The following was posted as a comment on the CLICO – A Rape Victim But Who Are The RAPISTS? blog. BU believes the submission captures many of the issues which will be distilled on political platforms in the upcoming general elections.

Owen Arthur, Leader of the opposition (l) Fruendel Stuart, Prime Minister (r)

Current Opposition Leader Owen Arthur says that the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government has a moral obligation to fix the CLICO mess.  Arthur and the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) perhaps have forgotten that the Barbados Water Author (BWA), a government owned corporation and sole provider of water services  in 2009 was near bankruptcy. David Thompson and the DLP inherited the BWA problem from Arthur and the BLP.  Arthur and the BLP were morally responsible for BWA problems totalling thirteen years.  BWA problems FIRST appeared during the ruling of Arthur and the BLP, also Al Barrack.

The Al Barrack mess FIRST appeared during the ruling of Arthur and the BLP.  The court ruled in favour of Al Barrack, a little less than thirty five million, $34,490.518 to be exact. Barrack in 2008 received 2.5 million from the David Thompson administration. Al Barrack, since 2008 has not received payment from the Barbados government in any form or fashion.  Building Contractor, Al Barrack built the government office complex in Warrens (St. Michael) but yet unpaid.  The total amount NOW owed Al Barrack is far above 34, 490, 518.  The Barbados national debt also is far above the 34,490,518 amount.

Just recently, Arthur reported to Midweek Nation that “the REDjet Airlines might still be flying if the Barbados Government had honoured its financial commitment to the collapsed airline”.  Well Mr. Arthur, if the government during your rein had honoured its financial commitment to Contractor Al Barrack, Barbados  NOW would not owe him seventy five million.

Owen Arthur would like us to forget the  $75,000 cheque that was directed into her personal banking account NOT the war chest of the BLP for electioneering where it rightfully belonged.  The BLP in 2008 lost power to its twin party, the DLP because of corruption.  The late David Thompson was able to prove this.  It was he David Thompson who produced the $75,000 cheque linked to Owen Arthur’s personal banking account.  The DLP house, of course is not clean.  The CLICO mess proves this.

The BLP house also was not/is not clean.  The $75,000 cheque proves this, likewise the Arch Cot Scrub land linked to Mia Mottley, the now opposition leader of the DLP.  The Mottley family brought the Arch Cot Scrub land and couldn’t be built on and within six months got planning permission when the previous owner couldn’t.

Barbados according to the United Nations has lots of thefts but relatively less violence than Jamaica and other Caribbean countries.  This perhaps is memory of the 75,000 check linked to Arthur’s personal banking account, the Arch Cot Scrub land linked to Mia Mottley and now the CLICO insurance mess.  A lot of things have surfaced before and since 2008.  Both the BLP and the DLP are equally corrupt. Both are vampire identical twins.

Bajans on January 16, 2008 awoke to a new ruling government, the DLP.  The DLP, however made promises that were not kept.  The DLP, additionally enjoyed a relationship with LeRoy Parris that was not squeaky clean.  The DLP now in a hospital intensive care unit has seriously wounded itself with THAT DAMM CLICO MESS.  If David Thompson were alive, it would be in his face.  Thompson put the 75,000 cheque in Owen’s face.  He did.  The BLP left office in 2008 and should have kicked itself in the butt for poor leadership and corruption.  The DLP possibly will depart office, January 2013 and should kick itself in the butt for poor leadership and corruption.  The BLP is a national embarrassment as is the DPL.

Barbados is at moment amidst an economic crisis.  Barbados, additionally has attained high unemployment.  It has also attained quite a large debt that continues to grow.  The Barbados S&P rating currently is BBB- with a negative outlook – not good.  The S&P recently has expressed concern on the growing debt in Barbados and warned another downgrade.  The current opposition leader, Owen Arthur says he believes he has the medicine to cure the Barbados economy problem.  The economy in Barbados is a giant problem. Barbados sad to say has many of those giant problems. Arthur needs medicine to cure all of them:  1). Unemployment the economy 2). It’s growing national debt 3). The Al Barrack mess and another 4). CLICO.

The Barbados S&P rating BEFORE the 2008 general election win by David Thompson and the DLP was continuously sliding down hill.  The S&P had downgraded Barbados several times before the 2008 general election.  The three, Kerrie Symmonds, Clyde Mascoll and Owen Arthur perhaps are not aware of this.  Barbados during the ruling years of Owen Arthur and the BLP got a state of the art prison at Dodds in St. Philip and Kensington Oval west of Bridgetown.  They also got several S&P downgrades.  The DLP in 2008 inherited  a large national debt from Owen Arthur and the BLP.  The BLP possibly will return to office in January 2013 and inherit a larger national debt.

