Hal Austin

Introduction:
When finance minister Chris Sinckler rises at the despatch box on Tuesday to deliver his Budget statement, it will be the speech that will determine the future of this DLP government and define its vision. The proposals will give Barbadian voters a clear idea of what this government could do if re-elected and, just as important, if Sinckler has the ability to replace Freundel Stuart as leader of his party and a potential prime minister.

Sinckler has to account to parliament, and through members to the people of Barbados, for the near five wasted years in which he and his colleagues failed to do anything meaningful about the badly crippled Barbados economy. Equally, he has to explain why he has failed to make the last government account for the fourteen years in which it failed to put aside enough surplus to see us through a period of economic famine – the fourteen most prosperous years ins the economic history of mankind (I have written a longer essay on this which is available to those who email me).

I will restrict myself to one missed opportunity, one that does not trip easily off the lips of public intellectuals, who often prefer to drift in to tribal party politics.

Innovation:
Obama has rightly reminded Americans that the long-term success of any economy depends very much on successful innovation and entrepreneurship. And, in case it is not common knowledge, some organisational cultures stifle innovation, which is about the structured use of bright ideas, looking for new opportunities in unexpected places, encouraging constant change, renewing and invigorating the way we do things.

Innovation is down to processes, but most of all it is about the organisational culture and leadership. Quite simply, if a project is not important to the CEO then that message goes down to the most junior employee. Further, innovation can only take place outside the usual place of day to day work. So, it is a waste of time and effort to expect the very senior and middle managers responsible for an operational system to be the architects of its destruction.

To overcome this, as I have said in previous Notes, any dynamic leader, including prime ministers, must have a policy delivery unit in his department with the power to intervene in ministries if the government’s programme is being frustrated. There are risks, of course, in research and development in that after spending huge sums on training staff they can often leave for higher paid jobs with rival companies, but that is the gamble a forward-looking company must take. The challenge here is to work out a strategy to hold on to key people. One way of doing this is by allowing key staff time off to work on their own ideas, since innovators are by nature optimists. To succeed you have to compete at every level in which you believe you have a competitive advantage. This applies to individuals, firms and governments. If you retreat or runaway, or become just lazy, time and opportunities will pass you by. More particularly, you allow rivals a free-run to out-perform you. Just look at the Barbados rum industry, our only potential world beater, if you want an example of how an entire industry can wither and die. A cottage industry, run by a few small families who prefer to stifle a potentially lucrative industry rather than bring in bright, young people to drive it forward, the Barbados rum industry has allowed others like Bacardi, and producers such Diageo and the entire Scotch Whisky industry to leave them back in the 17th century.

Even a simple enough suggestion that we must give legal definition to Barbados/Bajan rum, in a political culture dominated by lawyers – to the extent that there is a ratio of one to every 300 people, one of the highest in the world – this simple suggestion has not even come on the radar. So, we have a government and industry, crippled by their stubbornness and arrogance, from even protecting their own long-term future, their intellectual property rights.

As the founder of Sony has said, emphasising a firm’s finances, is to focus on the past; but by emphasising research and development, is to focus on the future. We need forward-looking people.

It is true, there are economic and organisational obstacles to be overcome, but to genuine innovators and good leaders, these are just challenges. In the 1980s, General Motors had a research and development budget of US40bn, while the entire global venture capital budget was only $28bn.

There are different kinds of innovations: departmental versus organisation-wide innovation, renovating existing products and processes versus the disruptive or completely ‘new’ innovation. Some people believe there should always be a new consumer dimension in any innovative product, while others believe there should be a connection between new ideas and commercial viability on the principle no matter how good an idea unless it pays for itself it would not survive. But circumstances may also force change; for example, a food manufacturer producing products with too much salt or sugar in a health-conscious age may be forced to innovate to survive.

Analysis and Conclusion:
Government is about change, not business as usual; and when a people put their futures and their children’s futures in the hands of government, then that responsibility must be taken seriously. Politician are self-selecting, they put themselves forward as capable and able to lead the nation, as the guardians of the nation’s future. The prize is very big; if they fail, it is not only personal, it is a national disgrace. More than that, there is a truth in the saying that a people get the government they deserve. Ability is nothing without opportunity and it is the principal role of government, apart from protecting its citizens, to provide those opportunities for its young. This government has sacrificed the young unemployed on the altar of expediency.

