Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

It is becoming very painful to watch the Stuart Administration govern this country. As a proud and loyal Barbadian who put country first, it hurts when my Government continually foul up and blunder. It is obvious to me if no one else that they had a plan to capture the Government in 2008, but thereafter they had no plan to govern and their every action is showing it. Consequently, they lunge from one ill-conceived policy decision to the next.

I was on time to hear Senator Darcy Boyce announce some initiatives in the Senate that were designed to attract high net worth persons to relocate to Barbados. I could not believe my ears when he detailed the specifics, so I waited for media reports to verify. On the back page of the Wednesday, June 20, 2012 edition of the Nation, under the headline, OK TO INVEST, my disappointment and embarrassment for this Government were confirmed.

From what I heard and read, it would appear that Government was merely repackaging some aspects of the existing Immigration Act and proudly trumpeting them as new. Whoever advised the Government should have read the Immigration Act. According to the Minister’s announcement, persons would now be entitled to stay in Barbados on special entry permits if they satisfy certain criteria and they are either: parents of citizens of Barbados; retirees with means to support themselves; or investors. These new measures have already formed part of the laws of Barbados and have been so since the 1970s, specifically, they can be found at section 6 of the Immigration Act which states, in part:

6. (1) Subject to this Act and the regulations, a permitted entrant who,

(a) by reason of his education, occupational qualifications, personal history, employment record, training, skills or other special qualification

(i) is in employment on a full time basis in the public service, the service of a statutory board or a government agency,

(ii) has established himself successfully in Barbados in a profession, trade, business or agricultural enterprise, or

(iii) is likely to establish himself successfully in Barbados in a profession , trade, business or agricultural enterprise and has sufficient means to support and maintain himself and his dependants in Barbados until he has so established himself;

(c) not being a citizen, is the parent or grandparent of a citizen who resides in Barbados and is willing and able to provide for the care and maintenance of that parent or grandparent; or

(d) desires to reside in retirement in Barbados and has sufficient means of support to maintain himself and his dependants ,

may, on application to the Minister in the prescribed form, be granted by the Minister permission to become an immigrant.

I specifically chose paragraphs (a), (c) and (d) because they effectively capture the categories of the persons that the Government is targeting in this “new” initiative. Why would a person apply for a special entry permit under this new scheme and pay significantly more when they meet the requirements for immigrant status. As an immigrant, a person would have all the rights and privileges of a citizen except that of holding a passport, and free medical care as a result of yet another ill-advised policy change. It is absolutely amazing that in the year 2012 Government would spend time coming up with initiatives that were put in place by the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow in 1975, with amendments by Tom Adams in 1984.

Who advises this Government?

83 responses to “Government's "New" Old Policy”

1. “The release stated, “The Inter-American development Bank (IDB) has approved a $20 million loan to help Barbados improve secondary and post-secondary education and ensure that graduates develop skills needed to either pursue further education or enter the labour market”.
    The Bank lauded the country’s high education standards, describing it as exemplary for the Latin American and Caribbean region. However it acknowledged that the quality of formal education did not always fully translate into employment opportunities.”

“An exemplar among Latin American and Caribbean countries, Barbados has achieved universal access to primary and secondary schooling, with high completion and negligible dropout rates and outstanding tertiary level enrolment. However, it still faces challenges in terms of raising the quality of education and preparing its young people for the transition from school to work,” stated the Bank.

As such, the IDB advocated the country pay closer attention to improvements in literacy and mathematics skills of its students.

Consequently, one of the main goals of the four-year IDB programme, is to help boost the percentage of students passing secondary education completion exams in reading, writing and mathematics from 43 per cent to 50 per cent.

(!_!)<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>(!_!)

Muh granny always use tuh seh, “If yuh start rong yuh gine end ronger”

Do people really believe that children who struggles to comprehend the basics of the primary syllabus, will settle down and excel at secondary school without adequate intervention?

Should we be still boasting about a superior educational system, when year after year 40% or more of students taking the common entrance exam are not expected to “pass” by their teachers, parents and the Ministry?

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp NewsID=25261
    THIRTY students, 19 males and 11 females, scored a perfect 100 per cent in the 2012 Mathematics paper of the Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination (BSSEE).
    ->snip

The raw scores in Mathematics ranged between one and 100 for males and for females from zero to 100 which indicates that no male got 0 per cent, while at least one female got 0 per cent in this subject.

