David Estwick – Minister of Agriculture

The threat by Minister of Agriculture David Estwick to resign if his ministry does not procure an increase in its budget allocation can be analysed from a political or economic perspective. Did the recent Cadres Poll which labeled Estwick a political lightweight on the leadership index spur him to become more active?   View his outburst against the background that he is the only one from the E11 to follow through on a promise to sue the Nation Publishing Company. BU recalls Minister Ronald Jones promised to do the same. With a general election on the horizon a lot can be explained in the political context.

BU prefers to give Estwick the benefit of the doubt and to suggest by his outburst he has become frustrated at the lack of significant progress in his ministry since his transfer. It is the most optimistic Barbadians who believe that as a country we are committed to finding a way to increase production in the agriculture sector. The transformation in thinking required to influence policy as well as to gain buyin from the ordinary Barbadian remains a dream. What is also known, the government in waiting is committed to a service economy with  token focus on agriculture.

Why can others not see the path we are currently pursuing leads to nowhere? Of course Barbados does not have the wherewithal to satisfy local demand for food. However there is nothing to prevent Barbados from using technology and exploit regional alliances to maximise what is possible. The benefits:  savings in foreign exchange, create an opportunity for employment by building out a NEW industry.

Why have we not been able to leverage the huge investment in education in a post-Independence period, and deliver relevant creative solutions to successfully confront the challenges which confront us in agriculture?

Statistics supplied by the Barbados Statistical Department confirms meat and vegetable imports in the 2007 to 2010 period to be mindboggling.

When will we wake up?

26 responses to “David Estwick – Separating The Bark From The Bite, The Food Bill”

1. @ David

if dr. estwick is a political lightweight why then did the recent vote for general secretary of the DLP need to be recounted 3 times in order to reverse the originally declared winrer, dr. estwick and then replace with george pilgrim?

2. @redlne

The reference to political lightweight was specific to how he is viewed nationally as reflected by the poll.

3. If the good doc was not a lightweight, there would have been no need for the three recounts.

4. Dr Estwick has not worked much in that ministry since he was dumped there by the dead king a a few days before he expired. He was promised a move in the reshuffle. Alas that did not happened and Dr Estwick seem to have no interest in the portfolio. This year he was missing in action for months and although there were reports that he was ill, he was seen ‘working” at his new interest.

And these are the competent people we have in charge of this country! And the Dem have talk for Owen not attending the poor rakey House sittings. Yet we have a minister who was supposed to be sick but was “working’ for himself.

5. but he didn’t busy ‘tieffing’ like some.

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Estwick has every right to resign if he finally realises that he is serving no useful purpose in the Cabinet. However, he does not have the right to embarrass the country and the Government with his inappropriate public outburst.

His behaviour clearly demonstrates that this present administration has no idea about the conventions that form part of the system of Government that is supposed to be practiced in Barbados. When Estwick made his outburst and did not leave the Cabinet, the Prime Minister should have fired him. Is the PM in control of his Cabinet or is the Cabinet holding him by his short and curly? The PM reminds me of the joke about the man who insisted that he is man of the house because his wife told him so.

7. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

The PM reminds me of the joke about the man who insisted that he is man of the house because his wife told him so.

8. Observing (and learning) Avatar
    Observing (and learning)

lol@Caswell
    ya mek my night. We now know who’s really in charge of the “house.”
    no further comment necessary.

9. some of the favoured ones in the CADRES poll might end up being the most popular with a seat in the lower house. coming soon to city near you.

10. So far not a comment about our food security situation.

11. “if dr. estwick is a political lightweight why then did the recent vote for general secretary of the DLP need to be recounted 3 times in order to reverse the originally declared winrer, dr. estwick and then replace with george pilgrim?”
    while some of us might not be enamoured with Dr Estwick’s bellicosity in putting over his points, there is no doubt that unlike most of his colleagues he has been an asst to the DLP and the decrepit at present political landscape in general; but to be beaten by a political loser like Mr Pilgrim for the high profile post of General Secretary of the DLP does indeed cast him as a lightweight in the eyes of the unforgiving DLP family.

12. @ balance

he was not beaten by george pilgrim, THE gay brigade stole a victory plain and simple.

13. old onion bags Avatar

How arson eductec coming ? I hear he wants to be a not-erskie.Marxist.

14. @redlne

What do you mean the gay brigade?

15. @David
    redlne has an agenda. let him be. His internal camp colours have already been shown. Let’s wish him well in his desires.

Rest assured though, those colours are not blue, yellow and black.

just Observing

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Redlne

You can’t drop a bomb like the gay brigade and then duck out. Tell us more.

17. @ Caswell

Every wonder why a disproportionate number of them take and find refuge in politics in Barbados?

18. @ Observing

expand on agenda of redlne

19. GAY? Brigade? In de people house o’ parliament? Wuhlosses! What next?

20. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Redlne come and done the people Blog. oh lord. lol

21. man grind the thing to a halt

22. The sad truth of the matter is that governments of Barbados have had no real interest in agriculture. This is a pity because if as a country you cannot feed yourself or come close to it, you are a joke. Importing lettuce? I meet my own lettuce requirements the majority of the time by planting in containers. Why on earth would we need to import lettuce? And that is only one example.
    The reality is that importers find it more profitable to import things at a low price and since they control the “middle man” services they find it cheaper than buying locally.
    Any serious government would make it mandatory for importers to supply all needs locally first then seek to import. This will never happen, since guess who fills the coffers of both parties? The same importers! So government will bluster about the need to grow more food but will never move to put things in place to ensure that local farmers can live decently.
    Every single year we hear farmers complaining about items in stock locally being imported, yet things never change.
    So between selling out agricultural land and as much land as possible to outsiders and not doing anything meaningful to stimulate agriculture, where does that leave the majority of Bajans and what about food security?
    Struggling in a never-ending war to survive, that’s where. And is our food secure?
    Yeah, in a bond in Miami!

23. @Adonijah

Correct!

Can we say that the so call hard times which as a country we are suppose to be experiencing has affected the behaviour/lifestyle of Barbadians to the extent kitchen/backyard gardening is top of mind?

More importantly have our policymakers reached that point where there is the damascene moment that we have to depart from old and tired modalities?

24. Wunna notice that as soon as the word “gay” get mention Caswell is wake up and sneak in a comment? Cas’ I prime and ready fay you yah know, and I han’some fah trut’ … Come nah ..!? Man le’ we go somewhere private man … You is too sweet, yah short choclate nutcake you …!

25. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

But David you remember what happened when Owen told the country to start little kitchen/backyard gardening? he was drag over the fire for saying that. now it looks like that is what we have to do for sure now,

26. @Adonijah. Growing food in containers is a good way to reduce our individual food bill especially for those who do not have land to farm. I grow all my herbs, lettuce, peppers, tomatoes, garlic, tumeric, ginger and collards in containers. Check out “Air Pruning” on YouTube. Its supposed to be a way of significantly improving the quality of the plants grown in containers. I haven’t tried it yet (just found out about it) but will be trying it early next week.

Leave a Reply to David (not BU)Cancel reply