Dick Hoad being forced out of business by a government project – Photo credit: Nation

Dick Hoad has become an institution in Barbados and is greatly admired by many including the BU household. His literary interventions which many look forward to reading on Fridays supported by his entrepreneurial capability manifested on the The Hoad Farm must be encouraged. One would have imagined a progressive government should promote The Hoad Form as a model to be replicated across Barbados. To the consternation of many this Sunday morning the plight of the Hoads caused by government action has created ‘another’ controversy. BU thank family member Crusoe for highlighting this issue in on another blog.

Talking about financial issues and production issues, the story of the Hoad Dairy Farm in today’s Nation should be given full exposure. This is a serious issue, we ask people to be entrepreneurs, to develop PRODUCTIVE industry and not just import, wholesale, retail. This approach is critical to our survival. Here we have a couple who have done just that, now a government body is destroying their business by competing directly. Is that right?

Remember my words from the other blog thread on heritage…Lotta Long Talk, about entrepreneurship etc. Yet, a couple who have done it successfully and should be an example to others on how to do it, are put to the task, but the same government that is advocating entrepreneurship!?!

What I would want from the Minister of Finance is a cost analysis and revenue statements for the Greenland milk producing farm, audited by the Auditor General. That would show if Government is actually making money (said from the moral view), or losing money to compete with a private manufacturer.

What is the betting that after the Hoads are out of business, the Government business would be ‘sold’ to a ‘private entity’. Maybe even a Trini one!!! And some argue this country is just and fair?

This is the same issue that the CBC, whichever Government is in, has the current administrations best buddy as the head i.e. Government s interference in public information and in competing with private entities.

…here is one further irony, a doozer. With all the talk of Common Entrance and Scholarships etc., how important ‘academics ‘is, I believe that one or both of the Hoads are former Barbados Exhibition winners. They have used brains and hard work to develop an industry. Now this!

Then further, they also (pretty sure about Mr., think Mrs. studied at UWI!
They are the proverbial EXAMPLE of home grown success. Now this! Irony in yuh face!

And PROOF of my claim, that we have become a country of form over substance. In three or four years, we will see a picture of a skinteet Minister, handing over the keys of the Government Greenland Goat Milk farm, to some private entity, maybe Trini, claiming how well Barbados and Government has done in developing a goat milk industry and had managed to sell it for a tidy sum. At which point the price of the no competition XYZ milk from XYZ milk farm, former Government farm, will double. Peuk!

This is just how things are here now. Whereto Barbados?

181 responses to “The Hoad Dairy Farm Issue”

1. The Ministry of Agriculture under whichever government continues to cause shock, horror and dismay! My heart goes out to the Hoads who I happen to know work so hard to eek out a living on the land…like so many others in anything to do with agriculture. The essence of life is in the hands of farmers and every step forward that they take to feed us the people, is a step backwards through the ‘igrunt’ actions of a Ministry that appears to lack in intelligence and common sense.

It makes no sense to give any advice as to how the Ministry of Agriculture should run their operation. It does not take a rocket scientist to understand how it should work. And if those members of government put there by the people to ensure that agriculture continues to exist for the good of the country do not understand one iota about their role and cannot be bothered to learn by simply sitting on their computers and accessing all the information available for free on such doings, I would suggest that the Ministry of Agriculture be made redundant and a Ministry of Concrete be put in place to study how we can improve the health and well-being of this island by providing same for the daily consumption of its people!!

We have huge import food bills from the U.S. alone where the FDA approves any and everything as long as food production is up and 2nd grade ‘pesticidal’ and chemically altered foods can be exported to us dumb-arsed people. We have an island whose soil has been severely compromised by pesticides through the years and, therefore, our water/reefs et al. Add to that the continued use of growth hormones, antibiotics and I am told (cannot prove this yet although others have said they have) steroids in our feeds. And just for good measure place the push for Monsanto’s Round Up and other delicious chemicals together with the new and improved GMO seeds as top of the list – all being allowed into the country, approved and encouraged by the Ministry (that is the part that I don’t get), sometimes used in excessive amounts under the nose of same, and we have a rock of death before us. I am not even a trained University Health nor Food Consultant but it does not take much brain to add 2 + 2. Ooops! What did I say?? Obviously it does… ’cause our UWI and other well-educated geniuses don’t seem to be able to do it…so perhaps the problem lies within a brain mass that has been also compromised by the lack of proper nutrition.SO ROCK OF DEATH IT CONTINUES TO BE.