The overall national mean in Mathematics was 58.72 as compared to 60.92 in 2011 and 51.4 in 2010, indicating a 2.19 per cent decrease in 2012 than in 2011.

The performance for both males and females decreased slightly in 2012 over last year. For the females, it was 62.12 per cent in 2012 as compared to 65.18 in 2011, a decrease of 3.06 while for males in 2012, the overall performance 55.53 as compared to 56.83 in 2011, a marginal decline of 1.30 percentage points.
    ->snip

For both the public and private schools, there has also been “relative constancy in those schools performing above the means and those performing below the means.”

http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=15&p2_articleid=7974

Three thousand, nine hundred and sixty-one students as compared with 3,811 in 2011 will write this year’s Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination (BSSEE) when it is held on Tuesday, May 8.

According to the Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development, this figure comprises 1,795 males and 2,166 females, who are registered to write the examination at 22 secondary schools across the island.

This year, all five students who had requested permission to write the examination at an early age (that is 10+) have been granted permission.

The Ministry has also reported that over 120 students had made requests to be deferred from writing the BSSEE and they include 85 males and 43 females. Of this figure, 106 students are in Class 3, while the other 22 are in Class 4. All the students in Class 3 were granted a deferral based on the criteria that they had not completed a significant portion of the syllabus. However, of the 22 Class 4 students seeking a deferral, 13 requests were denied.

There were also special requests made by students, primarily for extra time and enlarged print.

There are 45 students that have been exempted from this year’s examination.

The BSSEE (usually referred to as the Common Entrance Examination or the 11-Plus), will also be taken by over 185 non-nationals. These students have satisfied the immigration requirements. However, according to the Ministry of Education, “there still remain seven students who have not satisfied the requirements and, therefore, will not be allowed to write the examination next month.”

joy-ann.gill@barbados.gov.bb

Will we ever learn?

2. @B B

I wish i could have some on going discussions with you outside this blog. You are very clear in your analysis and you are very objective in your writings. Under no circumstance, should you disappear from this blog, as you are one of the few people here writing that makes me think logically.

Happy Sunday to you. Same to you Ms/Mr. AC.

3. David ,september, 2011

thanks Rosemary, the more routes the more scale and the profit margin becomes more robust. Have to give the Burns people marks for tenacity in the face of many obstacles tossed in their path. Hopefully Redjet’s success will force the formulation of a sensible Air Transportation policy in the region which is one of the planks to bring the region together.

David | June 23, 2012 at 8:16 AM |

@Brudah

One does not have to read the full article to understand the abbreviated version. How could the principals start up an airline not sure about approvals etc. Astute business people would not be caught in this bramble.

How do you explain away your conflicting perceptions of the operations of REDJET at september 2011 and now? I seem to recall that you were full in your support of REDJET with or without lack of approvals. and then again emotionalism and not rational thinking guided our views in respect of the REDJET issue.

4. What has happened to the ferry system that T&T were suppose to start soon. It appears this has gone on the backburner , this would be the second time in recent history that this type of system have been shelved.

5. @ Scout
    i hope you don;t think it is free.

6. ac
    Why would you think I expected it free, am I a DLP yardfowl? Thank God, I’ve been able to pay for my wants, my needs are alreay taken care of. I never said it was the DLP fault that the Ferry Service didn’t get going so don’t try to cricikill me for asking about it. You DLP supportrs like you on edge, you’re going to suffer a heart attack or a stroke when the general gets closer.

7. Not before the frail old man Arthur gets carried out of Parliament on Thursday foot first on a stretcher the news on him is not nice for he nor the BLP party.

8. My grandfather lived until he was 89 years old and trust me he did not look as frail and as sad a frame that Arthur looks presently.

He has surgery pending but he is too scared to leave the island for fear of yet another Coup to remove him from leader of the opposition.

He no longer has the support of Marshall or Payne actually neither does Mottley have their loyal support either.

9. @scout
    and then again the way you cuss out T&T i think you would be the last person seeking anything from them . farless looking for a ferry from them. but it all goes to vision and good planning which the blp did not have now all we left to do now is beg the very people we always cussing fuh a ferry when we could have had we own by now, don’t you feel foolish having to beg the people you can’t stand.