Government is about strategy, not implementation. Prime ministers and Cabinets outsource the periphery to the ministries but keep the core – strategy and brad policy – to themselves. The Cabinet should be about policy implementation, not micro-managing.

It is the role of government to create the fiscal and legislative environment which will encourage local and foreign direct investments in sectors apart from tourism and to identify and encourage suitable talent pools and to provide them with the right competencies. Providing them with the skills training and sound purpose-led education – not generic academic learning – are the key ingredients in preparing a young force for the new global challenges.

We need a business culture in which innovation is seen as problem-solving, rather than shunting individuals out of a job. In addition, we must not forget that most innovative ideas come from people who have been doing the job for a length of time, so creating an ideas culture – and one that tolerates failure since most new ideas are a waste of time – is central to good government.

Start by encouraging customer feed-back, after all they are the people paying the bills.

Remember that so-called market segments are really people, who have ideas about how they are served and the kind of service they want to receive.

Innovation does not only come from Silicon Valley, but from every corner of the world and from all levels of society – even from ordinary Barbadians.

Remember, innovation is about changing the world, about getting up in the morning and looking with fresh eyes at things you do every day.

The workplace is not just the place you pass the time of day to get a wage packet, it is about making a difference.

In Britain, about 1000 new medium enterprises, geographically and industrially distributed, created 50 per cent of new jobs; 25 per cent of all British university dons are from overseas, implying that when looking for staff universities are prepared to look far and wide for the brightest and best. We too can follow that path: identify potentially successful sectors, scenario planning, exploring new frontiers, create a business growth fund to finance innovation, encourage clusters which would become centres of excellence.

Government has failed to introduce enablement technology, which drives down cost, improves efficient and makes overall management more modern. A good example of this failure is having a modern $70m court building with the registry using old-fashioned books and pens to register births, marriages and deaths, in much the same way they did at the end of the 19th century. It is what we used to call icing on ginger bread. The sparkling new building does not an efficient administration make. It will be a big mistake to see innovation only in terms of technology; fundamentally, it is mostly about people, how they are selected, how they are trained and how they communicate with customers/public. It is about competence, putting customers first.

We must allow bright, young staff ownership of innovation, rather than see them leave because of boredom or frustration. In journalism we do that by giving our brightest titles, columns, authority. But we know that Barbados is not an innovative society; all we have to do is check on the number of patents that have been registered over the last year, no make that the last fifty years. Where is out patent court?

Finally, this government has failed because it did not realise the extent of the challenge it faced. However, for an economy to grow there must be a supply of money and credit. Just ask Al Barrack what he thinks.

Hal Austin, London (June21, 2012)

124 responses to “Notes From a Native Son – Politics is about Change and Renewal, Stupid”

1. @ David

And of course he doesn’t have to answer at all. That is his right. We are not in the middle of a debate about it such that a failure to answer might be taken as mealy-mouthed crookery.

2. One of the most important considerations in formulating policy is context. Too often I find Hal ignores this most critical point.

3. ac wrote on…….. June 22, 2012 at 8:13 AM |

Yeap where there is no vision the people shall perish!……….

You bet, ac. Kinda like what’s been happening in your party since January 2008.

4. ac wrote to @ oinios

you so Dumb ! yuh mean all the other head of states are in Rio just because did want a vacation or doesn’t have anything else to do with their time , that is why we are always trying to play catch up in all areas because it is people like you with tunnel vision and with the capacity of only being able to see out of one eye while keeping the other eye tightly closed and after all hell is broken loose retreats to pointing the finger of blame at others even when all the facts .are right before your eyes . BLP mentality!……………..

ac, Do you remember that Sandi went down there too and what did Barbados gain from that? An unforgettable poem….. Ode to the Enviroment!

5. According the yardfowl, CCC, Chris Sinckler will concentrate and spew his vitriolic filth on Owen Arthur. You are giving him real good advice, straight from the mouth of a newly qualified person…right out of the Saul Alinsky textbook.

