Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

It is not often when I feel compelled to put pen to paper to compliment a government minister. That is for several reasons but mainly because they usually have their adoring public that tells them what they want to hear, not necessarily the truth; and because they rarely do anything that deserves honourable mention. However, Minister of Health, Donville Inniss has done something that is worthy of praise.

I am specifically referring to the simple act of turning up and showing support for officers who were overseeing a cleanup at Furniture Limited. That gave the Environmental Health Officers the confidence to do their job without fear. In circumstances such as that cleanup operation, the officers would be performing their duties, someone would call a senior person in the ministry and the inspectors would be called off. The Minister’s presence not only said to the officers, do your duty, I got your backs: it said to others, it is a waste of time calling any senior person because the most senior person in the Ministry has given his blessing to the Environmental Health Officers.

That simple act might seem small to many but it sent a powerful message to those inspectors who have been demoralised for years because they were taking flack for not doing their duty, but in reality they were prevented by political interference and could not say so.

In the past, I have been critical of Minister Inniss when he made disparaging remarks about civil servants. I think that it is only fair when he does something positive that he should be commended. His actions in this regard go a long way in redeeming him in my eyes. Well done Donville Inniss, unfortunately for him, I live in the constituency of St. Thomas.

1. @AC

yah see how i got old onions retreating, yah got to show up their ignorance when they write nonsense. Hope you get him to retreat like how I have done.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Richard King (11:48) & Eric Jerome D (1:30)

Ordinarily I would agree with you but the situation in Barbados is anything but ordinary. Since you live on Mars or Jupiter, let me explain what has been happening here on Earth.

Over the years in our little section called Barbados politicians have inserted themselves in everything that should not concern them. In this case Inniss is merely undoing years of damage caused by political interference. Maybe after his intervention things would go back to how you are accustomed there on Mars and Jupiter.

Give the man some credit and wait until he slip up the next time and then you can criticise. I am only sorry that Town Planning is not part of his portfolio.

3. You are so right onions, for the last four and a half years the Minister found no problem with the state of Furniture Ltd and with out any warning the Environmental Health department turn up at the door with the Minister watching their backs and giving them all the support that they needed. How arrogant can you be? I to condemn the state of Furniture Ltd and any one in their right thinking mind will do the same but I ask one question what was the Minister position before last Friday on this matter. Good show Mr Minister but we got ya.

4. @ Tell it again

You must be very careful how you speak, the last person who place a shelf – life on an individual now lie six feet under, and was much younger and healthier we thought than that individual . Take guidance from Caswell he seem to be much more intelligent than you are.

5. @ Tell it………….You see him having the will or the ability to handle 5 weeks of hard campaigning?

He can’t handle a two week exercise furthermore a 5 week one.

Who will kill who within the BLP for the role of leader of the opposition thru to 2018?…………………………

You could really hush up. Whose leader collapse at a political meeting? Which leader fainted in public? Which leader fainted at the official residence?

6. @ Tell it…………”Also in for high praise is the entire DLP cabinet, DLP MP’s and all the DLP senators who turned out at the ceremony at the Garrison last evening to see our services put on an excellent display and it showcased our youth as well in a most positive and uplifting way”……………..

You have a convenient memory. So I cannot expect you to remember that the dead king and his merry men never attended ANY official functions under the BLP…not independence parades at the Garrison or in the Port, not the awards at Government House nor receptions at Ilaro Court. So hush up. Not that I am condoning not attending official functions but you Dems are in no position to throw stones. Damn hypocrites!

7. @Prodigal

You see this is what the Independents are tired of. They did it, you do it,,,sigh.

8. @Pridigal

could you remember me brining to your attention that referincing DT’s death was in poor taste. I am happy you recognize that it is folly to talk about a persons illness as we do not know what is waiting for us. Thus you and all persons here should desist with this stupidness. Today for you, and tomorrow for me.

9. @ Eric Jerome D | June 5, 2012 at 1:30 PM |

I found it strange that the minister was there.
    What is going on here
    Why is the Minister interferring with the process
    This foolishness should stop now
    There was no need for Innis to be there……………..

I agree with you. Dont mind the DLP yard fowls, the officers showed up after numerous complaints by the staff. She then called the minister to call off the officers but even he was alarmed at what he saw.

So it was not that he was doing no good job, he was called to halt the inspection. What could he do when the officers were already there??? ……call them off and cause a scandal, no, go along and make it look like he is the knight in shining armour!

Hypocrite!

10. @Prodigal

Even IF he was called to halt the job he did NOT.

11. @Prodical

The result is waht matters, you should be last person to talk about yeard fowl, how would you like to called the african snail..

12. Blogger,

A blessed good night to you!

13. Min. Inniss has stood heads and shoulders above his leader in showing how to handle a situation. Is it that the min is sending a message to his leader, twice FS dissed Inniss, once with the non-nationals receiving free medication and secondly by the P.M saying he saw nothing wrong with Sir Roy’s statement. Both of these went contrary to Inniss public statements. This time the Min has shown the P.M how to handlke a serious matter, with a silent touch of authority. Well done Min Iniss, go to the head of the class.

14. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

I wondered why environmental health officers paid by my tax dollars were cleaning up a private for profit business place. I believe that this is a misuse of the taxpayers money.

Business places should be required to clean up their establishments using money out of income earned by the business.

What next?

My yard is filthy dirty, because I haven’t felt like cleaning it or paying to have it cleaned for the past 20 years. Will be Ministry of health send men and machines to clean up my nastiness?

And if the Ministry is willing to do this what incentive to I have to do my own cleaning or to pay somebody to clean for me.

15. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quotin David “with the lady in the sari”

How do you know that Ms. Ram is a lady?