10. Ferry = Steven Hobson and Hallam Nicholls are the new players a company that has robbed Barbadians for 14 years of Arthurs NSG.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

If I were still politically active, I would be doing just what you and your friends are doing. I would be trying to deflect criticism away from my party, so I don’t fault you even though you have become too transparent. However, I would like to remind you that this post has nothing to do with Owen Arthur: it is about a government that ran out of ideas immediately upon election to office. They were able to hide the bluffing for two years but with the death of David Thompson everything just fell apart.

It is not too late. They need to go into retreat and do some brainstorming. I realise there is a deficit in the brains department but they can bring in some people of goodwill to guide them.

Since I am of goodwill, even though harsh in my criticisms, let me offer some advice. Scrap this silly initiative. The people who are being targeted for special entry permits under this scheme already qualify for immigrant status. Why would they opt to pay $40,000 for a special entry permit when they could apply for immigrant status and pay about $2,000. These people did not get rich by spending money foolishly as the Government seems to think.

12. Say something please Avatar
    Say something please

UBS Bank Switzerland Advised Of Barbados Prime Minister’s “Secret Bank Accounts” Speech
    February 2, 2009 ·
    Swiss Banking Giant Receives Barbados Money Laundering Advisory

To the Chairman of the UBS Bank in Zürich, Switzerland.

Mr. Peter Kurer
    Chairman
    Board of Directors
    UBS

Bahnhofstrasse 45
    8001 Zürich
    Switzerland

Telephone: (withheld)
    Facsimile: (withheld)

Dear Mr. Kurer,

We support the efforts of UBS and other financial leaders to curtail the activities of those who illegally conceal financial transactions.

On this theme, we wish to bring your attention to the allegations made by the current Prime Minister of Barbados, David Thompson, during a September, 2008 speech in Canada and in the Barbados news media in January, 2009.

Prime Minister Thompson publicly accused “operatives” of the previous Barbados Labour Party government which was in power for thirteen consecutive years, of illegally removing “millions and millions” of dollars from Barbados to secret bank accounts in other countries. More recently he stated in the press that “hundreds of millions of dollars” are unaccounted for. We attach a copy of a Barbados newspaper article that reported Prime Minister Thompson’s allegations.

To assist the anti-money laundering initiatives at UBS, we are also including a list of names of persons who were members or operatives of the former Barbados government during the past 15 years. While Prime Minister Thompson did not mention specific names of those who presumably are under investigation for money laundering, we respectfully suggest that your internal investigators should compare these names against your banking records for individuals and corporate clients worldwide.

Should UBS determine that any of these persons or their proxies have or had dealings with any of your UBS businesses worldwide, it would seem prudent that their financial activities with UBS should be carefully examined, considering the allegations made by the Prime Minister of Barbados.

Yours truly

cc: 197 Employees of UBS

Attached:
    1. List of BLP Operatives
    2. Barbados newspaper article

List of BLP Operatives

List of Names of BLP Operatives during the 14 year period ending January 15, 2008.

Owen Seymour ARTHUR
    Barbados Prime Minister Sept 6, 1994 – Jan 16, 2008
    Born: Oct 17, 1949, Address: Barbados

Richard Delisle ARTHUR
    Born: October 5th 1961. Address: Barbados

Rev. Joseph Junior Sylvester ATHERLEY
    Born: 26th February 1959 Address: Barbados

Errol BABB

Carlisle BEST

Delisle BRADSHAW

Gray BROME

Wendell CALLENDER

Sir Richard L. CHELTENHAM QC, PhD

Gline A CLARKE
    Born: November 2nd 1951, (Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Housing 1994, Minister of Housing 1999)

Errol Christopher CRAWFORD

Dr. William DUGUID
    Born: November 20th 1967

Lynette EASTMOND
    Born: 30th May 1964 (Senior International Tax Manager at Price Waterhouse 1989 – 1997, Director of International Business in the Ministry of Economic Development 1977 – 2002)

Rawle Cyprian EASTMOND
    Born: October 23rd 1952, (Minister of Labour & Social Security 1999–2003)

Joseph EDGHILL
    Born: May 22nd 1946.

Reginald FARLEY
    Born: June 26th 1961, (Senator with the Ministerial portfolio of Industry, Commerce and Business Development 1994, Leader of Government Business in the Senate 1994-1999, Minister of Industry and International Business 1999-2001, Minister of Economic Development 2001, Treasurer 1996-1998, Chairman 1999-2002 of the BLP, Governor for Barbados on the Boards of the Caribbean Development Bank, the Inter-American Bank and the World Bank.)