But what can I say…politicians obviously love funerals for the captive crowd they can try to influence with rhetoric. Funeral homes are at least raking in the dough digging the land albeit to bury our children. At least we can say they care for the soil although watching an unceremonious lot of grave-diggers the other day at yet another funeral caused by death-by-bad-food throw huge rocks on to the coffin of a loved one, the thumping noise causing family members and friends to cringe at every blow, brings the thought that we have become a lot of ungracious and deliberately foolish people….must be the food we eat and the UHT-that-is-not-UHT-but-can-last-90-days-on-a-counter-while-we-accepted-it-as-fresh-milk!!! What a laugh we have become.

But back to the Hoads. Yes! If the Minister of Agriculture who mouthed off his disgust with his own Ministry but who continues to be paid to be a Minister (that resignation not forthcoming although his Ministry continues to pale in action) would only consider the obvious. Taking into consideration that no ‘private-type’ enterprise that I know of run by governments in this country has been absolutely successful…(oh! at the start yes…one only has to look at St. Andrew’s Agricultural Station over the years…beautifully kept only to reach almost ruination today, fruits lying on the ground rotting so its only a matter of time before the same happens to the government goat farm)…talk to the Hoads, perhaps sell them this goat farming/milking operation for a $1…protect their work in every which they can and knowing the Hoads, their love of country and of its people, they will make a success of their farm by increasing production, lowering the price of the milk, feeding the schools same, providing supermarkets also, with the added attraction of giving healthy goat milk the opportunity to also be made into all manner of delicious cheeses. Either that or sell the dyamned milk at the same price as the Hoads instead of ruining the best raas goat farm on the island. There is a simple solution to every problem…but as i said…it takes brain to figure it all out.

2. “Agree there is a role for the MP of St.Andrew George Payne to play here”
    now you are making me laugh. what role? should he set up a george payne save the hoads goat milk scholarship fund? are there any other farmers experiencing agricultural difficulties in st andrew who might also need assistance? judging from the circumstances, it would seem to make good business sense to get out of goat milk production business rather than continue to absorb losses.

3. @balance

You scoff but he has a role even if it is to agitate, lobby, protest through the callin programs, FB, letters etc. It is his role (jon description) as a member of parliament which many of our MPs have usurped!

4. As always we define every issue to a political denominator. In this case balance let us bite our lip. What you have written is there for all to read.

On 18 June 2012 08:37, David wrote: > @balance > > You scoff but he has a role even if it is to agitate, lobby, protest > through the callin programs, FB, letters etc. It is his role (jon > description) as a member of parliament which many of our MPs have > usurped! >

5. Isn’t it a possibility that mr hoad might be selling his milk too high? what evidence is there for the bloggers to impute that greenland is undercutting?

6. @balance

The issue here is not whether Lowdown is selling his milk too high. It is whether the government should be competing with him given that it is a developmental project and Hoad collaborated with government to assist.

Also bear in mind it is a niche product.
    Also bear in mind the government is promoting entrepreneurism.

Wonder what Minister Kellman has to say about this injustice.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This matter is not as simple as you might think. When this project was first conceived (most likely by a civil servant with an over abundance of paper qualifications in agriculture and not much else) it would normally have been sent to the Chief Agricultural Officer who would have approved the concept. He in turn would have forwarded it to the Minister through the Permanent Secretary. The PS would advise the Minister on the pros and cons of the project. If the Minister agreed, he would have the PS prepare a cabinet paper for presentation to the Cabinet at their weekly meetings. The paper would invite the Cabinet to concur and only then would the project be allowed to see the light of day.