Both vampire twins, the BLP and the DLP have sucked blood from the Bajans; they both want recognition and power; both want the Bajans to trust them AGAIN.

1. That’s why I’ve been saying for a long time, we want a third party of genuine patriotic people to come forward and save this little country. Right now the BLP appears to be the lesser of the two evils, but they are not saviours. This DLP government promised too much enroute to winning the 2008 elections and it is coming back to burn them in their bam bam. Plus they made too many simple mistakes, just not to do what the BLP already had in place. Even though DT is dead, the party still holds him in high regards therefore his part in the Clico saga, must be a blot on the DLP, plus the P.M’s announcement that the man who is accused of being the mastermind behind the Clico matter, along witth the late P.M, is HIS FRIEND.These remarks will come back to haunt the DLP. Don’t forget the bds $ 10 million this DLP gave Clico even though the late DT knew how much money was being siffoned out of the Company by him.

2. o.k scout back up that horse yuh riding BLP yardflows wunna CLico day is coming wunna keep asking for it. wait scout my boy when that horse kick and buck it gonna throw your backside high inthe air full exposure DLP style!

3. David (not BU) Avatar

ac, what day is come? you type and shit appear on the blog. the BLP drop the ball on Clico but who account had the $3.3m? who put $10m in Clico and was moving money out the back door? you going to look to tell me Owen?

just goes to show the BLP does not have a lock on corruption. looks like the DLP got moving the ball along from where the BLP left off only on a bigger and faster scale.

but you ain’t got to answer dear heart ac, cause i know them questions would have your panties in a bunch. damn fool.

4. Look David (notBU} you guys had wunna hand in the glove compartment fuh a long time now OSA want to be a PONTIUS PILATE and wash he hands clean of CLICO but we DEMS now better than that! my sentiments same as yours DAM FOOL!

5. the only ones kicking up most of the fuss is the BLP yardfowls even Mia has closed she mout and the few measley mout comments OSA has made was onl,y selfserving fuh he knows than CLICO is a tinderbox that is better left closed when it comes to how much he and the BLP party got.comment fuh motor mout David (not BU)

6. old onion bags Avatar

Chezon…look at scout…D man on the ball….a real Lionel Messi
    awrite scoutie….well said. ! Not BU.. too….real reggae boys tonight…ac better hide…. duck season start.

7. Whenever there is an unfavourable thread to the Dems suddenly new contrived threads are started. This is no exception. Finished with the Pierhead marina nastiness?

8. @ BAJAN TRUTH

are you saying the BU administrator David does create new threads to distract from ones which are unfavourable to the DLP? have you noticed this as a trend?

9. David (not BU) Avatar

ac, to date Owen is the only person that offer any kind of hope in terms of a real solution to the Clico policyholders. what has your beloved party of misfit offered?

1) drinking with Parris at the Garrison
    2) “Parris is not a leper, he is my friend”
    3) handing all kinds of events to Parris’ wife company
    4) not reading or commenting of the findings of the report

and you have the heart to sit there and type the shite you do? you are a true DLP supporter to heart. careless, incompetent and lying is ass.

you run up and down this blog day after day shouting for the world to hear you that Owen is this and that, but your former and current leaders got them hand deep in this Clico shite and got the heart to call me motor mout?

sweetheart, i could be a motor mouth but you would having to running your mout, brain and fingers with the engines from the Concorde, blast asswipe.

your party will serve 1 term and they will replaced the DLP with the man and his party, the BLP, you say is a thief, Owen. what does that say about your band of misfits and you?

10. old onion bags Avatar

@ bajan truth
    You want too much truth too fast…ya hear DEM say they got A FILE to shoot down Owen wid….WELL I SAY TONIGHT…Bajan Truth ova n away waitin …Onions hay waiting…BRING IT ON DAWGS !

DESPERADOS……lol

11. David (not BU) Avatar

DESPERADOS new name for rude boys, and girls. can’t forget ac.

12. old onion bags Avatar

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa..?..man David (not BU)…I frighten fa you…man you terrible…lol
    Wha you smokin tonight dawg ? I like you boy….ya baddie…lol

13. Bajan Truth

What nonsense are you saying? Have you look down the BU page? This particular blog is actually more anti DLP anyway. The silly season has truly started.

