Submitted by Old Onions Bag
Barrack owed millions by government

Don’t  break your promise no girl

That you once made me

Don’t ever use me as your tool

Cause promise is a comfort for a fool

Gregory Isaacs

“It’s Too Soon and Secret Giver…,Too Soon n Secret Giver, Too Soon and Secret Giver… but Bethom wins it now by a neck….Stangrave Park a distant second…

You can bank on it. A day at the races anyone?..Any and all possibilities could rack. Expect the unexpected, believe the unbelievable, (as you are so expected)…How about a sea for St.George? It is the silly season friends, and the politician will tell you anything. Anything….whatever he believes you would like to hear.

“Vote for me…. times are back. Constituency offices have reopened expeditiously.  Roads and round-a-bout unable to finish for reasons, now sport new barbara green. Doors that were once closed for 1145 days now exhibit newly purchased “Welcome”mats. Young people in district who could find no work for the past 4+years…..find themselves in jobs as if by miracle. The propaganda machines are pumping out information too…newspaper wars…journalist firing back and forth…TV and radio stations not to be left out…some want NO RED. If you want your Crop Over sounds played.. No leper or No LeBoy…..No Paris or nuttin so. “Don’t sing bout we….no, sing bout them .”

The electorate as if aliens from some distant planet….when approached by these optimists, are expected to believe anything and everything…it is as if past performance can vouch for words.. “ONE MORE TERM”….”We need time to finish what we start.”… the regular parlance of the moment, as the politician goes into overdrive, hitting the stupor button by turbo.

Matters that were once “backburner-ised”now received full attention . CLICO policyholders and pensioners once told nothing , now hear promises of money coming . Hospitals to be built where no suited land could be found…. more and more of these illustrious promises…each time the politician term is up.

But guess what ? Hey you aliens out there..be no fools.
Mr.Barrack let not your days be longer troubled Teachers up Nor….take to your “dispatch”..CLICO policyholders….take a long and informed look before you “invest “. This is your time for the lime light….don’t waste it . Read the ball n read it well,  as your children’s lives may depend on it.

Fool me once, shame on you, fool twice shame on me.

George Bush II

1. “@ Clone,
    Chris Sinckler carries him along to scruffy in the house and he is he not about that.

Onions if the heat is too hot stay out of the Kitchen and that is why he does not go to parliament. He has too many skeletons in that closet and the Minister of Finance will expose him for the person he is”.
    ………………………………………………………………..

Do not understand that Owen Arthur will not bring himself down into the gutter with a thug like Chris Sinckler?
    Do you really think that the way Chris Sinckler carries on like he in the ghetto, is unbecoming of a Minister of Finance in modern Barbados?
    Is this what we have become?
    Is this behaviour really necessary in this day?
    What example are we setting for our youth?
    And then we criticise the young people who behave badly coming from school sports and on the bus?

Chris Sinckler is nothing but a thug, plain and simple, a pitbull in his behaviour. This thuggish behaviour of his did not start since he got this awesome power, I heard him on a political platform way back in 1991 or 1994 at a meeting near Mangrove, St Philip, he was only Sandi’s PA at that time and his behaviour was loud, aggressive and abusive. He has only gotten worse since he thinks he is powerful!

What a waste!

2. @!
    ……..only then for the PM and Sinckler to shopw the records that he was present .Arthur is a well documented liar………

Ok !, so the thug found records on Owen! By the same token, did he not find any records to provide the public with any proof of their claims of corruption? You see then who are the bold faced LIARS. The only proof brought to the public is the king, Mr I will not lie cheat or steal who it was revealed was the biggest thief and the corrupt one.

3. old onion bags Avatar

@ !
    Wait we talking bout the same man.??..GEESE.?..He could cast a shadow pun Arthur’s shadow ? Substance.. GEESE is .wind bag…Would you get in a shouting match wid Ninja man ? Knowledge….Duz GEESE have any proper training in econometrics?..first degree maybe ?I will allow you to check his Bio..a political science degree…masters in internal trade…talka-holic stuff..negotiator..How you could dare put him in Owens calibre ? The man trained to TALK and TALK nuff…By the way go check Owen’s BIO…..How cud you match dominoe chalk wid Mozzarella esine’.

