew after 14years left behind. now you REALLY in your right mind asking me and others to give the BLP another chance to crave out a road of deception again. Even MIA should have think twice before laying out a table of impossible practicalities at the feet of the electorate and expecting them to eat. somewhere somehow i smell a stinking BLP RAT!

26. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodigal
    Boss when you want to take about a bull- s- talker… chk D [!] above…sometimes I wonder if he is a man or a woman…D [!] like apiece of gum..on your shoe….heshe does keep sayin the same ole Shoite endless..”the BLP will fool who they want to foll “..like a F-ing Macaw parrot…..when the DLP gets there ass whip I coming fa shehe…(if a cud find he)….I go make shehe soooo miserable with the same lingo…. Mr.parrot…they aint teach you nutting else…?( Doan answer a beg)

27. Prodigal said ….”.I was waiting to hear if he was going to say …we have the best civil service in the world!”…….you know I thought that he might have come off with that as well. The PM didn’t learn that self praise is no praise at all? What has happened to being humble? Stupse …The PM has to stop this chest thumping because it is only making him look like a bigger fool to the rest of the Caribbean. Why do this government keep trying to look good for outsiders instead of trying to improve the public service for the locals? Stupse I am soooo tired of all this lotta long talk and hot air.

28. You know I expected a higher level of debate and maturity from the BLP.
    Anyone can tell you that the external environment of 2012 is not that of 1999 but yet the BLP spent sooooo much time doing just what they criticise the government for – looking back and of course cherrypicking what they want to highlight and selectively ignoring others.

In this environment instead of bold or imaginative policies the BLP chose the low road of cheap politics and deception – promising everything to everyone to catch votes – 500 million tourism fund with no specific mention of cuts , millions for this, millions , for that, you want tax cuts – sure , more pension- sure.

Unfortunately for the opposition , people are a lot more intelligent than they beleive.

The BLP could have engaged at a serious level instead we got a lame attempt to engage in electioneering with unrealistic promises which not even the BLP supporters can explain how they will be funded.
    The BLP response was a clear exercise in dishonesty and disingenuousness.

29. AC….you sure sounding like the Minister of Education pon dis blog. You sure yuh ent he in disguise? Aren’t you tired of repeating yourself over and over again.? Give it up! Your party and Government have been a total disappointment to the people of Barbados and there is no way you are going to change that. Please take of your rose tinted glasses and look the BULL in the face and see exactly what is in front of you.

30. AC said…. “island gal i have listened to that sweet hearted and good natured lady on Brass tacks just goes to show the right stuff the DLP supporters are made off.she will be miss by those who knew her and those who only heard her.”
    AC ….. like Prodigal, I thought that it might have been you and I am glad that you are here to let us know that you are still alive and kicking and still brainwashed.

31. Listener .The blp could not even come up with an original idea in the budget. Look get real the bunch of incompoops really think that the public doesnt understand economics. imagine giving away what you don;t have or can’t afford to give .because if one has high debt it doesn’t take an economist to tell anyone which would be first preference.but then again some people like to PRETEND that they have so much. most people see and understand the charade the BLP put on. however the DLP going to hold the BLP feet to the fire and make them tell the people how they are going to pay for the freebies. Can;t wait to hear the explanation! this is going to interesting. i think BNOC has some fat that the BLP might find inviting!

32. @ island you are beginning to sound confuse. First i was an anonymous lady on BRASS STACKS> NOW i am MINISTER Ronald JONES! HUH!
    repeating what repeating. more like REMINDING! you and others what the DLP did over the past fourteen years was for naught . NO VISION! just WASTE! and WASTE and now the taxpayers got to PAY! and PAY! not a pretty picture ! could understand how you would rather fughet now we have Alice and her merry band of cohorts travelling down the yellow brick road crying doom and gloom and not wanting to take responsibility for any of it .JUST a FRIENDLY REMINDER!

33. Just like the DLP forced the BLP’s hand in calling the general elections in 2008, the BLP can do the same to the DLP now. All that has to be done is for Duguid, who is resigning at the end of this parliamentary term, to tender his resignation NOW, this would force either a by–election or a genaral election. To call a by-election would show the timidness in the DLP to call a general, and to call a general could/would lead to their demise, either way the tension between the two parties at this stage will be eased.