This is not a civil service mistake. The entire Cabinet would have actively participated in a decision to destroy Richard Hoad, Wendy is just collateral damage.

If I were Hoad, I would not give up without a fight, I would make out a case against the Government to the Fair Trading Commission. Mind you, he would have to be in it for the long haul because he would more likely than not have to take the FTC to court for taking irrelevant considerations into account while rendering their decision.

8. The irony is palpable.
    The Government competes unfairly against the Hoads, undercutting their price for goats’ milk, driving them out of business, using taxpayers’ money. You can charge what you like for your milk, but this is what we charging. We don’t care if we making a profit or not…and the righteous indignation rains down. Government should be encouraging these people and helping these entrepreneurs to develop, not competing against them, the people say. After all, the country needs entrepreneurs, the people say. The Government should stop competing unfairly against the hardworking Hoads, the people say. The Government should sell the Hoads the Greenland farm for $1, the people say.

The Government started Gems, using taxpayers’ money and competed unfairly against small south coast hotels, undercutting their prices and driving many out of business. You can charge what you like for your rooms, but this is what we charging. We don’t care if we making a profit or not. Shame! the people cry. The Government should sell the Gems hotels to private enterprise, the people cry, even offer incentives to potential investors. Millions and unknown millions of dollars of taxpayers’ money later, Gems is a failure, but the closed hotels are still closed. Shame! the people cry.

But where is the voice of the people when for the past thirty years, the Government has been doing the same thing to private owners of Public Service Vehicles. But the assault on PSV owners has one major difference. This is what we charging whether we making a profit or not. In fact we losing $50million a year but we don’t care. It is only taxpayers’ money. But we ain’t letting you charge any higher either. You have to suck salt…just like the taxpayers, the south coast hotels and the Hoads. We really don’t like entrepreneurs at all. Don’t mind all the political talk.

The Hoads don’t have a means of responding to the Government unfairness.

The south coast hotels didn’t have a means of responding to the Government unfairness.

The PSV’s are fighting for their survival, but the tactics available to them do not meet the approval of the people. Shame! they cry. It seems PSV operators are neither entrepreneurs, nor hardworking, nor deserving of the same consideration as those others. Oh well.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am prepared to make a small contribution if the Hoads decide to fight this as I have an interest in seeing that they stay in business.

To Mrs. Hoad: I am the fellow who would normally wait for you on Fridays at Super Centre (Sunset Crest).

Some people take Viagra: I use goat’s milk instead for the same benefit plus I understand that it is good for you otherwise, more like a happy side effect.

10. old onion bags Avatar

Why if this Govt did not find another petard to blow yet another hole in the quickly sinking HMSS DLP…..why this now set fire to the good Sen. Irene dreams..and got the Hoad and Cattlewash people vex vex and gine vote for Owen…..these is votes DEM throwin way..

11. Balance the problem with your contention is that the Hoad’s niche market was prepared to pay the price that was on offer. This would have to be an optimum price which would have been attained from experience. If it were possible to sell the milk at a cheaper price, and there was an increase in demand which could be facilitated with the plant’s ability to provide for that increased demand or the Hoads ability to cough up the capital required to increase the capability of their plant, well then you would have an issue to pursue. But the price on offer and the demand for the product at the price that was offer was enough to keep two productive people alive and prospering.

12. Ooow Cas’, Goats milk does do that to you nah … And you gun bring that to the public …? Shame on you … But I don’ like receiving Cas, I is a giver … So watch out … HA HA HA

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | June 18, 2012 at 8:45 AM |

Well argued, Caswell!
    Only the Cabinet can give the go-ahead for such a project. This is a political decision taken at the highest level not by the brazen myopic incompetence by some technocrat weighed down by suspect paper qualifications.

Now we see the true position of this government regarding “Entrepreneurship & Self-employment”.

A pseudo VIP who wants to be the people’s representative for the same area- and who had a lot to say regarding the bad treatment of our senior citizens- should come to this forum and explain her government’s position on the “Hoad Goat Milk Fiasco”. If not we will have to change her name from “Peace Sandiford ” to “Arrognorant Coward”.

