Submitted by David Bryan, Attorney-at-Law and former General Manager of the Barbados Advocate Newspaper

I received a telephone call last Friday June 8th, 2012 by a concerned person, who decided to do what rarely Barbadians do, when they have heard a rumor about someone, and that is to approach them directly about it.

Even though I was surprised what this individual informed me on what people were saying concerning me, in this country. Indeed, I was not disappointed, since it is systemic in our culture to gossip about individuals regardless of the consequences this behavior may cause. Hence the law of libel is there to protect such innocent parties.

In any event, I would like to “clear the air” as it relates to these rumors which according to my anonymous friend were circulating for the last 5 or so years, to which I obviously had no idea, until now.

Why the last 5 years? Well as the story goes this was the time, that the Barbados Underground and the Barbados Free Press started their blogs. It was also around the time in which I resigned as General Manager of the Barbados Advocate newspaper.

So as the Bajan powers of deduction goes, I had to be the “blogger” behind these sites and the several libelous articles over these last few years, because I had the wherewithal journalistic connections to get the stories.

But here’s the rub, which the caller really had with me; that I was this “David” of the Barbados Underground – a “serial” blogger who has written numerous (libellous) articles relating to the former Attorney General and Chief Justice Sir David Simmons whilst he was in office and still up to this day because I had some sort of “vendetta” against him.

Firstly, I have read and do read the Barbados Underground and the Barbados Free Press. Secondly, I informed that caller and would also like you to know in the interest of clarity that this “David” has never written, and or submitted any article at any time to either blogs on any issue, especially those pertaining to Sir David Simmons (this is my first time!). Thirdly, I categorically deny any connection whatsoever with any person writing or managing the said blogs.

Finally, I have no vendetta against the former Chief Justice Sir David Simmons and for what it is worth I told the concerned caller that during my tenure at the Advocate newspaper (2000-2006) all my articles were well researched and responsibly written under my name and if I did or do have to write anything about something or someone in this country concerning any relevant issue, I would continue to attach my name without fear as I do now.

Posted by BU unedited

1. @BAFBFP

The BU family has always been able to work out issues in the past WITHOUT censure from BU. We are sure you can appreciate our position.

Truth be told the BU household does not appreciate the malicious way robert goes to another blog and deposit comments which are not complimentary, then he marches to BU expecting to be treated well. Guess what, the BU household is human.

2. Guess what David I believe that I too is a human, and my response to what is reputed to have taken place would be to “Laff and Laff and Laff”. Man we is adults. It don’ mek na sense baring so much in public all de time … Life real short … or is it that you David luv lil’ controversy, even if it is at the expense of a new member, after all controversy does mek people tongues wag nag… But that is being human too I suppose …

Yah wrong pun this one man … real wrong

3. BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU. For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

4. @ Amused

You’re simply a twirp, a not-very-bright twirp. You are a slippery, mendacious sycophant who made a stupid mistake in lifting from BFP. You were flushed out – landed.

Now if you read the BFP post on my ‘answer’ to the tales you will see how I am described. I am not a practising attorney and I have no office. I am certainly not a politico. And I am not a liar. I can understand why you find it difficult to believe that.

Now go rook another punter for $400 plus an hour. But if you want to name me as this lawyer/politico feel free to do so. It could prove amusing. But no, you won’t do that will you – it is just one of your little spins and David will make it part of the folklore.

5. @BAFBFP

Nobody – new or old – is going to derail what we are trying to do. We knew when we attack the judiciary it would generate flack and we are prepared for it.

Now BAF tell the BU family honestly, do you thing a question posed by robert for BU to detail our position concerning the judiciary bears any serious response?

Do you think a person who comments on BFP without showing the same angst – a blog which has pilloried Sir David – does not merit a short fuse by BU?

He is free to comment but from where we (BU household) sit we have the right to take certain decisions. Almost every post he is about who is David. Have we not passed this way in the five years?

Anyway, moving on.

6. @ Blogger

OK OK you’re right. And Amused. It’s a fair cop. I am an attorney. I have an office in Roebuck St. I am a covert politician. Actually I was once tipped for the Senate and there was talk about my being A-G. I have friends in high places, see.

I hate David Simmons – but that’s a closely guarded secret. I hate him beause he didn’t promote me to the ‘Inner Bar’. So this was the deal. David got me to agree to be the fall guy in the various Simmons’ posts – to become the man who everyone loved to hate because I would pretend to be an honest man. See, if there was a scapegoat he reckoned that everyone here wouldn’t see what was going on and who I was and why he had become ‘Marstonified’. See, we all knew David didn’t have much going for him on it so the idea was to let me divert the flack – and increase blog length in the process. Clever – yes?

But then you and Amused came along and spoilt the plan. Gee you two are smart fellas. I take my hat off to you. Well I guess David and me gonna have to go back to the drawing board and find another little twister. So keep your antennae working and try and work out what it will be. OK?

7. @ David

Look: the games’ up old friend. Amused an Blogger got us in their sights. Should we meet?

8. @Blogger 2012. Thanks for your caution, but it is needless. I would never dream of outing any blogger and hereby I ask David, if he agrees, to put in place a filter on Red’s true name so that at least on BU his name may not be revealed and I will write David privately giving him the name.