Time you lift your submissions doa…you like you slowly going mad like ac…she now resides on Zulonada 359…a distant planet ..three hundred thousand light years away….poor soul..but I had always warned her.

4. @ ac | June 11, 2012 at 9:02 AM |

Good morning DLPstalwarts good to see you standing up for TRUTH and HONESTY in the weeks and months ahead we must stay focus and must not be mis lead by those who choose to take this country once again on a path iof corruption and deceit…………………………….

Pleeeeease ac,

The words TRUTH and HONESTY are not synonymous with the DAMN LYING PARTY, they just do not go together. You all have lied to the people of Barbados and you cannot lie to them again. In the words of Grynner’s song….you cant trick me again……The people have wised up.

5. old onion bags Avatar

@ Prodi
    The word is ALIBABA…Uncle Alibaba….but serious doa..I hear BIG FISH so frighten….dey fighting fa a sure seat in Sin John…..Barney boy who they go sent for you to unfair now brudds ?

6. The fact is that the BLP yardfowls want to set the agenda and control thepropaganda message which they deliver to the masses everyday but that is not going to happen because whenit comes to OSA character there is nothing the BLP can defend and wunna hastily look for the exit door and resort to the same old tired issuesof AX and CLICO but remember Chris SINCKLER promise wunna a CLICO day as for OSA he should start rebuilding his character before trying to rebuild a country

7. @ac

People who live in glass houses should NOT through stones!!!!

8. Observing (and discoursing) Avatar
    Observing (and discoursing)

Neither the DLP nor Sinckler can “afford” a CLICO day.

@!
    “His advisors have told him that Sinckler aint easy so stay clear and speak to friendlier audiences like Branch meetings, political meetings”

and what have Freundel’s advisors told him?

@scout
    “I’m sure even the staunch supportrs are worried about their party’s chances.”

But they can’t admit it. I’m surprised that better arguments haven’t been formulated despite this free consultancy called BU.

@Clone
    If you believe Owen’s “absence” represents a fear of or a running away from Chris then you’ve missed the beautiful “kill 4 birds with one stone” strategy.

Just Observing

9. correction “throw”

10. I’ll be disappointed if Owen or Mia or any other decent person whether in the House or not, would get down to that level of gutter politics Sinckler is getting on with. Yes, I know the DLP will fight and fight bitterly to stay in government, but we need to respect the almosphere in parliament. We used to have some robust debates in the House, even when lesser calibre people like Lammie Craigg was there, but never have I heard the level of debating as I’m hearing now. we need to raise the level whether it be B or D. Years ago schools used to take their senior students to hear the debates in Parliament, it would be embarrassing tio do so now.

11. Brumley graduate Avatar
    Brumley graduate

Calling on the economists to tell us who is lying in two articles in today’s Nation.
    In one news story Owen Arthur is gloating how Bajans dipped into their savings for $1 billion because of hard times.
    In another news story BNB National Bank managing director Derwin Howell a Trinidadian says the banks are awash with cash with billions of private individual savings.
    He thinks there is too much savings, the interests rates too low,and there is too much liquidity.
    Help us economists my gut feeling is that Arthur is a LIAR because he lied repeatedly while in power for fourteen years. Economists where are you speak up, explain the contrasting positions to us.

12. old onion bags Avatar

true dat Scout…..D man from the Garrison…..ain’t no thoroughbred.

13. old onion bags Avatar

Brumley college graduates did forever slow but we will work with you…..you ever meet a truthful trini yet ? Only a fool would believe Bajans are not living off their savings to cover the excess… Do you see any productivity going on ?People are being subjected to so much “gimme” (taxes)….that Chris and all says he got surplus to burn. Is simple economics Brumley….we don’t need no trini to tell us …even the whores from round Bush Hill forced to find a day job. Less money in hand (travelEnternm.)and more and more taxes and increased prices…. could only mean money will have to be taken from SOMEWHERE…–Savings….We don’t print money or find it on trees..so the only other alternative is WITHDRAW..got it Brumley ?