14. David you exchange your handle with Commissiong or PDC? How is it PDC and Commissiong’s one man party have not joined forces the two spout the same rubbish.
    The payment Owen made which bemuses me is to the Cricket Legends a personal donation of $150,000 or was it $350,000. Where in heavens name would Owen get that kind of money to give to Wes, Brancker and the fellas. Not too long before his mystery donation to the Legends one remembers Owen cried like a little child in the House of Assembly whinging that he couldnt make a living on his Parliamentarian salary.
    Think on these things.

15. @David(notBU) Your above comment is truly fitting for indeed birds of a feather flock together , here is a Party which help to rape Clico by seeking large campaign contributions even to the point that in the last campaign had the nerve to return a check issued to the BLP by CLICO stating that it was not enough to cover the three hundred thousand OSA had asked for and now pretending that they never got a dime for CLICO. the BLP does not have the moral or intestinal fortitude to talk about who got money from CLICO because OSA and his loyal,gang of bandits were hand and fist taking money from CLICO for campaign financing. BLP really think people foolish,

16. old onion bags Avatar

@ Morning ac
    Last night…..you call that a proper pork…….(cut ass)…but we all know that that “snow pork ” had to take nuff nuff lashes to be here today strong as ever….

17. “are you saying the BU administrator David does create new threads to distract from ones which are unfavourable to the DLP? have you noticed this as a trend?”

MY sincere and humble apologies Mr David(bu) if my perception is i9ncorrect but i hold a similar view.

18. “are you saying the BU administrator David does create new threads to distract from ones which are unfavourable to the DLP? have you noticed this as a trend?”

MY sincere and humble apologies Mr David(bu) if my perception is incorrect but i hold a similar view.

19. old onion bags Avatar

I wonder why old wine…..in new skins..sometimes love playing devils advocate…when as a 1627 Merlot….he dun kno how D bread buttered

Looks like ee had trouble getting in…lol

20. @All

BU’s resolve has been tempered having been exposed to the 2008 general election and several by-elections. The attempt to ‘softhenup’ BU by some will not work. We will share the punches as we see fit. The season has just started, more to come.

21. The BLP leader does not give one damn about CLICO Policyholders .
    What did Owen Arthur do as Minister Of Finance about CLICO oversight when alerted by the supervisor of Insurance long before 2008 ?
    NOT ONE DAMN THING.
    Yet BLP yardfowls run around this blog with all kinds of innuendo and smear. If there is someone to be charged, let them have their day in court but the same BLP while in government was trying to get campaign contributions from the same CLICO. People are not foolish.
    You see the hypocrisy.
    Owen Arthur is undoubtedly the biggest hypocrite in Barbados.
    The private company has been placed under judicial management and the BLP(conveniently while in opposition) is trying to give the impression that the government should now somehow write a blank cheque.

Owen Arthur can and will say what he thinks people want to hear and such is the vein of opposition politics but CLICO policyholders are not stupid.
    It is far better for Barbados if a private sector led solution is found earnestly because that way our fiscal position as a country would not take the hit.
    The same man Owen Arthur who stood by and watch the CLICO fire develop and did nothing now has left the building and comes back on the outside to criticise now that the building has burnt.
    Owen Arthur will fool those who allow themselves to be fooled

22. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

By any chance can we actually have an election based on issues, solutions and competing visions? I shudder to imagine the fluff that will be in the manifestos.

I’m also tired of the “it’s their fault arguments.” If there’s a problem, fix it. If it can’t be fixed, say so. The DLP isn’t losing because of their failure to fix the BLP’s leftovers, they’re losing because of poor communication and “cry baby it aint my fault politics.” We didn’t put them in power to complain, we put them there to be better, to try to do better and to show us better.

23. The BLP is continuing its campaign of deception on the economy by trying to tell people that somehow Barbados is performing so much worse than everyone else.
    If that is the case why over the last four years was every government in the English speaking Caribbean finding it so challenging electorally.Jamaica, St. Kitts, St. Vincent – all in the hands of the IMF,
    Trinidad – the Caribbean’s largest economy in seeing aneamic or no growth over the past three years, Even the mighty USA , Obama despite all of his news conferences, accessibility to the press and great oratorical skills still faces a real possibility of defeat.
    It is therefore obvious that the DLP is not only in government in Barbados but in Jamaica, St. Lucia, Trinidad, St. Kitts, St. Vincent,Antigua, England, Spain and the mighty USA.
    Oh I forgot Greece.

