Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart, World Heritage Ceremony at the Garrison Savannah

The acceptance ceremony to officially recognize Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison by UNESCO was staged today (16/6/2012). It is a recognition all Barbadians should be proud, those concerned with preserving our history and recognizing the added value to our tourism product.

It is therefore unfortunate the opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) did not attend the ceremony, We have reached a period in our existence where how we practice politics in Barbados has become unacceptably divisive.  This evening’s occasion is one where the political directorate needed to show the nation we are Barbadians first and political adversaries second.If we continue along the current path, to wear red, blue or yellow  will become very problematic a la Jamaica. BUT it has already started!

92 responses to “Barbados Labour Party No-Show At World Heritage Inscription Ceremony”

1. @Just being objective | June 13, 2012 at 11:03 PM
    @Rational Son | June 13, 2012 at 11:18 PM | |

You Dems are desperate, desperate, desperate.

Owen Arthur is like a fish bone stuck up in your craws. You care coughing up all manner of “flem” hoping that the lies and propaganda stick but it will not. As it was in 2008, the people’s minds are made up. The Dems will be toast. The slow man only delaying the inevitable.

2. @ the nation critic,
    “Arthur and Nation newspaper editor Kaymar Jordan are in daily contact by cell phone and you will definitely not see any columnists at the Nation publicly criticising Arthur. The Nation columnists are actually like daily communications specialistS for the BLP.
    Arthur and the BLP now have the biggest newspaper in Barbados in their political pocket and the next aim to to regain control of statefunded CBC.”

………………………………………………………….

You are truly pathetic. Did you see what you wrote, though? Are you actually admit that the Dems have control of the state funded CBC and so you are angry that the Dems cannot control the Nation.

You Dems are so selfish, you have CBC to yourselves…..the first 15 minutes are devoted to minister after minister to the point of even covering ministers’ birthday parties and the Advocate is totally DLP.

Stop griping and bitching. This speaks of desperation.

3. old onion bags Avatar

It would appear that all DLP’s were born form the same litter…..when they encounter anything or thoughts they cannot fathom….they take to personal attacking the messenger……Why thank you Sarge..Onions will continue to be Onions…..and rest assured he will be laughing at some come elections morn regardless of my ramble…

4. @ David,
    Let us phrase it for you. Prodigal Son et al confirmed that Dame Billie and the BLP started the inscription process. Let us agree therefore that both political parties are onside with the initiative. Let us begin the debate from this point. You see this is what is tearing up Barbados, the COLOURS…………………………………

But, David, who made this into a partisan thing? The Minister, Stephen Lashley himself. He only became the minister lately, Steve Blackett was the first minister in this DLP administration, did he give any praise to Steve Blackett, no, the “picsqueak” took all the praise. Let them gloat all by themselves.

5. old onion bags Avatar

I REPEAT……for those following

How the DLP could be smelling so much HELL ..and they still find time the whole night to talk shite about attending a ceremony boogles ? What matters was how Stuart made it a point for Sealy to open the first plaque and his position of prominence on the stage.Having the other members of the Eager 11 sit in their place like back street boys.Of note was Stuart’s composure deep in reflection and strain during the whole facade…he was not comfortable nor pleased…Something is brewing and these DLP yard birds in camouflage ran to their favorite watering whole to cool and drink stupid-ends milk……
    When a DLP born loyal could tell me last night ..he like many others will not be voting..as with many other old boys, because such is their disposition this time and they KNOW the DLP will lose this elections is more a matter for concern than this cool off ass thread…..Stop encouraging lampoons…DLP in deep shit and distractions like this is just wasting good on the ground canvassing time…..I know the people reading BU were not fooled….WE WERE NOT…..Stuart is about to pull the plug on all you sorry ass birds and go home and draw his pension for LIFE …and you bare necked birds….will be sucking salt…think about that you losers of a ensonged time…….NOW WHO GOT THE LAST LAUGH….Eager or Stuarty…?

6. @Prodigal Son

Let us say you are correct that we have witnessed a nauseous partisan management of the Bridgetown inscription process. It does not mean that the BLP should walk that road. You have comment several times on BU that the BLP will not do gutter. On occasions like yesterday there is the high road, history commands it.