Blunder, blunder, blunder after blunder! The people can’t take this incompetence any more.

14. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

@Crusoe and the other “Hoadinites”: Look it this way like Smooth Chocolate said now poor people can afford to buy the milk. To the Hoads if your prices are no longer competitive then make them competitive. If your milk is better than the Government’s then you will get the sale eventually the Government will have to shut shop but your little niche market will be there to pick up the slack. Cut your losses for a while, bear it, try to provide a better milk bring your prices maybe a cent below Governments and I am sure slowly but surely the demand for your milk will outstrip supply, just do not give up yet

15. “The issue here is not whether Lowdown is selling his milk too high. It is whether the government should be competing with him given that it is a developmental project and Hoad collaborated with government to assist.

Also bear in mind it is a niche product.
    Also bear in mind the government is promoting entrepreneurism.

Wonder what Minister Kellman has to say about this injustice.”

Isn’t competition a healthy thing?whither REDJET.
    isn’t competion one of the tools we clamour for to provide the customer with options and regulate market speculation? how do we know for sure that Mr Hoad is not price gouging?
    because the govt is supposed to be promoting entrpreneurism, should the govt give entrepreneurs a monopoly in market which enables them to sell their goods at a disadvantage to the customer?
    yes, the govt is promoting entrepreneurisn but the govt also promised to reduce the cost of living.
    greenland milk cheaper and good quality too; greenland all the way’
    the only injustice pertaining to the name greenland is the colossal waste of money in building the dump but the way mr kellman runs his enterprise, i know he would go for the less costly goat milk too.

16. @balance

Do you appreciate the government can take up tax dollars and compete with anyone in the market? Government is there to facilitate not compete with citizen business. What business/pricing model is the government using? Crusoe is correct let us send in the Auditor General.

17. A pseudo VIP who wants to be the people’s representative for the same area- and who had a lot to say regarding the bad treatment of our senior citizens- should come to this forum and explain her government’s position on the “Hoad Goat Milk Fiasco”. If not we will have to change her name from “Peace Sandiford ” to “Arrognorant Coward”.’

Why should she be asked to swing her cudgel in favour of an individual whose milk costs more than the Govt’s. and when the public is crying out against the govt for the high cost of living. it doesn.t make sense to me. can’t believe in these supposedly hard times that contributors on this forum could be actually supporting a case for high prices. then again, wonders never cease. i wonder how many workers does mr hoad employ.
    the auditor general’s only interest would be to ensure that there are proper systems and procedures in place in accordance with the financial rules to ensure that all revenue due to govt from the sale of milk is collected and brought to account. the auditor general cannot criticise the formulation of govt policyonly the execution and usually when it is disadvantageous to the govt and by extension the public.

18. @caswelll

i wonder how many buckets of goat milk you have to drink before you get “Full staff” if i was the hoads i would not take you up on that offer because i might have to give you a full herd of goat to compensate for the viagra.

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

Just a warm cup at night before I go to sleep.

Balance

I can’t believe that you are serious. Government should not be taking our tax dollars to compete with the Hoads or anyone else. You well know that Government price did not take into account the cost of producing the product: all they would have done is to make sure that they were selling below Hoad’s price. How do you expect him to compete? I don’ t think that he has a treasury, or in the event of any shortfall, he can’t go to the House for a supplementary.

What they are doing to Hoad is unfair, almost criminal!

20. i agree with balance ! competion is good it gives balance to a free market place and it also help to stabilise prices whereas a monoploy enterprise can take full control and owership of the market place. the govt has taken the right step in favour of the consumer however i wish it was a private investor taking this step

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

The political scales are on your eyes, so I am not surprised that you can’t see how wrong this is. Your defence of the DLP Government is doing them more harm than good. If you were really a friend of the DLP you would tell them the truth. It is people like you that is giving comfort to the Government, misleading them into thinking that they are doing a good job. You are massaging their egos when a swift kick in their behinds would be the appropriate treatment. Lulling them into a false sense of security is only helping Owen Arthur.

For God sake tell them the truth.