14. Observing (and watching) Avatar
    Observing (and watching)

@brumley
    the difference is the use of figures for total deposits vs. private individual deposits. Private deposits have more or less held or increased. The total overall deposits have dropped.

15. old onion bags Avatar

Man Observing …why you now gone and kafuffle Bromley head…..my way simplier….

16. lol @ onions
    Also, one article referenced savings deposits. Another referenced total deposits.

What you should look at as well is the level of personal debt and loans vs. the level of investment. If one’s up and the other is down then that says alot. I think it’s more a general fear in the “post Clico” period combined with the need to have more cash in hand to buy the “everyday items.”

The budget will bring up some of these issues, but bear in mind that statistics can be anyone’s lover with the right words.

17. Brumley graduate Avatar
    Brumley graduate

Onions you and observing sound like two idiots did you both leave Brumley in first form?
    I am talking economics here not weeding cuss cuss grass.
    Let me hear from Howard and Justin Robinson of UWI.
    BLP pimp economist Malik Mascoll and yardfowl George Brathwaite ought to weigh in .
    Onions and observing stay off the blog this one is not for fools.

18. old onion bags Avatar

Alright Mr. Brass tacks aka. “Know it all” Arter…..we go leave you for Howard n Robinson..

19. HAMILTON HILL Avatar

Let me take this opportunity to say a great welcome to the Scout,the closeted B who has finally grown the onions to come out.You my friend and the bags in which those onions are stored along with Prodigal seem to be salivating.Hope dat wunna doan choke later.Well not you Scout,cause knowing you,you would just cross back over.La La,De Scout,La La.

20. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@brumlee
    If I had an ego I’d be hurt. And ta think this idiot wasn’t the one asking the question but was “smart and computer literate” enough to search for the data and the current central bank stats which both articles referenced in order to answer a direct question from a fellow blogger in arms who was/is wading in economic ignorance much like myself. Sigh.

I wish you knowledge and humility.

Hope ya get ya question answered….again.

Just observing

PS
    Since this blog is not for fools should I bid you hello or goodbye?

21. @ Brumbley

even a standpipe graduate can answer that question as to who is the “LIAR” OAS !

22. old onion bags Avatar

Why ac
    Are you still with this lame point I challenge anyone to listen to another video and hear the man say…”He was not there when THE TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MET.error made on that day..I have supplied this video before but it seems like I have to keep it for you and your guile. what anyway is your point….You want to raise Lies Cheating and Stealing..I direct you to Sin John ….IS that FISH BIG ENOUGH FOR YOU ?

23. @Hamilton Hill,
    “You my friend and the bags in which those onions are stored along with Prodigal seem to be salivating.Hope dat wunna doan choke later”…………………………

HH, leave me alone, I am biding my time. I am not a gloater. If the BLP wins, next day I would only offer you and ac my “commiserations”, I will not gloat!

All I want from my party is that they govern rightly, turn this country around so that Barbadians can find jobs, roads can be paved and that the economy is stable. I would be happy!

24. ac | June 11, 2012 at 5:37 PM |

@ Brumbley

even a standpipe graduate can answer that question as to who is the “LIAR” OAS !………………………..

Just like Mr I will not lie, cheat or steal. Or like the top layer of DLP leaders who like to go to a certain Xrated place and then lie that they are so straight! ac, clean your house first before you come looking in the BLP’s house.

25. old onion bags Avatar

Onions what have you done ac that she is attacking Owen Arthur so
    Prodigal
    Plain and simple..the DLP losing badly ..so ac wants to sour the character
    of Mr.Arthur….strategy ..”we going down but we want to damage you in anyway we could before the inevitable”…..THEY ARE IN A MOST DESPERATE STATE ……ac hurting badly…she want D Obeah man for comfort…DLP just don’t know where to turn or what to do next….inertia has set in…

26. Hamilton Hill
    To cross back over, I would have had to belong, I AM NOT A SUPPORTER OF EITHER THE BLP or THE DLP. I look at the political climate in the country at any particular time. Right now, the DLP is not performing well and needs to be replaced, at some given timew the same thing will happen to the BLP. there is in this country, people like me who are not swayed by any party but use their commonsense to decide who to vote for, the DLP was done NOTHING to deserve my vote again next general elections. What this country needs is a serious, genuine third party, who can shake up both these two parties we have now. Sometimes, I think they are in a marathon and pass the baton to the other when the one in power gets tired.