7. David (not BU) Avatar

in Michael Cummin’s vote of thanks he thank persons from both parties.

8. @PRODIGAL
    How now you can call the sinjin gent a shortkneecrotch pipsqueak!!Have you forgotten all these are honoured gents?The erudite professor of pharmacy reminded us last friday morning on VOB early show that he wrote about preserving the historic buildings of Barbados as much as 30 years ago.We are aware that Ms Billie ran with it in the city,even with potted plants,the boardwalk,the old customs building,replacing the old fish market location with a new office building and a completely new fish market and safe harbour for the fisherfolk,the jubilee gardens and continuing with the old town hall to have been followed by the marshall hall building,the redesigned and pleasantly upgraded pelican village,the renewed and beautifully tiled Swan Street shopping promenade,the upgrading of the buildings at the Garrison,George
    Washington House,Tyrol Cot,Frank Worrels’….to name a few of the many things Ms Billie did to bring back to life the city of Bridgetown;and this skc man want to take the credit for the BLP’s solid track record!!!!
    Mene mene tekel upharsin.Banish them o ye electorate.Let us not have their likes anymore in our fair land,where intelligence is not lacking.

9. old onion bags Avatar

” When the nomads gradually found themselves out of time n space … off with their heads for all to see”…they actually believed they were still being led…but in reality they are being tricked.”
    The sun rose as usual, Irfan Khan asked for his dagger….slashed his palm and said” it is time….stupidity stops now.”
    History repeats itself ever so often….DLP matinee show coming

10. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

Old Onion Bag,

It is only a matter of time before you and the bag rot !

You believe Barbadians, in the majority, are so demented to put back that thief Owen Arthur in Bay Street ?

You are funnier than i thought !

By the way, against sound prudent and technical advice there is an $ 80 million waste hole in St. Andrew…….we the taxpayers paying for that……while the person who presided over that decision OWEN ARTHUR……begs to return !

THAT IS AN EXAMPLE OF A POOR ECONOMIST !

By the way, against sound prudent and technical advice there is an $ 10 million waste in Six Roads (HARDWOOD HOUSING) none of the intended projects left that warehouse …..we the taxpayers paying for that……..while the person who presided over that decision OWEN ARTHUR…..begs to return !

THAT IS AN EXAMPLE OF A POOR ECONOMIST !

Well the Pegasus Hotel in Jamaica meeting…..details will follow shortly.

For FOURTEEN YEARS……while in office BLPites…..looked back and SCREAMED ….8 % cuts, Layoffs etc

All the DEMS did was to politely ask…….If after 4 years we are still cleaning up the BLP mess…….why do the BEES want to get back there so soon to do ?

The BLP left :

MOBIL………GEMS………AL BARRACK……..NEWTON BUILDING…..DODDS PRISON etc

WE THE DEMS GOT THE RIGHT TO LOOK BACK TOO…!

A PEOPLE WITH NO KNOWLEDGE OF THEIR PAST…….IS LIKE A TREE WITHOUT ROOTS .

ONION BAGS

I told you already……let Owen tell you why he cannot summon a PAC meeting…….yet he chided the late PM Thompson for not calling the PAC together.

Funny enough Owen Arthur changed the PAC rules so that no one can claim there are unable to meet.

SO THEN THE BIG QUESTION……….WHY OWEN ARTHUR DID NOT GO THROUGH WITH HIS THREAT TO SUMMON THE PAC – ON THE BRIDGETOWN PIERHEAD PROJECT – HE SAID HE AIN’T ‘FRAID CHRIS…….CHRIS ONLY TELL HIM WALK WID THE FILE ABOUT THAT PROJECT !

I GUESS YOU DO NOT JUST WAKE UP ONE MORNING…….AND FIND A $ 400,000.00 AUDI in your driveway !

ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU CANNOT CLAIM THE SAME FOR THE $ 750,000.00 BLP CAMPAIGN CHEQUE……FOUND IN YOUR PERSONAL BANK ACCOUNT !!!! .