22. @Inkwell

But where is the voice of the people when for the past thirty years, the Government has been doing the same thing to private owners of Public Service Vehicles

It seems that you got carried away when you wrote the above, not sure why you would lump Public Transportation in with the other Industries. Are you arguing that the Gov’t should raise the Transport Board fares or that the PSV operators should be allowed to raise their fares?

23. @ CASWELL

stop it! !Stop it!you attacking my position from a political stance is ridiculous .Look we wouldn’t be having this argument if a private company had become Hoads competitor with ridiculously low prices. or would we. which in any event it would be all for. so don’t give me that political hogwash about govt. and my beliefs all i believe is if it helps the consumer i am all for it . .

24. @balance & ac

Do you understand the cost of capital and what is different here? The Hoads are used personal funds or borrowing from a bank. The government is taking up taxpayers funds without having to worry about cost of funds. Also bear in mind Hoad shared his pricing methodology with government in good faith. It is unethical and a flawed strategy being exhibited by government.

Any way you are both entitled to your view.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

You are right that we would not be having this debate if a private company became Hoad’s competitor and offered ridiculously low prices. But could you tell me why the Government only chose to compete with Hoad who is only supplying one food item, and they did not choose to compete with other food suppliers and bring down the cost of living as they promised four years ago. Or is this Government’s way of fulfilling that election promise?

26. Caswell Franklyn | June 19, 2012 at 12:56 AM |

That is well said and the crux of the matter. I am astounded that people are defending the production on a cost of living basis.

Can gvoernment then set up a food import co-op so that I can buy subsidised groceries?

And THAT is where price gouging takes place i.e the import shops where the retail price of an item jumps buy a dollar every few weeks “(and a dollar aint VAT, not on a four dollar item.)

Astounding., truly at a loss here. But as I said, Hoad could say bugger it and start selling China jeans and T shirts.

Maybe now I am seeing why so many businessmen dont even bother to produce, that along with BAFBFP’s experience re the other blog.

Much eaisier to import and retail.

27. suppose it was a private sector entity selling goat milk at a lower price than the hoads, would it be alright? the hoads have enjoyed a monopoly on the sale of goat milk for years even though goat milk was produced and sold at greenland since the seventies.

28. “it is unethical ” on what conclusion did you form such a pompous conclusion.

29. @ac

You are not reading the several positions posted. It has already been explained several time that this and any government can use government funds derived from taxes to do anything. On the other hand a private person or entity must use funds which are acquired at a cost in the open market.

Here is a simple example. Suppose the government Polyclinics were to equip itself to deliver ALL medical services in Barbados at a considerably lesser price to doctors? You can substitute any product or service currently sold.

By the way because others differ with you it does not mean it is a pompous position. You so love to toss about labels.

30. David,

Well here you have it! The sum total of Government’s cost of living solution, despite the risen road taxes,VAT (the only one I agree with), fees on other areas etc…..

We all must drink goat milk at Government’s subsidised cost!

What genius, what astounding brilliance, solve the cost of living and health crisis in one swoop!

Except that if Caswell Franklyn is to be believed, we will also have to subisidise the price of condoms to go with the increased goat milk consumption!

31. A couple of points here. Firstly, to those keen on scoring political points, this practice of producing milk at Greenland which undercuts the Hoads’ milk has been going on for years. Secondly, the Greenland operation was set up as EXPERIMENTAL, with the object of developing an industry that could be adopted by those private persons interested. So when Caswell’s expertly explained process of this project passing through the Ministry was happening, its approval would be based on that premise, NOT on the premise of competing with the Hoads. That came later, and judging by the disingenuous remarks of the Ministry’s spokesman, it would appear that not a little spite and malice was involved.

32. Thanks Peltdownman

Perhaps the ministry to be consistent should embrace Vincent Layne’s project of supplying mutton(blackbelly variety) hamburgers to the fast food stores? Now there is a worthy initiative with economic and health considerations.