24. @observing

Many feel like you but our political climate is what it is, rapidly COLOURED!

Peter Wickham correctly opined yesterday that Arthur’s popularity is NOT because he has done anything to enhance his profile while in opposition moreso what Stuart and the DLP has refused to do.

25. If the issue in the next campaign is “Wastage of Taxpayers Money”. certainly noone in their right mind can vote for the BLP.
    We all saw the trail of BLP wastage which we are all still paying for. Now, The BLP is seeking to unleash the same “political pigs” on the trough again.
    The only restoring the BLP is interested in is restoring their bank accounts.

26. @!
    I consider you the strongest DLP defender on the blog, Given these recent comments, God help them.

I hope you realise that “almost hypocritical” arguments like these (wastage, corruption, it isn;t our fault, other countries just as bad) only serve to rile the angst of independents, turn off the youth and young voters and inspire the BLP machinery to greater intensity. None of which serve your purpose well.

A word to the wise.

Observing

27. old onion bags Avatar

@ Observing
    You still finding time foe monkey nuts….stupesss..I had he pun ignore eva sense…cuz the fool …only wukkin out good fa we ….joka….fire on !

28. Is it the imagination or did Stetson Babb on air today seek to muzzle the caller who sought to express her frustration about LIME, AGAIN. Perhaps it has to do with his infatuation with his Sunday program which is sponsored by who?

29. “inspire the BLP machinery to greater intensity.” – Confession is good for the soul
    You said it. The BLP is all about propaganda.

30. ac
    you are one shameless person/DLP supporter/Yardfowl, where did the DLP get the money to produce centre page ads, full page ads, half page ads and quarter page ads in both print media during elections, plus ads on ALL radio stations every half hour. AC your party was paying out in the vacinity of bds$ 60,000.00 per day in ads alone. Can you tell me where that money came from? It is time you stop talking about a stipend Owen or the BLP got compared to the millions your party got. You want to know something? that is the same policyholders that voted for your party, not knowing it was their money sponsoring the ENTIRE campaign. Now you know why they are so cruel. Why did Mara have to spend bds $ 70,000.00 on a campaign in the by-elections in St. John, a seat that she would have won even if she didn’t hold one meeting? Where did that money come from? AC if I was you, I would keep my trap shut and whisper softly to persons for a vote for the DLP, but to talk the scrap you talking will only enfuriate voting public on this blog who has not yet made up their minds.

31. old onion bags Avatar

And another thing Mr. Minister…..
    I am no economist but these medium term fiscal policies…..amassing Govt
    revenue…as the expense of economic activity, makes no sense as there can be no real growth….What’s the use Mr.Sinckler boasting of excess collections on VAT $120 million…$100 million by BNOC…while the economy crawls to a stand still..? Cutting the deficit by 13 at the expense of vibrant economic trade defeats the purpose….and is what I pen as ” dead man economics.” An economy needs to be stimulated by Govt monetary and fiscal policies to increase business activity…not just meet preset IMF requirements .Is this the “society and not an economy” ….some were quick to impute ?..More like the opposite to me.

32. Observing (and watching) Avatar
    Observing (and watching)

@!
    Isn’t propaganda the food of politics?
    Take some recent vintage examples a
    “we will have a resolution by June’
    or “payment will be made in December”
    or “other regional countries have invested”
    or “I haven’t read the report”
    or “I do not know of any letter?”
    or “we will review the increase”
    or “there is no wage freeze, only wage restraint”
    or “with dispatch”
    or “we expect 3% growth”

Bear in mind all of these quotes emanated form the mouth of one man. I wouldn’t bother to use up the space with quotes from others.

Just observing.

33. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I have to agree with Onion bags on the last comment. To declare my hand I am a DLP supporter but am dismayed by the propaganda spewed by both sides on this blog of late. I really wish Onion bags, Scout (the faux “no-party supporter”) and AC would tone it down.

34. You go scout. I admire you for taking on ac and the nonsense, the propaganda and innuendo she spews on BU daily. I am tired listening to the venom spewed from the Dems. They are taught that nasty brand of politics right out of George Street and at the foot of the dead king, he mastered the art of vitriolic politics.