If you want to return to LEAD…….come CLEAN OWEN…….or else BAJANS will SEE the DIRT…….you are made of.

It is going to get STINK about here .

11. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

trying to talk to the the DEM is getting water from a rock. James Carville said “it’s the economy stupid”.

Bajans will look back and see all the things that helped remove the BLP from office. they will remember how they lived back then. then they will look at how things are now and how they are living now. then they will vote the DLP out of office for the people who the DLP say are crook. add to that that any day now, Barbados could be down graded to junk bond status and nobody from the DLP government is talking aboit what happens then.

all we are hearing is that Redjet, AX, Clico, Four Seasons, NIS, and a host of things are Owens fault. people keep ask the question, does the DLP understand they won the government in 2008?

so, Fractured BLP Party, the answer to your question of “You believe Barbadians, in the majority, are so demented to put back that thief Owen Arthur in Bay Street ?” is YES! and if you pulled you head out your ass long enough to wipe the shite from your eyes, you would understand why the answer is the way is it.

there is no leadership and the economy is going down the crapper. why don’t you speak to that? it would serve you DLP clowns better if you understood and deal with the matter at hand. but keep up the BS while not dealing with issues the country is facing.

i’m starting to see a 27-3 for the BLP. the 3 for the DLP will be Mara Thompson, Dennis Kellyman & David Estwick if the DLP does not deal with the problems facing the country.

keep it Fractured BLP Party, keep it up.

12. Colonel Buggy Avatar

And after the big lavish ceremony ,what? The Garrison and Bridgetown will continue to remain in their unkempt states. All that pretty talk we heard yesterday, will not be backed up by any significant action. Every week we hear that the rat infested Fairchild Street market will be demolished at the weekend , only to find vendors still plying their trade behind the protective fence.
    I walked through Amen Alley last week, and was met by a horrible sight in the alley way, a deposit which indicates that we are still a Turd World Country .
    Before we start the process of bartering for yet another heritage site in the Scotland District, we should start maintaining the ones we now have. A bit of low-tech cleaning up would go a long way in improving the beauty of these sites.

13. Just being objective Avatar
    Just being objective

@ Prodigal son
    Just point out where the lies are in my post . If you are so blind ,deaf and dumb as not to realise that ARTHUR and LYNCH have expressed diametrically opposing views on how the Barbados Government should treat REDjet then don’t blame me ; try instead to see if someone somewhere can give you a crash course in objectivity . Good luck to that person .

14. That’s the only way you all know!

Wunnuh goose cook, the people’s minds are made up, you cant trick them again with lies. By the way, how much money did the dead king stuff in his account? He was thiefing so much that were he alive today, he would be up Dodds for money laundering.

When you start getting stink, please tell us the following:
    1. Which minister is called 5 & 10 and why?
    2. Which minister was flown down to Miami and was taken shopping for whatever he wanted?
    3. Which member of the DLP was caught at the airport with a carry on bag full of US$?
    4. Which minister sent a text to someone to whom a contract was given and asked where is his cut? You got Pegasus piece of paper, we got the text.
    5. Which minister got his father’s house repaired out of taxpayers funds?
    6. Tell us how a minister is able in the day to build a cluster of condos?
    I got some more questions for you, so come!

Desperate, desperate, desperate!

15. What’s new? This is the only way you all know to conduct politics.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Colonel Buggy | June 14, 2012 at 4:57 PM |
    As you said a low-tech clean up would go a long way in improving Bridgetown’s tacky and smelly image. Nothing has changed at the Empire Theatre building site. Not even a clean up to keep away the rats and vermin.
    Simple things mean a lot and can go a long way in maintaining the City’s World Heritage Site status. A building might be old but that does not mean it should be left in a dilapidated state, with bush over-run and used as a garbage site.
    Where is our pride, even if our industry has gone?

17. Let us see if the work needed to KEEP the world heritage designation will make us do a better job of keeping Bridgetown clean.

