Austin

My fellow Bajans today Barbados finds itself at a significant historical crossroads as we head towards the next general election … In one direction is the DLP path which in summary gets Barbados back on track economically on the “Backs of Poor and Middle class Bajans by taxing, and nickel and diming them to death, while the wealthy in Barbados sit back quite and watch”.  Additionally on the revenue side nothing significantly has come from the DLP making the impact of the global recession worst due to an apparent “DLP Recession of Ideas and Abilities” coupled with “Poor DLP Leadership”.  The DLP would like the bajan public to join them in singing “Don’t Worry Be Happy” with sweet talk of building a society while not living up to many of their DLP manifesto promises.  In response to the global recession many nations are repositioning and retooling their economies (and people) to meet the demands of a post recession world, however the DLP continues it’s “lets’ just wait and see” strategy on key issues facing Barbados.

The fact is that the tourism industry as we have known it has “changes forever or at least in the near term” as folks in the US, UK and Canada are expected to travel less in the coming years; this means that economics that depend upon tourism need to find innovative ways to get visitor numbers up.   We need to change our historical view of tourism in very significant ways, as we have yet to tap the full potential of the U.S market which to me seems to be an obvious approach nothing the size and proximity of the U.S to Barbados.  The DLP has not demonstrated an ability to put innovative tourism ideas in the table, for example they opened a new route to one of the poorest country’s in the world (Brazil) and expect it to bear fruit, at the end of the day it will be a total waste of tourism dollars.  The same half-baked DLP governance we see with the Ministry of Tourism is the same in the Agriculture and Manufacturing sections to mention a few.

On the BLP side is a proven historical track record of managing Barbados in “both challenging and prosperous times”.   Since no government (DLP, BLP, Republican or Democrat etc) can ever claim to be perfect all the time for all the people, to ignore the historical contributions on the BLP in simply not “fair” and “unfortunate”.   The BLP believes in taking a proactive “Fair and Balanced Economic Recovery and Stimulus Approach” which focuses on simply “putting money in the pockets of poor and middle class bajan families” to add needed stimulus to the economy.  The BLP also believes in leveraging the intellectual capability and spirit of the Bajan people to “Problem Solve”, versus the totally reactionary policy positions of the current DLP administration.

Sadly the near term economic future of Barbados is in the hands of a Minister of Finance and PM who are simply not believable to many decision makers in the private sector, while very intelligent men they do not appear to have the business or economic experience necessary to navigate Barbados into better economic waters.  The DLP had years now to stabilize the economy and under PM David Thompson (may God rest his soul) that “may” have been possible as he clearly had “leadership abilities the current PM does NOT”.

Many Bajans share the frustrations recently expressed by DLP Minister of Agriculture in dealing with key issue facing Barbados …  the only question is when will other members of the current DLP administration “PUT COUNTRY FIRST” and have their “TRUTH MOMENT” on the lack of leadership coming from the PM which is quite clear to the general public.

The Rt. Honourable Owen Arthur has the Globally recognized political wisdom, leadership, experience  and governance abilities needed at this time to get Barbados back on track.  The past successes of the BLP happened because Owen Arthur had “confidence in the bajan people to do their part to move Barbados forward” and  the public and private sectors responded, and this can happen again.

In closing at this point one thing is certain to many Bajans … another term under the DLP may render Barbados unrecognizable if we continue down the “Let’s Wait and See” path we are on.

1. old onion bags Avatar

Hi Austin
    Notice the absence from the blog of clones n clowns and the like. From past knowledge …this is but avoidance strategy …(licks getting too hot)…..Point is, don’t be surprised if the thread does not get many hits …competition scare nowadays since the polls and exposed gaping wounds are being licked. Some have even taken to attempting to dissecting the Onion for insatiable pleasures……to no avail.
    Keep up the good work.
    OOB

2. Observing (and musing) Avatar
    Observing (and musing)

@austin
    “On the BLP side is a proven historical track record of managing Barbados in “both challenging and prosperous times””

What / when were those challenging times???

3. as a matter of fact the same piss poor gibrish article that this thunderhead austin keep writing when in fact that given 14long years and with plenty money and resources the blp did absolutely nothing to innovate tourism or agriculture or education now tell me no show me the glorious track record of the above mentioned in the article by the blp if the blp had done such a glorious and wonderful job reinventing the wheel and setting these industry on a solid path through “creativity” all these crossroads and roadblocks which the DLP have encountered would not be so challenging in the 4 years the DLP have been able to make more inroads despite all the financial challenges left behind by the visionless 14years of the BLP . no all the blp could do now is crticised when in fact the solutions should have started 14years ago and not ONLY begin 4years present. you guys are jokers for real takes accountabilty for “nothing”

4. I’m not taking sides, but you (Austin) obviously know nothing about the US tourism market and how vacation decisions are made by various segments of that market. That we do not get enough tourism from the US is true now, and has been true for the last 30 years. Brazil “one of the poorest countries in the world”, is one of the world’s fastest growing economies and it’s in our hemisphere. If the people who get rich there on the new reality want to travel, then it’s a lot easier for them to visit Barbados that any Chinese, or Indians! Do your homework and come again. Steupse!