Cynthia Yvonne FORDE
    Born: March 1st 1952

Sir Henry de Boulay FORDE
    Born: March 20th 1933 (Foreign minister of Barbados 1976-81, Leader of the Barbados Labour Party 1986-93. Minister of External Affairs, Attorney General, Minister of Legal Affairs.)

David Theobald GILL
    Born: April12 1955

Rudy GRANT
    Born: December 31st 1964

Rudolph Nathaniel GREENIDGE
    Born: December 6th 1944 (Minister of Labour, Sports and Public Sector Reform, Minister of Education, Youth Affairs and Sports.)

Hamilton Fitzgerald LASHLEY
    Born: 1952 on May 5th

Noel Anderson LYNCH
    Born: December 26, 1956 (Senator 1994, Minister of Tourism and International Transport 2000)

Dale Dermot MARSHALL
    Born: November 25th 1963 (Senator 1999, Chairman of the Board of the National Housing Corporation 1994-1997, Chairman of the Urban Development Commission 1997-1999, Chairman of the Barbados Tourism Authority 1999-2000.)

Rommell Delano MARSHALL
    Born: November 2nd 1947

Billie Antoinette MILLER
    Born: January 8th 1944 (Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Health and National Insurance, Minister of Education and Culture, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade, International Business, Tourism and International Transport)

Mia Amor MOTTLEY
    Born: October 1, 1965
    Minister of Education, Youth Affairs and Culture.

Hallam NICHOLS
    (Government contractor and middleman for government purchases. Has many companies known and unknown, including ESL Consulting)

Jessica C. ODLE
    (Consul General, Consulate General of Barbados in New York)

Anthony OLTON

George Walton PAYNE
    Born: September 28, 1948 (Minister of Public Works, Transport & Housing from 1994 – 1999, Minister of Tourism from 1999 -2000, during which time he was Chairman of the Caribbean Tourism Organisation.)

Philip PILGRIM

Trevor Anthony PRESCOD
    Born: January 1st 1949

Ishmael Alphonsa ROETT
    Born: April 21st 1944 (Speaker of the House of Assembly 1994)

Sir David Anthony Cathcart SIMMONS
    Born: April 28, 1940, Barbados (Attorney General, Chief Justice)

Kerrie SYMMONDS
    Born: June 1st 1966 (Senator 2001, Deputy Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation and on the Board of Directors of the Barbados Industrial Development Corporation. Member of the National Advisory Commission to the Government of Barbados on matters relating to External Trade Negotiations.)

Henrietta Elizabeth THOMPSON
    Born: November 22nd 1961 (Former Cabinet Minister)

Joycelyn THORINGTON

Pat THORINGTON

Ronald St.Clair TOPPIN
    Born: January 4th 1958

Louis Randall TULL
    Born: January 27th 1938 (Minister of Education & Culture 1976-1981. Minister of Foreign Affairs and Attorney General from 1981-1985. Minister of Commerce, Industry and Consumer Affairs from 1985-1986.)

Dr. Jerome WALCOTT
    Born: April 2nd 1957 (Former Minister of Health)

Mark Zachariah WILLIAMS
    Born: April 13th 1940

Anthony WOOD
    Born: July 11th 1960 (Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development.)