18. I remember when the Independence Park and Errol Barrow’s Statue was opened and unveiled, the DLP were presentand many DEMS were trying to disrupt the ceremony by shouting that the BLP had no right to be holding that ceremony. We bajans are too partisan, that is what is keeping this country down. When the BLP start something and then loses government the DLP scraps it because it was not there project, or they take all the praise, and visa versa. We need to be more matured as a people and government. that beautification of the careenage and the Independence Park was the brain child of Billie Miller but Stephen lashley behaved as though he started and finished it. I remember Harrison’s Cave was a project of the DLP and was criticised by Tom Adams, thew minute the BLP got intoi office, he was the first person down there and claimed it as a BLP project, he did the same for the airport. We need to look at bi-parisan project and got kudos where they are due.BOTH SIDES.

19. scout you should have sent that comment as a memo to the BLP as a reminder on how to be partisian when it comes to the national interest of the nation! but knowing them it would have been put in the “garbage file’

20. old onion bags Avatar

@ Fracture BLP
    My friend,I now scroll back and see you write a big roll a SH#3 ..one bout a Marina Project …and base on the big lotta capital letters…man like you were real vex up……NO FEAR…..if you Sinckler got something holding in the chest for 4 yrs now..TELL HE BRING IT !
    All this hype you all seeking to blowup and dust up aint sayin one ass….point is waana trailing badly at the polls and Stuart ready to fire gorilla piss pun nah…..IN SHORT…wanna in a bad way…..and writting that long lotta shite aint go help neither…..so reel n come again !

ONE TERM ! and only one….deal wid it.

21. ac
    Both parties are guilty of being childish and immature. In this case there was nothing wrong with Stephen Lashley acknowledging Billie Miller’s role in this project, yet the BLP should have shown maturity and be present, then lambast the DLP for ignoring Miller.

22. look a here onions de poll give wunna a five point spread dat ain;t much that can;t be recovered in the next few months so stop acting and pereceiving that yu win . fuh dis is going to be a long drawn out war in the weekes and months and going by all PERCEPTIONS don’t seem like the man gunning fuh de job got enough ammo to withstand the battle as he looks a little weak in the knees/

23. Colonel Buggy Avatar

David | June 14, 2012 at 7:59 PM |
    Let us see if the work needed to KEEP the world heritage designation will make us do a better job of keeping Bridgetown clean.

I’ve said it before, if we want to hold on to the Garrison Heritage designation, the Pioneer element of the Barbados Regiment is the ideal body to be put in charge of maintenance and general improvements of the site.

24. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Look ac , don’t be a poke po..(and a ole one at that)…..what battle what ? You dun kno that the people have given up hope on the DLP long before the polls…Wickham only seal the deal…You see ole buffoon was the killa (Vat)…and Stuartie the executioner (AX)..(not forgetting Donville the jester) … ALLLLL did a great blotch up job,,,,that the people will never forget…even those who voted for you the last time. There is nothing and I mean nothing you all can do short of the resurrection of King TuK….(.and that would be a tragic too CLICO)…you all have single handedly DUG A HOLE the size of the Arizona Crater for a home..alienating the people for 4 yrs …and now 6 months short of elections …you seek to amends ? Man what kinda shi#e is that ? Tell me.??..you know what I say is true….What boggles is why you all keep telling yourselves….WE CAN ??????????
    BE REAL …YOU ALL HAVE LOST THIS ONE WAY BEYOND RECALL and the whole circus of actors…..all had a sick role in it !

Man you working me too hard… for an ole girl with common sense…more than DEM.

25. I am sick with all the talk about Owen getting a 75,000.00 cheque. Forget Fractured BLP with the constant lies emanating from his postings. Today he say it is $750,000.00, tomorrow it will say it is $7,500,000.00. It is the lies, the lies and more lies.
    I cannot understand one man can create so much political tension, the persons you should be afraid of in the future will be Mia and Mascoll. the more vicious your writing becomes, the more the electorate will start judging your performance. You all are doing more damage to your party and the great Errol Barrow must be weeping in his grave.

26. Well said, Tell Me Why.

Have you noticed that they do not ever touch the findings of the forensic report on CLICO which clearly showed that their dead king was involved deeply in the running of that company and did launder 3.3 million dollars through his now defunct law firm. They never touch the fact that Peter Wickham told the Americans that David Thompson got 34 MILLION dollars from out of CLICO which were put into Families First account. They wont touch these things, never!