27. I’ve already said Stuart is going to pull a SAndie on the DLP. Sandie could have handed over to Philip Greaves when the no-confidence vote was taken, instead he called general elections and every man had to fight for his seat, sandie was good for life. Stuart to be revengeful to the EAGER 11, will do as he pleases right now, become very unpopular and take the DLP with him, then call general elections, win or lose, he’s good for life, it is the first timers, and they are many, who have to fight hard for their little pick.

28. old onion bags Avatar

Politicians enuff frequenting the chambers of Hofude the obeah man nowadays…..you now have to bring eight cock heads (lizards)and twenty six beans of Rehubilzea…plus of course his fee of $2,400 for the visit only..spells $3,600….the whole xxxxxx gap is blocked up when the night comes…appointments a week in advanced of course.

29. old onion bags Avatar

@Observing
    All these taxes on the backs of people are taking their toll…Bridgetown is at a crawl..Less business activity means more unemployment ..no sales means more lay offs.
    What is of more significance is the money supply in the country is dwindling due to economic inactivity.The money multiplier effect has waned evident by less and less trade activity is evident in Bridgetown.
    Defn…Investopedia….. “The expansion of a country’s money supply that results from banks being able to lend. The size of the multiplier effect
    depends on the percentage of deposits that banks are required to hold as reserves. In other words, it is money used to create more money and is calculated by dividing total bank deposits by the reserve requirements .”
    I am no economist but these medium term fiscal policies…..amassing Govt revenue…as the expense of economic activity, makes no sense as there can be no real growth….What’s the use Mr.Sinckler boasting of excess collections on VAT $120 million…$100 million by BNOC…while the economy crawls to a stand still..? Cutting the deficit by 13 at the expense of vibrant economic trade defeats the purpose….and is what I pen as ” dead man economics.” An economy needs to be stimulated by Govt monetary and fiscal policies to increase business activity…not just meet preset IMF requirements .Is this the “society and not an economy” ….some were quick to impute ?..More like the opposite to me.

30. old onion bags Avatar

The higher the reserve requirement, the tighter the money supply, which results in a lower multiplier effect for every dollar deposited. The lower the reserve requirement, the larger the money supply, which means more
    money is being created for every dollar deposited.
    The Central Bank Governor need to set the reserves requirements LOWER and free up the money supply..OR .. Mr.Sinckler needs to CUT US SOME SLACK…..with dispatch.

31. @Onions

What?

To you two recent comments.

32. old onion bags Avatar

Time for the people to get some slack….don’t you agree ? when last you paid Bridgetown a visit ?

33. @Onions

There is a lot of cash in the system as you say and reported in the media. What does this have to do with money supply and reserves etc?

How do you respond to some who same increase domestic spend and forex is negatively affected. Is it still true that 70 cents out of every dollar leaves the country?

34. old onion bags Avatar

Cash may be in the banks but they not lending to spur small business as is conveniently lauded thru media. A small business (6yrs) can’t even get an overdraft….Banks penalize you for everything…yes they loaded with money..but there it stays…..Gov’t on the other hand taking what left in circulation thru taxes, increases on petrol , food duties and Vat…leaving non in circulation.
    When last you visited PriceSmart….move aint leaving on domestic spend either, as in days of old….up there like B’town also…money just ain’t circulating. PS has now resorted to a massive campaign to collect Subs. Only last week a friend of mine rec’d a call from HQ in the US asking him about rejoining

35. old onion bags Avatar

The multiplier effect depends on the set reserve requirement. So, to calculate the impact of the multiplier effect on the money supply, we start with the amount banks initially take in through deposits and divide this by
    the reserve ratio. If, for example, the reserve requirement is 20%, for every $100 a customer deposits into a bank, $20 must be kept in reserve. However, the remaining $80 can be loaned out to other bank customers. This $80 is then deposited by these customers into another bank, which in turn must also keep 20%, or $16, in reserve but can lend out the remaining $64. This cycle continues – as more people deposit money and more banks continue lending it – until finally the $100 initially deposited creates a total of $500 ($100 / 0.2) in deposits. This creation of deposits is the multiplier effect.