Go right ahead, CCC and Chris Sinkler, you will further alienate yourselves from the voting public. Do you all not go into the community and hear how the folks are saying that they are sick of the behaviour of you politicians in the House. Go right ahead with the thuggish behaviour, the folks are fed up and are waiting on you all. And then we talk about children acting out the same thuggish, bullying behaviour in our schools. What I am hearing is that people’s minds are made up and they are just waiting for the day.

Go right ahead, CUSS Owen, CUSS Owen, that will seal the fate of the DLP faster. The folks will not be fooled again by the DLP, that’s for sure.

6. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Poor Sis……she like Frater…..nuff hott air….man the DLP in so much hot water FUNDY…gone Rio to unwind….I hear Eager planing to get the plane fly straight to Kampalumpa ( where Sandi went)..and left him to enjoy his vacation good.

7. What are the BLP yardfowls afraid of ? Let Owen Arthur come in the house and sit down and take on Sinckler, if he is able. Right now in budget wrap ups , it is Sinckler 2, Arthur zero- I see a trend developing.
    Yesterday’s man like he running out of gas.

When Arthur was cussing everyone left, right and centre there was no talk about thuggish, bullying behaviour. The BLP seem to think that Bajans are stupid.

8. @Appollo13

when you come to this realisation? You think Barbadians stupid, all Mr. Sinkckler has to do is present the facts, it it meant in a forceful way. I have never seen anyone in the House cussing, the Standing Orders would not allow for that. Thank you and Gog Bless.>

9. If you are a public servant a vote for the BLP could mean that you lose your job.
    In a press report carried on Decemeber 1, 2010 following a BAJ arranged discussion at the Grand Salle , Central Bank, the following was said about Clyde Mascoll’s presentation:

“When pressed to say whether he would send home public servants as a way of cutting spending, the former Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance suggested examining transfers and subsidies to statutory corporations.”

Ladies and gentlemen, 75% of transfers and subsidies is wages and salaries and since you cannot cut salaries, the major way to cut that is to send home people- plain and simple.
    Public servants would have to go home under that scenario which Mascoll suggested. Do not be fooled.

10. !

Mascoll does not know the difference between theory and reality. Plain and simple

11. old onion bags Avatar

Arthur frighten fa wind bag Chris…ShoiteEEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.Even Onions wud mashup goose…..He is bare ole talk…..He is a big barker….and duz hollar hard like a gorillaphant…..That won’t frighten Onions cuz I cud holla hardeR….But ya see OSA…want a somebody….he don’t take on anybody…lol..poor chris….

12. even O C Moore C more than dese polished, eurocentric, colo-minded pollytricians we have in Barbados

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Onions

Facts will be presented, that is all.

They will be very uncomfortable for Seethru, i will grant you that.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

15. old onion bags Avatar

Look Cardboard
    Why you don’t have lessons to do ? OSA just not interest in a spectacle as your friend and confidante is…relax man

16. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    You of all persons should be ashamed of posting nonsense…..why you don’t have anything to do either ? How you could be encouraging Cardboard in puppet-izing himself for laughter ? Both of you want noticing…and I will not be encouraging it…OSA don’t debate….everybody…Did Clay mix it up with every upstart that wanted a fight ? No…. some people got to know their peers….I bid you Ado.

17. Is it not sad when a bunch of political hacks would be looking forward to the theatrics of politics during a budget during one of the worse economic periods in the history of mankind?

18. @enuff

This is what the comments boxes are for. Pick up the points which you feel can be expanded. Let the blog be a learning exercise for godsakes.

19. @David et al.

We all know that the world economic is in a xxxxstorm, the real issue for us to decide, in assessing government policy generally and economic policy is whether we are addressing our priorities in our most effective and efficient manner, including economic, as possible, with what we have.

So, ‘the world is in a mess’, is a fact, but not an excuse. It is a reason for some problems, but not a panacea to criticism.

20. truth is truth no matter where it comes from even if from a drunken man. now onions go deal with it.
    the budget is due on tues no sense in pontificating on matters not seen or heardthe realities would be put forward for the judge and jury to decide on on tues . right now what we are seeing and feeling are the ecomnic realities imposed upon a nation after 14yrs.of high debt which must be repaid come hell or high water before the nation goes into foreclosure and full ownership by the financial instuitions and those we owe.

