The following was received by email and the name of the emailer withheld for obvious reasons.

Anonymous soldier cries out

I was in the Defence Force for 12 years and was discharged with exemplary conduct.  However on my final interview I was not given a reason for my discharge or why my contract was not renewed . Up to this day I don’t know why I was discharge by Col Alvin Quintyne.

I went to the labour office and they told me they don’t deal with Government cases, next I went to the Ombudsman, he did not even ask a question and I never even heard from him, then I wrote to the Chairman of the Defence Board nothing. Note I have been a patient from 2005 and in my discharge certificate I have been discharged as fit  – is this lawful?

I would like you to tell me if it is lawful for the ministry to issue appointments for several prisons officers and the superintendent of prisons has them for weeks in his office and wont issue them because some of the people on the list who have been working for more than 15yrs do not have any CXC’s?  Have they not been approved by GOV’T for appointment.

He [Nurse] is between a rock and hard place because he would like to issue the appointments to those who have CXC’s but not the ones who don’t  (he has made this known at staff meetings )  – is this LAWFUL?

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon | June 24, 2012 at 8:40 PM |

Things are not that simple in real life.

If so we will be able to “manage” the Mary Jane problem by decriminalizing the trade and allow the local production & distribution to flourish in order to save foreign exchange and contain related criminal activities.
    But then again a whole heap of socially important people- (policemen, lawyers, judicial officers, probation officers, social workers and prison authorities) would not be able to earn a living. The only reason Mary Jane remains an illicit trade is because it’s a very difficult ‘cottage’ business to tax; unlike alcohol and tobacco.

“Simple Simon met a pieman,
    Going to the fair;
    Says Simple Simon to the pieman,
    Let me taste your ware.
    Says the pieman to Simple Simon,
    Show me first your penny;
    Says Simple Simon to the pieman,
    Indeed I have not any.
    Simple Simon went a-fishing,
    For to catch a whale;
    All the water he had got,
    Was in his mother’s pail.
    Simple Simon went to look
    If plums grew on a thistle;
    He pricked his fingers very much,
    Which made poor Simon whistle.”

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Scout

Those same men in police uniforms could do the job. Your argument is not convincing.

3. Colonel Buggy Avatar

ac | June 24, 2012 at 8:36 PM |
    http://www.coha.org/costa-rica-an-army-less-nation-in-a-problem-prone-region/
    —————————————————————-
    Less we forget that during World War 2, the Gestapo and the SS, among others were classified as policemen, but many in fact were trained and equipped to the level of front line soldiers. The same most likely applies to the Costa Rica police, who for all intents and purposes are Military.
    A rose by any other name would etc etc.

4. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Caswell Franklyn | June 24, 2012 at 9:10 PM |
    Scout

Those same men in police uniforms could do the job. Your argument is not convincing.

———————————————————————————–
    Be careful sir, some may think that you are waging a personal vendata against the BDF.

5. not forgetting the problems inherited by abolishing the army costa rica now faces a crtical drug problem in its efforts in fighting the war against drug therfore seeking assistance at one time for USA military involvement

http://www.coha.org/costa-rica-an-army-less-nation-in-a-problem-prone-region/

6. Buggy wah I tell you … HA HA HA

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Colonel Buggery

People always resort to irrelevancies to try to silence me. I have no personal vendettas. I am merely suggesting that everything that is being done by the BDF can be accomplished by the RBPF with the necessary training and equipment. Maybe your head was too far up yours to realise that the BDF is almost always deployed to do police duties.

Strengthen the police force, give them the training and equipment to allow them to perform the residual role that the BDFplays and you can eliminate one of the command structures and save millions. Remember, we only had a defence force from 1978 and the police was responsible for everything.

8. Colonel Buggy -Blimp Avatar
    Colonel Buggy -Blimp

Caswell Franklyn | June 24, 2012 at 11:34 PM |
    Colonel Buggery

Remember, we only had a defence force from 1978 and the police was responsible for everything.
    ……………………………………………………………….
    And we all remembered what happened on the night of December 1st, or 2nd , 1966, and who had to intervene to restore some semblance of order. Less we forget.

9. Wait Buggy wah it is dat you talkin’ ’bout …?

10. I do what I like,when I like,and willing to accept all consequences for my actions.This was, is. and will always be my code of conduct,and as such am willing to attach my signature to anything that I say,publish or do. Let me here say that I HATE COWARDS,and I think that its a cowardly act to hide behind anonymity. Yet at the same time ,calling out other persons name. I am of the old school,and am still of the opinion that our battles should not be fought in the media;electronic or otherwise.Patience is still a virtue,things don’t happen overnight,and as my grandmother always said,”If greedy wait,Hot would cool”. Most of you who now shout must recall that when you first joined and signed the dotted line,for membership in the B.D.F ,did so without pressure,and of the knowledge that it was a non pensionable post,,over the years ,this mistake was corrected ,and today most of you are better off for it. Brothers,This too will pass.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miche

What you are saying is not necessarily accurate. From inception, and I can speak from inception because I was there, it was always intended that the BDF would provide pensions. All the permanent staff of the Regiment were pensionable but since the soldiers in the new entity would have been working under different conditions, they decided to have different arrangements. Unfortunately, they took too long to work out a reasonable pension scheme.