33. I have thought and thought about this one and the arguments seem balanced on both sides.. The Hoads have a ‘model’ farm but it’s milk is expensive as compared with the government source. The government source is an ‘experimental’ one but they must do something with the milk – so they sell it off cheaply. The consumer is said to benefit in lower prices. Meanwhile government continues to experiment by cross breeding goats more suited to tropical rather than temperate climes – but, of course, have taxpayers’ dollars to do this and so in that sense their milk is subsidized. For our part, we are naturally sympathetic to the Hoad Farm – which represents the kind of entrpreneurial activity we wish to see encouraged and nurtured. There’s probably an element of nostalgia about this – but the response is genuine and heartfelt.nevertheless.

In a way , it’s a parody of life. There comes a time when all of us have to face some challenge to the way we have traditioally seen things and ourselves. It might be retirement, or a betrayal, or the discovery of something about our sexuality – so many things. They force us to confront ourselves, who who are, and challenge us to adapt. I have always wanted a goat yet could only ever run to sheep – though I gave them Wagnerian names and they were a rare breed. Understand my sympathy for the Hoads then. They must love their animals and everything they’ve built up. But now, they have a life crisis and have to confront it. Being entrepreneurs, I’m sure they’ll find a way and so create something in the ashes of their hopes.

I am sure the BU family will do all it can to support – and not just mouthe. BAF – what about car stickers? ‘You don’t need Viagra; Goats have the answer’. I’d put one on my car. How about ‘adopt a goat’ linked to school parties visiting. Children naturally love animals. What of ‘Afternoon tea (for visitors) with the goats’, or producing goat wool ties and scarves and yoghurt (very expensive in my favourite place). British Leyland never outrun Rolls Royce and Bentley. US and Canadian honey can never be better than US in a cheap plastic pot. I’m sure there are lots of things that might be done. When I go to the supermarket today I’ll look for the Hoad’s milk and if it’s not there, I’ll ask them to keep it.

I sincerely hope that the Hoad’s will rise to the challenge in their own way and I hope we will not forget them either.

34. Sargeant,

I link the PSV problem with the GEMS and Hoad situations because they are inherently similar. The principle is the same…Government using taxpayer money to compete unfairly with private enterprise and in the PSV case compounding the injustice by legally setting the price for the service below what it KNOWS (think $50 million per annum subsidy to the Transport Board) to be the economic cost. I should have thought the comparison was obvious.

Of course the PSV problem has further social ramifications which if you are interested you can read in previous submissions:
    here:

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/an-in-depth-and-riveting-analysis-of-the-public-service-vehicle-sector-psv-in-barbados/

and here:

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/07/20/the-psv-sector-the-transport-board-and-the-fiscal-deficit/#comment-175514

where solutions other than the either/or choice you suggest are ventilated. All that is needed is a commitment to fair play.

But it seems that principle in the PSV owners’ case is subordinate to other considerations.

35. Richard Hoad….goat cheese please…and loads of it. Some infused with Bajan rum, golden apple, tamarind, mango, carambola off the ground of the St. Andrew’s Agricultural whatever that is… even those Bajan designer fruits like gooseberries, fat pork etc. the latter grow wild in St.Andrew. Make a roll of goat cheese and encrust with Bajan dried peppers. I will help ya. True. Nyam Jamaica my book tells the story of Joanna Bulova in the hills of Portland who began with a small goat cheese operation…today Joanna sells all manner of wonderful goat cheese infused with various local organic fruits and sometimes alcohol to gourmet shops and restaurants! Go for it. And doan give your secrets out every again. I could have told ya dat little suss!!

36. David,

I am trying to post a response to Sargeant’s post above. The first time it dropped out completely and they when I retyped, I get “error…you’ve already said that”, but the post doesn’t appear. What else can I do?

37. So there we are…..ideas…great

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ robert ross | June 19, 2012 at 8:25 AM |
    “The government source is an ‘experimental’ one but they must do something with the milk – so they sell it off cheaply.”

If this is the case then why not sell it to the Prison or School Meals Department?