21. Is it possible for the issues facing the countries to be discussed in a constructive way? To hear rabid partisan to and forth exposes a failing.

22. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac ..
    Budget. ?.what Budget..?…you call that a Budget…..stupeesss in an election year….and Chris can’t even lower the price of TP….shameful indeed.

We paying $5.15 for a cartoon of bajan PHD orange juice…..that selling in st. Lucia for $3.45 (converted)……laughable.

23. dats the nature of the beast. take all things in contxt ! one mans junk is another man treasure !

24. old onion bags Avatar

No wonder the Trinidadians send there Trojans…to JUCK OUT we Bajan eyes..when we got already blind wmen like you …or are u too..a Trinidadian ?

25. The only way to move this country is to up the narrative. To engage in exchanges which are steeped in political mumbo jumbo is doing nothing for Barbados at this time. We are either part of the problem or part of the solution.

Here is a quote from Everton Cumberbatc on FB:

“An election is pending between now and early April, according to Freundel Stuart and the constitution. There will be the usual PR and marketing stuff, but what would really be beneficial to this Country given the economic mess we are in is not more pie in the sky or doom and damnation but constructive dialogue on the way forward. Let us have a series on consultations on various sectors and evaluation of the instruments, funds, facilities, and institutions, and the performance of the personnel in them that we can determine their relevance. Suddenly I am hearing again about EGFL, Fund Access, BIDC and on and on, but all of these have been failing. Why?”

26. old onion bags Avatar

Everton Cumberbatch…….the DLP wanna B candidate…? For how long…?Get real David….wait he got his own blog too ?

27. @Onions

The problem with many of us is that we don’t embrace the message, we stereotype.

28. the way forward would be to pay down high debt down ! stop giving out corporate welfare that this crippling the taxpayer and the country getting verylittle benefit in return.set the nation on a path that is vital to developing industries bearing in mind that the called for local entrepeunership should not only be lip serviced but one that govt involvement should be as rigouous as the call for oversees investment.

29. old onion bags Avatar

Bu David
    You ever see a mongoose raising chickens…..or a ac praising a OSA…somethings are prone to be….so no stereotype.
    Is like asking this DLP Govt not to waste lil money…dat people out there this morning with nothing to give their children….but some set about to spend $63,000.00 per day wearing nice looking threads…..Yes David is like dat !….Yes dear Senator…..starvation is already here in Barbados.

30. Salty sack speak on the statement as below made by no lesser a body than the IDB,The Bank lauded the country’s high education standards, describing it as exemplary for the Latin American and Caribbean region.

According to the Bank, Barbados seeks to improve secondary and post-secondary education with its assistance programme backed which will also help youth develop skills to access jobs.

The release stated, “The Inter-American development Bank (IDB) has approved a $20 million loan to help Barbados improve secondary and post-secondary education and ensure that graduates develop skills needed to either pursue further education or enter the labour market”.
    The Bank lauded the country’s high education standards, describing it as exemplary for the Latin American and Caribbean region. However it acknowledged that the quality of formal education did not always fully translate into employment opportunities.

“An exemplar among Latin American and Caribbean countries, Barbados has achieved universal access to primary and secondary schooling, with high completion and negligible dropout rates and outstanding tertiary level enrolment. However, it still faces challenges in terms of raising the quality of education and preparing its young people for the transition from school to work,” stated the Bank.

31. This same Cumerbatch guy is he not the same that lived sweetly out of the last govt of Owen Arthur and Mottley?

Was it not he who operated a company Email Communications out of a property at The Harbour Road and was untouchable to authorities at BIDC and never contributed a cent in rent for the use of the said property and the locks were placed on the doors to the building after the BLP were thrown out, to this day he still owes the BIDC $ 600,000.00 in outstanding rents.

Is it he that refers to obtaining money from EGFL and BIDC?

Or do I have the wrong person in mind here?

32. @David,

Barbados is divided politically and when you combine that with the fatted calf turning on the spit, the good of the country is secondary to the pursuit of veal.

Government contracts made a lot of people rich and OSABLP inc. are salivating at the opportunity to manage and distribute the “veal”.