Already this morning I have received several “do you know that…….” calls from members of the legal fraternity telling me who Red is, so this seems prudent so that BU does not follow the lamentable example of that other blog. I have been most surprised and disbelieving when this information was given to me. And shall remain so. So, I am by no means the only person to whom Red has totally exposed HIMSELF. Unlike you, I was not sure at all Red was an attorney, due to the paucity of his knowledge and his denial of the true state of the justice system and the reasons for it (this must have given you doubts too, Blogger). Indeed, I hoped he was not an attorney. That he has political aspirations was evident through his insistence on trying to “out” people while himself seeking to hide behind a moniker – that sort of total hypocrisy is, unfortunately, prevalent in Bajan politicians who, with few exceptions, seem to hold themselves to no standards of either ethics or respect for the rights of others whatever.

Given Red’s insistence on “outing” people, it might be assumed that anyone is within their rights to “out” him. But I will never lower myself to his scummy standards. And, while not presuming to speak for BU, I doubt it will either.

At long last, this country has a news outlet that airs issues of national importance and concern without political bias. And along comes some wannabe politician to try to hijack and divert things? Well he can, donkey like, walk, trot, gallop or fly away into the sunset. Idiot.

As for my billing fees, since I experienced no lack of work, it can only be assumed that people find me worth it and just because Red is not able to get people to pay him the same, that is HIS damned problem, not mine. The old adage is you get what you pay for.

9. @ David

Yes good move…keep saying every post he on about David and keep saying ‘as we always said’. No-one will read what you always said so it won’t matter. BTW I’ve asked BFP to post somethin on DS so I can do the same there. There’s no charge to you this time. OK? Don worry, Dave. No-one aint gonna derail you. Jus keep spinnin the spin. That’s my advice anyways.

10. To be transparent this submission was sent to both blogs.

11. Dave

Yeah that’s the way to deal with BAF. Be careful though – he can read. When he comes back an says I asked how the judiciary was frustratin Marston better tell he that particulars is beneath you. I think you played that one before. Tell BAF he a pedant. That’s my advice anyways. No charge.

12. @ David
    What’s up? Listen this guy RR seems to be a regular “brassbowl”. I thought so from the moment I saw him commenting re the “Garcia saga” on the sister blog. According to BAFBFP he just seems to be in a “pissing distance contest” or “my dick is bigger than your dick contest”. So he just needs ignoring. Same advice to you too “Amused” re RR.

13. @Hoodie

Nice to see you about and hope the old-aches under control?

You must B-ready? 🙂

14. @Hoodie. Really good to see you back. Missed you.

15. @ David & Amused.
    So. . . .Wunna is tink I’s pull out fuh Aussieland downunda or wuh? I still hey cumfuhtable as eva. I bin WATCHIN” on an’ OBSERVIN’ all de time. I ain’t nuh Bee or Dee but wunna can bet I will B-ee prepared when de time cums!

Yeah, David when one gets to this age one has to be thankful for every blessing the the good Lord sees fit to bestow on oneself. I have conditioned my mind to accept that ‘”de ol’ aches & pains” will be there till the roll is called up yonder so just enjoy what time is left here. So with that in mind I look for a bit of humour in everything and try to accept the things I cannot change. I enjoy reading your blogs especially when “Amused”, “Bush Tea” and “Micro Mock Engineer are having their “discussions”. 🙂 And, don’t let’s forget the Doc (GP) for one moment as well as that ol’ gem Bonny from whom we haven’t heard for ages.

16. @Hoodie

Based on GP’s last comment he is busy working in St. Lucia. Bonny, oh well…let remember her as she was until.

17. I really miss Bonny and the convertable bike and the good laughs. And when she and Islandgal get together to go after a body, nuff sport.

18. De Hood

Man you got me all wrong … BIG TIME. You right man you get real ol’.

The fact that Ross has a different opinion on the Courts and his view of Simmonds is a bit at variance with yours is something that I find to be very informative. The fact that I compliment Amused from time to time does NOT mean that I am a fan of his at all at all … and I did only too glad when Ross come roun’ and started throwing some spanners in some ah he spokes. Now Ross touch a lot of nerves and that for me is a good thing but the vitriol that you have exhibited towards this new campaigner is something that I have been for years trying to extract from you with NO effect … It is something that I am not accustomed to witnessing from you. You have entertained some REAL idiots ’bout hey in the past, including me, and to be honest Ross don’ deserve this …

Maybe you gettin’ ol’ too, my brotha …!

19. @BAFBFP

Maybe we know more than you do.

20. @ Dave

That’s my boy…fox him fella.

21. @ BAF

You listen to Dave, OK? He’s the ‘man’ here.

22. @ BAF

Look at it this way……the more geriatrics they dig up to attack RR the more they got to hide. (But Dave told me to say that so they can dig up more an deflect and deflect and deflect – no charge Dave).

23. Man Ross stick around I got your back … Oppose these people even if you don’ mean it … I ain’ see so much brandishin’ and gnashin’ and snarlin’ in a long long time …! HA HA HA …

24. This post provides clear idea designed for the new users of blogging, that in fact how to do blogging and site-building.

Leave a Reply to BAFBFPCancel reply