13. Who or what gives David Simmons the authority to lecture Turks and Caicos Islanders about ethics and integrity?

I love the people of Barbados, they are probably the most hospitable people in the entire Caribbean, after Turks and Caicos Islanders of course!!! The Island of Barbados is absolutely stunning and the food is among the best in the world. Those people could make a fruit punch, it the best I ever drank. I have been to Barbados more times than any other Caribbean country. I really do admire the people of Barbados. However the former Chief Justice of Barbados and now Chairman of the Turks and Caicos Integrity Commission is one bajan I do not have such admiration for.
    David Simmons was involved in politics in Barbados for about forty years, then Chief Justice of Barbardos for a number of years. He served as Attorney General and Deputy Prime Minister in the Administration of his allegedly corrupt friend former Prime Minister Owen Arthur. The people of Barbados have been calling for years for the implementation of integrity legislation to govern those in public life. Both political parties in Barbados have promised integrity legislation on the campaign trail but when they get into office they reneged on that promise.
    David Simmons as a politician in power and Attorney General for so many years did nothing to promote integrity in public life in Barbados. Then he accepted the appointment as Chief Justice from his allegedly Corrupt friend Owen Arthur which cause Bajans to lose confidence in the Judiciary as it was seen as being politicized. It was revealed that $75,000.00 of campaign funds ended up in David Simmons’ friend Owen Arthur personal bank account. I can’t find a statement any where from David Simmons where he condemned this blatant corrupt act. The former Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson said that it was unethical for David Simmons to have accepted the appointment of Chief Justice. He refused to extend David Simmons tenure as Chief Justice.
    David Simmons was sued in the Canadian Courts while he was Chief Justice of Barbados over a land (kingsland) deal in Barbardos. He admitted under oath that he destroyed or caused evidence in the case to be destroyed. It was recently revealed that a serving Barbados politician has links to the porn industry. Politicians in Barbados are like pigs feeding at the trough just like some politicians in the TCI. So what or who gave David Simmons the moral authority to lecture the people of the TCI on ethics and integrity.
    David Simmons was appointed as Chairman of the Turks and Caicos Integrity Commission without due diligence by the clown, former governor Wetherell. It is no secret that many people in Barbados believe that David Simmons is ethically challenged. The members of the TCI integrity Commission were guest on a program on RTC radio recently. David Simmons was reported to have said that he wants the TCI to become known for its integrity. Funny he appears not to want the same for his native country. He described a person of integrity as one beyond reproach. I was hoping that the host would have ask him if he is a person beyond reporach. The question wasn’t ask so we may never know his answer to such a question. Now this is not to say that David Simmons did anything wrong he was never found liable of any wrong doing but the allegations were made and are part of the public debate.
    Below are links which I encourage all readers to click on to see the claims and assertions in this article are not made up by this editor but that they do exist:
    Chief Justice David Simmons Burned Files Amidst Ongoing Kingland litigation
    Barbados chief justice testifies under oath he destroyed business records evidence after lawsuit launched/S.B.G
    Barbados prime minister slams retiring chief justice david simmons over the ethics of simmons appointment
    The legacy of barbados attorney general chief justice sir david simmons
    Sir david simmons declares turks caicos public servants must declare assets but not him

14. Yawn

15. The filth being spewed on this blog by the DLP newbies just confirms how depraved and vile their minds are. The king is dead but he has left them his great legacy, the art of the nastiest politics. I know that for the Dems, politics is a blood sport but my goodness, are you all so desperate that you are sinking to lower than lower depths. My bad, I forgot, most DLP yardfowls can only operate in gutter.

Go vulgar, it will only alienate you more and more from the electorate, it clearly shows that you are bereft of any vision to take this country forward and therefore you are desperate and have become nastier and nastier.

The people of Barbados have made up their minds.

16. I wonder why he and all of the DLPites who won the election on the promise to declare their assets and have never done so (even the dead king refused to do so, we now know why he could not) dont declare how much they have made in 4.5 years. Hypocrites!

17. old onion bags Avatar

@ Say something please..

LOL LOL ……… Man the UBS people musse tumble down laughing when they read the Deloitte Report ..headline ..DAVID THOMPSON ASSOC,…..man woman….you laughable…..lol

18. You need not blame the attack on David Simmons as one made so by the DLP your reach and scope of the BLP corruption and theft has travelled far and it has travelled widely.

This article condemning the corruption of David Simmons and the
    BLP was not at all written by any DLP person or indeed it was not even written by a Barbadian.

If it had been written by a Barbadian it may have less harsh in its tone and it’s message, very sadly it was written and carried by media in the Turks and Caicos islands where he was working.

That must then clearly give you some idea of the gravity and the extent of the way Owen Arthur, David Simmons and the BLP were seen in the eyes by those around the world, let me remind you the feeling was and still is that Arthur and the BLP were a corrupt bunch of vagabonds and crooks with one mission that was to rape taxpayers and the Treasury of millions of dollars.

Let me remind you this article was penned in the Turks and Caicos islands and exposed widely there, it has no DLP input or content whatsoever.

We do however salute the writer as being in touch and knowledgeable on what he wrote about.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Rational Son

At the risk of being abused for my association with David Simmons; I would like to suggest that the DLPites stop trying to change the focus of this post and address the glaring incompetence that was identified. If they ignore the problem, it will not go away. This DLP administration needs to get of their large ever expanding backsides and change course. It would appear that they have come down with a severe case of reverse Midas: everything that they touch turns to fecal matter. Attacking David Simmons will do nothing to improve the economy, or correct the colossal mistakes that this administration has made. But if you think that attacking Simmons would help the economy and thus secure reelection for their party, go right ahead.