34. ac
    To be constantly saying the BLP did nothing for 14 years, is not only a lie but a slap in the face of the same voting public you want to support the DLP now. Think before you write, the BLP didn’t election themselves, they were elected by the voting public and more so ,in the second term the DLP only could muster 2 seats. Stop trying to degrade the voting public to junk like the IMF and S&P will do your DLP government just now.

35. @millertheanunnaki | June 29, 2012 at 5:31 PM
    And David.
    Yes you are, of course, quite correct in correcting my “fawlty” mathematics. It is $1750 not $1730 on the remaining $5000. Apologies to all. Only excuse I can think of is my Brumley edikashun, except of course de ol eyes not wukkin so good dese days as well as de spellin can be real atrocious a lot o de times. Ta fuh de helpout Mr. Miller. . . . . 🙂 Now I in real hot water wid de Inland Revenue. I wonder how much interest I gine got tuh pay fuh short payin DEMs de $20. Never minds yuh could always gih meh a vist up dey in Sin Philip by Dodds wey DEMs gine sen meh. Site?

36. !
    the truth can be proven by facts, he is a bigger liar than you think, thats why the blp dont like freundel, he is not corrupt or is he a liar.

37. @ISland Gal et al

Barbados has the best Public Service in the Caribean and one of the best paid, and that is no idle boast. Tjos of us who have to travel around the carribean would know. Dont forget it is comapred against the systems that in existence in each country, the level of corruption, among other things.

I am sure that the Prime Minister will tell you that there is room for improvement, remember he was doing a compartive analysis. So please dont get tie up when he said the best in the caribbean.

38. @Scout

follow your logic, the electorate will decide whether they want the blp or the dlp to form the next government, Just chiil, elections will be called when the govt thinks fit, and you might get or not get your wish.

39. @Islandgal

As ac said, you sure aint a thinker, how coul u have thought that she was Ronald Jones with the stance she took on the blog in realation to the AX matter. Think carefully before you write. Didnt you and a lot others said that Ronald Jones was/is the Principal’s friend. Then your reasoning sont add up.

40. !
    it is clearer now that Cloin Jordan was supported in his action by the BLP. Where the hell them can find that money, and by the way, the govt heavily subsidise the hotel industry, The plot thickens. Now some foreign sounding lady that said she is the president of BHTA talking shite that the govt any had anyhting in the budget for them. I would like to meet she and clin jordan and brrese them. And ask them who de hell them in that industry think they are, blasted thieves

41. Arthur and the BLP are constantly firing at their DLP foe. Those bullets sad to say are JUST BLANKS. The Al Barrack monster mess we know originated during the days of Owen Arthur. Like it or not Bajans, the BLP government under leadership of Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley awarded Al Barrack Construction Company a thirty six million dollor contract WITHOUT TENDER. The court in 2006 ruled in favor of Barrack for 34.4 million. Barrack in 2008 received 2.5 million from the David Thompson administration but nothing from Arthur. He, Arthur instead of surrendering payment of some kind to Al Barrack invested 2.4 million dollars into a Nigerian Water Heater project. No water heaters were produced and the 2.4 million was lost and or unaccounted for. Now, now Arthur, that was some magician trick “now you see it, 2.4 million, now you don’t, 2.4 million. The 75,000 cheque perhaps was one of your magician tricks. Something went wrong. The cheque didn’t disappear. It was discovered walking into Owen’s personal banking accoung.