While looking for new ideas you should also make what you have already established work better.

The Americans seem to think Canadians have money to spend on travel.

http://www.ctv.ca/CTVNews/TopStories/20120622/US-tourism-campaign-leaves-Canada-nervous-120622/

33. @ David
    “Is it not sad when a bunch of political hacks would be looking forward to the theatrics of politics during a budget during one of the worse economic periods in the history of mankind?”

How true.

“This is what the comments boxes are for. Pick up the points which you feel can be expanded. Let the blog be a learning exercise for godsakes.”

It has become tiring.

34. @enuff

If many in history had been so inclined. What if…

35. old onion bags Avatar

@ Rational boy
    More than one dog name BoB….he to whom I refer….din eatin no Bob Martin Tablets….could’nt be..ee..wrong Bob.

36. It is indeed the same fraud that you embraced in your part the same one who thru party affiliation was excused from paying BIDC their monthly rental. No lesser a thief.

37. old onion bags Avatar

Hey you boi …know your place..Onions don’t lie for nobody…if ya spade I call ya a space ..so you hold that tongue. If you so daff to believe Everton Cumberbatch is only one in bdos..and the one to which I refer… tried to run for the DLP …now writes for the same….is the SAME…suit yourself..

38. Party. You guys perfected the art of theft from the people, no longer is it. For the people under Arthur it was for he and too few for him and his bank account to help settle the divorce with Beverley $ 5 mil later and to provide for the new found gathering of children that are all springing up around the island from far and wide, seems to me that he not only performed as PM at times but he also performed the role of
    Village Ram to many households on this island.

Now that he has aged beyond recognition and now appears a frail shaky old man unable to give of an hours days work he is trying to take in more comfort money for his endowment money plan for Nicholls to put his hands on to pay the support to the Guyanese woman that is his kept woman.

So yes his needs are many not wonder he is eager to write cheques from the people of Barbados to himself and cohorts like himself.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rational Son | June 24, 2012 at 11:42 AM |

Now get this straight, Mr. IRRATIONAL Man, we are NOT interested in your personal attacks on the Right Honourable Mr. Owen Arthur.

Great minds think about ideas. Small minds (like yours) discuss people’s private lives.

If you want to wage a personal vendetta against Owen by all means go ahead but Not on this blog. We are NOT interested in discussing Mr. Arthur’s personal peccadilloes. Bring ideas, constructive criticisms and even partisan political “cussing” but not washing of personal dirty underwear unless of course it is yours on show.

40. @Miller

BU approves your last comment.

41. old onion bags Avatar

@ Rational son
    Your mouth is full of rot. Shakey ole man….tell that to the fellow who fall down …. times at the BDF….You so when you see all is lost thru CLICO theify…seek like true DLP yardfowls to attack…people’s family..Sounds oh so much like Blog 2012 trini..and I would not doubt ..the slime fits.

42. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    High Five ….time dirty slime and grime..cease. Most dirty adversary.

43. Still true if you like it or not it is still a fact of life.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The problem with you all is the fact that Seethru has so much dirty underwear that it is beginning to embarrass you.

You would rather it be kept a dark dirty secret.

But what is done in the dark will be reveal in the light.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Budget day approaches. Be very afraid Seethru!!!

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW DAVID I want you to record everything and put it up on a sidebar for posterity.

If you dare!!!!!

47. Carson C. Cadogan wrote,

“But what is done in the dark will be reveal in the light.”

We waiting for the revelation.

48. A lot of what Austin has posited should have occurred in the last decade. The realignment of the economy etc. Where there is no vision…

if things were as prosperous as you say, why then would it have been necessary to realign the economy and where in a scenario like this would you have started? i always hear if it ain’t broke, do not fix.. it is a fact that the economy was broke when Mr Arthur ook up the mantle in 1994 and he must have done something to contribute to the era of prosperity or plenty which you champion to suit your purposes in this forum ‘tongur in cheek’

49. Budget day approaches. Be very afraid Seeth
    of course, we expect goodies in the budget but let’s awaitthe impact on the disgruntled some of whom are already saying too late shall be your cry but one never knows.

Leave a Reply to robert rossCancel reply