36. @Onions

You should have referred to FIAT money and all would have been understood.

37. old onion bags Avatar

Man David wha you playing ? We all know the whole world operates with FIAT money nowadays…..where you going ?

38. old onion bags Avatar

Most of the world’s paper money is fiat money. Because fiat money is not linked to physical reserves, it risks becoming worthless due to hyperinflation. If people lose faith in a nation’s paper currency, the money
    will no longer hold any value.

39. @Onions

Some may put it to you the economic model we have is driven at its domestic core by construction. Because of this sector being negatively affected it has dampen demand for credit by Barbadians. It really doesn’t matter how much money circulates, in the prevailing climate – local and global – it is what it is. We have to find ways to facilitate NEW demand.

40. Onins the economist with his confaluted analysis of the way he would restruct and rebuild the economy a bunch of hogwash take that sh..t to OSA he only he can understand dat crap fior him 1+1 equals4borrow !spend!and thief.te DLP has done a good job in accounting fior the money and the miillions OSA has wasted and give away the taxpayers bell hurting because they have to payback. All this mess falls right in the hands of OSA and this another reason why he hids from going to parliament can,tface de music

41. old onion bags Avatar

So you would rather see…people take to the streets….given there is none (ND). rather than ease the squeeze….set by IMF preconditions ?
    Look David I am a man on the streets regular…you better believe we nearly there..The DLPs are strangers to reality as well I see

42. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Why you don’t cool down doa ? Look ya can’t even write…take care you get a stroke..cool down ole bat….these ain’t man blows ya getting now ya know….these is Onions blows..well seasoned and injected..lol

43. @Onions

Barbadians are NOT getting ready to go to the streets.

44. Observing (and musing) Avatar
    Observing (and musing)

“We have to find ways to facilitate NEW demand.”

Sound the alarm, it seems no one is listening.

Also, isn’t there enough liquidity to “jump start” construction? There has been a fair set over the last 2 or so years. I mentioned earlier that the recession and the local CLICO problem has scared investors into “safe” projects, hence a stall in the domestic circulation. Confidence is needed.

Also, increased foreign spend comes from an errant local mentality plus an overpricing of products locally. I’m almost certain that controls on prices to reasonable levels along with creative policies could encourage greater internal spend (take duty free Saturday for example). If we continue to fear that allowing more money internally will result in it flowing out of the country we will always be in a “bubble” that could burst.

Having said that though both parties have almost totally different economic views. Just a matter of which one people believe will work in the current circumstances.

45. old onion bags Avatar

This Govt has over reacted and has now locked the country in a state of stagflation…..recessions will come and they will go …but the people still have to live…don’t mind the IMF….The growth of our economy rests upon the balance between the production and consumption of goods and
    services. As the economy grows, so do incomes and consumer spending, which continues the cycle of growth. However, because the world is not perfect, at some point, the economy has to slow. This slow down could be caused by something as simple as an oversupply, where producers manufacture too many goods. When this happens, the demand for those goods will drop. This causes earnings to slow, incomes to drop and the equity markets to fall. This will occasion the much dreaded word recession…but its not the end of the World….Why choke the people and business to death ?What else you want DLP….the people to eat themselves…..WE NEED RELIEF NOW…

46. @Onions

The BLP and you are not satisfying the concern about the threat to forex reserves if local spend is stoked.

47. old onion bags Avatar

Forget it doa, some would neva understand…..six months more is all they got anyway..people ain’t stupid…Problem was a bunch of green monkeys got of the pampalam car keys and wanted to take a drive… in reality all they succeeded in doing is flooding the F#ing tank…Wickham is so right !

48. old onion bags Avatar

Have you ever heard of the story of the wood cutter who one cold day went to an empty fireplace and demanded HEAT….such as

49. old onion bags Avatar

Putting off what should be done today can only bring a wave of dissension that will come back on day to haunt.

http://static.grindtv.com/images/1/00/39/64/44/396444.jpg

Leave a Reply to David (not BU)Cancel reply