5. old onion bags Avatar

@ Austin
    Like I said all kinda jokes going rack……check this one ..yesterday while in town..a fella approach me ..”Onions man tell DEM jokes, we don’t want all the long talk… we want people holding money so we goods could sell”…”the girls waana leff we like Daddy Plume, and looking at the mini bus men “…”DEM ain’t saying nutting..how comes whenever DEMS in Govt..is suffering for the small man ?” I just said when d time come vote ….

6. old onion bags Avatar

7. Can anyone explain Arthur’s position on the REDjet matter as reported in the Nation today and that of Barney Lynch?

8. Thankfully the SSA is back on the job and hopefully they could soon get to Austin and collect the abundance of garbage that he has piled up and is now spilling onto the blogs
    A lot of fluff and no substance, NUFF criticism and no specific solutions – typical of the current opposition BLP.

9. @David, 9:17
    How do you mean?

10. @observing

Barney Lynch has been vociferous about NOT bailing out REDjet. Is his position a personal one?

Arthur by his comment on the backpage of today’s Nation implies he supported the bailout.

11. Maybe implies but I think he was more hitting at the breach of “monetary assurances” given by the ministers and the implications for “going back on them”

Barney spoke after Freundel re. the AA comparison so I’m not sure if his comments are purely personal. Rest assured though Redjet screwed themselves and it appears that some ministers screwed Redjet. Remember Freundel’s “strong” statements to Kamla??

Just another of the many nails strewn on the floor while the wood for the “box” is being put together.

One caveat, have you noticed that with all these issues Freundel is “above the fray” in the decision making? Wonder how that will play goign down the roarout since

12. @observing

The government promised to help Redjet IF certain conditions were met. One can only assume that those conditions were not met. What is missing here is the government’s communications on the matter.

13. @David

Fair enough. But Burns sounded pretty burnt in his correspondence.

btw, when the absence of something becomes the standard norm, it cannot be labeled as missing.

🙂

14. Now we hear outgoing head of the BHTA shouting that his association has been waiting two and one half months for a meeting with the PM.

Sigh!

15. Why ya sighing David?

All avalanches start with a small pebble rolling down a hill. That pebble started to roll sometime last year. From here on the only real task is damage control and planning for the future.

16. Arthur’s position on REDjet is simple, it is not whether the barbados government should have giving the airline money or not, but the fact that they gave their word, then backed out without notifying the people. That is a bteech of promise and does not look good on any government.

17. David
    What about the Min of Tourism’s statement?

18. @The Scout

The Prime Minister was very clear. He said the government would help Redjet BUT the government would have to see its financials etc before any decision was made. You really need to be fair with your interpretation.

19. @David
    The problem is that RedJet seems to have been promised assistance “up front” by certain principals which did not include Freundel. Also, Freundel doesn’t need to see financials to know that there’s no possible assistance for RedJet at this time.

Look at Guyana who prepared a bond just in case, and tried their best even though it wasn’t their “national” airline. There was only so much that could be done. The big issue is the “quiet” assurances that were given to make RedJet feel that they could continue with a reasonable amount of confidence re. business support.

20. David and Observing;

I think I see a pattern emerging here in the negotiations of the PM. He did it with both the AX teachers Union and with RedJet.

He’s a nice guy and seeks to maintain the nice guy image.
    He picks a side (after all that’s what lawyers do), usually not the right side.
    He promises his side heaven and earth.
    He is then convinced by reasonable people that he was on the wrong side.
    He back-backs from his former side and his promises to them.
    Then he pretends and tries to convince anyone who wasn’t following the actions carefully that he was always on the other side.

Ask the BSTU principals and now Redjet if this analysis doesn’t ring true?

21. Well you know Bizzy had money in RedJet and he decide that he had enough after “cutting the cheque” for salaries to be paid in March …! Now in my world which is too unusual for serious consideration, the Government of Barbados could conceivably help pay back some of the monies that Bizzy put into the airline in exchange for filtering some of it back into the party as support for the next election. The truth is that under the current arrangement, tax payers have for years been indirectly funding political campaigns well beyond the half million (approx) that is allowed to them by law. This process is so inappropriate that even my unusual perspective is a very real possibility …!