Desperados!

27. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodigal
    Yes I agree…but did you hear that Clown Clone on the Nation thread ? I think he needs to take a rest from the blog and reflect…he is getting too caught up this early…Why he dont talk about ALLLLLLLLL the above you just submit…You know why..he is beginning to think like a dictator…..Clone you need to get a grip….We who get shit off by CLICO like yours truly did not take to the streets like Peru..did we ? What shite you talking boi …?
    LIKE YOU WANT A RIOT.

28. ac you need to take a leaf out of scout’s balanced account.

29. david can you confirm whether the BLP was officially invited to the ceremony?

30. @balance

Yes

31. A couple of points:

– the average bajan dont give on sxxxx about a hritage site. Especially as half the old heritage falling down (like Culloden Farm). What bajan government does best, nuff label and plaque (dental?) but little form, aka the Commission of Enquiry in Alexandras. What crock. Loota names and labels.

– bajans want jobs and money to eat. DONE!

– I and most others tired hearing about what Owen got or not. After CLICO, who gives a xxxx?

– The most impressive Minister in the last 6 months has been Donville Inniss, who IS actually getting things done (whether you agree with how or not), contrary to lotta long talk.

Jobs and money to eat. Stop the BS bout he got she got rubbish. And heritage site dont put food on the table when hotels all closing.

Got it?

32. #Crusoe

Does the average Bajan care about FOI or even Integrity Legislation?

33. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

Prodigal Son | June 14, 2012 at 6:45 PM |

3. Which member of the DLP was caught at the airport with a carry on bag full of US$? answer, Minister of Housing, Lashley

i don’t know the answer to the others, please tell. the above was witnessed in plain view, so tom, dick and harry knows of that

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Smooth Chocolate | June 16, 2012 at 9:50 PM |

So if what you are saying about that money laundering event is true was he charged for breaking the laws of Barbados?
    A typical banana republic situation! The laws are only enforced when it comes to cavity examinations of Jamaican immigrants, one supposes.

35. Brown thing what nonsense are you trying to germinate?

You may not know but as a Minister of this country Mr Lashley is not subjected to searches as you and would be and he has full access to the use of the departure and arrival areas so you are clearly stupid on the matter on which you write.

I am not surprised as you BLP crooks believe that every Bajan is as much of a crook as you lot are.

36. Smooth Chocolate,
    You hit a raw nerve with Rational Son. Minister or not, his bags still have to be screened and this is when the loot was discovered. If it was a BLP member, you RS, would not be saying what you said above. You and all of us know that Lashley is one of the most corrupt politicians in the DLP.

37. LOLLOL

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rational Son | June 17, 2012 at 12:05 AM |

Is that your reaction to being trapped in a corner? Deny or refute what Prodigal Son has posited.
    “Minister or not, his bags still have to be screened and this is when the loot was discovered..” True or Lie?

39. @David,

That is a great question. I think to the extent that people are fed up with some of the MP’s being poor-rajeky and mistrusting all to boot, they do care about Integrity and FOI.

Accept the fact that if Sir Henry or Sir Richard ran for election they are guaranteed a seat. That should tell you something.

Interesting too that MIA seat solid as a rock, no? Does that also tell you something?

People trust MIA implicitly with their country finances and livelihoods. That should tell you something.

40. as soon as the BLP led by the puddin and souse coke belly eater onoin bag wheels start falling off the wagon they would drum up another propaganda story ‘ RATS!

41. […] my words from the other blog thread on heritage…Lotta Long Talk, about entrepreneurship etc. Yet, a […]

42. The BLP says it has a proud and enviable record of keeping promises. Whatever happened in the past cannot be changed. . . . The DLP government is guilty of GREED and INCOMPETENCE. Truth is that both parties, the BLP and DLP had a party with greed and corruption. Now, what’s next. What is next in line, What next will the BLP pull out of the hat.

Leave a Reply to Rational SonCancel reply