The Ministry’s R&D resources should also be focused on the expansion of local lamb production (black belly sheep). Currently we import a lot of very fatty lamb which in most cases have been slaughtered 6 to 12 months prior to distribution in Barbados. Under decent circumstances these old carcasses would be sold to zoos or used in the production of processed food for carnivorous animals. One can imagine the amount of chemicals and preservatives used to keep the carcasses “mummified” before use. There are serious health implications for Bajans who consume this possible carcinogenic source of protein and bad cholesterol.
    Can’t we have the technocrats and politicians focus their energies and resources at this time on the sugar industry? Right now the industry in is intensive care and if nothing drastic is done within the next 6 months it could be closed down by next year.

39. @ Miller

Nice to see you. Have missed you.

But yes, you’re right. Why not?

40. And schoolchildren especially since it’s beneficial for eczema.

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Robert Ross

Since everyone is making suggestions to the Hoads, let me balance it by offering some suggestions to Government as it appears that they have nothing to do than to compete with a small WHITE man.

1. Most of the plantations in St. Thomas that use to grow cane and food crops are now idle with tall bush which provides excellent opportunities for marijuana growers. Why not find a way to return those lands to production rather than compete with Hoad. If they produce food you could then give the School Meals Department more supplies rather than feed the children dumplings and gravy.

2. Fix the roads with the excess VAT that was collected according to Mr. Sinckler.

3. Deal within CLICO.

4. Deal with the Alexandra issue.

5. Deal with the Marina Project.

6. Produce Hansard in under four years of the actual debate.

7. Repay the tax on travelling allowance that is being illegally deducted from Court Marshals.

8. Provide protective equipment for workers of then Drainage Division, so far three young men have died mysteriously within the last year who were working exposed to all hazards.

9. The tourist industry is in the ICU: do something about that.

I could go on but you get the picture, there are lots of things for Government to do than provide competition in the goats’ milk business. Let them get up off their ever expanding backside and be innovative and do not get in the business of developing what has already been developed.

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Yes right, feed it to the prisoners like we want more horny prisoners up at Dodds.

43. @ Caswell

The viagra point did occur to me – which is why I focussed on children….mind I suppose that could led to problems too.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | June 19, 2012 at 9:49 AM |
    Then sell it to the hospitals, especially the geriatric to raise some of the dead among the male inmates (LOL!!).

45. But be careful Caswell….I said in effect ‘the Hoads must seek their own salvation’…that others offer suggestions is no more than evidence of their respect and regard….and from those random ideas who knows – something may ‘click’. The things government can do I agree go without saying. But that doesn’t help the Hoads much, does it?

46. @Inkwell

Your comment went to spam now retrieved.

47. if the govt had signed a contractual agreement with the hoads preventing them from formulating ! Producing ! marketing or distributing a product of one or similiar nature that would be enough reason for concern regarding ethical behaviour or bad judgement by the government. as it is the hoads monoply on the market has only allowed the few that could afford to buy their product so the ones that would be buying from the government most probably are those who might have never or bought on a very small scale from the hoads.this is a free market and in the end what have happened might be good for the hoads bearing in mind that if their product is of a better standard and their price range is slightly higher than the government most of the public would opt for the better product.the hoads would survive.

48. @ac

It makes no sense to have a jaundice view of this matter. Prediction, the government will have to yet again pull back from this matter because of poor decision making.

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

AC

Your comments show how really dangerous politics and party political indoctrination can be. You can’t possibly believe the nonsense you are writing. You feel obligated to defend your party’s position no matter how indefensible. Sometimes it is better to admit a mistake and take steps to correct it rather than remain adamant despite the evidence against you.

50. caswell you keep injecting the political side but if this was the another administration i would be saying the same thing . in a free and open market place no one should be a monopoly . if the government chooses to venture into the market as a competitor to help the small guy why notgranting that the avenues by which they use are not illegal or does not infringe on any ones rights and from my perspective the govt has not been accused of doing no one has a right to a monopoly as the hoads has had for all these years people do have a right to buy from whomever they so chose and pleased to do so and that also includes buying from the Hoads the majority interest supersedes any one entity

Leave a Reply to robert rossCancel reply