22. I have never found myself to be on the side of the majority, never! So when I say that I never liked Mr. Stuart and thought that there were far better candidates for the job I know that that is a minority opinion and therefore Mr. Stuart’s job is very very safe …!

23. @Checkit-out

Your last comment would be hilarious if the dire state we find ourselves was not so parlous.

24. I agree complete David… Another term under PM Stuart is guaranteed to adversely effect overall progress in Barbados and that is a fact ….

25. Observing (and watching) Avatar
    Observing (and watching)

It is indeed a dire state

26. Does anyone in BU have a opinion on why the Barbados Advocate has totally abandoned “fair and balance” reporting which is a hallmark of media core principles …. it contains page after page of DLP propaganda which is so obviously misleading ….

27. @Steupse
    your comment: I’m not taking sides, but you (Austin) obviously know nothing about the US tourism market and how vacation decisions are made by various segments of that market. That we do not get enough tourism from the US is true now, and has been true for the last 30 years. Brazil “one of the poorest countries in the world”, is one of the world’s fastest growing economies and it’s in our hemisphere. If the people who get rich there on the new reality want to travel, then it’s a lot easier for them to visit Barbados that any Chinese, or Indians! Do your homework and come again. Steupse!

Austin’s reply: “Dude” what a silly response – do what homework this in common sense ….. (1) I know nothing about US tourism but you agree with me that we need to expand our visitors from the U.S (what?) (2) “if the people get rich” line is totally ridiculous … so let me get this right the bajan tax payers have spent millions to open a new route to Brazil so a “few” rich Brazillians can visit Barbados for a few days, while the US market gets a substandard effort …

please stop drinking the DLP Koolaid … it’s too sweet for ya …

28. @!
    comment: Thankfully the SSA is back on the job and hopefully they could soon get to Austin and collect the abundance of garbage that he has piled up and is now spilling onto the blogs A lot of fluff and no substance, NUFF criticism and no specific solutions – typical of the current opposition BLP.

Austin’s response: Four words “FREEDOM OF THE PRESS” ….. I know the “truth hurts” but as always it finds a way to surface, whether you like it or not …

Additionally I have provided solutions to many of my blog submissions however the DLP koolaid you are drinking is so strong it has you in the “PM Stuart Zone” where you would not know a good idea if is landed square on top ya head ….

What will you do when the DLP koolaid runs out …

29. Arthur and the BLP Group no doubt are in the race for power. They today vow to Bajans WE WILL FIX IT. They will fix the CLICO mess. They will fix it. They will fix the economy. They will fix the national debt, they will fix it. They will fix it. Interesting, Al Barrack originated during the days of Owen Arthur and the BLP. Arthur we know REFUSED fixing the Al Barrack problem. David Thompson and the DLP in 2008 accepted the Al Barrack problem WITHOUT CHOICE because Arthur and the BLP REFUSED fixing it. The Barbados Water Authority in 2009 was near bankrupcy. The 60% water rate increase was a gift from Arthur and the BLP due to the Barbados Water Authority problems totaling thirteen years. The Barbados Water Authority house for thirteen year was LEAKING WATER. Theft and corruption lived amoung Arthur and the DLP. Theft and corruption lived also in the Barbados Water Authority house.

Arthur and the BLP in 2008 gave Thompson and the DLP a large national debt. Arthur and the BLP gave Thompson and the DLP Al Barrack. Arthur and the BLP, additionally gave Thompson and the DLP, the Barbados Water Authority problems.

Arthur and the BLP clowns are the best of Barbados. Really they are. The Mottley family linked to Mia Mottley brought the Arch Cot Scrub land that couldn’t be built and withinsix months got planning permission when the previous owner couldn’t because it was caved. The Codrington family totaling five ALL died at Arch Cot, Brittons Hill. Their home fell into a cave beneath it. Someone was responsible. Someone has to be accountable. Yes, of course, those BLP clowns. Those deaths could have been avoided. No building on that land should have been allowed. Al Barrack via Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley was awarded a thirty six million dollor contract WITHOUT TENDER. Al Barrack built the complex at Warrens in St. Michael although FACT he had never built a project that size. The VECO Corporation (Alaska) was awarded a government contract via Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall WITHOUT TENDER. The VECO Corporation built the prison at Dodds in St. Phillip. Surprise, VECO had no track record of building prisons. Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall associated themselves with a corrupt company to build the prison at Dodds and the Barbados oil terminal. Give those clowns a hand clap, Arthur, Mottley and Marshall. Owen Arthur in 2006 invested 2.4 million in a Nigerian water heater project. No water heaters were produced and the 2.4 million dollars was lost and or unaccounted for. More years of Arthur and the BLP might handicap Barbados, permanently.

Leave a Reply to LOOKCancel reply