I read a copy of the forensic audit and it is unbelievable that one man aided and abetted by David Thompson could thief so much and get away with it. That report is mind boggling.

Ac would never admit that the DLP had 34 MILLION dollars out of CLICO. Never. But if the BLP wins and does not bring Leroy Parris to justice, I will have to rethink my involvement in politics.

Tell ac, to let us know about the Families First operations.

35. old onion bags Avatar

But knight of the Long Knife
    How long you been a DLP..?.and I bet you overseas….You see after these here elections….if we don’t address matters to these politicians now….you think they go listen to we.?..(as if they listening now Irene )..this is our time to call on them..cuz they only want our vote…This is the only time we could tell them we aint all that foolish as they think we are…and if we could get rid of some of them democratically …to do so..LK no offense..thanks for agreeing with me on my last point…but is only thru this type of agitated discussion..that I was able to assume that stance…Long Knife…..we pundits have a role to play…..we dont take to long knives as in some countries…..so all we have is the pen..Bare wid us….is how democracy in this lil nation grows.

36. To David:
    The thing about Stetson is amazing; he towards the end of the program was consoling Dennis Kellman with his level “fairness”. Like Clico and Trade Confirmers and all the rest, some are allowed to do as they like, but time is the master; few of us have plenty of it.

37. Generally, I am not surprise that the level of contributions here shall turn or have turned political with each corner flying his or her flag or colors. What it does is to drown the voices of the ordinary citizen into the background. However, it does not drown out the “silent majority” read pulp that is being furnished in the name of “political facts or fiction”. What we currently have in Barbados is poor rakey politicians practicing poor rakey politics. As our literacy rate has now plummeted to 75%, these poor rakey politicians have a lot of fodder to work with.

38. It seems as if the outgoing President of the BHTA was forced to walk back his comments at the BHTA’s AGM on Wednesday even though he said what he meant to say and it is on tape.

But you know the strangest thing happened! DLPTV did not bring a single word of it, two nights running they carried excerpts from the guest speaker and not a word of the outgoing President’s remarks. I have never seen such blatant manipulation of the news as we see at CBC. Yet we have a DLP yardfowl who comes on this blog and seeks to castigate the Nation. The Nation carried the President’s report.

But do you know why Colin Jordan had to clarify? Was it the politics of the BHTA? Some one said that Freundel looked uncomfortable at the Garrison on Wednesday. Was it that he had heard what Colin Jordan said? I wonder!

Bearing in mind the incompetence of this inept DLP government, I am more convinced now than ever before that the time has time when Barbados’ constitution should be changed so that the date for elections should be fixed just like the USA and we should not be at the whim and fancy of a PM like Freundel Stuart who thinks he can play with the Barbadian public by teasing them on the calling of an election. No, we should never be held hostage to an aloof man like Freundel Stuart who is certainly out of his depths.

By the way, in what capacity did Mr Hal Gollop go to Canada? Did the taxpayers foot the bill for his trip and hotel expences?

We the taxpayers would like to know!

39. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

@onion bags I am very much here in Barbados suffering under this heavy tax burden that politicians in both the current and previous administrations have seen fit to brag about in parliament. I despise corrupt politicians, in the last government they saw fit to gorge themselves on the public purse this is why they are now out of government. The present group seems to have already forgotten in less than five years how hard life is for the average bajan who does not benefit from kickbacks and bribes. the only thing I have left to cut back on is groceries…I saw an image on facebook recently that said “soon poor people will have nothing left to eat but rich people” its a funny but very telling observation.

40. Oh how iI can find a small cheque but Wunnah cant find one for 3.3millions dollars and counting.Poor people cant understand that kind da reasoning. Who looking after de poor scramblers? Tell ma nuh. DO SO DOAN LIKE SO. AM I dead or am I living. I must sing da son which goes like this…. “When a man dead can he live again”… Someboy got to pay in not here in the hereafter. Blinking wrongs thriving again and again.Maddok get nuff years Tek Dock and Tek All not a minute in court farlees jail. Judicial investigating gating my arse.
    ALL a wunnah wearing blinkers pun wunnah brains as big as Small Town.

41. old onion bags Avatar

@ Knight of the Long Sword
    Well maybe …your homeland Trinidad beckons…..and take all the Knights who come to juck out we flying fish(innocent eyes) with you…

42. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar

@onion bags because you dont like what i say I am from Trinidad??? What a laugh!!!

Leave a Reply to acCancel reply