Al Barrack in 2008 became Thompson’s problem. It was FIRST Arthur’s problem. The Al Barrack mess was born in 2006 under leaderhip of Owen Arthur and the BLP. Arthur was responsible for that Al Barrack mess NOT Thompson. Arthur has a moral responsiblility to fix the Al Barrack mess NOT Thompson. Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance, what he said is true to the bone. “The contractor [Al Barrack] should not direct his anger at the present government and its effort to settle the matter. . . . he knows where this mess started and should focus his attention on them [Owen Arthur and the BLP] while we use our best efforts. . . to resolving this matter. Arthur, believe it or not said ” REDjet Airlines might still be flying if the Barbados Government had honoured its financial commitment to the collapsed airline”. Arthur, get your reading glasses if needed “READ THESE WORDS” if the government under your leadership had honoured its financial commitment to Contractor Al Barrack, Barbados NOW would not owe him seventy five million. Bajans owe REDjet Airlines nothing, absolutely nothing. They, however, owe Al Barrack seventy five million. The Barbados Water Authority in 2009 was near bankrupcy. The 60% water rate increase was a gift from Arthur and the BLP due to the Barbados Water Authority problems totaling thirteen years. The Barbados Water Authority is a government corporation. The government under Owen Arthur for thirteen years apparently paid no attention to the Barbados Water Authority, what they were doing and not doing. They, the BLP apparently never thought to look inside the Barbados Water Authority house just to see WHAT’S GOING ON. Yes, Arthur should keep his damn mouth shut. Yes, Arthur is pure dee stupid and yes, Arthur has put Barbados in a sorry mess.

Barbados is a relatively small island and has been independent since 1966. It’s economy relies on sugarcane cultivation, rum and tourism. Like other countries, the Barbados economy is at moment fighting for survival. The current opposition leader, Owen Arthur says he believes he has the medicine to cure the Barbados economy problem. It [the economy] is a mess right now, but we can fix it”. Barbados, Mr. Arthur is seriously ill. The economy is just one of many things aggrevating it. One of them is the Al Barrack. Al Barrack is a mess right now. Al Barrack, don’t forget Mr. Arthur was born during the government under your leadership. Al Barrack, don’t forget Mr. Arthur was FIRST your problem. The Al Barrack problem, Mr. Arthur must be fixed. Opposition spokesperson, Mia Mottley on 06/27/2012 outlined a 2012 – 2013 a new BLP would put in place. Interesting, Al Barrack is not put into that budget outline. The 2012 – 2013 budget, additionally will hold all persons responsible for CLICO. That’s rather hilarious and embarrassing. Really it is because the BLP is responsible for Al Barrack and the BLP is responsible for the 60% water rate increase. Yes, Mottley should keep her damn mouth shut. Yes, she is pure dee stupid.

42. i can understand scout’s impatience with wanting to have the election called sooner rather than later because sooner would mean giving the BLP a free pass and the less damage the DLP would have to inflict on the BLP and highlighting their despicable 14years of SPEND and WASTE but that is not going to happen scout because bajans MUST be Reminder daily and constantly that the BLP econcondomistic policies of the past has = to HIGH DEBT and taxpayers pain and suffering NOW! so scout the DLP has alot to reveal about the BLP before elections is called fasten your SEAT BELT it is going to be a BUMPY RIDE!

43. @SCOUT

Comparatively speaking my quick analysis of the BUDGETis that the DLP has shown a measure of responsibilty through a visionary approach. one which i must compliment them. while the BLP has clinged to the OLD APPROACH of “GIVE AWAYS” one that NO DOUBT would lead to higher BORROWING! nothing new or visionary.! simply put we have a government who has embarked the country on the NEW while the BLP is stil stuck in the PAST.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

It would appear that you missed my concise analysis of the Budget. It can best be described as all froth and no beer.

45. @Caswell

Even the partisan must admit that the focus on renewable energy is desirable and comes maybe 10 years too late. The objective to reduce the base cost for energy which helps business, saves forex and mitigate exogenous shocks to the economy. The criticism of the government is that it should have delivered such a budget 2 years ago.

46. To the pint …….”Barbados has the best Public Service in the Caribean and one of the best paid, and that is no idle boast.”

If that were true about the civil service why put the other islands down by broadcasting it?. Does it make you feel good? If you are the best you don’t need to boast it will speak for itself. It is like a drunk saying that he is not an alcoholic and trying to convince himself and others that he is not. Keep thumping your chest and see how far that will get you.

47. @ISLAND GAL

So whats wrong with praising YOUR OWN. people like you are so accustomed to bad mouthing bajans that when the PM heaps praise you find it repulsive THE repulsive mouthings of OSA have indeed done psychological damage to the strident following and it is as evident as the damage OSA did to the economy! Sorry fuh WUNNA!.Wunna suffering from a heavy dose of psychological trauma inflicted over the past 14years

Leave a Reply to NationBLPnewspaperCancel reply