12. Caswell, I must ask you to define “not necessarily accurate” It is either correct or In-correct in my book…no room for Grey,,Black or white.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Miche

I am sorry that I was not clear. I was trying to point out to you that even though what you said about the pension was technically correct because there was no pension law in place: from the inception of the BDF soldiers were promised a pension. The promise was made at the highest level and even in Force Orders so the soldiers could reasonably rely on the promise.

14. Colonel Buggy Avatar

BAFBFP | June 25, 2012 at 11:44 PM |
    Wait Buggy wah it is dat you talkin’ ’bout …?
    ……………………………………………………….
    Something that we have swept under the carpet. Starting off as an independent country with a disturbance /riot on day #2.,where the 2 Day PM had to call out the BR.

15. What happened Colonel Buggy, did someone threaten to pee in the fountain?

16. equal rights and justice Avatar
    equal rights and justice

@ miche Let me tell u something,first and foremost what u think is ur business,de reason u feel battles should not be fought in the media is because wunna does walk about looking proud in wunna uniform and on parades showing face making ppl feel all is well behaving like whiten sepulchres but on de inside is dead man bones.talking bout ole school but ole school is wha got de ppl place so. ppl in Barbados don’t even know de shite that does go on in dey but ppl like u would like to keep it so and de real coward is ppl like u that would sit on ur ass and say nothing and watch ah chief of staff discharge soldiers and cant even look them in da face and be BRAVE enough to tell them why their services are no longer required.

17. Equal rights etc,etc. Getting up on your high horse cannot knock me down…it seems to me that , you were elected to say whose business is theirs and whose is not..,is not what you think your business as well…. You talk like an outsider, “WUNNA”,then to make it worse,you go on a tantrum ,and show your lack of the ability to communicate without the expletives;,,You call others cowards, when in-fact cowards always allow the media to fight their battles rather than come out and show that they are brave enough to stand firmly behind their WORDS. They have chosen names like John Smith, Anonymous,When in fact the name that they know themselves to be is Scare crow.or Judas COWARD..(Judas because of the ability to betray,and Coward because,.well that needs no explanation.. The only difference between you and the KKK was that they used a visible mask–

18. equal rights and justice Avatar
    equal rights and justice

@ miche in this time of the NEW WORLD ORDER the shepherds must be wise for the devil our enemy walks as ah man but is ah roaring dragon seeking to whom he will devour

19. Let me here say that If any one had reason too be angry at certain decisions made by military top brass, I would be claiming that #1 spot,But I am not ,because have moved on,
    Anger is a healthy emotion ,given to us by our creator.In bestowing it upon us,he did so with an operation guideline booklet,in which he instructed us “Be angry,but sin not”.,Anger is a destroyer of those who cannot bring it under control,and I guess that some of you ppl may have reason to be angry,then they are those who are motivated by “Political reasons”(You know who I mean)but the place to vent your anger is not in the social medias,and I do agree with you when you stated that the devil is a destroyer,he would use anyone who gives him that opportunity ,so don’t fall prey to his bidding,let dialogue be done over desk,and not in the medias, We have all made that pledge to Uphold and Defend, The organisation that is now being blasted by some even took this a little further,for not only will they Uphold and defend,but they will do so with Excellence,,Even though we may not be functioning members, let us continue to waive the excellence flag,,,you were a part of a solid foundation,one without cracks,, Why drill holes in it now.

20. Colonel Buggy,,A few questions for U,
    (1)How long did it take before you knew that all that is done by the BDF ,could be done by the police,,
    ( 2) Is it really true that soldiers are trained to kill,,,Why then is it the Defence force and not the killing force..Maybe it is true that you were trained to DEFEND,,but in doing so, someone may,be killed.

21. Colonel Buggy,,A few questions for U,
    (1)How long did it take before you knew that all that is done by the BDF ,could be done by the police,,
    ( 2) Is it really true that soldiers are trained to kill,,,Why then is it the Defence force and not the killing force..Maybe it is true that you were trained to DEFEND,,but in doing so, someone may,be killed.
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    miche. I would suggest that you re-read my posts , as well as those written by others, directed to/at me.

Leave a Reply to To the pointCancel reply