I see a woman in a sari.

Dear David: I remember a trial once, where a man was testifying and he referred to his black girlfriend through the trial as a woman, and to his white girlfriend as a lady. By the way neither female was on trial, he was and he was no gentleman. Rape charge if I recall correctly.

16. @Balance

observe that mr stuart is promoting his illegitimate daughter as did mr arthur in the dying days of his last term

I guess you come from a different era. The term “illegitimate” to describe children of parents who were unmarried when the child was born has faded into history in many countries. It is not the child’s fault thus the negative connotation of “illegitimate” should not be applied to him or her. Many countries also recognize common law unions and the children of such unions are not considered “illegitimate” even if their parents did not have a civil or religious ceremony to cement their union.

So “Balance” take that term and bury it, please don’t apply it to individuals.

17. Sargeant
    How come Mr Arthur’s children are considered “illegitimate”, when Stuart’s daughter, also born not in a marriage is not?

18. @Scout

Did I single out Stuart’s or Arthur’s children? I asked “Balance” not to apply the term “illegitimate” to individuals.

19. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Maybe the PM should marry a nice wife who can help him manage his medical issues (diabetes?) from at home with regular healthy meals, medication, and regular exercise.

Diabetes in the middle aged is actually not very hard to manage, but it requires strict attention to the patient’s meals, medicine and exercise.

Just a non-partisan suggestion.

20. I must commend Donville Innisss even though this job was 20 years late. Yes I agree that the upcoming election may have motivated the Minister to act BUT he is the only one in that party who seems to have some balls.

Onions you are extremely selfish and ignorant hypocrite who pretends to be a learned person.

I am pon holiday so I will be posting sporadically.

Random I do hope that the environmental ministry will recuperate the cost of this exercise from the owners Mrs Ram and company. Going by the filthy state of her business premises it tells everyone that She is a dirty and nasty individual.

21. @islandgal
    “he is the only one in that party who seems to have some balls”

So we have a “ballsless” party in operation? 🙂

22. They are indeed “balls less”.

They got together secretly to plot and plan to bring down the PM, went to the GG to get him to move the PM. When the Nation who likes a good scoop got hold of the plot, they all back down and left Sinckler holding the can after he denied that he had any knowledge of the plot, only what he read in the Nation. Bloodly liar. He thinks that he is a maguffy who thinks that he can disrespect Owen Arthur every time Owen goes into the House.

An economic neophyte like Chris Sinckler.

23. A safe seat indeed,

24. Tell it again Avatar

Penis Son, Arthur is not a saint and does not have to be worshipped as you must do.

Actually a man who has no decency and cannot acknowledge his own flesh and blood his own children is a disgusting despicable beast not deserving of anyone’s respect.

25. There is sooo much news stories about OSA that can be brought, why lick a dead horse by repeating the same things over and over since 2007. It’s time the DLP come to grips with being in government and act that way. The BLP should be the ones playing “catch-up” but it seems they have the Dems looking for new issues and can’t find any. It seems the BLP is the one with all the NEW news.

26. Shanique Shnotette Kingette Avatar
    Shanique Shnotette Kingette

You is rite, Islandgal.

PS. I have run out of room on google online albums and I am looking for alternative free storage. Any recommendations?

27. Owen Arthur – “yesterday’s man trying to operate in today’s world”
    A truer statement could not have been said in Parliament.

28. old onion bags Avatar

If your ratty gets all scatty ‘cos his coat is getting matty
    And he’s acting kinda batty now he doesn’t look so natty
    If he starts to get all chatty and to voice pratty demands
    Then beware! You’ve got a bratty tatty ratty on your hands.

29. old onion bags Avatar

He advanced to the council-table:
    And, “Please your honours,” said he, “I’m able,
    By means of a secret charm, to draw
    All creatures living beneath the sun,
    That creep or swim or fly or run,
    After me so as you never saw!
    And I chiefly use my charm
    On creatures that do people harm,
    The mole and toad and newt and viper;
    And people call me the Pied Piper.”

30. Wake from slumber, word out is that the Sealy boy who belongs to the Winter Crawford lineage is being dressed for the occasion. Boys without class and pferred backgound beware.

31. old onion bags Avatar

Much Ado about nothing……….all crabs in a barrel…a barrel that going out to sea ..FAST..FUNDY got the trump card..all ya forget..at the slightest ..ee go us it..then …ya urt….get back in line..quik..before ee see ya..lol

32. Check the growth rate of the UNITED STATES economy in 1995 and 1996:
    1995 2.5%
    1996 3.7%

Check the growth rate of the UK economy in 1995 and 1996:
    1995 3.1 %
    1996 2.9 %

Check the growth rate of the UNITED STATES economy in 2008 and 2009
    2008 -0.3% (negative)
    2009 -3.5% (negative)

Check the growth rate of the UK economy in 2008 and 2009:
    2008 -1.1 % (negative)
    2009 -4.4% (negative)

What should be clear to all Barbadians is that the BLP in the mid 1990s came into office in an environment when the world economy was growing and improving and that the DLP in 2008 faced a global economy in deep recession. Our economic growth and buoyancy is directly tied to our trading partners because after all that is where our tourism receipts and foreign inflows which drive this Barbados economy come from. There is nothing special about the BLP on economic management. Look at the facts and not the spin!

33. To Mr./Mrs Random Thoughts,why do you suppose the work done to that “opportunist” /Slave driver/above Barbadian Laws,from where ever she came from,store is for free ? do you not know that the same Gov, of Barbados,who the land tax department is accountable to, can and should be attaching the “clean up bill” to her 2012 taxes ? Thats how it is done here in Canada.

Leave a Reply to Blogger2012Cancel reply