20. Of course I must take advice from a failure in every venture you ever have ever undertaken, from someone who has been fired from every job you have ever had, from someone who was before the courts for theft and fraud, from someone who set up a Union of one, from someone who worships the ground David Simmons walks on because it highlights a post written by someone in the Turks Caicos islands that is damaging and true about Symmonds?

Don’t make a bigger fool of yourself, you can attempt to defend as you wish but the public know you for what you are a fraud looking for an income, let Mottley help you out the fact that she sent you to face charges in court may have subsided and eased by now and she to is in need of friends.

The long and short of all of this is that around the world and beyond your party and your leadership has been exposed as corrupt disgusting frauds.

21. This must be the longest lasting occupation you have taken on and lasted at and look at it a load of nothing of substance or value.

Do you realize that you rub shoulders with the likes of a Henderson Bovell with rape charges pending, the Sylvan Greenidge and yourself as three unemployables who survive by hand outs from the BLP?

Get a life my friend and stop trying to advise people from some one who has NO SUCCESS STORIES OF LIFE TO REPORT and thereby will be deemed an empty vessel.

22. “The long and short of all of this is that around the world and beyond your party and your leadership has been exposed as corrupt disgusting frauds.”
    you must understand that BU is widely read and allegations and accusations targeting personalities should be buttressed with evidence. What informaton do you have to support your emphatic statement that all over the world and beyond ‘ your party and leadership has been exposed as corrupt disgusting frauds’. my reading of the wkileaks revelations indicates that the us embassy had reported to washington during election time that the BLP was running the country well but were facing false accusations of corruption from the opposition.

23. @ Rational son

You expose yourself as the thoroughly nasty piece of work you obviously are. UGH.

24. I think they also said that Mottley would never be leader over his dead body!

Only for clarity so you do not forget.

25. Hal Gollop .. Avatar

@robert ross
    Whoever you are : For Hal Gollop to say that the Chief Immigration Officer , or any public functionary for that matter , has AN UNFETTERED DISCRETION to do anything , would amount to a legal heresy which I remain guarded against . This HAL GOLLOP is well aware , and has taught students for the past seventeen years , that , in accordance with PADFIELD v MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE , FISHERIES AND FOOD , [ 1968 ] AC 997 , there is nothing such as an unfettered discretion in Public Law . If that was not made clear to you then , i hope for your sake that it has been now .

26. I notice people start using familiar names so what the heck

27. @Hal Gallop

Good to see you put in an appearance to defend a position.

28. @ David
    Not to defend a position so much as to correct a misrepresentation . Thank you .

29. @ Hal Gollop

Well you said it…and of course it surprised me. Or can’t you read either? How interesting: you sound as pompous as Hal Gollop as you do in other guises.

30. @ Hal Gollop

What you actually said was that on questions of status the decision of the Chief Immigration Officer was final and that it was his decision alone. From the listener’s perspective, without more that would have implied that the CIO was a law unto himself – that he had an unfettered discretion.I am not the only person to interpret what you said in that way. You did not use those words – ‘unfettered discretion” – which is why I wrote to Caswell that you “seemed to say” not that you “said”. And, yes, you did “mumble” off the point very quickly.

Any lawyer knows that this could not be right – even if he has not sat at the feet of “this HAL GOLLOP” in his part-time weekly visits to the Faculty of Law. As I said, if that was right we would have no Administrative Law. But we all know it is not right and, of course, you do too – which is why I was surprised that you created the impression you did and left it there..

However, as I also said to Caswell, I fully concede that in the pressure of that medium one cannot always measure everything one says. I am sure that even “this HAL GOLLOP”, as also “this Robert Ross”, will concede that. One thing though: I do not question your expertise in this subject one jot….and so perhaps in the next programme you will add a codicil to what you said in the last..

31. Well They got exactly what they voted for…..

32. […] this situation. Whether you believe that they are new or have been around for a while (according to this site) the fact remains that high net worth and retired people can move to the island – for a […]

33. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My blog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission.
    Do you know any solutions to help protect against content from being ripped off?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply to ralphCancel reply